SQL Server 執行個體最佳做法

您可以採用多項最佳做法,讓執行 Microsoft SQL Server 的 Compute Engine 執行個體發揮最大效能。如要瞭解如何設定高效能 SQL Server 執行個體,請參閱建立高效能 SQL Server 執行個體一文。

設定 Windows

本節說明在 Compute Engine 上執行時,如何針對 SQL Server 效能最佳化 Microsoft Windows 作業系統的設定主題。

設定 Windows 防火牆

最佳做法:使用 Windows Server 進階防火牆,並指定您用戶端電腦的 IP 位址。

Windows 進階防火牆是 Windows Server 中的重要安全元件。當您設定 SQL Server 環境以從其他用戶端電腦連線至資料庫時,請設定防火牆允許連入流量通過:

netsh advfirewall firewall add rule name="SQL Access" ^
dir=in action=allow ^
program="%programfiles%\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL12.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\sqlservr.exe" ^
remoteip=[LOCAL_SUBNET]

使用這項防火牆規則時,建議您指定用戶端電腦的 IP 位址。指定以逗號分隔的 IP 位址清單,但在取代 [LOCAL_SUBNET]remoteip 參數中不使用空格。另外請注意,視您使用的 SQL Server 版本而定,program 參數的路徑可能會改變。

SQL Server 應用程式映像檔中包含 SQL Server 的 Windows 防火牆規則。這項規則的限制不多,因此您可以考慮在正式推出系統前予以停用。

調整網路連線設定

最佳做法:使用作業系統的預設網路設定。

大多數作業系統的預設網路設定是為了連結至較快網路的小型電腦而設定,這類設定通常已經足夠。另外,保守的預設值可確保網路流量不會對網路和連結電腦帶來過大的負擔。

在 Compute Engine 中,虛擬機器執行個體會連結由 Google 設計的高容量與高效能網路。執行 Compute Engine 執行個體的實體伺服器經過高度最佳化,可以運用這種網路容量。您執行個體上的虛擬驅動程式也經過最佳化,因此預設值對大多數用途來說已經足夠。

安裝防毒程式

最佳做法:按照 Microsoft 的防毒軟體指南操作。

如果您使用的是 Windows,我們會建議您執行防毒軟體。惡意軟體和軟體病毒會對連上網路的任何系統構成重大風險,而防毒軟體是您可以用來保護資料的簡易型防範機制。不過請注意,未正確設定的防毒軟體可能會對資料庫效能產生負面影響。Microsoft 提供了選擇防毒軟體的相關建議

針對效能和穩定性最佳化

本節說明如何將 Compute Engine 上的 SQL Server 效能最佳化,以及協助順暢執行的操作活動。

將資料檔案和記錄檔移至新磁碟

最佳做法:使用其他 SSD 永久磁碟來存放記錄檔和資料檔案。

根據預設,預先設定的 SQL Server 映像檔中會包含掛接為「C:」磁碟的開機永久磁碟中的所有已安裝項目。請考慮加裝第二個 SSD 永久磁碟,並將記錄檔和資料檔案移到新的磁碟。

使用本機 SSD 來提高 IOPS

最佳做法:新建具備一或多個本機 SSD 的 SQL Server 執行個體,以便儲存 tempdb 和 Windows 分頁檔案。

本機 SSD 屬於暫存技術,因此較不適合用來存放關鍵資料庫和重要檔案。不過,tempdb 和 Windows 分頁檔案都是暫時性檔案,因此相當適合移至本機 SSD。這麼做可以大幅減少 SSD 永久磁碟的 IO 作業數量。如需這項設定的相關詳細資料,請按這裡

平行查詢處理

最佳做法:將 max degree of parallelism 設為 8

建議的 max degree of parallelism 預設設定是與伺服器中的 CPU 數相符。不過在某些情況下,如果您將一項查詢拆分為 16 或 32 個區塊,並透過不同的 vCPU 執行所有區塊,最後再整合為單一結果,這項作業耗費的時間可能會比僅使用一個 vCPU 執行完整查詢長得多。以實務方面來說,預設值 8 的成效相當良好。

最佳做法:監控 CXPACKET 等待事件並逐步提高 cost threshold for parallelism

您必須同時調整這項設定和 max degree of parallelism。每個單元都代表了一個 CPU 與 IO 工作組合,系統會先按照序列執行計畫以這個組合執行查詢,接著才會評估是否應採用平行執行計畫。預設值為 5。儘管我們未明確建議您變更預設值,但還是請您持續留意這項設定,並視需求在負載測試期間以 5 為單位逐步提高設定值。這個值可能需要提高的一項重要指標是出現 CXPACKET 等待事件。雖然出現 CXPACKET 等待事件並不代表您一定要變更這項設定,但這項指標是相當實用的參考依據。

最佳做法:監控不同的等待事件類型,並調整全域平行處理設定或將其設為個別資料庫層級的設定。

個別資料庫可能設有不同的平行處理需求。您可以在全域套用這些設定,並在個別資料庫層級設定 Max DOP。我們會建議您觀察自己的工作負載、監控等待事件,然後視情況調整設定值。

SQLSkills 網站提供相當實用的效能指南,當中也包含資料庫中的等待事件統計資料。這份指南可協助您瞭解等待事件為何,以及如何降低延遲情況。

處理交易記錄檔

最佳做法:監控系統中交易記錄檔的成長情況。請考慮停用自動成長功能,並依據您的每日平均記錄檔累積量將記錄檔設為固定大小。

以效能損失和間歇性運作速度降低來說,其中一個最容易忽略的原因是交易記錄檔的成長情況未受到管理。資料庫設為使用 Full 復原模式時,您可以將其復原至任意時間點,但交易記錄檔的成長速度會提高。根據預設,SQL Server 會在交易記錄檔滿載時提高檔案大小,以便增加更多可用空間來寫入其他交易資料,並在作業結束前暫停資料庫中的所有活動。SQL Server 中每個記錄檔的成長是以本身的檔案大小上限檔案成長設定為準。

如果檔案已達本身的大小上限而無法繼續成長,系統會發出 9002 錯誤並將資料庫設為唯讀模式。如果檔案可以成長,SQL Server 可以擴增檔案大小並用光可用空間。檔案成長的預設值為記錄檔目前大小的 10%。對效能來說,這不是好的預設值,因為您的檔案變得越大,就需要更長時間來建立新的可用空間。

最佳做法:安排交易記錄檔的定期備份作業。

無論大小上限和成長設定為何,我們都會建議您安排交易記錄檔的定期備份作業。根據預設,這項作業會截斷舊有記錄項目,讓系統重複使用現有的檔案空間。這項簡單的維護工作可以協助避免尖峰流量時刻的效能下降。

虛擬記錄檔最佳化

最佳做法:監控虛擬記錄檔成長,並採取行動防止記錄檔過於分散。

實體交易記錄檔會分散存放在虛擬記錄檔 (VLF) 中。每次實際交易記錄檔必須成長時都會建立新的 VLF。如果您未停用自動成長,而成長發生得太頻繁,就會建立太多 VLF。這項活動可能導致記錄檔過於分散,和磁碟分散存放類似,對效能會有不良影響。

SQL Server 2014 推出較有效率的演算法,可判斷在自動成長期間會建立多少 VLF。通常如果成長小於目前記錄檔大小的 1/8,則 SQL Server 會在新區段中建立一個 VLF。以前的做法會為 64 MB 和 1 GB 之間的成長建立 8 個 VLF,超過 1 GB 的成長則建立 16 個 VLF。您可以使用以下的 TSQL 指令碼檢查資料庫目前有多少 VLF。如有數千個檔案,請考慮手動縮減及調整記錄檔大小。

--Check VLFs substitute your database name below
USE 
DECLARE @vlf_count INT
DBCC LOGINFO
SET @vlf_count = @@ROWCOUNT
SELECT VLFs = @vlf_count

如要進一步瞭解 VLF,請前往 Brent Ozar 的網站

避免索引過於分散

最佳做法:定期針對最常修改的資料表執行索引重組作業。

如果資料表中的索引過於分散,使用這些索引的各項查詢可能會出現成效不彰的情況。排定的定期維護作業中應包含為最常修改的資料表重新整理索引。您可以針對資料庫執行下列 T-SQL 指令碼,藉此查看當中的索引和相關分散百分比值。在以下範例中,您可以發現 PK_STOCK 索引的分散結果為 95%。在下列「SELECT」陳述式中,請將「[YOUR_DB]」替換為您的資料庫名稱:

SELECT stats.index_id as id, name, avg_fragmentation_in_percent
FROM sys.dm_db_index_physical_stats (DB_ID(N'[YOUR_DB]'), NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL) AS stats
    JOIN sys.indexes AS indx ON stats.object_id = indx.object_id
      AND stats.index_id = indx.index_id AND name IS NOT NULL;

RESULTS
-------------------------------
Id    name          avg_fragmentation_in_percent
-------------------------------
1 ORDERS_I1 0
2 ORDERS_I2 0
1 ORDER_LINE_I1 0.01
1 PK_STOCK95.5529819557039
1 PK_WAREHOUSE0.8

如果索引太過分散,您可以輕鬆使用 ALTER 指令碼加以重新整理。下列程式碼範例會輸出您可以對各個資料表索引執行的 ALTER 陳述式。

SELECT
'ALTER INDEX ALL ON ' + table_name + ' REORGANIZE;
GO'
FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES WHERE TABLE_TYPE = 'BASE TABLE' AND TABLE_CATALOG = 'YOUR_DB'

從結果集中選取分散程度最高的資料表,然後逐步執行這些陳述式。請考慮為這項工作建立排程,或在定期維護工作中加入類似的指令碼。

備份

最佳做法:制定備份計畫並定期執行。

如要瞭解如何實行完善的備份與維護計畫,Ola Hallengren 的網站提供了相當實用的入門指南。

當進行定期資料庫備份時,小心不要耗用太多永久磁碟 IOPS。請使用本機 SSD 存放備份,然後推到 Cloud Storage 值區。

監控

最佳做法:使用 Stackdriver Monitoring。

您可以安裝 Microsoft Windows 適用的 Stackdriver Monitoring 代理程式,以便同時將多個監控資料點傳送至 Stackdriver 系統。

只要使用資料收集功能,您就能精細調整要監控的資訊,並將這類資訊傳送至內建的管理資料倉儲空間。管理資料倉儲空間可以在您監控的伺服器中運作,也可以將資料串流至倉儲空間所在的其他 SQL Server 執行個體。

大量載入資料

最佳做法:將大量資料移至實際工作環境伺服器之前,先使用其他資料庫暫存及轉換資料。

即便您不需要定期將大量資料載入至系統,偶爾可能也會有這方面的需求。這項作業必須耗用大量資源,您也有可能在大量載入資料時達到永久磁碟的 IOPS 上限

有一個簡單的方法不僅可以降低批次載入作業的磁碟 IO 和 CPU 用量,也能帶來縮短批次工作執行時間的優點。此處所說的解決方案是建立採用 Simple 復原模式且完全獨立的資料庫,並使用這個資料庫來暫存及轉換大量資料集,接著再將大量資料集插入實際工作環境資料庫。如果本機 SSD 磁碟的空間足夠,您也可以將這個新的資料庫建立於本機 SSD。這可以減少大量作業的資源耗用,並加速完成工作。最後的好處是,您對實際工作環境資料的備份工作不必包含交易記錄的所有大批作業,因此工作較少且執行較快。

驗證設定

最佳做法:測試設定來確認系統可以正常運作。

您每次設定新系統時都應該規劃驗證設定,並進行幾項效能測試。這個預存程序是很適合評估 SQL Server 設定的資源。稍後請花點時間參閱設定標記,然後執行程序。

SQL Server Enterprise Edition 最佳化

SQL Server Enterprise Edition 比 Standard Edition 新增許多功能。如果您將現有授權遷移到 GCP,可以考慮實作一些效能選項。

使用壓縮資料表

最佳做法:啟用資料表和索引壓縮功能。

壓縮資料表可以加快系統的運作速度,這似乎是違反一般直覺的說法,不過在大多數情況下確實如此。值得注意的是,您必須使用少量的 CPU 週期來壓縮資料,並消除讀寫大型區塊所需的額外磁碟 I/O。一般來說,系統使用的磁碟 I/O 越少,系統的效能就會越好。如需評估及啟用資料表和索引壓縮功能的操作說明,請前往 MSDN 網站

啟用緩衝集區延伸

最佳做法:使用緩衝集區延伸功能加快資料存取速度。

「緩衝集區」是系統儲存「乾淨分頁」的位置。簡單來說,「緩衝集區」就是儲存資料副本的位置,而其呈現結果與磁碟內部如出一轍。記憶體中的資料發生變更時即稱為「中途分頁」,您必須將中途分頁推送至磁碟才能儲存變更。如果您的資料庫大於可用記憶體容量,緩衝集區就會接收到壓力而有可能捨棄乾淨分頁。如果乾淨分頁遭到捨棄,系統下次需要存取已遭捨棄的資料時,就必須從磁碟讀取相關資料。

緩衝集區延伸功能可讓您將乾淨分頁推送至本機 SSD,這樣就不需要捨棄任何分頁。這項功能的運作方式與虛擬記憶體相同,藉由「互換」讓您在本機 SSD 中存取乾淨分頁,這樣會比前往一般磁碟擷取資料來得快。

儘管採用這項技術可享的速度仍然低於使用足夠的記憶體,不過如果您的可用記憶體容量偏低,還是能提高一些總處理量。如要進一步瞭解緩衝集區延伸功能及查看一些基準化結果,請前往 Brent Ozar 的網站

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Compute Engine 說明文件

Best Practices for SQL Server Instances

This page provides information about how to optimize Google Compute Engine instances that run Microsoft SQL Server. To learn how to set up a high-performance SQL Server instance, see the tutorial.

Configuring Windows

This section covers configuration topics about how to optimize the Microsoft Windows operating system for SQL Server performance when running on Compute Engine.

Setting up Windows firewall

Best practice: Use the Windows Server Advanced Firewall, and specify the IP addresses of your client computers.

The Windows Advanced Firewall is an important security component in Windows Server. When you set up your SQL Server environment to be able to connect to the database from other client machines, configure the firewall to allow incoming traffic:

netsh advfirewall firewall add rule name="SQL Access" ^
dir=in action=allow ^
program="%programfiles%\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL12.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\sqlservr.exe" ^
remoteip=[LOCAL_SUBNET]

When you use this firewall rule, it is a good practice to specify the IP address of your client machines. Specify a comma-delimited list of IP addresses with no whitespaces for the remoteip parameter in place of [LOCAL_SUBNET]. Also, note that the path for the program parameter might change depending on the version of SQL Server that you use.

The SQL Server application image includes a SQL Server Windows firewall rule. This rule is fairly unrestricted, so consider disabling it before your system goes to production.

Tuning network connections

Best practice: Use the operating system's default network settings.

The default network settings on most operating systems are configured for connections on small computers that are connected to moderately fast networks. Such settings are usually sufficient. Furthermore, conservative defaults make sure that network traffic doesn't overwhelm the network and connected computers.

On Compute Engine, the virtual machine instances are attached to a network designed by Google that offers high capacity and performance. The physical servers running your Compute Engine instances are highly optimized to take advantage of this network capacity. The virtual network drivers in your instances are also optimized, which makes the default values sufficient for most use cases.

Installing antivirus

Best practice: Follow the Microsoft guidance for antivirus software.

If you are running Windows, you should be running some antivirus software. Malware and software viruses present a significant risk to any system connected to a network, and antivirus software is a simple mitigation step you can use to protect your data. However, if the antivirus software is not configured correctly, it can negatively impact your database performance. Microsoft provides advice about how to choose antivirus software.

Optimizing for performance and stability

This section provides information about how to optimize SQL Server performance on Compute Engine and operational activities to help keep it running smoothly.

Moving data files and log files to a new disk

Best practice: Use a separate SSD persistent disk for log and data files.

By default the preconfigured image for SQL Server comes with everything installed on the boot persistent disk, which mounts as the C:\ drive. Consider attaching a secondary SSD persistent disk and moving the log files and data files to the new disk.

Using a Local SSD to improve IOPS

Best practice: Create new SQL Server instances with one or more local SSDs to store the tempdb and Windows paging files.

The ephemeral nature of local SSD technology makes it a bad candidate for you to use for your critical databases and important files. However the tempdb and Windows paging file are both temporary files, so both are great candidates to move to a local SSD. This offloads a significant number of IO operations from your SSD persistent disks. You can read more about setting this up here.

Parallel query processing

Best practice: Set the max degree of parallelism to 8.

The recommended default setting for max degree of parallelism is to match it to the number of CPUs on the server. However, there is a point where breaking a query into 16 or 32 chunks, executing them all on different vCPUs and then consolidating it all back to a single result takes a lot more time than if only one vCPU had run the query. In practice, 8 works as a good default value.

Best practice: Monitor for CXPACKET waits and incrementally increase cost threshold for parallelism.

This setting goes hand in hand with max degree of parallelism. Each unit represents a combination of CPU and IO work required to perform a query with a serial execution plan before it is considered for a parallel execution plan. The default value is 5. Although we give no specific recommendation to change the default value, it is worth keeping an eye on and, if necessary, increasing it incrementally by 5 during load testing. One key indicator that this value might need to be increased is the presence of CXPACKET waits. Although the presence of CXPACKET waits does not necessarily indicate that this setting should change, it's a good place to start.

Best practice: Monitor for different wait types, and adjust the global parallel processing settings or set them at the individual database level.

Individual databases can have different parallelism needs. You can set these settings globally, and set Max DOP at the individual database level. You should observe your unique workloads, monitor for waits, and then adjust the values accordingly.

The SQLSkills site offers a useful performance guide that covers wait statistics inside the database. Following this guide can help you understand what is waiting and how to mitigate the delays.

Handling transaction logs

Best practice: Monitor the growth of the transaction log on your system. Consider disabling autogrowth and setting your log file to a fixed size, based on your average daily log accumulation.

One of the most overlooked sources of performance loss and intermittent slowdowns is the unmanaged growth of the transaction log. When your database is configured to use the Full recovery model, you can perform a restore to any point in time, but your transaction logs fill up faster. By default, when the transaction log file is full, SQL Server increases the size of the file to add more empty space to write more transactions, and blocks all activity on the database until it finishes. SQL Server grows each log file based off of its Maximum File Size and the File Growth setting.

When the file has reached its maximum size limit and cannot grow, the system issues a 9002 error and puts the database into read-only mode. If the file can grow, SQL Server expands the file size and zeroes out the empty space. The setting for File Growth defaults to 10% of the log file’s current size. This is not a good default setting for performance, because the larger your file grows, the longer it takes to create the new, empty space.

Best practice: Schedule regular backups of the transaction log.

Regardless of the maximum size and growth settings, schedule regular transaction log backups, which by default truncates old log entries and allows the system to reuse the existing file space. This simple maintenance task can help to avoid performance dips at your peak traffic times.

Optimizing Virtual Log Files

Best practice: Monitor Virtual Log File growth and take action to prevent log file fragmentation.

The physical transaction log file is segmented into Virtual Log Files (VLF). New VLFs are created every time the physical transaction log file has to grow. If you did not disable auto-growth, and growth is happening too frequently, too many VLFs are created. This activity can result in log file fragmentation, which is similar to disk fragmentation and can adversely affect performance.

SQL Server 2014 introduced a more efficient algorithm for determining how many VLFs to create during auto-growth. Generally, if the growth is less than 1/8 the size of the current log file, SQL Server creates one VLF within that new segment. Previously, it would create 8 VLFs for growth between 64 MB and 1 GB, and 16 VLFs for growth over 1 GB. You can use the TSQL script below to check how many VLFs your database currently has. If it has thousands of files, consider manually shrinking and resizing your log file.

--Check VLFs substitute your database name below
USE 
DECLARE @vlf_count INT
DBCC LOGINFO
SET @vlf_count = @@ROWCOUNT
SELECT VLFs = @vlf_count

You can read more about VLFs on Brent Ozar's website.

Avoiding index fragmentation

Best practice: Regularly defragment the indexes on your most heavily modified tables.

The indexes in your tables can become fragmented, which can lead to poor performance of any queries using these indexes. A regular maintenance schedule should include reorganizing the indexes on your most heavily modified tables. You can run the following T-SQL script for your database to show the indexes and their fragmentation percentage. You can see in the example results that the PK_STOCK index is 95% fragmented. In the following 'SELECT' statement, replace '[YOUR_DB]' with the name of your database:

SELECT stats.index_id as id, name, avg_fragmentation_in_percent
FROM sys.dm_db_index_physical_stats (DB_ID(N'[YOUR_DB]'), NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL) AS stats
    JOIN sys.indexes AS indx ON stats.object_id = indx.object_id
      AND stats.index_id = indx.index_id AND name IS NOT NULL;

RESULTS
-------------------------------
Id    name          avg_fragmentation_in_percent
-------------------------------
1 ORDERS_I1 0
2 ORDERS_I2 0
1 ORDER_LINE_I1 0.01
1 PK_STOCK95.5529819557039
1 PK_WAREHOUSE0.8

When your indexes are too fragmented, you can reorganize them with a simple ALTER script. Here is an example script that will print out the ALTER statements you can run for each of your tables’ indexes.

SELECT
'ALTER INDEX ALL ON ' + table_name + ' REORGANIZE;
GO'
FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES WHERE TABLE_TYPE = 'BASE TABLE' AND TABLE_CATALOG = 'YOUR_DB'

Choose the tables from the result set that have the highest fragmentation, and then execute those statements incrementally. Consider scheduling this or a similar script as one of your regular maintenance jobs.

Backing up

Best practice: Have a plan for backups and perform backups regularly.

Ola Hallengren's site provides a good starting point for understanding how to implement a solid backup and maintenance plan.

When taking regular database backups, be careful not to consume too many persistent disk IOPS. Use the local SSD to stage your backups and then push them to a Cloud Storage bucket.

Monitoring

Best practice: Use Stackdriver Monitoring.

You can install the beta Stackdriver Monitoring agent for Microsoft Windows to send several monitoring data points into the Stackdriver system.

By using data collection capabilities, you can fine tune the information you want to monitor, and send it to the built-in management data warehouse. The management data warehouse can run on the same server you are monitoring, or the data can be streamed to another SQL Server instance running the warehouse.

Bulk-loading data

Best practice: Use a separate database to stage and transform bulk data before moving it to production servers.

It's likely that you will need to load large amounts of data into your system at least once, if not regularly. This is a resource-intensive operation, and you might reach the persistent disk IOPS limit when you do bulk loads.

There is an easy way to cut down on the disk IO and CPU consumption of bulk load operations, with the added benefit of speeding up the execution time of your batch jobs. The solution here is to create a completely separate database that uses the Simple recovery model, and then use that database for staging and transforming the bulk dataset before you insert it into your production database. You can also put this new database on a local SSD drive, if you have enough space. This will reduce the resource consumption of your bulk operations, as well as the time to complete the jobs. The final benefit is that your backup job for the production data won’t have to back up all those bulk operations in the transaction log, and therefore will be smaller and run faster.

Validating your setup

Best practice: Test your configuration to validate that it performs as expected.

Whenever you set up a new system, you should plan on validating the configuration and running some performance tests. This stored procedure is great resource for evaluating your SQL Server configuration. Take some time later to read about the configuration flags, and run the procedure.

Optimizing SQL Server Enterprise Edition

SQL Server Enterprise Edition has a long list of added capabilities over Standard Edition. If you are migrating an existing license to GCP, there are some performance options that you might consider implementing.

Using compressed tables

Best practice: Enable table and index compression.

It might seem counter-intuitive that compressing tables could make your system perform faster, but in most cases that’s what happens. The tradeoff is using a small amount of CPU cycles to compress the data and eliminate the extra disk IO required to read and write the bigger blocks. Generally, the less disk IO your system uses, the better its performance will be. Instructions for estimating and enabling table and index compression are on the MSDN website.

Enabling the buffer pool extension

Best practice: Use the buffer pool extension to speed data access.

The buffer pool is where the system stores clean pages. In simple terms, it stores copies of your data, mirroring what it looks like on disk. When the data changes in memory, it’s called a dirty page, which must be flushed to disk to save the changes. When your database is larger than your available memory, that puts pressure on the buffer pool, and clean pages can be dropped. When the clean pages are dropped, the system will have to read from disk the next time that the dropped data has to be accessed.

The buffer pool extension feature enables you to push clean pages to a local SSD, instead of dropping them. This works along the same lines as virtual memory, which is to say by swapping, and gives you access to the clean pages on the local SSD, which is faster than you would get by going to the regular disk to fetch the data.

This technique is not nearly as fast as having enough memory, but it can give you a modest increase in throughput when your available memory is low. You can read more about buffer pool extensions and review some benchmarking results on Brent Ozar's site.

What's next

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation