专用游戏服务器迁移指南

本文讨论将计算机游戏服务器迁移到 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 的注意事项。当今,大多数在线游戏都具有在虚拟或物理机器上运行的专用游戏服务器进程。本指南适用于熟悉在本地或云端运行专用游戏服务器进程的游戏开发者和运营团队。虽然在将游戏服务器迁移到 GCP 时需要考虑很多因素,但由此提升的灵活性可以带来很多好处,包括有利的计费模式,业界领先的全球基础架构和最新的云技术。本指南旨在帮助您了解如何迁移。游戏行业没有标准术语,因此就本文而言:

  • 机器是指运行游戏服务器进程的物理机或虚拟机。
  • 游戏服务器是指游戏服务器进程。多个游戏服务器进程可以在一台机器上同时运行。
  • 实例是指单个游戏服务器进程。

在 GCP 上运行游戏服务器的原因

越来越多的游戏工作室正在将他们的专用游戏服务器转移到云端,试图填补自有硬件设施与游戏发布期间难以估计的玩家需求之间的差距。如果能够无缝处理激增的服务器负载以及按需付费,就可以消除因发布游戏而带来的巨大风险。迁移带来的一些好处包括:

  • Google Compute Engine 虚拟机按分钟,而不是按小时计费。持续使用折扣会自动应用在您运行的虚拟机上,因此您无需预留容量并承担相关的成本风险。
  • 自定义虚拟机规模允许您仅支付专用游戏服务器实际使用的 CPU 和内存量。
  • Compute Engine 虚拟机启动非常快,时间仅为几秒钟 (Linux) 或几分钟 (Windows)。
  • 广泛的区域可用性使您可以将游戏服务器部署在靠近客户的位置。默认的全局网络空间允许这些服务器轻松地与现有服务进行通信,而无需额外的工作。
  • 您可以在几分钟内为开发,质量检查测试或事件预配一次性环境,并在不再需要时立即将其丢弃,无需承担任何长期成本且不会影响其他环境。
  • 您可以轻松地将托管在 Google Cloud Storage 中的构建配置为 CDN 源,或直接从存储分区中分发构建。
  • 单独磁盘上的构建软件工件的快照可以轻松地实现操作系统升级,以及使用符号链接将构建升级到生产。

使用项目来分离环境

将开发、测试、模拟环境和公共环境按照不同的项目分离是业界的常见做法。这是因为项目是轻量级的,可以轻松创建和销毁。另一种流行的模式是为测试环境创建项目,部署构建,在冒烟测试中进行质量检查,并在构建准备好被提升或拒绝时销毁项目。这也保证了资源和配额的分离。例如,测试中的错误构建不会因过度消耗资源而影响生产服务。此外,销毁项目时总是删除其中的所有资源,确保您不会忘记删除那些需付费的测试或开发环境。

将构建迁移到云

将构建上传到 Cloud Storage 仅按每 GB 计算存储成本。在云端,可轻松将此上传的构建用作 CDN 来源,或将构建分发给其他工作室或承包商。您可以使用对象生命周期管理为上传的对象设置生存时间,以保持管理开销的可管理性和成本限制。

分布

通常,业界会使用 Cloud Storage 等对象存储或永久性磁盘等块存储来托管云端的资产和二进制文件。如果您使用了 Amazon Web Service S3 的任何现有进程,那么都可以轻松地修改或扩展以使用 Cloud Storage,因为它与 API 兼容。虽然将资产存储在 Cloud Storage 上是将构建分发给客户、CDN 甚至远程办公室很方便,但从 Cloud Storage 将构建复制到游戏服务器虚拟机可能会带来额外的加载时间,因此不建议使用此方法。拥有大量专用游戏服务器的许多客户已经熟悉了“复制”磁盘映像的模式,因为这些映像已经拥有启动新的专用游戏服务器虚拟机所必需的全部库、资产和二进制文件。此策略在 GCP 上与在本地或其他云端一样有效。但是,我们建议将快照与只读磁盘配对,如下一节所述,因为这具有明显的优势。

将快照与只读磁盘配对的策略

在大多数游戏中,操作系统和游戏服务器的构建可以独立更改。我们建议您不要将游戏构建放在操作系统磁盘上,而应放在单独的永久性磁盘上,并将必要的构建软件工件通过软链接或符号链接的方式指向其预期的目录。此设置创建了一个干净的工作流,用于将多个构建分发到虚拟机。只需将每个构建放在自己的磁盘上,将所有磁盘连接到虚拟机,并在准备好更改游戏服务器版本时更新符号链接即可。您可以保留在不同磁盘上的旧构建以实现快速回滚,直到您确信新版本稳定后再断开链接。您可以将永久性磁盘连接到多个虚拟机,从而节省成本并且无需将资产分发给所有虚拟机。

在将此方法作为游戏开发流水线的一部分实现时,我们建议您为构建系统配置必要的步骤来创建包含相应目录结构中所有软件工件文件的磁盘。例如,您可以使用运行 gcloud 命令的简单脚本,或者为您选择的构建系统运行 GCP 特定的插件。我们还建议您为磁盘创建多个副本,并让虚拟机以平衡的方式连接到这些副本,以满足吞吐量要求和管理故障风险。请注意,您可以同时从单个快照创建多个永久性磁盘,这是快速生成同一游戏服务器构建的多个磁盘副本的有效方法。

网络

GCP 运行在 Google 定制的专用光纤网络上,在主要大城市接入点 (PoP) 和 GCP 数据中心之间提供极低的延迟。GCP 的网络模型允许您尽可能地在托管服务器的区域与最靠近客户 ISP 的 Google PoP 之间保持与 Google 网络上至关重要的游戏内容相关流量。与其他供应商提供的更常见的 hot-potato 路由策略(试图在离开虚拟机时立即将流量路由到公共互联网)相比,GCP 的效率更胜一筹。总之,Google 的网络可以为您的玩家提供更高的可靠性和更可预测的延迟。

此外,GCP 默认是一个全局网络空间。它无需使用 VPN 或其他网络软件连接不同的区域或地区。如果您在 us-central1-b 地区中启动虚拟机而在 eu-central1-a 启动另一个虚拟机,并将它们配置为使用相同的网络,则它们可以相互连接而无需其他配置。地区之间的所有流量都保留在 Google 的专用网络上,不会因 BGP 在公共互联网上引起的额外跳跃而产生延迟。

项目之间的网络

默认情况下,您创建的每个 GCP 项目都代表其隔离的全局网络。如果虚拟机在单独的项目(不连接公共互联网)中,则它们将无法彼此通信。尽管有多种方法可以建立跨项目网络,但我们建议您使用单个项目来运行您希望在专用网络空间中进行相互通信的服务器和服务。

游戏服务器的 GCP 网络

GCP 上专用游戏服务器最常见的网络模式是使用 Google Cloud Platform Console 创建游戏网络。为此网络配置适用于互联网流量的游戏端口,以及用于运行状况检查、监控或平台服务通信的任何所需内部端口。然后,在创建托管专用游戏服务器的虚拟机时指定此网络。

最佳做法

将游戏服务器迁移到 GCP 后,您可能会发现进一步优化服务器构建以使用 GCP 基础架构的好处。

vCPU 优化

每个 vCPU 的时钟速度相当稳定,但 Google 提供了包含若干最新款 Intel CPU 架构的云区域。一些游戏客户在使用特定架构的标志进行编译并在提供来自这些系列 CPU 的区域中运行服务器时,发现在 Linux 系统中的速度提升高达 20%。vCPU 速度的这种一致性也适用于横向扩缩而不是纵向扩缩到 CPU 密集型任务的方法。如果可能,使用工作器线程并并行化代码以允许它使用多个 CPU,而不是需要从几个 CPU 中获得更多的使用周期。

网络优化

虽然流量出口是收费的,但入口不收费。因此,您可以考虑非对称通信模式,在这种模式中,来自客户端的数据包的更新速率高于来自服务器的数据包的更新速率。很多时候,通过内插或外推可以减轻较低服务器更新速率带来的影响。关于这些主题的帮助文章,可以阅读 Glenn Fieldler 网站的 Gaffer on Games 这个游戏网络系列。此外,如果您的客户端和服务器的封送处理/序列化代码是充分和有效的,请考虑使用数据包压缩来保持较小的数据包大小。

分析事件和日志记录优化

可以考虑为 Google BigQuery 或 Cloud Storage 建立一个高容量的分析事件和日志记录路径,并使每个游戏服务器进程可以打开和关闭此功能。此方法允许您快速调查报告的漏洞、分析游戏内容以获得平衡或生成 ML 训练数据。在任一服务中存储数据都是非常便宜的(目前每月存储 5 TB 数据的费用为 102.40 美元,且过往历史记录表明价格会稳步下降),并且可以设置为在给定日期后自动过期,使您可以轻松控制成本和数据量。

游戏状态的外部化

我们在云游戏基础架构的概览中简要介绍了外部化状态的潜在优势。值得考虑的是,游戏状态的哪些部分可以外部化。当前可以实现一定数量的外部化状态,并且今后每天都会有更多的云技术可以提高这种能力。外部化状态可以启用许多有趣的功能,例如:

  • 允许在玩家游玩期间在虚拟机之间迁移游戏服务器进程,同时将中断降至最低。这个功能可以在许多场景中使用,包括:

    • 协同定位在同一区域甚至同一虚拟机上建立大量服务器内通信的游戏服务器或服务,而不需要提前预测用户的流量模式。
    • 隔离具有高资源使用率的进程。
    • 无缝实时迁移进程,无需关闭虚拟机以进行更新,且无需在高峰需求过去后删除进程以减少使用率。
  • 允许多个进程在模拟的不同部分工作,并仅在更大的范围内以类似共享内存的方式在彼此之间共享更新。

  • 允许将状态序列化保存到磁盘或共享给另一个游戏服务器,这可以为电子竞技开辟新的可能性,例如:

    • 服务器捕获的权威重放与监管链。
    • 镜像专用游戏服务器,可让大量观众通过游戏客户端实时观看赛事。

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Solutions

Dedicated Game Server Migration Guide

This article discusses considerations for moving computer gaming servers to Google Cloud Platform (GCP). Most online games today feature dedicated game server processes that run on machines — virtual or physical. This guide is for game developers and operations teams familiar with running dedicated game server processes, either on-premises or in the cloud. Although there are a number of considerations when migrating game servers to GCP, the increased flexibility can provide substantial benefits, including an advantageous billing model, industry-leading global infrastructure, and the latest cloud technologies. This guide aims to help get you started with your migration. The game industry doesn't have standard terminology, so for the purposes of this article:

  • Machine refers to the physical or virtual machine the game-server processes run on.
  • Game server refers to the game-server process. Multiple game-server processes may run simultaneously on one machine.
  • Instance refers to a single game-server process.

Reasons to run game servers on GCP

More and more game studios are moving their dedicated game servers to the cloud to get off the treadmill of attempting to match their hardware purchases to the fundamentally difficult-to-estimate launch-window player base. The ability to seamlessly handle bursts of activity and only pay for what you use can remove substantial risk from your launch. Some benefits include:

  • Google Compute Engine VMs are billed by the minute, not by the hour. Sustained usage discounts are automatically applied for VMs you keep running — there is no need to reserve capacity and take on the associated cost risk.
  • Custom VM shapes allow you to pay only for the amount of CPU and memory your dedicated game servers actually use.
  • Compute Engine VMs start very quickly — from seconds (Linux) to a few minutes (Windows).
  • Wide regional availability allows you to put your game servers close to your customers. Default global network space allows those servers to easily communicate back to your existing services without additional work.
  • You can provision one-off environments for development, QA testing, or events in minutes and discard them as soon as they are no longer needed, without any commitment and without impacting other environments.
  • You can easily configure builds hosted in Google Cloud Storage as a CDN origin or distribute builds directly out of buckets.
  • Snapshots of build artifacts on separate disks can allow for easy OS upgrades, as well as promoting builds to production by using symlinks.

Using projects to segregate environments

It's not uncommon for development, testing, staging, and public environments to be separated into different projects. Projects are lightweight and can be easily created and destroyed. Another popular pattern is to create a project for a testing environment, deploy a build, have QA run smoke tests, and destroy the project when the build is ready to be promoted or rejected. This also guarantees separation of resources and quotas. For example, a bad build in testing can not impact the production services by over consuming resources. Also, the act of destroying a project always deletes all the resources in it, ensuring you won't have forgotten test or dev environments showing up on your bill.

Getting builds to the cloud

Uploading builds to Cloud Storage incurs only the per-GB storage cost. Once there, it's easy to use this upload as a CDN origin, or to distribute builds to other studios or contractors. You can set Time to Live for uploaded objects using Object Lifecycle Management to keep your administration overhead manageable and your costs constrained.

Distribution

It's common to host assets and binaries in the cloud using an object store like Cloud Storage or block storage such as persistent disks. Any existing processes you might have that use Amazon Web Service's S3 can be easily modified or extended to use Cloud Storage, as it is API compatible. Although storing assets on Cloud Storage is a great way to distribute builds to customers, CDNs, and even remote offices, copying from Cloud Storage to your game server VMs can introduce additional load time, so it isn't a recommended approach. Many customers with a large number of dedicated game servers will already be familiar with the pattern of 'baking' disk images that already have all the necessary libraries, assets, and binaries required to start up a fresh dedicated game server VM. This strategy is as valid on GCP as it is on premises or other clouds. However, we recommend pairing snapshots with read-only disks, as detailed in the following section, which has significant advantages.

Snapshots with read-only disks strategy

In most games, the OS and game server build can be changed independently. We recommend that you don't put the game build on the OS disk, but on a separate persistent disk, with necessary build artifacts soft or symbolic- linked to their expected directory. This setup creates a clean workflow for distributing multiple builds to a VM. Simply place each build on its own disk, attach all the disks to the VM, and update the symlinks when you're ready to change game server versions. Previous builds on separate disks can be left connected until you are confident that the new version is stable, allowing for quick rollbacks. You can attach persistent disks to multiple VMs, which saves costs and eliminates the need to distribute assets to all the VMs.

When implementing this approach as part of a game development pipeline, we recommend that you configure your build system to take the necessary steps to create the disk with all the artifact files in the appropriate directory structure. For example, you could use a simple script that runs gcloud commands, or a GCP-specific plugin for your build system of choice. We also recommend that you create multiple copies of the disk, and have VMs connect to these copies in a balanced manner, both for throughput considerations and to manage failure risk. Note that you can make multiple persistent disks from a single snapshot at the same time, which makes an effective way to quickly generate multiple disk copies of the same game server build.

Network

GCP runs on Google's custom-built, private fiber network, providing very low latency between major metropolitan points of presence (PoPs) and GCP data centers. GCP's networking model allows you to keep vital gameplay-related traffic on the Google network between the region hosting your servers and the Google PoP nearest to your customer's ISP, as much as possible. Contrast this with the more common "hot-potato" routing strategies provided by other vendors, which try to route your traffic to the public Internet as soon as they leave the VMs. Google's network can deliver higher reliability and more predictable latency for your players.

In addition, GCP defaults to a global network space. There is no need to "connect" different regions or zones by using VPNs or other networking software. If you start a VM in the us-central1-b zone and another in eu-central1-a, and then configure them to use the same network, they can reach each other with no additional configuration. All traffic between the zones stays on Google's private network, incurring no latency from extra hops caused by BGP across the public Internet.

Networking between projects

By default, each GCP project you create represents its own isolated, global network. VMs won't be able to communicate with one another if they are in separate projects without going over the public Internet. Although there are a number of ways to establish cross-project networking, we recommend that you use a single project to run servers and services that you expect to intercommunicate in private network space.

GCP networking for game servers

The most common networking pattern for dedicated game servers on GCP is to create a "game" network using the Google Cloud Platform Console. Configure this network with the appropriate game ports open to Internet traffic, as well as any required internal ports for health checks, monitoring, or platform service communication. Then, specify this network when creating VMs that host dedicated game servers.

Best practices

After game servers are migrated to GCP, you might find benefits in further optimizing your server builds to use GCP infrastructure.

vCPU optimizations

Clock speeds are fairly constant per vCPU, however Google has cloud regions containing the last several Intel CPU architectures. Some game customers have found speed improvements of up to 20% on Linux when compiling with architecture- specific flags and running their servers in regions that offer CPUs from those families. This consistency of vCPU speed also lends itself to a scale-out instead of scale- up approach to CPU-intensive tasks. When possible, use worker threads and parallelize your code to allow it to use several CPUs, instead of needing more cycles from a few CPUs.

Network optimizations

Although there is a charge for traffic egress, there is no charge for ingress. Consider asymmetric communication patterns that use a higher update rate for packets from the client than packets from the server. Many times the effect of a lower server-update rate can be mitigated with interpolation or extrapolation. A suggested primer on these topics is this game networking series from Glenn Fieldler's site, Gaffer on Games. In addition, if your client and server's marshalling/serialization code can be made sufficiently efficient, consider using packet compression to keep your packet size small.

Analytics events and logging optimization

Consider establishing a high-volume analytics event and logging path to Google BigQuery or Cloud Storage, and having the ability to turn this on and off for each individual game server process. This approach allows you to quickly investigate reported exploits, analyze gameplay for balance, or generate ML training data. Data stored in either service is very cheap ($102.40/month for 5 TB of storage currently, with a robust history of price drops) and can be set to automatically expire after a given date, giving you easy control over costs and data volume.

Externalization of game state

Our overview of cloud game infrastructure goes briefly goes into the potential advantages of externalizing state. It's worth considering which portions of your game state can be externalized. Some amount of externalized state can be realized today, and more cloud technologies are coming every day that will improve this ability. Externalized state can enable many interesting features such as:

  • Allow migration of game server processes between VMs, during play, with minimal interruption. This can be used in many scenarios including:

    • Co-locating game servers or services that establish high amounts intra- server communication in the same region or even on the same VM, without trying to predict user's traffic patterns ahead of time.
    • Segregating processes that have high resource usage.
    • Seamlessly live-migrating processes away from VMs that need to be shut down for updates, or removed to reduce usage after peak demand has passed.
  • Allow multiple processes to work on different parts of the simulation, and share the updates between each other in a manner similar sharing memory, only on a much larger scale.

  • Allow serialization of state to be saved to disk or shared to another game server, which can open new possibilities for eSports, such as:

    • Server-captured authoritative replays with a chain of custody.
    • "Mirrored" dedicated game servers, enabling very large numbers of live spectators in game clients.

What's next

Send feedback about...