最佳做法

建構使用 Cloud Datastore 的應用程式時,您可以快速參考本文章所列的最佳做法;如果您剛開始使用 Cloud Datastore,或許不適合參考本頁面,因為這裡不說明使用 Cloud Datastore 的基本概念。我們建議新的使用者先參閱開始使用 Cloud Datastore 一文。

一般

  • 命名空間名稱、種類名稱、屬性名稱及自訂索引鍵名稱一律採用 UTF-8 字元。這類名稱如使用非 UTF-8 字元,可能會干擾 Cloud Datastore 的功能。例如,屬性名稱若含非 UTF-8 字元,可能無法建立使用該屬性的索引。
  • 種類名稱或自訂索引鍵名稱不可使用正斜線 (/)。這類名稱如使用正斜線,可能會干擾未來的功能。
  • 避免將機密資訊儲存在 Cloud 專案 ID 中。專案結束後,專案 ID 仍有可能保留下來。

API 呼叫

  • 讀取、寫入及刪除應採用批次作業而非單一作業。批次作業的效率較高,原因在於這類作業能夠執行多項和單一作業負擔相同的作業。
  • 交易失敗,請務必復原交易。復原作業能夠盡量避免重試交易中另一個競爭相同資源的要求時出現延遲情況。請注意,復原本身也有可能失敗,因此嘗試復原時只需盡力而為。
  • 盡可能以非同步呼叫取代同步呼叫。非同步呼叫可以盡可能降低延遲造成的衝擊。以需要同步 lookup() 及查詢結果才能顯示回應的應用程式為例。若 lookup() 及查詢不具資料相依關係,就不需要同步等待 lookup() 完成再開始查詢。

實體

  • 將高度相關資料歸類為實體群組。實體群組能夠進行祖系查詢,這類查詢會傳回具同步一致性的結果。祖系查詢也能在運用最少 I/O 的前提下快速掃描實體群組,因為實體群組中的實體均實際儲存在 Cloud Datastore 伺服器的附近。
  • 寫入實體群組的頻率避免超過每秒一次。若寫入頻率長時間高於這個限制,可能會強化最終一致性讀取的最終程度,導致同步一致性讀取發生逾時情形,使得應用程式的整體效能變慢。這項限制只將一次實體群組批次或交易寫入作業列為單一寫入。
  • 同一次修訂不要重複包含同一個實體 (以索引鍵為準)。同一次修訂如重複包含同一個實體多次,可能會影響 Cloud Datastore 延遲時間。

索引鍵

  • 建立實體時若未提供索引鍵名稱,會由系統自動產生。索引鍵名稱的分配方式是平均散佈於索引鍵空間。
  • 如使用自訂索引鍵名稱,請一律使用 UTF-8 字元,但勿使用正斜線 (/)。非 UTF-8 字元會干擾多項處理序,例如將 Cloud Datastore 備份匯入 Google BigQuery。正斜線可能會干擾未來的功能。
  • 索引鍵若使用數字 ID:
    • ID 不可使用負數。負數 ID 可能會干擾排序功能。
    • ID 不可使用 0 (零) 值,否則會採用自動分配的 ID。
    • 如要自行為您所建立的實體手動指派數字 ID,請使用 allocateIds() 方法設定讓應用程式取得 ID 區塊。這樣能夠避免 Cloud Datastore 將其中一個數字 ID 指派給另一個實體。
  • 若自行為您所建立的實體手動指派數字 ID 或自訂名稱,請勿使用單純增加的數值,例如:

    1, 2, 3, …,
    "Customer1", "Customer2", "Customer3", ….
    "Product 1", "Product 2", "Product 3", ….
    

    若應用程式產生的流量偏大,此類連續編號方式可能會導致資源使用率不均,因而影響 Cloud Datastore 延遲時間。為避免連續數字 ID 造成問題,請使用 allocateIds() 方法取得數字 ID。allocateIds() 方法會產生均勻分佈的連續數字 ID。

  • 之後,只要指定索引鍵或儲存系統產生的名稱,不需發出尋找實體的查詢亦可針對該實體執行一致的 lookup()

索引

  • 若查詢不再需要某項屬性,可以將屬性排除於索引之外。若建立不需要的屬性索引,可能會拉長達成一致性的延遲時間,也可能會增加索引項目的儲存成本
  • 避免過多的複合式索引。過度使用複合式索引可能會拉長達到一致性的延遲時間,也可能會增加索引項目的儲存成本。如需臨時查詢大型資料集,但未事先定義索引,請使用 Google BigQuery
  • 不可為含單純增加值的屬性 (例如 NOW() 時間戳記) 建立索引。若應用程式的讀取率和寫入率較高,保留此類索引可能會造成資源使用率不均,因而影響 Cloud Datastore 延遲時間。如需有關處理單純屬性的進一步協助,請參閱下方的高速讀取/寫入小範圍索引鍵

屬性

  • 類型字串屬性一律使用 UTF-8 字元。類別字串屬性如使用非 UTF-8 字元,可能會干擾查詢。如需使用非 UTF-8 字元儲存資料,請改用位元組字串
  • 屬性名稱不可使用句點 (.)。屬性名稱若使用句點,未來建立結構化屬性的索引時可能會發生干擾。

查詢

  • 若只需存取查詢結果的索引鍵,請使用純索引鍵查詢。純索引鍵查詢傳回結果的延遲機率較低,成本也低於擷取整個實體。
  • 如只需存取實體的特定屬性,請使用投影查詢。投影查詢傳回結果的延遲機率較低,成本也低於擷取整個實體。
  • 同樣地,如只需存取包含在查詢篩選條件中的屬性 (例如列在 order by 子句中的屬性),請使用投影查詢
  • 不可使用位移,需改用游標。使用位移只能避免將略過的實體傳回應用程式中,但是系統仍會在內部擷取這些實體。略過的實體會影響查詢延遲時間,應用程式擷取這類實體時必須進行的讀取作業皆須計費。
  • 您的查詢若需維持同步一致性,請使用祖系查詢 (若要使用祖系查詢,需先建立能達到同步一致性的資料結構)。祖系查詢會傳回具同步一致性的結果。請注意,若在非祖系的純索引鍵查詢之後執行 lookup(),不會傳回同步一致性結果,這是因為非祖系純索引鍵查詢可以在查詢時並不一致的索引中得到結果。

資源調度設計

更新單一實體群組

Cloud Datastore 中單一實體群組的更新速度不宜過快。

若使用 Cloud Datastore,Google 建議您將應用程式設計為更新實體群組的速度不超過每秒一次。請記住,沒有父項及子項的實體自成一個實體群組。若更新實體群組的速度過快,Cloud Datastore 寫入作業會發生延遲、逾時以及其他錯誤類型的機率會更高。這就是所謂的爭用現象。

Cloud Datastore 寫入單一實體群組的速度有時可能會超過每秒一次的上限,因此,載入測試不見得能夠彰顯這個問題。如需關於設計應用程式時如何降低實體群組寫入速度的建議,請參閱 Cloud Datastore 爭用現象一文

高速讀取/寫入小範圍索引鍵

請避免高速讀取或寫入字母順序接近的 Cloud Datastore 索引鍵。

Cloud Datastore 的建構基礎是 Google 的 NoSQL 資料庫 Bigtable,必須以 Bigtable 的效能特性為準。Bigtable 會將資料列分割成獨立的子表,以此進行資源調度,而且資料列索引鍵的字母排列順序十分接近。

使用 Cloud Datastore 時若突然提高小範圍索引鍵的寫入速度,並且超出單一子表伺服器的產能,可能會導致子表資源使用率不均,寫入速度反而變慢。Bigtable 終究會為了支援高載入而分割索引鍵空間。

讀取上限通常比寫入上限高得多,除非您是以高速讀取單一索引鍵。Bigtable 最多只能將單一索引鍵分割成一個子表。

資源使用率不均的子表適用於實體索引鍵和索引所用的索引鍵範圍。

在某些情況下,Cloud Datastore 資源使用率不均現象對應用程式造成的影響可能不僅止於妨礙讀取或寫入小範圍索引鍵。例如,執行個體啟動時可能會寫入或讀取熱鍵,導致載入要求失敗。

根據預設,Cloud Datastore 會使用離散演算法分配索引鍵。因此,若使用預設 ID 配置規則以高速寫入方式建立新的實體,執行 Cloud Datastore 寫入作業時通常不會發生資源使用率不均現象。有些極端情況可能會發生這種問題:

  • 您使用舊版的依序配置 ID 政策,以極高的速度建立新實體。

  • 您以極高的速度建立新的實體,同時自行配置單純增加的 ID。

  • 您以極高的速度建立新的實體,其種類原本有非常少的現有實體。Bigtable 會先從同一個子表伺服器中的所有實體開始,花時間將某個範圍的索引鍵分割至不同的子表伺服器。

  • 若您高速建立含單純增加索引屬性 (如時間戳記) 的新實體,也會發生這種問題,因為這些屬性在 Bigtable 中是索引資料表的索引鍵。

  • Cloud Datastore 會在 Bigtable 資料列索引鍵之前加上根實體群組的名稱空間及種類。若開始寫入新的命名空間或種類,而未逐漸增加流量,可能會發生資源使用率不均現象。

若您的索引鍵或索引屬性將單純增加,您可以在前面加上隨機雜湊碼,確保能夠將索引鍵分割為多個子表。

同樣地,如需使用排序或篩選方式查詢單純增加 (或減少) 的屬性,可以改為新的屬性建立索引,再於單純增加的值之前加上一個在整個資料集均採用高基數的值 (但只要符合您要執行查詢的範圍,其中所有實體皆可共用這個屬性)。例如,若您想要依時間戳記查詢項目,但一次只需要傳回一位使用者的結果,就可以在使用者 ID 前加上時間戳記,然後改為這個新屬性建立索引。這樣您仍然能夠進行查詢,也能排序該名使用者的結果,但由於加上了使用者 ID,因此更能確定可以順利分割索引本身。

如需有關這個問題的詳細說明,請參閱 Ikai Lan 探討在 Cloud Datastore 中儲存單純增加值的網誌文章

增加流量

逐漸增加新 Cloud Datastore 種類或索引鍵空間部分的流量。

您應該逐漸增加新 Cloud Datastore 種類的流量,讓 Bigtable 有充裕的時間能夠隨著流量增加而分割子表。建議新 Cloud Datastore 種類的流量不要超過每秒 500 項作業,接著每 5 分鐘增加 50% 的流量。理論上,按照這樣的增加時間表執行 90 分鐘後,就能擴充到 740K 項作業。整個索引鍵範圍內的寫入作業一定要相當均勻。我們的 SRE 將這稱為「500/50/5」規則。

若您為了停止使用 A 種類並改用 B 種類而變更程式碼,這種逐漸增加的模式特別重要。要處理這樣的移轉作業,可以透過一種原始方式,那就是將程式碼改為讀取 B 種類,若 B 種類不存在,才讀取 A 種類。不過,這樣會導致局部索引鍵空間的新種類流量突然增加。若索引鍵空間稀疏,使用 Bigtable 分割子表可能效率不佳。

若您將實體移轉至同一個種類但不同範圍的索引鍵,可能也會發生一樣的問題。

您將實體移轉至新種類或索引鍵時所採用的策略,應取決於您的資料模型。以下所舉的策略範例稱為「平行讀取」。您需要判斷這項策略是否適用於您的資料。平行作業在移轉階段對成本造成的影響會是相當重要的考量因素。

請先讀取舊的實體或索引鍵。若沒有舊的實體或索引鍵,可以讀取新的實體或索引鍵。高速讀取不存在的實體可能會造成資源使用率不均現象,因此請務必逐漸增加負載。先將舊實體複製到新實體再刪除舊實體,會是比較好的策略。逐漸增加平行讀取,確定新的索引鍵空間分割情況良好。

要逐漸增加新種類的讀取或寫入,可行策略之一是使用決定性的使用者 ID 雜湊隨機取得寫入新實體的使用者百分比。一定要避免隨機函式或使用者行為扭曲使用者 ID 雜湊結果。

同時,請執行 Dataflow 工作,將舊實體或索引鍵中的資料全數複製到新實體或索引鍵。批次工作應避免寫入連續索引鍵,以利預防 Bigtable 資源使用率不均。批次工作完成後,您就只能讀取新的位置。

這個策略的進階版是一次只移轉一小批使用者。在使用者實體中新增一個欄位,用於追蹤該名使用者的移轉狀態。根據使用者 ID 的雜湊碼選取一批使用者。Mapreduce 或 Dataflow 工作會移轉這一批使用者的索引鍵。正在進行移轉的使用者將使用平行讀取。

請注意,除非您在移轉階段同時寫入新舊實體,否則無法輕易復原。這樣會增加 Cloud Datastore 成本。

刪除項目

避免刪除小範圍索引鍵內的大量 Datastore 實體。

Bigtable 會定期重新寫入其資料表,以利移除已經刪除的項目與重新排列資料,藉此提高讀取和寫入的效率。這個處理序稱為壓縮。

若您大量刪除小範圍索引鍵內的 Cloud Datastore 實體,則在壓縮完成之前,查詢此部分索引的速度就會變慢。在極罕見的情況下,查詢作業可能會在傳回結果之前逾時。

這種情況與在索引欄位使用時間戳記值代表實體到期時間背道而馳。為擷取過期的實體,您需要查詢這個索引欄位,而這個欄位可能存在於索引鍵空間與最近刪除實體之索引項目重疊的部分。

「資料分割查詢」會在時間戳記前加上固定長度的字串,您可以利用這類查詢提升效能。索引的依據整個字串進行排序,因此可以找到整個索引鍵範圍內屬於相同時間戳記的實體。您需同時執行多項查詢,以擷取每一項資料分割作業的結果。

要解決到期時間戳記問題,更全面的解決方案是使用「產生號碼」,這是一種會定期更新的全域計數器。系統會將產生號碼加在到期時間戳記之前,以利依產生號碼排列查詢順序,接著依序是分割資料和時間戳記。刪除舊實體的作業會在前一次產生時發生。凡未刪除的實體,產生號碼都要遞增。刪除完成後,就繼續進行下一次產生作業。若在完成壓縮前查詢舊的產生作業,效能會較差。您可能需要等待完成數次產生作業之後,才能查詢索引並取得待刪除實體的清單,這是為了降低最終不一致遺漏結果的風險。

資料分割與備用資源

使用資料分割或備用資源處理 Cloud Datastore 熱鍵。

讀取某個索引鍵範圍的速度如需超出 Bigtable 的限制,可以使用備用資源。這種策略能夠儲存同一個實體的 N 個複本,讀取速度也能比單一實體所支援的速度高出 N 倍。

寫入某個索引鍵範圍的速度如需超出 Bigtable 的限制,則可使用資料分割。資料分割會將實體分成數個較小的片段。原則說明請參閱資料分割計數器一文。

資料分割時的常見錯誤如下:

  • 以時間為字首進行資料分割。若時間前進到下一個字首,則新的未分割部分就會發生資源使用率不均現象。您應該改為逐漸為一部分寫入增加新的字首。

  • 只針對資源使用率不均現象最嚴重的實體進行資料分割。若分割實體總數的其中一小部分,資源使用率不均實體之間的資料列可能不足,因而無法確認這些實體是否屬於不同的分割資料。

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Datastore 說明文件

Best Practices

You can use the best practices listed here as a quick reference of what to keep in mind when building an application that uses Google Cloud Datastore. If you are just starting out with Cloud Datastore, this page might not be the best place to start, because it does not teach you the basics of how to use Cloud Datastore. If you are a new user, we suggest that you start with Getting Started with the Google Cloud Datastore API.

General

  • Always use UTF-8 characters for namespace names, kind names, property names, and custom key names. Non-UTF-8 characters used in these names can interfere with Cloud Datastore functionality. For example, a non-UTF-8 character in a property name can prevent creation of an index that uses the property.
  • Do not use a forward slash (/) in kind names or custom key names. Forward slashes in these names could interfere with future functionality.
  • Avoid storing sensitive information in a Cloud Project ID. A Cloud Project ID might be retained beyond the life of your project.

API calls

  • Use batch operations for your reads, writes, and deletes instead of single operations. Batch operations are more efficient because they perform multiple operations with the same overhead as a single operation.
  • If a transaction fails, ensure you try to rollback the transaction. The rollback minimizes retry latency for a different request contending for the same resource(s) in a transaction. Note that a rollback itself might fail, so the rollback should be a best-effort attempt only.
  • Use asynchronous calls where available instead of synchronous calls. Asynchronous calls minimize latency impact. For example, consider an application that needs the result of a lookup() and the results of a query before it can render a response. If the lookup() and the query do not have a data dependency, there is no need to synchronously wait until the lookup() completes before initiating the query.

Entities

  • Group highly related data in entity groups. Entity groups enable ancestor queries, which return strongly consistent results. Ancestor queries also rapidly scan an entity group with minimal I/O because the entities in an entity group are stored at physically close places on Cloud Datastore servers.
  • Avoid writing to an entity group more than once per second. Writing at a sustained rate above that limit makes eventually consistent reads more eventual, leads to time outs for strongly consistent reads, and results in slower overall performance of your application. A batch or transactional write to an entity group counts as only a single write against this limit.
  • Do not include the same entity (by key) multiple times in the same commit. Including the same entity multiple times in the same commit could impact Cloud Datastore latency.

Keys

  • For a key that uses a custom name, always use UTF-8 characters except a forward slash (/). Non-UTF-8 characters interfere with various processes such as importing a Cloud Datastore backup into Google BigQuery. A forward slash could interfere with future functionality.
  • For a key that uses a numeric ID:
    • Do not use a negative number for the ID. A negative ID could interfere with sorting.
    • Do not use the value 0(zero) for the ID. If you do, you will get an automatically allocated ID.
    • If you wish to assign your own numeric IDs manually to the entities you create, have your application obtain a block of IDs with the allocateIds() method. This will prevent Cloud Datastore from assigning one of your manual numeric IDs to another entity.
  • If you assign your own manual numeric ID or custom name to the entities you create, do not use monotonically increasing values such as:

    1, 2, 3, …,
    "Customer1", "Customer2", "Customer3", ….
    "Product 1", "Product 2", "Product 3", ….
    

    If an application generates large traffic, such sequential numbering could lead to hotspots that impact Cloud Datastore latency. To avoid the issue of sequential numeric IDs, obtain numeric IDs from the allocateIds() method. The allocateIds() method generates well-distributed sequences of numeric IDs.

Indexes

  • If a property will never be needed for a query, exclude the property from indexes. Unnecessarily indexing a property could result in increased latency to achieve consistency, and increased storage costs of index entries.
  • Avoid having too many composite indexes. Excessive use of composite indexes could result in increased latency to achieve consistency, and increased storage costs of index entries. If you need to execute ad hoc queries on large datasets without previously defined indexes, use Google BigQuery.
  • Do not index properties with monotonically increasing values (such as a NOW() timestamp). Maintaining such an index could lead to hotspots that impact Cloud Datastore latency for applications with high read and write rates.

Properties

  • Always use UTF-8 characters for properties of type string. A non-UTF-8 character in a property of type string could interfere with queries. If you need to save data with non-UTF-8 characters, use a byte string.
  • Do not use dots in property names. Dots in property names can interfere with future indexing of structured properties.

Queries

  • If you need to access only the key from query results, use a keys-only query. A keys-only query returns results at lower latency and cost than retrieving entire entities.
  • If you need to access only specific properties from an entity, use a projection query. A projection query returns results at lower latency and cost than retrieving entire entities.
  • Likewise, if you need to access only the properties that are included in the query filter (for example, those listed in an order by clause), use a projection query.
  • Do not use offsets. Instead use cursors. Using an offset only avoids returning the skipped entities to your application, but these entities are still retrieved internally. The skipped entities affect the latency of the query, and your application is billed for the read operations required to retrieve them.
  • If you need strong consistency for your queries, use an ancestor query. (To use ancestor queries, you first need to structure your data for strong consistency.) An ancestor query returns strongly consistent results. Note that a non-ancestor keys-only query followed by a lookup() does not return strong results, because the non-ancestor keys-only query could get results from an index that is not consistent at the time of the query.

Designing for scale

Updates to a single entity group

A single entity group in Cloud Datastore should not be updated too rapidly.

If you are using Cloud Datastore, Google recommends that you design your application so that it will not need to update an entity group more than once per second. Remember that an entity with no parent and no children is its own entity group. If you update an entity group too rapidly then your Cloud Datastore writes will have higher latency, timeouts, and other types of error. This is known as contention.

Cloud Datastore write rates to a single entity group can sometimes exceed the one per second limit so load tests might not show this problem. Some suggestions for designing your application to reduce write rates on entity groups are in the Cloud Datastore contention article.

High read/write rates to a narrow key range

Avoid high read or write rates to Cloud Datastore keys that are lexicographically close.

Cloud Datastore is built on top of Google’s NoSQL database, Bigtable, and is subject to Bigtable's performance characteristics. Bigtable scales by sharding rows onto separate tablets, and these rows are lexicographically ordered by key.

If you are using Cloud Datastore, you can get slow writes due to a hot tablet if you have a sudden increase in the write rate to a small range of keys that exceeds the capacity of a single tablet server. Bigtable will eventually split the key space to support high load.

The limit for reads is typically much higher than for writes, unless you are reading from a single key at a high rate. Bigtable cannot split a single key onto more than one tablet.

Hot tablets can apply to key ranges used by both entity keys and indexes.

In some cases, a Cloud Datastore hotspot can have wider impact to an application than preventing reads or writes to a small range of keys. For example, the hot keys might be read or written during instance startup, causing loading requests to fail.

By default, Cloud Datastore allocates keys using a scattered algorithm. Thus you will not normally encounter hotspotting on Cloud Datastore writes if you create new entities at a high write rate using the default ID allocation policy. There are some corner cases where you can hit this problem:

  • If you create new entities at a very high rate using the legacy sequential ID allocation policy.

  • If you create new entities at a very high rate and you are allocating your own IDs which are monotonically increasing.

  • If you create new entities at a very high rate for a kind which previously had very few existing entities. Bigtable will start off with all entities on the same tablet server and will take some time to split the range of keys onto separate tablet servers.

  • You will also see this problem if you create new entities at a high rate with a monotonically increasing indexed property like a timestamp, because these properties are the keys for rows in the index tables in Bigtable.

  • Cloud Datastore prepends the namespace and the kind of the root entity group to the Bigtable row key. You can hit a hotspot if you start to write to a new namespace or kind without gradually ramping up traffic.

If you do have a key or indexed property that will be monotonically increasing then you can prepend a random hash to ensure that the keys are sharded onto multiple tablets.

For a more detailed explanation of this issue, see Ikai Lan's blog posting on saving monotonically increasing values in Cloud Datastore.

Ramping up traffic

Gradually ramp up traffic to new Cloud Datastore kinds or portions of the keyspace.

You should ramp up traffic to new Cloud Datastore kinds gradually in order to give Bigtable sufficient time to split tablets as the traffic grows. We recommend a maximum of 500 operations per second to a new Cloud Datastore kind, then increasing traffic by 50% every 5 minutes. In theory, you can grow to 740K operations per second after 90 minutes using this ramp up schedule. Be sure that writes are distributed relatively evenly throughout the key range. Our SREs call this the "500/50/5" rule.

This pattern of gradual ramp up is particularly important if you change your code to stop using kind A and instead use kind B. A naive way to handle this migration is to change your code to read kind A, and if it does not exist then read kind B. However, this could cause a sudden increase in traffic to a new kind with a very small portion of the keysapce. Bigtable might be unable to efficiently split tablets if the keyspace is sparse.

The same problem can also occur if you migrate your entities to use a different range of keys within the same kind.

The strategy that you use to migrate entities to a new kind or key will depend on your data model. Below is an example strategy, known as "Parallel Reads". You will need to determine whether or not this strategy is effective for your data. An important consideration will be the cost impact of parallel operations during the migration.

Read from the old entity or key first. If it is missing, then you could read from the new entity or key. A high rate of reads of non-existent entities can lead to hotspotting, so you need to be sure to gradually increase load. A better strategy is to copy the old entity to the new then delete the old. Ramp up parallel reads gradually to ensure that the new key space is well split.

A possible strategy for gradually ramping up reads or writes to a new kind is use a deterministic hash of the user ID to get a random percentage of users that write new entities. Be sure that the result of the user ID hash is not skewed either by your random function or by your user behavior.

Meanwhile, run a Dataflow job to copy all your data from the old entities or keys to the new ones. Your batch job should avoid writes to sequential keys in order to prevent Bigtable hotspots. When the batch job is complete, you can read only from the new location.

A refinement of this strategy is to migrate small batches of users at one time. Add a field to the user entity which tracks the migration status of that user. Select a batch of users to migrate based on a hash of the user ID. A Mapreduce or Dataflow job will migrate the keys for that batch of users. The users that have an in-progress migration will use parallel reads.

Note that you cannot easily roll back unless you do dual writes of both the old and new entities during the migration phase. This would increase Cloud Datastore costs incurred.

Deletions

Avoid deleting large numbers of Cloud Datastore entities across a small range of keys.

Bigtable periodically rewrites its tables to remove deleted entries, and to reorganize your data so that reads and writes are more efficient. This process is known as a compaction.

If you delete a large number of Cloud Datastore entities across a small range of keys then queries across this part of the index will be slower until compaction has completed. In extreme cases, your queries might time out before returning results.

It is an anti-pattern is to use a timestamp value for an indexed field to represent an entity's expiration time. In order to retrieve expired entities, you would need to query against this indexed field, which likely lies in an overlapping part of the keyspace with index entries for the most recently deleted entities.

You can improve performance with "sharded queries", that prepend a fixed length string to the expiration timestamp. The index is sorted on the full string, so that entities at the same timestamp will be located throughout the key range of the index. You run multiple queries in parallel to fetch results from each shard.

A fuller solution for the expiration timestamp issue is to use a "generation number" which is a global counter that is periodically updated. The generation number is prepended to the expiration timestamp so that queries are sorted by generation number, then shard, then timestamp. Deletion of old entities occurs at a prior generation. Any entity not deleted should have its generation number incremented. Once the deletion is complete, you move forward to the next generation. Queries against an older generation will perform poorly until compaction is complete. You might need to wait for several generations to complete before querying the index to get the list of entities to delete, in order to reduce the risk of missing results due to eventual consistency.

Sharding and replication

Use sharding or replication for hot Cloud Datastore keys.

You can use replication if you need to read a portion of the key range at a higher rate than Bigtable permits. Using this strategy, you would store N copies of the same entity allowing N times higher rate of reads than supported by a single entity.

You can use sharding if you need to write to a portion of the key range a a higher rate than Bigtable permits. Sharding breaks up an entity into smaller pieces. The principles are explained in the sharding counters article.

Some common mistakes when sharding include:

  • Sharding using a time prefix. When the time rolls over to the next prefix then the new unsplit portion becomes a hotspot. Instead, you should gradually roll over a portion of your writes to the new prefix.

  • Sharding just the hottest entities. If you shard a small proportion of the total number of entities then there might not be sufficient rows between the hot entities to ensure that they stay on different splits.

What’s next

Send feedback about...

Cloud Datastore Documentation