續用折扣

Google 會提供續用折扣,這是針對當月帳單中使用佔比高的特定 Compute Engine 資源,自動提供的折扣優惠。續用折扣適用下列資源:

舉例來說,假設您一個月內使用這些資源的時間超過 25%,Compute Engine 就會自動提供折扣 (超出的時間可享有折扣,以分計算)。折扣比例會隨用量增加,如果執行個體持續運作一整個月,最多可享有 30% 折扣。

續用折扣會自動分別套用至專案內各個地區的使用費,因此您無須自行啟用續用折扣。

限制

Google Kubernetes Engine 和 Google Compute Engine 建立的 VM 都會自動套用續用折扣;使用 App Engine 彈性環境和 Google Cloud Dataflow 建立的 VM 不適用續用折扣。

不同使用情況程度的續用折扣

如要徹底利用這 30% 的折扣,建議您在每月的第一天就建立 VM 執行個體;系統會在每月初重設折扣。

下表說明您在 VM 執行個體的每個使用情況程度獲得的折扣。這些折扣適用於所有機器類型,但不適用於先佔執行個體。

使用情況程度 (每月百分比) 累進制收費優惠 n1-standard-1 執行個體的 (美元/小時) 累進制費率範例
0%-25% 基本費率 (原價) $0.0475
25%-50% 基本費率打 8 折 $0.0380
50%-75% 基本費率打 6 折 $0.0285
75%-100% 基本費率打 4 折 $0.0190

在達到特定使用門檻後,續用折扣將應用於累計使用。這代表您只需要為實際使用的時間付費,而 Compute Engine 會自動為您提供最優惠的價格。執行個體的運作時間可以配合您的需要。

下圖顯示了您的有效折扣隨著使用量遞增的方式。

按一下可放大

舉例來說,假如您當月使用虛擬機器達 50%,您會獲得 10% 的的有效折扣。如果您當月使用虛擬機器達 75%,您會獲得 20% 的的有效折扣。如果您當月使用虛擬機器達 100%,您會獲得 30% 的的有效折扣。您也可以使用 Google Cloud Pricing Calculator 來預估任意工作負載的續用折扣。

計算續用折扣

Compute Engine 會根據各地區和機器類型的 vCPU 和記憶體用量分別計算續用折扣。系統會按照續用折扣表所列的標準來套用折扣。針對單一用戶群節點,續用折扣適用於 10% 的單一用戶群節點附加費率費用以及節點佔用的 vCPU 和系統記憶體資源的基本費用。

系統會針對下列類別個別計算續用折扣:

  • 預先定義的 vCPU 和記憶體,這些資源用於 n1-standardn1-highcpun1-highmem 機器類型,以及單一用戶群節點
  • 自訂 vCPU 和記憶體,這些資源用於自訂機器類型,方便您選擇特定數量的 vCPU 和記憶體。
  • 記憶體最佳化 vCPU 和記憶體,這些資源用於 n1-megamemn1-ultramem 機器類型。上述兩個機器類型的 vCPU 數量均已預先設定完成,每個 vCPU 的記憶體比例也相當高。
  • 共用核心機器類型只會使用部分 vCPU,因此在執行無須耗用大量資源的小型應用程式時具備成本效益。共用核心機器類型的使用費用仍是以單一機器為單位計算,而不是以個別 vCPU 和記憶體資源來計算。

試想您在同一個地區中有兩個執行個體或單一用戶群節點,各使用不同的機器類型且每月執行時間不同。Compute Engine 會細分所有預先定義機器類型執行個體使用的 vCPU 數量和記憶體用量,並將這些資源合併起來以獲得最高的可能續用折扣。

假設您在一個月期間內於 us-central1 地區執行以下兩種執行個體:

  • 前半個月您以 4 個 vCPU 和 15GB 記憶體的資源來執行 n1-standard-4 執行個體
  • 後半個月您以 16 個 vCPU 和 60GB 記憶體的資源來執行更大型的 n1-standard-16 執行個體

在這個情況下,Compute Engine 會將機器類型重新整理為個別的 vCPU 和記憶體資源,並合併這些用量來建立以下資源:

  • 整個月 4 個 vCPU
  • 半個月 12 個 vCPU
  • 整個月 15GB 記憶體
  • 半個月 45GB 記憶體

舉例來說,您可以透過以下案例瞭解續用折扣如何套用至 vCPU:

Diagram showing how vCPUs from instances are combined using resource-based sustained use discounts for predefined machine types

這些資源的每月帳單計算方式如下:

(4 vCPUs x $0.031611 x 730 hours) x 0.7 for the 30% full-month discount = $64.612884

(12 vCPUs x $0.031611 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $124.610562

(15 GB x $0.004237 x 730 hours) x 0.7 for the 30% full-month discount = $32.476605

(45 GB x $0.004237 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $62.6334525

合併資源的每月費用總計為 $284.3335035 美元。

將這裡的總費用和上一個用來計算相同預先定義機器類型續用折扣方式的總值相比較。舉例來說,您可以看出 vCPU 的帳單費用是由機器類型推算而得,而不是以資源類型合併計算:

Diagram showing how instances were previously inferred using machine-type sustained use discounts
(1 n1-standard-4 machine x $0.1900 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $62.415

(1 n1-standard-16 machine x $0.7600 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $249.66

這兩個執行個體的機器類型不同而無法推算,因此每月總費用為 $312.075 美元。

以這個使用案例來看,新定價變更後可讓您額外節省 $27.7414965 美元。同樣的程序會分別套用到自訂機器類型的資源。

GPU 續用折扣

針對 GPU 裝置,Compute Engine 會根據您已連結至當月運行 VM 執行個體的 GPU 型號數量來計算續用折扣。您只能使用同型號的 GPU 以獲得續用折扣。GPU 適用的續用折扣會與執行個體機器類型、vCPU 以及系統記憶體折扣等分開計算。

舉例來說,假設您有兩個具有不同 GPU 數量的執行個體,並在該月的不同時間運行。Compute Engine 會細分所有自訂執行個體使用的 GPU 數量,並將這些數量合併起來以獲得最高的可能續用折扣。

假如您在當月的前半個月執行一個執行個體 (1 GPU),然後在下半個月執行另一個執行個體 (4 GPU),則 Compute Engine 會使用以下方式計算這些 GPU 折扣:您使用 1 個 GPU 整整一個月,而另外 3 個 GPU 則使用半個月。Compute Engine 會套用以下續用折扣:

  • 由於使用了整個月,因此使用 1 個 GPU 會獲得 30% 的折扣。
  • 由於每項資源都使用了半個月,因此使用 3 個 GPU 會獲得 10% 的折扣。

瀏覽續用折扣

續用折扣將於帳單週期結束時自動顯示在您的帳單上。續用折扣是結合所有機器類型所有折扣 (以專案為單位) 的獨立明細項目。

在您的帳單上,您將看到每個專案的總續用折扣明細項目,以及與 VM 執行個體相關的費用明細項目。您可以透過 Google Cloud Platform 主控台帳單記錄來瀏覽這筆折扣。

續用折扣和一律免費用量配額

Google Cloud Platform 提供一律免費的用量限制,讓您在相當於當月總時數的期間,免費使用一個 f1-micro 執行個體;足以讓您在整個月內執行一個執行個體,而不會發生服務中斷的情況。使用「一律免費」執行個體無法併用續用折扣。

後續步驟

  • 如要瞭解不同機器類型的價格點,請參閱價格頁面。
  • 如果您有可預測的工作負載,請考慮承諾使用折扣
  • 使用先佔 VM 節省更多成本。
本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Compute Engine 說明文件

Sustained Use Discounts

Google offers sustained use discounts which are automatic discounts that you get for running specific Compute Engine resources a significant portion of the billing month. Sustained use discounts apply to the following resources:

For example, when you run one of these resources for more than 25% of a month, Compute Engine automatically gives you a discount for every incremental minute you use for that instance. The discount increases with usage and you can get up to a 30% net discount for instances that run the entire month.

Sustained use discounts are applied automatically to usage within a project separately for each region, so there is no action required on your part to enable these discounts.

Sustained use discounts at different usage levels

To take advantage of the full 30% discount, create your VM instances on the first day of the month. Discounts reset at the beginning of each month.

The table below describes the discount you get at each usage level of a VM instance. These discounts apply for all machine types, but do not apply to preemptible instances.

Usage Level (% of month) % at which incremental is charged Example incremental rate (USD/hour) for an n1-standard-1 instance
0%-25% 100% of base rate $0.0475
25%-50% 80% of base rate $0.0380
50%-75% 60% of base rate $0.0285
75%-100% 40% of base rate $0.0190

Sustained use discounts are applied on incremental use after you reach certain usage thresholds. This means that you pay only for the number of minutes that you use an instance, and Compute Engine automatically gives you the best price. There’s no reason to run an instance for longer than you need it.

The following graph demonstrates how your effective discount increases with use.

Click to enlarge

For example, if you use a virtual machine for 50% of the month, you get an effective discount of 10%. If you use it for 75% of the month, you get an effective discount of 20%. If you use it for 100% of the month, you get an effective discount of 30%. You can also use the Google Cloud Pricing Calculator to estimate your sustained use discount for any arbitrary workload.

Calculating sustained use discounts

Compute Engine calculates sustained use discounts based on vCPU and memory usage across each region and separately for each machine type. Discounts are applied as described in the sustained usage discount table. For sole-tenant nodes, sustained use discounts apply to the 10% sole-tenant premium costs as well as the base price for the vCPU and memory resources that your nodes occupy.

Sustained use discounts are calculated separately for each of the following categories:

  • Predefined vCPUs and memory, which are used in n1-standard, n1-highcpu, and n1-highmem machine types as well as sole-tenant nodes.
  • Custom vCPUs and memory, which are used in custom machine types that allow you to select a specific number of vCPUs and memory.
  • Memory-optimized vCPUs and memory, which are used in n1-megamem and n1-ultramem machine types that have preset number of vCPUs and a high ratio of memory for each vCPU.
  • Shared-core machine types, which use partial vCPUs and are cost-effective for running small, non-resource intensive applications. Shared-core machine types are still billed as a single unit rather than as separate vCPU and memory resources.

Consider a scenario where you have two instances or sole-tenant nodes in the same region that have different machine types and run at different times of the month. Compute Engine breaks down the number of vCPUs and amount of memory used across all instances that use predefined machine types and combines the resources to qualify for the largest sustained usage discounts possible.

Assume you run the following two instances in the us-central1 region during a month:

  • For the first half of the month, you run an n1-standard-4 instance with 4 vCPUs and 15 GB of memory
  • For the second half of the month, you run a larger n1-standard-16 instance with 16 vCPUs and 60 GB of memory

In this scenario, Compute Engine reorganizes these machine types into individual vCPU and memory resources and combines their usage to create the following resources:

  • 4 vCPUs for a full month
  • 12 vCPUs for half of the month
  • 15 GB of memory for a full month
  • 45 GB of memory for half of the month

For example, you can see how the sustained use discounts apply to the vCPUs for this scenario:

Diagram showing how vCPUs from instances are combined using resource-based sustained use discounts for predefined machine types

The monthly bill for these resources would be calculated using the following formulas:

(4 vCPUs x $0.031611 x 730 hours) x 0.7 for the 30% full-month discount = $64.612884

(12 vCPUs x $0.031611 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $124.610562

(15 GB x $0.004237 x 730 hours) x 0.7 for the 30% full-month discount = $32.476605

(45 GB x $0.004237 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $62.6334525

The total monthly cost of the combined resources is $284.3335035.

Compare this total to the previous way that sustained use discounts would have been calculated for these same predefined machine types. For example, you can see how the vCPUs are billed when they are inferred by machine type rather than combined by resource types:

Diagram showing how instances were previously inferred using machine-type sustained use discounts
(1 n1-standard-4 machine x $0.1900 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $62.415

(1 n1-standard-16 machine x $0.7600 x 365 hours) x 0.9 for the 10% half-month discount = $249.66

The two instances are not inferred because they are different machine types, so their total monthly cost is $312.075.

With the new pricing changes, you save an additional $27.7414965 in this usage scenario. This same process applies separately to the resources for custom machine types.

Sustained use discounts for GPUs

For GPU devices, Compute Engine calculates sustained use discounts based on the number of a GPU model that you have attached to running VM instances during the month. You can receive sustained use discounts only on GPUs of the same model. Sustained use discounts for GPUs are calculated separately from instance machine type, vCPU, and memory discounts.

For example, consider a scenario where you have two instances with different numbers of GPUs and run at different non-overlapping times of the month. Compute Engine breaks down the number of GPUs used across all instances and combines them to qualify for the biggest sustained usage discounts possible.

If you run one instance with 1 GPU for the first half of the month, and then run another instance with 4 GPUs for the second half of the month, Compute Engine calculates discounts for these GPUs as if you had used 1 GPU for a whole month and 3 remaining GPUs for half of the month. Compute Engine applies the following sustained use discounts:

  • You would receive a 30% discount off the cost of using 1 GPU for a full month.
  • You would receive a 10% discount off the cost of using the remaining 3 GPUs because you used each resource for half of the month.

Viewing sustained use discounts

Sustained use discounts will automatically appear on your bill at the end of the billing cycle. Sustained use discounts are a separate line item combining all discounts of all machine types on a per project basis.

On your bill you will see a line item of total sustained discounts for each project, and a line item for costs related to VM instances. You can view this discount in the Google Cloud Platform Console billing history.

Sustained use discounts and Always Free usage quotas

Google Cloud Platform offers Always Free Usage Limits that provide free use of one f1-micro instance equivalent to the number of total hours within the current month. This is enough to run one instance without interruption for the entire month. You cannot receive sustained use discounts for use of the Always Free instance.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation