确定性实例模板

本页面将介绍您何时及为何要创建确定性实例模板。确定性实例模板明确说明了在部署实例模板时应在实例上安装的第三方服务或应用的类型。通过创建确定性实例模板,您可以最大限度地减少实例模板中的不确定性和意外行为。

准备工作

为什么要创建确定性实例模板

一般来说,我们建议您的实例模板属性尽可能明确和确定。如果您在安装或使用了第三方服务的实例模板中采用启动脚本,请确保这些脚本中提供了明确的信息,例如要安装的应用的版本。Compute Engine 只能依赖于模板中定义的信息,而无法控制所引用的第三方服务。如果您的模板中的信息过于模糊,则该实例模板可能会出现预料之外的行为。

例如,假设通过以下命令来创建一个包含启动脚本的实例模板,该脚本将会安装 apache2 并使用外部服务器上托管的某个文件:

gcloud compute instance-templates create example-template-with-startup \
    --image-family debian-9 \
    --image-project debian-cloud \
    --metadata startup-script='#! /bin/bash
    sudo apt-get install -y apache2
    scp myuser@108.59.87.185:index.php /var/www/'

这个启动脚本有两个潜在问题:

  • 此脚本没有明确定义要安装哪个版本的 apache2,并且依赖于 apt-get 软件库中提供的当前版本。
  • 此脚本依赖于某个由第三方托管的文件,该文件未纳入版本控制,并且自上次使用实例模板后可能已经发生了更改。

如果您使用了一个自动调节程序,则非确定性实例模板可能会导致该自动调节程序将新的实例添加到使用不同配置(例如不同版本的 apache2)的托管实例组中。

同样,如果您将此模板应用于托管实例组,通过实例组更新程序服务将该组更新至其他模板,然后决定回滚到上一个模板,那么实例最终可能使用的是与更新前的版本不同的 apache2 或 index.php 文件,因为您的实例在启动时始终会获取最新版本。

避免模糊或意外的实例模板行为

为了避免出现意外的模板行为,请从以下方法中任选其一:

  • 将 Docker 标签用于容器优化型映像或 Docker。例如,我们建议您为 Docker 映像的每个新版本分配新标签,并将这些标签用于实例模板中,而不是使用默认的最新标签。对于容器优化型映像,您可以在清单文件中明确引用映像的特定版本。下面的示例使用标记为“version_2_1_3”的版本的 Docker 映像“myimage”:

    version: v1beta2
    containers:
      - name: simple-echo
        image: myimage:version_2_1_3
           [ rest of your manifest file ]
    
  • 创建自定义映像,用作模板的映像。这种方式比使用启动脚本更可取,因为它可以保证每个实例都是相同的,而使用启动脚本在分发软件包更新后所获得的结果可能会有所不同。请在实例模板中使用启动脚本进行原型设计和快速开发,而在准备部署生产级质量的服务时则使用自定义映像。

  • 如果您确实要使用启动脚本,请考虑将脚本更新为确定性脚本。例如,基于之前的模板创建新版本,并指定一个确定性启动脚本,具体如下所示:

    gcloud compute instance-templates create example-template-with-startup-2-1-3 \
        --image-family debian-9 \
        --image-project debian-cloud \
        --metadata startup-script='#! /bin/bash
        sudo apt-get install -y apache2=2.2.20-1ubuntu1
        scp myuser@108.59.87.185:version_2_1_3/index.php /var/www/'
    

    其中,“version_2_1_3”是一个子目录,包含了 2.1.3 版服务的 PHP 脚本。

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Compute Engine 文档

Deterministic Instance Templates

This page describes when and why you should create deterministic instance templates. Deterministic instance templates make it explicitly clear in terms of the type of third-party services or applications that should be installed on your instances when the instance template is deployed. By creating deterministic instance templates, you minimize ambiguity and unexpected behavior from your instance templates.

Before you begin

Why you should create deterministic instance templates

In general, we recommend that the properties of your instance template are as explicit and deterministic as possible. If you employ startup scripts in your instance templates that install or use third-party services, make sure that these scripts provide explicit information, such as the version of application to install. Compute Engine can only rely on information defined in the template and has no control over referenced third-party services. If your template is too vague, your instance template might behave unexpectedly.

For example, consider the following command to create an instance template with a startup script that installs apache2 and uses a file that is hosted on an external server:

gcloud compute instance-templates create example-template-with-startup \
    --image-family debian-9 \
    --image-project debian-cloud \
    --metadata startup-script='#! /bin/bash
    sudo apt-get install -y apache2
    scp myuser@108.59.87.185:index.php /var/www/'

There are two potential issues with this startup script:

  • The script does not explicitly define which version of apache2 to install, and relies on the current version available in the apt-get repository.
  • The script relies on a file hosted on a third-party that isn’t versioned and could have been changed since the last time the instance template was used.

If you use an autoscaler, a non-deterministic instance template could cause your autoscaler to add new instances to a managed instance group with a different configuration, such as a different version of apache2.

Similarly, if you applied this template to a managed instance group, updated the group to a different template using the Instance Group Updater service, and then decided to rollback to the previous template, you might end up with instances using a different version of apache2 or index.php file than before the update, because your instances would always fetch the most recent version at startup.

Avoiding ambiguous or unexpected instance template behavior

To avoid unexpected template behavior, use one the following methods:

  • Use Container-optimized images or Docker, with Docker tags. For example, we recommend that you assign new tags for every new build of your Docker image, and use these tags in your instance templates, instead of the default latest tag. For a Container-optimized image, you can explicitly reference a particular build of your image in your manifest file. The example below uses Docker image “myimage” at version tagged with “version_2_1_3”:

    version: v1beta2
    containers:
      - name: simple-echo
        image: myimage:version_2_1_3
           [ rest of your manifest file ]
    
  • Create a custom image to use as the image for the template. This is preferable to startup scripts as it guarantees every instance will be the same, while startup scripts might have different result after distribution package updates. Use startup scripts in your instance templates for prototyping and rapid development, and use custom images when you are ready to deploy production-quality services.

  • If you do use startup scripts, consider updating your scripts to be deterministic. For example, create a new version of the previous template, and specify a deterministic startup script as follows:

    gcloud compute instance-templates create example-template-with-startup-2-1-3 \
        --image-family debian-9 \
        --image-project debian-cloud \
        --metadata startup-script='#! /bin/bash
        sudo apt-get install -y apache2=2.2.20-1ubuntu1
        scp myuser@108.59.87.185:version_2_1_3/index.php /var/www/'
    

    where “version_2_1_3” is a subdirectory containing PHP scripts for the version 2.1.3 of your service.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation