实现数据安全

Google Cloud 架构框架中的本文档提供了实现数据安全的最佳实践。

在部署架构中,您必须考虑计划要在 Google Cloud 中处理和存储的数据以及这些数据的敏感性。请设计您的控制措施,以帮助确保数据在其生命周期内的安全性、识别数据所有权和分类以及保护数据免遭未经授权的使用。

如需了解按照本文档中介绍的安全最佳做法部署 BigQuery 数据仓库的安全蓝图,请参阅确保存储机密数据的 BigQuery 数据仓库的安全性

自动对数据进行分类

尽早在数据管理生命周期内执行数据分类,最好在创建数据时便对其进行分类。通常,只需要进行如下数据分类:

  • 公开:已批准公开访问的数据。
  • 内部:未公开发布的非敏感数据。
  • 机密:可用于常规内部分发的敏感数据。
  • 受限:需要受限分发的高度敏感或监管数据。

使用 Cloud DLP 发现 Google Cloud 环境中的数据并进行分类。Cloud DLP 内置了对 Cloud StorageBigQueryDatastore 中敏感数据的扫描和分类支持。它还提供了一个流式传输 API 来支持其他数据源和自定义工作负载。

Cloud DLP 可以使用内置 infoType 识别敏感数据。它可以自动对敏感元素(例如 PII 数据)进行分类、遮盖、令牌化和转换,以便您管理收集、存储和使用数据的风险。换句话说,它可以与数据生命周期内的各流程集成,以确保每个阶段的数据都受到保护。

详情请参阅以下内容:

使用元数据管理数据治理

数据治理是指为确保数据安全、私有、准确、可用和易用所执行的各流程的组合。虽然您负责为组织定义数据治理策略,但 Google Cloud 可以提供各种工具和技术来帮助您将策略付诸实践。Google Cloud 还在云端提供了数据治理框架 (PDF)

使用 Data Catalog查找、挑选和使用元数据来描述您在云端的数据资源。您可以使用 Data Catalog 搜索数据资源,然后使用元数据标记这些资源。为帮助加速数据分类工作,请将 Data Catalog 与 Cloud DLP 集成,以自动识别机密数据。标记数据后,您便可以使用 Google Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来限制用户可以通过 Data Catalog 视图查询或使用的数据。

使用 Dataproc MetastoreHive Metastore 来管理工作负载的元数据。Data Catalog 有一个 Hive 连接器,可让服务发现 Hive Metastore 内的元数据。

使用 Dataprep by Trifacta 通过控制台定义和强制执行数据质量规则。您可以从 Cloud Data Fusion 内使用 Dataprep,也可以将 Dataprep 作为独立服务来使用。

根据数据的生命周期阶段和分类来保护数据

在数据的生命周期上下文中定义数据并根据其敏感性和风险对其进行分类后,您可以分配适当的安全控制措施来保护数据。您必须确保控制措施提供了足够的保护、满足合规性要求并降低风险。在迁移到云端后,请查看您当前的策略,以及可能需要更改当前流程的位置。

下表介绍了云端数据安全策略的三个特征。

特征 说明
识别 在创建、修改、存储、使用、共享和删除数据时,了解对数据执行这些操作的用户、资源和应用的身份。

使用 Cloud IdentityIAM 来控制对数据的访问权限。如果您的身份要求提供证书,请考虑使用 Certificate Authority Service

如需了解详情,请参阅管理身份和访问权限
边界和访问权限 设置控制措施来管理数据的访问方式、能够访问数据的人员以及访问数据需满足的条件。您可以在以下级层管理数据的访问边界:

公开范围 您可以审核使用情况并创建报告,以展示数据的控制和访问方式。Google Cloud LoggingAccess Transparency 可让您深入了解自己的云端管理员及 Google 员工的活动。如需了解详情,请参阅监控数据

加密您的数据

默认情况下,Google Cloud 会对静态存储的客户数据进行加密,因此您无需执行任何操作。除了默认加密之外,Google Cloud 还提供信封加密和加密密钥管理选项。例如,虽然 Compute Engine 永久性磁盘会自动加密,但您可以提供或管理自己的密钥。

无论您选择的是用于存储、计算还是大数据工作负载的密钥,都必须确定最适合密钥生成、存储和轮替要求的解决方案。

Google Cloud 提供以下加密和密钥管理选项:

  • 客户管理的加密密钥 (CMEK)。您可以使用 Cloud Key Management Service (Cloud KMS) 来生成和管理您的加密密钥。如果您有特定的密钥管理要求(例如需要定期轮替加密密钥),则可以使用此选项。
  • 客户提供的加密密钥 (CSEK)。您可以创建和管理自己的加密密钥,然后根据需要将其提供给 Google Cloud。如果您使用本地密钥管理系统生成自己的密钥,即自带密钥 (BYOK),则可以使用此选项。如果您使用 CSEK 提供自己的密钥,Google 会复制这些密钥并将其提供给您的工作负载。但是,CSEK 的安全性和可用性由您负责,因为客户提供的密钥不会存储在实例模板或 Google 基础架构中。如果您出于各种原因无法再访问这些密钥,Google 将无法帮助您恢复加密的数据。请仔细考虑您要自行创建和管理哪些密钥。您最好只将 CSEK 用于最敏感的信息。还有一种方法是对数据执行客户端加密,然后将加密的数据存储在 Google Cloud 中,之后 Google 会再次加密该数据。
  • 具有 Cloud External Key Manager (Cloud EKM) 的第三方密钥管理系统。Cloud EKM 使用您在 Google 基础架构外部控制的第三方密钥管理系统中存储和管理的加密密钥来保护您的静态数据。使用此方法时,您可以确保组织外部的任何人都无法访问您的数据。借助 Cloud EKM,您可以轻松地使用高度安全的自行保管密钥 (HYOK) 模型来进行密钥管理。如需了解兼容性信息,请参阅已启用 Cloud EKM 的服务列表

Cloud KMS 还允许您使用软件支持的加密密钥或经过 FIPS 140-2 3 级验证的硬件安全模块 (HSM) 来加密数据。如果您使用的是 Cloud KMS,则加密密钥将存储在资源部署所在的区域中。Cloud HSM 会跨区域分发密钥管理需求,从而为密钥提供了冗余性和全球可用性。

如需了解信封加密的工作原理,请参阅 Google Cloud 中的静态加密

内容将被访问。如需了解详情,请参阅控制云管理员对数据的访问权限

控制云管理员对数据的访问权限

您可以控制 Google 支持和工程团队对您的 Google Cloud 环境的访问权限。借助 Access Approval,您可以事先明确批准 Google 员工访问您在 Google Cloud 上的数据或资源。此产品是对 Access Transparency 提供的可见状态的补充,它会在 Google 员工与您的数据交互时生成日志。这些日志中将包含办公地点和访问原因。

您可以将这些产品搭配使用来拒绝 Google 出于任何原因对您的数据进行解密的请求。

配置数据的存储位置以及用户可以访问这些数据的位置

您可以使用 VPC Service Controls 来控制用户可以访问数据的网络位置。此产品让您可以限制特定区域中的用户访问权限。即使用户根据您的 Google IAM 政策获得授权,您也可以强制执行此限制条件。您可以使用 VPC Service Controls 创建服务边界,从而定义可以从中访问服务的虚拟边界,防止数据移动到这些边界之外。

详情请参阅以下内容:

使用 Secret Manager 管理 Secret

借助 Secret Manager,您可以将所有 Secret 存储在一个集中位置。Secret 是数据库密码、API 密钥或 TLS 证书等配置信息。您可以自动轮替 Secret,并且可以将应用配置为自动使用最新版本的 Secret。每次与 Secret Manager 交互都会生成审核日志,因此您可以查看对每个 Secret 的每次访问。

Cloud Data Loss Prevention 还提供检测器类别,以帮助您识别可能受到 Secret Manager 保护的数据中的凭据和 Secret。

监控您的数据

如需查看管理员活动和密钥使用日志,请使用 Cloud Audit Logs。为了帮助保护您的数据,请使用 Cloud Monitoring 来监控日志,以确保正确使用您的密钥。

Cloud Logging 会捕获 Google Cloud 事件,并且允许您在必要时添加其他来源。您可以按区域细分日志将日志存储在存储桶中,以及集成自定义代码来处理日志。如需查看示例,请参阅构建您自己的分析解决方案

您还可以将日志导出到 BigQuery 来执行安全和访问分析,以帮助识别对组织数据的未经授权更改及不当访问。

Security Command Center 可以帮助您识别并解决存储在云端的组织敏感数据中的不安全访问问题。通过单个管理界面,您便可以扫描您的云基础架构中的各种安全漏洞和风险。例如,您可以监控数据渗漏,扫描存储系统中的机密数据,并检测有哪些 Cloud Storage 存储桶对互联网开放。

后续步骤

通过以下资源,详细了解数据安全:

Implement data security

This document in the Google Cloud Architecture Framework provides best practices for implementing data security.

As part of your deployment architecture, you must consider what data you plan to process and store in Google Cloud, and the sensitivity of the data. Design your controls to help secure the data during its lifecycle, to identify data ownership and classification, and to help protect data from unauthorized use.

For more information, see Designing and deploying data security strategy (PDF).

Automatically classify your data

Perform data classification as early in the data management lifecycle as possible, ideally when the data is created. Usually, data classification efforts require only a few categories, such as the following:

  • Public: Data that has been approved for public access.
  • Internal: Non-sensitive data that isn't released to the public.
  • Confidential: Sensitive data that's available for general internal distribution.
  • Restricted: Highly sensitive or regulated data that requires restricted distribution.

Use Cloud DLP to discover and classify data across your Google Cloud environment. Cloud DLP has built-in support for scanning and classifying sensitive data in Cloud Storage, BigQuery, and Datastore. It also has a streaming API to support additional data sources and custom workloads.

Cloud DLP can identify sensitive data using built-in infotypes. It can automatically classify, mask, tokenize, and transform sensitive elements (such as PII data) to let you manage the risk of collecting, storing, and using data. In other words, it can integrate with your data lifecycle processes to ensure that data in every stage is protected.

For more information, see the following:

Manage data governance using metadata

Data governance is a combination of processes that ensure that data is secure, private, accurate, available, and usable. Although you are responsible for defining a data governance strategy for your organization, Google Cloud provides tools and technologies to help you put your strategy into practice. Google Cloud also provides a framework for data governance (PDF) in the cloud.

Use Data Catalog to find, curate, and use metadata to describe your data assets in the cloud. You can use Data Catalog to search for data assets, then tag the assets with metadata. To help accelerate your data classification efforts, integrate Data Catalog with Cloud DLP to automatically identify confidential data. After data is tagged, you can use Google Identity and Access Management (IAM) to restrict which data users can query or use through Data Catalog views.

Use Dataproc Metastore or Hive metastore to manage metadata for workloads. Data Catalog has a hive connector that allows the service to discover metadata that's inside a hive metastore.

Use Dataprep by Trifacta to define and enforce data quality rules through a console. You can use Dataprep from within Cloud Data Fusion or use Dataprep as a standalone service.

Protect data according to its lifecycle phase and classification

After you define data within the context of its lifecycle and classify it based on its sensitivity and risk, you can assign the right security controls to protect it. You must ensure that your controls deliver adequate protections, meet compliance requirements, and reduce risk. As you move to the cloud, review your current strategy and where you might need to change your current processes.

The following table describes three characteristics of a data security strategy in the cloud.

Characteristic Description
Identification Understand the identity of users, resources, and applications as they create, modify, store, use, share, and delete data.

Use Cloud Identity and IAM to control access to data. If your identities require certificates, consider Certificate Authority Service.

For more information, see Manage identity and access.
Boundary and access Set up controls for how data is accessed, by whom, and under what circumstances. Access boundaries to data can be managed at these levels:

Visibility You can audit usage and create reports that demonstrate how data is controlled and accessed. Google Cloud Logging and Access Transparency provide insights into the activities of your own cloud administrators and Google personnel. For more information, see Monitor your data.

Encrypt your data

By default, Google Cloud encrypts customer data stored at rest, with no action required from you. In addition to default encryption, Google Cloud provides options for envelope encryption and encryption key management. For example, Compute Engine persistent disks are automatically encrypted, but you can supply or manage your own keys.

You must identify the solutions that best fit your requirements for key generation, storage, and rotation, whether you're choosing the keys for your storage, for compute, or for big data workloads.

Google Cloud includes the following options for encryption and key management:

  • Customer-managed encryption keys (CMEK). You can generate and manage your encryption keys using Cloud Key Management Service (Cloud KMS). Use this option if you have certain key management requirements, such as the need to rotate encryption keys regularly.
  • Customer-supplied encryption keys (CSEK). You can create and manage your own encryption keys, and then provide them to Google Cloud when necessary. Use this option if you generate your own keys using your on-premises key management system to bring your own key (BYOK). If you provide your own keys using CSEK, Google replicates them and makes them available to your workloads. However, the security and availability of CSEK is your responsibility because customer-supplied keys aren't stored in instance templates or in Google infrastructure. If you lose access to the keys, Google can't help you recover the encrypted data. Think carefully about which keys you want to create and manage yourself. You might use CSEK for only the most sensitive information. Another option is to perform client-side encryption on your data and then store the encrypted data in Google Cloud, where the data is encrypted again by Google.
  • Third-party key management system with Cloud External Key Manager (Cloud EKM). Cloud EKM protects your data at rest by using encryption keys that are stored and managed in a third-party key management system that you control outside of the Google infrastructure. When you use this method, you have high assurance that your data can't be accessed by anyone outside of your organization. Cloud EKM lets you achieve a secure hold-your-own-key (HYOK) model for key management. For compatibility information, see the Cloud EKM enabled services list.

Cloud KMS also lets you encrypt your data with either software-backed encryption keys or FIPS 140-2 Level 3 validated hardware security modules (HSMs). If you're using Cloud KMS, your cryptographic keys are stored in the region where you deploy the resource. Cloud HSM distributes your key management needs across regions, providing redundancy and global availability of keys.

For information on how envelope encryption works, see Encryption at rest in Google Cloud (PDF).

content is accessed. For more information, see Control cloud administrators' access to your data.

Control cloud administrators' access to your data

You can control access by Google support and engineering personnel to your environment on Google Cloud. Access Approval lets you explicitly approve before Google employees access your data or resources on Google Cloud. This product complements the visibility provided by Access Transparency, which generates logs when Google personnel interact with your data. These logs include the office location and the reason for the access.

Using these products together, you can deny Google the ability to decrypt your data for any reason.

Configure where your data is stored and where users can access it from

You can control the network locations from which users can access data by using VPC Service Controls. This product lets you limit access to users in a specific region. You can enforce this constraint even if the user is authorized according to your Google IAM policy. Using VPC Service Controls, you create a service perimeter which defines the virtual boundaries from which a service can be accessed, which prevents data from being moved outside those boundaries.

For more information, see the following:

Manage secrets using Secret Manager

Secret Manager lets you store all of your secrets in a centralized place. Secrets are configuration information such as database passwords, API keys, or TLS certificates. You can automatically rotate secrets, and you can configure applications to automatically use the latest version of a secret. Every interaction with Secret Manager generates an audit log, so you view every access to every secret.

Cloud Data Loss Prevention also has a category of detectors to help you identify credentials and secrets in data that could be protected with Secret Manager.

Monitor your data

To view administrator activity and key use logs, use Cloud Audit Logs. To help secure your data, monitor logs using Cloud Monitoring to ensure proper use of your keys.

Cloud Logging captures Google Cloud events and lets you add additional sources if necessary. You can segment your logs by region, store them in buckets, and integrate custom code for processing logs. For an example, see the "Building your own analysis solution" section in the security foundations guide (PDF). You can also export logs to BigQuery to perform security and access analytics to help identify unauthorized changes and inappropriate access to your organization's data.

Security Command Center can help you identify and resolve insecure-access problems to sensitive organizational data that's stored in the cloud. Through a single management interface, you can scan for a wide variety of security vulnerabilities and risks to your cloud infrastructure. For example, you can monitor for data exfiltration, scan storage systems for confidential data, and detect which Cloud Storage buckets are open to the internet.

What's next

Learn more about data security with the following resources: