• 主題
  • 什麼是資料管理?

什麼是資料管理?

資料管理是在資料生命週期中,從取得、使用到處置的資料管理基本原則措施。

所有機構都需要進行資料管理,隨著各行各業如火如荼地推動數位轉型,資料已迅速成為企業擁有價值最高的資產。

資深管理階層需要準確且及時的資料,以利擬定策略業務決策。行銷和銷售專員需要可信賴的資料,瞭解客戶的需求。採購和供應鏈管理人員需要準確的資料,才能在維持庫存水準的同時,將製造成本降至最低。法規遵循監管人員必須證明資料確實根據內部和外部規定處理,而其他人員也會有資料管理的需求。

資料管理的定義

資料管理領域包羅萬象,目的是確保資料安全、不公開、準確、高度可用且易於使用,範圍涵蓋人員必須採取的行動、必須遵循的流程,以及在整個資料生命週期中支援所有做法的技術。

資料管理需要設定相關內部標準 (亦即資料政策),明確規定如何收集、儲存、處理和處置資料,並規範誰可以存取哪些資料,以及哪種資料需要控管。資料管理也涉及遵守產業協會、政府機關和其他利益團體所訂的外部標準。 

資料管理的好處有哪些?

制定更明智、更及時的決策

整個機構的使用者都可以取得必要資料,以便聯繫和服務客戶、設計和改進產品與服務,進而有更多機會創造新收入。

改善成本控管成效

資料可以協助您更有效地管理資源。由於因資訊孤島而導致的資料重複情況可以消除,所以您不會過度購買 (也不必維護) 昂貴的硬體。

強化法規遵循

法規環境日益複雜,所以機構更需要建立可靠的資料管理做法,如此才能主動預期新法規,同時避免發生不合規的相關風險。

提升客戶和供應商的信任

遵守內部和外部資料政策並提供可稽核的各項記錄,將能獲得客戶和合作夥伴的高度信任,他們不但認同您可以保護他們的機密資訊,也會對雙方業務往來充滿信心。

更輕鬆控管風險

透過強大的管理機制,您可以防止缺乏適當授權的個人或系統接觸到機密資料、遏止惡意外部威脅的安全危害,甚至不必擔心內部人員會存取無權查看的資料。

允許更多人員存取更多資料

強而有力的資料管理,可以讓更多人員存取更多資料,並確信這些人員可以取得正確資料,並且資料的普及應用不會對機構產生負面影響。

資料管理雲端化

隨著雲端技術的採用速度變快,不可避免地,有關雲端對資料管理有何影響的疑問也隨之而來。企業擔憂的問題不外乎以下幾個方面:

  • 資料是否安全無虞:企業可能不放心將資料儲存在公用雲端中,於是仍自行負責控管其內部部署系統上的資料管理。但企業應該知道,雲端供應商會保護儲存在雲端的資料,並防止資料外洩或遭到盜用。  
  • 雲端供應商是否遵循法規:負責遵循法規和標準的企業法規遵循監管專員和資料管家,必須確信他們的雲端供應商也會遵守 GDPRCCPAPCI DSS健康保險流通與責任法案及其他法規,且需要提供相關工具,協助他們在將資料存放在雲端時遵循所有規定。
  • 是否有瀏覽權限和控管權:公用雲端供應商知道他們如果能協助資料管理,將可以激發客戶的信任並大幅地改善客戶體驗。因此,業界領先的雲端供應商會為使用其平台的公司,提供資料評估、中繼資料分類、存取權控管管理、資料品質和資訊安全等工具做為核心功能。

資料管理的用途有哪些?

資料管理對於確保資料安全、可靠、不公開、高度可用,以及遵循內外資料政策來說不可或缺。資料管理允許設定和強制執行控管機制,藉此提供更好的資料存取方式,進而透過資料控管獲得安全性和隱私性。以下是一些常見的用途:

資料管家

資料管理通常意味著扛起職責與責任,除了資料本身外,也要負責確保正確運用「資料管家」。

資料品質

資料管理也會用於確保資料品質,這是指確保資料適用的任何活動或技術。資料品質通常可從六個維度判斷:準確性、完整性、一致性、及時性、有效性和唯一性。

資料控管

這是一個廣泛的概念,涵蓋將資料當成企業資產進行管理的各個層面,從收集和儲存到使用和監督,都必須確保資料得到安全、高效和具成本效益的利用後,才進行資料處置。

Jump to

What is data governance?

Data governance is a principled approach to managing data during its life cycle, from acquisition to use to disposal. 

Every organization needs data governance. As businesses throughout all industries proceed on their digital-transformation journeys, data has quickly become the most valuable asset they possess.

Senior managers need accurate and timely data to make strategic business decisions. Marketing and sales professionals need trustworthy data to understand what customers want. Procurement and supply-chain-management personnel need accurate data to keep inventories stocked and to minimize manufacturing costs. Compliance officers need to prove that data is being handled according to both internal and external mandates. And so on.

Data governance defined

Data governance is everything you do to ensure data is secure, private, accurate, available, and usable. It includes the actions people must take, the processes they must follow, and the technology that supports them throughout the data life cycle.

Data governance means setting internal standards—data policies—that apply to how data is gathered, stored, processed, and disposed of. It governs who can access what kinds of data and what kinds of data are under governance. Data governance also involves complying with external standards set by industry associations, government agencies, and other stakeholders. 

What are the benefits of data governance?

Make better, more timely decisions

Users throughout your organization get the data they need to reach and service customers, design and improve products and services, and seize opportunities for new revenues.

Improve cost controls

Data helps you manage resources more effectively. Because you can eliminate data duplication caused by information silos, you don’t overbuy—and have to maintain—expensive hardware.

Enhance regulatory compliance

An increasingly complex regulatory climate has made it even more important for organizations to establish robust data governance practices. You avoid risks associated with noncompliance while proactively anticipating new regulations.

Earn greater trust from customers and suppliers

By being in auditable compliance with both internal and external data policies, you gain the trust of customers and partners that you will protect their sensitive information, so they feel positive about doing business with you.

Manage risk more easily

With strong governance, you can allay concerns about exposure of sensitive data to individuals or systems who lack proper authorization, security breaches from malicious outsiders, or even insiders accessing data they don’t have the right to see. 

Allow more personnel access to more data

Strong data governance allows more personnel access to more data, with the confidence that these personnel get access to the right data and that this democratization of data does not negatively impact the organization.

Data governance in the cloud

As cloud adoption accelerates, questions inevitably arise about how it impacts data governance. Enterprises have concerns that:

  • Their data will be secure: Businesses may be concerned about storing data in the public cloud. They are still responsible for controlling data governance on the data for their on-premises systems, but need to know that their cloud provider will protect against its exposure or theft when it is stored in the cloud.  
  • The cloud vendor will comply with regulations: Enterprise compliance officers and data stewards responsible for adhering to regulations and standards need to feel confident that their cloud vendor will also adhere to GDPR, CCPA, PCI DSS, HIPAA, and other regulations and need to provide them with tools to help vendors comply when their data is in the cloud.
  • They will have visibility and control: Public cloud providers know that their ability to help with data governance can inspire customer trust and massively enhance the customer experience. As a result, leading cloud vendors offer tools for data assessment, metadata cataloging, access control management, data quality, and information security as core competencies to companies that use their platforms.

What is data governance used for?

Data governance is necessary to assure that data is safe, secure, private, usable, and in compliance with both internal and external data policies. Data governance allows setting and enforcing controls that allow greater access to data, gaining the security and privacy from the controls on data. Here are some common use cases:

Data stewardship

Data governance often means giving accountability and responsibility for both the data itself and the processes that ensure its proper use to “data stewards.”

Data quality

Data governance is also used to ensure data quality, which refers to any activities or techniques designed to make sure  data is suitable to be used. Data quality is generally judged on six dimensions: accuracy, completeness, consistency, timeliness, validity, and uniqueness.

Data management

This is a broad concept encompassing all aspects of managing data as an enterprise asset, from collection and storage to usage and oversight, making sure it’s being leveraged securely, efficiently, and cost-effectively before it’s disposed of.