将 Oracle® 用户迁移到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL:安全、操作、监控和日志记录

本文档是系列文章中的一篇,该系列提供了关键的信息和指导来帮助规划和执行 Oracle® 11g/12c 数据库到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 12 版的迁移。除了设置简介部分之外,本系列文章还包括以下部分:

安全

本部分提供有关加密、审核和访问权限控制的指南。

加密

Oracle 和 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 都提供数据加密机制,以在基本用户身份验证和用户权限管理之外增加额外的保护层。

静态加密

不通过网络传输的(存储的)数据称为“静态数据”。Oracle 提供 TDE(透明数据加密)机制,在操作系统级层添加一个额外的加密层。在 Cloud SQL 中,数据使用 256 位高级加密标准 (AES-256) 或更好的算法进行加密。这些数据密钥采用存储在一个安全密钥存储区中的主密钥进行加密,并会定期更改。如需详细了解静态加密,请参阅 Google Cloud 中的静态加密

传输加密

Oracle 为处理网络中的数据加密提供高级安全功能。如果数据将移出物理边界,脱离 Google 或 Google 授权代理方的控制范围,Cloud SQL 会在一个或多个网络层对传输中的所有数据进行加密和身份验证。如果传输中的数据位于物理边界内部,由 Google 或 Google 授权代理方掌控,我们通常会对这些数据进行身份验证,但默认情况下可能不会进行加密。您可以根据威胁模型选择要应用哪些额外的安全措施。例如,您可以为可用区内的 Cloud SQL 连接配置 SSL。如需了解传输加密,请参阅 Google Cloud 中的传输加密

审核

Oracle 提供了多种审核方法,例如标准审核和精细审核。而 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 中的审核可以通过下列方式完成:

  • pgAudit 扩展程序。记录和跟踪针对给定数据库实例执行的 SQL 操作。
  • Cloud Audit Logs。 审核在 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 实例上完成的管理和维护操作。

访问权限控制机制

像任何其他数据库连接一样,用户可以使用具有授权静态 IP 地址的 PostgreSQL 客户端,或使用 Cloud SQL 代理来连接到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 实例。对于其他连接来源(如 App Engine 或 Compute Engine),用户拥有多个选项,例如使用 Cloud SQL 代理。如需详细了解这些选项,请参阅实例访问权限控制

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 与 Identity and Access Management (IAM) 集成,并提供一组预定义角色来帮助您控制对您的 Cloud SQL 资源的访问权限。这些角色允许 IAM 用户启动各种管理操作,例如实例重启、备份和故障切换。如需了解详情,请参阅项目访问权限控制

运维

本部分提供关于导出和导入操作、实例级备份和恢复以及用于只读操作和灾难恢复实现的备用实例的指南。

导出和导入

Oracle 执行逻辑导出和导入操作的主要方法是使用 EXPDP/IMPDP 命令的 Data Pump 实用程序(旧版 Oracle 导出/导入功能包含 exp/imp 命令)。Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 等效命令是 pg_dumppg_restore 实用程序,它们会生成转储文件,然后在数据库或对象级层执行导入(包括仅导出和导入元数据)。

没有 Oracle DBMS_DATAPUMP 实用程序(应用 EXPDP/IMPDP 功能的 Oracle 方法直接与 DBMS_DATAPUMP 软件包交互)的直接对等的 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 解决方案。如需从 Oracle DBMS_DATAPUMP PL/SQL 代码进行转换,请使用其他代码(例如 Bash 和 Python)来实现逻辑元素,并使用 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 程序 pg_dumppg_restore 运行导出/导入操作。

Oracle SQL*Loader 可用于将外部文件加载到数据库表中。SQL*Loader 可以使用配置文件(称为“控制文件”),该文件保存 SQL*Loader 所使用的元数据,以确定应该如何解析数据并加载到 Oracle 数据库中。SQL*Loader 支持固定和可变源文件。

pg_dumppg_restore 实用程序在客户端级层运行,并远程连接到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 实例。转储文件在客户端创建。如需将外部文件加载到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL,请在 psql 客户端界面中使用 COPY 命令,或使用 Dataflow 或 Dataproc。本部分主要介绍 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL COPY 命令,该命令与 Oracle 的 SQL*Loader 实用程序更直接对等。

如需将更复杂的数据加载到 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 数据库中,请考虑使用 Dataflow 或 Dataproc,这会涉及创建 ETL 流程。

如需详细了解 Dataflow,请参阅 Dataflow 文档。如需详细了解 Dataproc,请参阅 Dataproc 文档

pg_dump

pg_dump 客户端库执行一致的备份和输出,格式为脚本或归档文件。脚本转储是一组 SQL 语句,执行这些语句可以重新生成原始数据库对象定义和表数据。这些 SQL 语句可以馈送给任何 PostgreSQL 客户端用于恢复。在恢复操作中,归档文件格式的备份必须使用 pg_restore,但备份允许选择恢复对象,并且可以跨架构移植。

用法:

-- Single database backup & specific tables backup
# pg_dump database_name > outputfile.sql
# pg_dump -t table_name database_name > outputfile.sql

-- Dump all tables in a given schema with a prefix and ignore a given table
# pg_dump -t 'schema_name.table_prefixvar>*' -T schema_name.ignore_table database_name > outputfile.sql

-- Backup metadata only - Schema only
# pg_dump -s database_name > metadata.sql

-- Backup in custom-format archive
pg_dump -Fc database_name > outputfile.dump

pg_restore

pg_restore 客户端程序会从 pg_dump 创建的归档中恢复 PostgreSQL 数据库。如果未指定数据库名称,pg_restore 会输出脚本,其中包含重建类似于 pg_dump 的数据库所需的 SQL 命令。

用法

-- Connect to an existing database and restore the backup archive
pg_restore -d database_name outputfile.dump

-- Create and restore the database from the backup archive
pg_restore -C -d database_name outputfile.dump

psql COPY 命令

psql 是 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 的命令行界面。使用 COPY 命令时,psql 会读取命令参数中指定的文件,并在服务器和本地文件系统之间路由数据。

用法

-- Connect to an existing database and restore the backup archive
psql -p 5432 -U username -h cloud_sql_instance_ip -d database_name -c "\copy emps from '/opt/files/inputfile.csv' WITH csv;" -W

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 导出/导入

以下文档链接说明了如何使用 gsutil 和 Google Cloud CLI 与 Cloud SQL 实例和 Cloud Storage 交互以应用导出导入操作。

实例级备份和恢复

在 Cloud SQL 中,备份和恢复任务通过自动和按需数据库备份处理。

通过备份,您可以恢复 Cloud SQL 实例,从而恢复丢失的数据,或者在实例出现问题时恢复服务。如果实例包含您需要防止丢失或损坏的数据,建议您为这些实例启用自动备份。

您可以随时创建备份,如果您准备对数据库执行有风险的操作,或者您需要备份但不想等到备份时段再执行,这会非常有用。您可以为任何实例创建按需备份,无论实例是否启用了自动备份。

按需备份不像自动备份那样自动删除。此类备份会一直留存到您删除它们或其实例被删除为止。由于按需备份不会自动删除,因此如果您不删除此类备份,它们将对您的结算费用产生长期影响。

启用自动备份时,您需要指定 4 小时备份时段。备份会在此时段内启动。尽量将备份安排在实例活动最少的时候。如果自上次备份后您的数据未发生更改,则系统不会创建备份。

Cloud SQL 最多可为每个实例保留 7 个自动备份。备份所占用的存储空间按折扣费率计费,具体取决于存储备份的区域。如需详细了解价格列表,请参阅 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 价格

您可以使用 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 数据库实例来恢复到同一实例、覆盖现有数据或恢复到其他实例。启用自动备份选项后,Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 还允许您将 PostgreSQL 数据库恢复到特定时间点

如需详细了解如何创建或管理按需备份和自动备份,请参阅创建和管理按需备份和自动备份

下表列出了 Oracle 中的常见备份和恢复操作,以及它们在 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 中的等效操作:

说明 Oracle (Recovery Manager - RMAN) Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL
计划的自动备份 创建 DBMS_SCHEDULER 作业,该作业将按计划执行 RMAN 脚本。 gcloud sql instances patch INSTANCE_NAME --backup-start-time HH:MM
手动进行完整数据库备份 BACKUP DATABASE PLUS ARCHIVELOG; gcloud sql backups create --async --instance INSTANCE_NAME
恢复数据库 RUN
{
SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE;
STARTUP MOUNT;
RESTORE DATABASE;
RECOVER DATABASE;
ALTER DATABASE OPEN;
}
gcloud sql backups list --instance INSTANCE_NAME
gcloud sql backups restore BACKUP_ID --restore-instance=INSTANCE_NAME
增量差分 BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 0 DATABASE;
BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 1 DATABASE;
所有备份都是增量备份,无法选择增量类型。
增量累计 BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 0 CUMULATIVE DATABASE;
BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 1 CUMULATIVE DATABASE;
所有备份都是增量备份,无法选择增量类型。
将数据库恢复到特定时间点 RUN
{
SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE;
STARTUP MOUNT;
SET UNTIL TIME "TO_DATE('19-SEP-2017 23:45:00','DD-MON-YYYY HH24:MI:SS')";
RESTORE DATABASE;
RECOVER DATABASE;
ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS;
}
gcloud sql instances clone SOURCE_INSTANCE_NAME NEW_INSTANCE_NAME \
--point-in-time TIMESTAMP
备份数据库归档日志 BACKUP ARCHIVELOG ALL; 不受支持。

只读操作和灾难恢复实现的备用实例

Oracle Active Data Guard 使备用实例可以充当只读端点,同时仍然通过重做和归档日志应用新数据。您还可以出于读取目的,使用 Oracle GoldenGate 启用其他实例,同时实时应用数据修改,作为变更数据捕获 (CDC) 解决方案。

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 使用备用实例来实现高可用性。通过磁盘级复制,此实例与主实例保持同步。与 Active Data Guard 不同,您无法读取或写入此实例。当主实例发生故障或无响应大约 60 秒时,主实例会自动故障切换到备用实例。角色交换和新的主实例接管将在在几秒钟内完成。

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 还提供只读副本以调节读取请求。它们旨在从主实例分流读取,不充当灾难恢复的备用实例。与备用实例不同,只读副本以异步方式与主实例保持同步。它们可以与主实例位于不同的可用区和不同的区域。您可以使用控制台或 gcloud CLI 创建读取副本。请注意,某些操作需要重新启动实例(例如,向现有主实例添加高可用性)。

日志记录和监控

主要依靠 Oracle 的提醒日志文件来识别常规系统事件和错误事件,从而了解任何 Oracle 数据库实例生命周期(主要是排查故障事件和错误事件)。

Oracle 提醒日志会显示以下方面的信息:

  • Oracle 数据库实例错误和警告(ORA- + 错误编号)。
  • Oracle 数据库实例启动和关停事件。
  • 与网络和连接相关的问题。
  • 数据库重做日志切换事件。
  • 可能会提及 Oracle 跟踪文件,其中有一个链接可用来了解关于特定数据库事件的其他详细信息。

Oracle 为 LISTENER、ASM 和 Enterprise Manager (OEM) 等不同的服务提供专用日志文件,但 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 中没有等效组件。

查看 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 操作日志

Cloud Logging 是查看 postgres.log(等效于 Oracle 中的 alert.log)中所有日志条目的主要平台。您可以按日志事件级别(例如“严重”“错误”或“警告”)进行过滤。您还可以设置活动时间范围和自由文本过滤。

在控制台中查看日志。

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 数据库实例监控

Oracle 的主界面监控信息中心是 OEM 和 Grid/Cloud Control 产品(例如 Top Activity Graphs)的一部分,对于会话或 SQL 语句级别的实时数据库实例监控非常有用。Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 使用控制台提供类似的监控功能。您可以通过多个监控指标(例如 CPU 利用率、存储空间用量、内存用量、读写操作、入站流量/出站流量字节数、活跃连接数等),查看 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 数据库实例的汇总信息。

Cloud Logging 支持 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 的其他监控指标。以下屏幕截图显示了过去 12 小时的 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 查询图表。

过去 12 小时的查询图表。

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 只读副本监控

您可以使用控制台监控指标(如前所述)监控读取副本,与监控主实例的方法相同。此外,还有一个专用于监控复制延迟的监控指标,它确定主实例与读取副本实例之间的延迟时间(以字节为单位),可通过控制台中的“读取副本实例概览”标签页进行监控。

您可以使用 gcloud CLI 检索复制状态

gcloud sql instances describe REPLICA_NAME

您还可以在 PostgreSQL 客户端中使用命令来监控复制,这将提供主数据库和备用数据库的状态。

您可以使用以下 SQL 语句来验证只读副本的状态:

postgres=> select * from pg_stat_replication;

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 监控

本部分介绍基本的 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL 监控方法,这些方法被视为数据库管理员 (DBA)(如 Oracle 或 Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL)执行的例行任务。

会话监控

Oracle 会话监控通过查询被称为“V$”视图的动态性能视图来完成。V$SESSIONV$PROCESS 视图通常用于通过 SQL 语句来获取当前数据库活动的相关实时数据分析。您可以通过查询 pg_stat_activity 动态视图来监控会话活动:

postgres=> select * from pg_stat_activity;

长时间运行的事务监控

如需确定长时间运行的查询,您可以对 pg_stat_activity 动态视图中的 query_startstate 等列应用适当的过滤条件。

锁定监控

您可以使用 pg_locks 动态视图来监控数据库锁定情况,该视图提供有关可能导致性能问题的锁定出现次数的实时信息。

后续步骤

Migrating Oracle® users to Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL: Security, operations, monitoring, and logging

This document is part of a series that provides key information and guidance related to planning and performing Oracle® 11g/12c database migrations to Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL version 12. In addition to the introductory setup part, the series includes the following parts:

Security

This section offers guidance on encryption, auditing, and access control.

Encryption

Both Oracle and Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL offer data encryption mechanisms to add an additional protection layer beyond basic user authentication and user-privilege management.

Encryption at rest

Data that is not moving through networks (stored) is known as "data at rest." Oracle offers the TDE (Transparent Data Encryption) mechanism to add an encryption layer at the operating system level. In Cloud SQL, data is encrypted using 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES-256), or better. These data keys are encrypted using a master key stored in a secure keystore and changed regularly. For more information about encryption at rest, see Encryption at rest in Google Cloud.

Encryption in transit

Oracle offers Advanced Security for handling encryption of data over the network. Cloud SQL encrypts and authenticates all data in transit at one or more network layers when data moves outside physical boundaries not controlled by Google or on behalf of Google. Data in transit inside a physical boundary controlled by or on behalf of Google is generally authenticated but might not be encrypted by default. You can choose which additional security measures to apply based on your threat model. For example, you can configure SSL for intra-zone connections to Cloud SQL. For information about encryption in transit, see Encryption in transit in Google Cloud.

Auditing

Oracle provides several methods for auditing (for example, standard and fine-grained auditing). In contrast, auditing in Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL can be achieved by the following means:

  • pgAudit extension. Record and track SQL operations performed against a given database instance.
  • Cloud Audit Logs. Audit administrative and maintenance operations done on a Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL instance.

Access control

Users can connect to the Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL instance by using a PostgreSQL client with an authorized static IP address or by using Cloud SQL Proxy, like any other database connection. For other connection sources such as App Engine or Compute Engine, users have several options such as using Cloud SQL Proxy. For more information about these options, see instance access control.

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL integrates with Identity and Access Management (IAM) and provides a set of predefined roles designed to help you control access to your Cloud SQL resources. These roles allow IAM users to initiate various administrative operations such as instance restarts, backups, and failovers. See project access control for more information.

Operations

This section offers guidance on export and import operations, instance-level backup and restore, and standby instances for read-only operations and disaster recovery implementation.

Export and import

Oracle's main method for performing logical export and import operations is the Data Pump utility, using the EXPDP/IMPDP commands (an older version of Oracle export/import functionality included the exp/imp commands). The Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL equivalent commands are the pg_dump and the pg_restore utilities, which generate dump files and then import at a database or object level (including exporting and importing metadata only).

There is no direct Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL equivalent solution for the Oracle DBMS_DATAPUMP utility (the Oracle method to apply the EXPDP/IMPDP functionality interacts directly with the DBMS_DATAPUMP package). To convert from Oracle DBMS_DATAPUMP PL/SQL code, use alternative code (for example, Bash and Python) to implement logical elements and the Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL programs pg_dump and pg_restore to run export/import operations.

Oracle SQL*Loader can be used to load external files into database tables. SQL*Loader can use a configuration file (called a control file), which holds the metadata used by SQL*Loader to determine how data should be parsed and loaded into the Oracle database. SQL*Loader supports both fixed and variable source files.

The pg_dump and pg_restore utilities run at the client level and connect remotely to the Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL instance. Dump files are created at the client side. To load external files into Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL, use the COPY command from the psql client interface, or use Dataflow or Dataproc. This section focuses primarily on the Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL COPY command, which is a more direct equivalent to Oracle's SQL*Loader utility.

For more complex data loads into your Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL database, consider using Dataflow or Dataproc, which involves creating an ETL process.

For more information about Dataflow, see the Dataflow documentation, and for more information about Dataproc, see the Dataproc documentation.

pg_dump

The pg_dump client utility performs consistent backups and output in script or archive file formats. Script dump is a set of SQL statements that can be executed to reproduce the original database object definitions and table data. These SQL statements could be fed to any PostgreSQL client for restore. Backups in archive file formats must be used with pg_restore during restore operations, but backups allow selective objects to be restored and are designed to be portable across architectures.

Usage:

-- Single database backup & specific tables backup
# pg_dump database_name > outputfile.sql
# pg_dump -t table_name database_name > outputfile.sql

-- Dump all tables in a given schema with a prefix and ignore a given table
# pg_dump -t 'schema_name.table_prefixvar>*' -T schema_name.ignore_table database_name > outputfile.sql

-- Backup metadata only - Schema only
# pg_dump -s database_name > metadata.sql

-- Backup in custom-format archive
pg_dump -Fc database_name > outputfile.dump

pg_restore

The pg_restore client program restores a PostgreSQL database from an archive created by pg_dump. If a database name is not specified, pg_restore outputs a script containing the SQL commands necessary to rebuild the database similar to the pg_dump.

Usage:

-- Connect to an existing database and restore the backup archive
pg_restore -d database_name outputfile.dump

-- Create and restore the database from the backup archive
pg_restore -C -d database_name outputfile.dump

psql COPY command

psql is a command-line client interface to Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL. With the COPY command, psql reads the file specified in the command arguments and routes the data between the server and the local file system.

Usage:

-- Connect to an existing database and restore the backup archive
psql -p 5432 -U username -h cloud_sql_instance_ip -d database_name -c "\copy emps from '/opt/files/inputfile.csv' WITH csv;" -W

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL export/import:

The following documentation links illustrate how to use the gsutil and gcloud command-line tools to interact with the Cloud SQL instance and with Cloud Storage in order to apply Export and Import operations.

Instance-level backup and restore

In Cloud SQL, backup and recovery tasks are handled through automated and on-demand database backups.

Backups provide a way to restore your Cloud SQL instance to recover lost data or recover from a problem with your instance. We recommend that you enable automated backups for any instance that contains data that you need to protect from loss or damage.

You can create a backup at any time, which is useful if you are about to perform a risky operation on your database, or if you need a backup and don't want to wait for the backup window. You can create on-demand backups for any instance, whether the instance has automatic backups enabled or not.

On-demand backups are not automatically deleted the way automated backups are. They persist until you delete them or until their instance is deleted. Because they are not automatically deleted, on-demand backups can have a long-term effect on your billing charges if you don't delete them

When you enable automated backups, you specify a 4-hour backup window. The backup starts during this window. When possible, schedule backups when your instance has the least activity. If your data has not changed since your last backup, no backup is taken.

Cloud SQL retains up to 7 automated backups for each instance. The storage used by backups is charged at a reduced rate depending on the region where the backups are stored. For more about the pricing list, see Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL pricing.

You can use Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL database instance restoration to restore to the same instance, overwrite existing data, or restore to a different instance. Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL also lets you restore a PostgreSQL database to a specific point in time with the automated backup option enabled.

For more information about how to create or manage on-demand and automatic backups, see Creating and managing on-demand and automatic backups.

The following table lists the common backup and restore operations in Oracle and their equivalent in Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL:

Description Oracle (Recovery Manager - RMAN) Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL
Scheduled automatic backups Create a DBMS_SCHEDULER job that will execute your RMAN script on a scheduled basis. gcloud sql instances patch INSTANCE_NAME --backup-start-time HH:MM
Manual full database backups BACKUP DATABASE PLUS ARCHIVELOG; gcloud sql backups create --async --instance INSTANCE_NAME
Restore database RUN
{
SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE;
STARTUP MOUNT;
RESTORE DATABASE;
RECOVER DATABASE;
ALTER DATABASE OPEN;
}
gcloud sql backups list --instance INSTANCE_NAME
gcloud sql backups restore BACKUP_ID --restore-instance=INSTANCE_NAME
Incremental differential BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 0 DATABASE;
BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 1 DATABASE;
All backups are incremental, with no option to choose incremental type.
Incremental cumulative BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 0 CUMULATIVE DATABASE;
BACKUP INCREMENTAL LEVEL 1 CUMULATIVE DATABASE;
All backups are incremental, with no option to choose incremental type.
Restore database to a specific point in time RUN
{
SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE;
STARTUP MOUNT;
SET UNTIL TIME "TO_DATE('19-SEP-2017 23:45:00','DD-MON-YYYY HH24:MI:SS')";
RESTORE DATABASE;
RECOVER DATABASE;
ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS;
}
gcloud sql instances clone SOURCE_INSTANCE_NAME NEW_INSTANCE_NAME \
--point-in-time TIMESTAMP
Backup database archive logs BACKUP ARCHIVELOG ALL; Not supported.

Standby instances for read-only operations and disaster recovery implementation

Oracle Active Data Guard allows a standby instance to serve as a read-only endpoint while new data is still being applied through the redo and archive logs. You can also use Oracle GoldenGate to enable an additional instance for read purposes while data modifications are applied in real time, serving as a Change Data Capture (CDC) solution.

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL uses a standby instance for high availability. This instance is kept in sync with the primary instance through disk-level replication. Unlike Active Data Guard, it's not open for reads or writes. When the primary goes down or becomes unresponsive for approximately 60 seconds, the primary automatically fails over to the standby instance. Within a few seconds, the roles swap and the new primary takes over.

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL also offers read-replicas to scale read requests. They are designed to offload reads from the primary instance, not serve as a standby instance for disaster recovery. Unlike the standby instance, read replicas are kept in sync with the primary asynchronously. They can be in a different zone from the primary and also in a different region. You can create a read replica by using the Cloud Console or the gcloud tool. Note that some operations require an instance reboot (for example, adding high availability to an existing primary instance).

Logging and monitoring

Oracle's alert log file is the main source for identifying general system events and error events in order to understand any Oracle database instance lifecycle (mainly troubleshooting failure events and error events).

The Oracle alert log displays information about the following:

  • Oracle database instance errors and warnings (ORA- + error number).
  • Oracle database instance startup and shutdown events.
  • Network and connection related issues.
  • Database redo logs switching events.
  • Oracle trace files might be mentioned with a link for additional details regarding a specific database event.

Oracle provides dedicated log files for different services such as LISTENER, ASM, and Enterprise Manager (OEM), which do not have equivalent components in Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL.

Viewing Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL operation logs

Cloud Logging is the main platform to view all log entries in postgres.log (the equivalent of alert.log in Oracle). You can filter by the log event level (for example, Critical, Error, or Warning). Event timeframe and free text filtering are also available.

Viewing logs in the concole.

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL database instance monitoring

Oracle's main UI monitoring dashboards are part of the OEM and Grid/Cloud Control products (for example, Top Activity Graphs) and are useful for real-time database instance monitoring at the session or SQL statement level. Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL provides similar monitoring capabilities using the Cloud Console. You can view summarized information about the Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL database instances with multiple monitoring metrics such as CPU utilization, storage usage, memory usage, read/write operations, ingress/egress bytes, active connections, and more.

Cloud Logging supports additional monitoring metrics for Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL. The following screenshot shows a Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL queries graph for the last 12 hours.

Queries graph for the last 12 hours.

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL read-replica monitoring

You can monitor read-replicas the same way you monitor the primary instance, using the Cloud Console monitoring metrics (as described earlier). Also, there is a dedicated monitoring metric for monitoring the replication delay—determining the lag between the primary instance to the read-replica instance in bytes (can be monitored from the read-replica instance overview tab in the Cloud Console).

You can use the gcloud tool to retrieve the replication status:

gcloud sql instances describe REPLICA_NAME

You can also do replication monitoring by using commands from a PostgreSQL client, which provides the status of the primary and standby databases.

You can use the following SQL statement to verify the read-replica status:

postgres=> select * from pg_stat_replication;

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL monitoring

This section describes basic Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL monitoring methods that are considered routine tasks performed by a database administrator (DBA) like Oracle or Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL.

Session monitoring

Oracle session monitoring is done by querying the dynamic performance views known as the "V$" views. The V$SESSION and V$PROCESS views are commonly used to gain real-time insights about current database activity, using SQL statements. You can monitor session activity by querying the pg_stat_activity dynamic view:

postgres=> select * from pg_stat_activity;

Long transaction monitoring

You can identify long-running queries by applying appropriate filters on columns such as query_start and state in the pg_stat_activity dynamic view.

Lock monitoring

You can monitor database locks using the pg_locks dynamic view, which provides real-time information about lock occurrences that might lead to performance issues.

What's next