變更已停止執行個體的機器類型

如果已停止的執行個體不屬於代管執行個體群組,就可以變更該執行個體的機器類型。如果您需要變更代管執行個體群組中執行個體的機器類型,請參閱更新代管執行個體群組的相關說明。

如果現有機器類型不能滿足執行個體工作負載所需,可以變更執行個體的機器類型。您可已變更執行個體的機器類型,藉以隨著工作負載的變更調整 vCPU 與記憶體的數目。例如,您可以在設定、開發及測試期間以較小的機器啟動執行個體,並在準備好處理實際工作環境工作負載時,將執行個體變更為使用較大的機器類型。

如要瞭解可用的機器類型,請參閱機器類型說明文件。

事前準備

這項工作需要的權限

如要執行這項工作,您必須具備以下權限

  • 執行個體的 compute.instances.setMachineType 權限

變更機器類型

如果執行個體不屬於代管執行個體群組,您可以變更機器類型,而不會影響到執行個體的永久磁碟資料 (包括安裝的應用程式與應用程式資料)、安全殼層金鑰或其他執行個體設定,例如執行個體中繼資料。如果您的執行個體採用的是臨時外部 IP 位址,IP 位址可能會變更。如要避免 IP 位址變更,請將這個 IP 位址升級為靜態外部 IP 位址

如要變更已停止執行個體的機器類型,請使用 Google Cloud Platform Console、API 中的 setMachineType 方法或 gcloud 中的 instances set-machine-type 指令。您只能變更已停止執行個體的機器類型。系統只會將 TERMINATED 狀態的執行個體視為已停止執行個體。您無法變更執行中執行個體的機器類型。

主控台


  1. 前往「VM instances」(VM 執行個體) 頁面
  2. 在「Name」(名稱) 欄中,按一下您要變更機器類型的執行個體名稱。
  3. 在執行個體詳細資料頁面上,完成以下步驟:

    1. 如果您尚未停止執行個體,請按一下 [Stop] (停止) 按鈕來停止執行個體。
    2. 執行個體停止後,按一下頁面頂端的 [Edit] (編輯) 按鈕。

      [Edit] (編輯) 按鈕的螢幕截圖

    3. 在「Machine configuration」(機器設定) 區段之下,選取您要使用的機器類型,或建立自訂機器類型

      變更機器類型的螢幕截圖

    4. 儲存變更。

gcloud


如要在 gcloud 中變更機器類型,請執行以下指令,並將 INSTANCE 替換為執行個體名稱,以及將 MACHINE-TYPE 替換為想要的機器類型:

gcloud compute instances set-machine-type INSTANCE --machine-type MACHINE-TYPE

機器類型可以是預先定義的機器類型,例如 n1-standard-1,或是自訂機器類型。舉例來說,如要指定具有 4 個 vCPU 和 1 GB 記憶體的自訂機器類型,指定方式如下:

--machine-type custom-4-1024

API


透過 API 發出 POST 要求,並在要求主體中包含您想要的機器類型:

POST https://compute.googleapis.com/compute/v1/projects/PROJECT/zones/ZONE/instances/INSTANCE/setMachineType

{
    machineType: "zones/us-central1-f/machineTypes/n1-standard-1"
}

如要宣告自訂機器類型,請採用以下格式:

zones/ZONE/machineTypes/custom-CPU-MEMORY

舉例來說,這個機器類型具有 4 個 vCPU 和 1 GB 記憶體:

zones/us-central1-f/machineTypes/custom-4-1024

變更為規模較小的機器類型

如果您從具有較多資源的機器類型變更為資源較少的機器類型 (例如從 n1-standard-8 機器類型改為使用 n1-standard-2),可能會遭遇硬體資源問題或效能限制情形,這是因為規模較小的機器類型其功能不如規模較大的機器類型強大。請確認新的機器類型可支援目前在執行個體上執行的所有應用程式和服務;或者,您也可以更新您的服務和應用程式,確保這些項目能在規模較小的機器類型上正常運作。

帳單相關注意事項

每個機器類型都是以不同的費率計費,因此請務必瞭解變更機器類型對於計費方式的影響。舉例來說,n1-standard-1 機器類型的費用比 f1-micro 機器類型高。

變更機器類型可能也會影響該 VM 的續用折扣。系統會針對相同地區中的不同類別個別計算續用折扣。如果您變更機器類型,且新的機器類型屬於不同的類別,虛擬機器執行個體的後續執行時間便會列入新類別的續用折扣。

舉例來說,假設您有一個已執行半個月的 n1-standard-1 機器類型執行個體,然後您決定要將機器類型變更為 m1-ultramem-40。一旦完成這項變更,Compute Engine 就會開始將虛擬機器執行個體的執行時間,算到記憶體最佳化 vCPU 和記憶體類別的續用折扣中。

帳單上會列出您變更機器類型前已套用至 n1-standard-1 機器類型的續用折扣,以及 m1-ultramem-40 的個別續用折扣 (前提是您的執行個體在 m1-ultramem-40 上的執行時間至少達到當月剩餘時間的 25%)。

最佳做法

快照定期備份永久磁碟資料是很好的做法。請考慮在變更機器類型前,為您的永久磁牒資料建立快照。如要確保新機器類型能夠支援現有虛擬機器執行個體上的資料,您可以先建立永久磁碟的快照,然後透過這份快照另外啟動一個採用新機器類型的虛擬機器執行個體,藉此確認該執行個體是否能順利啟動。

如果您執行個體連結了第二個永久磁碟,請確認您已將該永久磁碟新增至 /etc/fstab 檔案,讓系統能在執行個體重新啟動時自動掛接該磁碟。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Compute Engine 說明文件

Changing the Machine Type of a Stopped Instance

This page describes how to change the machine type of an existing instance. To learn more about machine types, read the Machine Types documentation.

You can change the machine type of a stopped instance if you find that your existing machine type is not a good fit for your workloads or if you intentionally started with a smaller machine type for setup, development, and testing and now wish to deploy the virtual machine instance for your production workload.

Before you begin

Changing a machine type

Changing a machine type does not affect the instance's persistent disk data, SSH keys, or any other instance configurations such as instance metadata. If your instance uses an ephemeral external IP address, there is a possibility that the IP address might change. To keep the IP address from changing, promote it to a static external IP address.

To change the machine type of a stopped instance, use the Google Cloud Platform Console, the setMachineType method in the API, or the instances set-machine-type command in gcloud. You can only change the machine type of a stopped instance and an instance is considered stopped only when the instance is in the TERMINATED state. It is not possible to change the machine type of a running instance.

Console


  1. Go to the VM Instances page.
  2. In the Name column, click the name of the instance that you want to change the machine type for. The instance details appear.
  3. Click the Stop button to stop the instance, if you have not stopped it yet.
  4. After the instance stops, click the Edit button at the top of the page.

    Screenshot of Edit button

  5. Under the Machine Type section, select the machine type you want to use, or create a custom machine type.

    Screenshot of changing a machine type

  6. Save your changes.

gcloud


To change a machine type in gcloud, run the following command, replacing INSTANCE with the instance name, and MACHINE-TYPE with the desired machine type:

gcloud compute instances set-machine-type INSTANCE --machine-type MACHINE-TYPE

Your machine type can be a predefined machine type, such as n1-standard-1, or a custom machine type. For example, a custom machine type with 4 vCPUs and 1 GB of memory can be specified as:

--machine-type custom-4-1024

API


In the API, make a POST request with the desired machine type in the request body:

POST https://www.googleapis.com/compute/v1/projects/PROJECT/zones/ZONE/instances/INSTANCE/setMachineType

{
    machineType: "zones/us-central1-f/machineTypes/n1-standard-1"
}

To declare a custom machine type, use the format:

zones/ZONE/machineTypes/custom-CPU-MEMORY

For example, this machine type has 4 vCPUs and 1 GB of memory:

zones/us-central1-f/machineTypes/custom-4-2014

Moving to a smaller machine type

If you move from a machine type with more resources to a machine type with fewer resources, such as moving from a n1-standard-8 machine type to a n1-standard-2, you could run into hardware resource issues or performance limitations because smaller machine types are less powerful than larger machine types. Make sure that your new machine type is able to support any applications or services that are currently running on the instance, or that you update your services and applications to run on the smaller machine types.

Billing implications

Each machine type is billed at a different rate, so make sure you understand the pricing implications of changing machine types. For example, an n1-standard-1 machine type costs more than an f1-micro machine type.

Changing a machine type can also affect your sustained use discounts. Sustained use discounts are based on inferred instances of the same machine type in the same zone, so if you change machine types, the subsequent running time of the virtual machine instance will count towards the sustained use discount of the new machine type.

For example, assume you have an instance with n1-standard-1 machine type running for half a month. You then decide to change the machine type to n1-standard-2. Once you make that change, Compute Engine starts counting the running time of the virtual machine instance from that point on towards the sustained use discount of the n1-standard-2 machine type.

On your bill, you would see a sustained use discount applied to the n1-standard-1 machine type from before you made the machine type change, and a separate sustained use discount for n1-standard-2, if your instance remains running on n1-standard-2 for at least a 25% of the rest of the month.

Best practices

It is good practice to make regular backups of your persistent disk data using snapshots. Consider taking a snapshot of your persistent disk data before you change the machine type. If you want to make sure the new machine type is able to support the data on the existing virtual machine instance, you can take a persistent disk snapshot and use it to start a second virtual machine instance with the new machine type to confirm that the instance will start up sucessfully.

If you have a second persistent disk attached to your instance, make sure it is added to the /etc/fstab file so that it is automatically mounted when the instance reboots.

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation