架構︰大規模擷取分析事件和記錄最佳化

本文描述一種將 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 上大規模擷取分析事件最佳化的架構。就本文的目的而言,「大規模」是指每秒超過十萬次事件,或全部匯總事件酬載大小超過每秒 100 MB。

您可以使用 GCP 的彈性、可擴充代管服務收集大量傳入的記錄和分析事件,然後進行處理,並輸入資料倉儲 (例如 BigQuery)。

針對任何大量擷取分析資料的架構,皆應考慮哪些資料需要以接近即時的方式存取,哪些則可短暫延遲後進行處理,並將適當分離資料。分離法有以下這些優點︰

  • 記錄完整性。您可以看到完整的記錄。不會因為串流配額限制或取樣而遺失記錄。
  • 降低成本。事件和記錄串流插入的計費費率,比使用批次作業從 Cloud Storage 插入要來得昂貴。
  • 保留查詢資源。將低優先順序的記錄移到批次載入,可以避免對保留的查詢資源造成影響。

下列架構圖顯示此種系統,並說明用於擷取的「熱路徑」和「冷路徑」的概念︰

一般擷取路徑

架構總覽

在這個架構中,資料來自兩個可能的來源︰

從任何一個來源擷取資料之後,系統會依據訊息的延遲時間要求,將資料放在「熱路徑」或「冷路徑」。熱路徑使用串流輸入,可以處理連續的資料流,冷路徑則為批次處理,會依據您決定的時間表載入資料。

記錄事件

您可以使用 Stackdriver Logging 來擷取標準作業系統記錄設備產生的記錄事件。Stackdriver 在許多 Compute Engine 環境上預設為可使用,其中包括標準映像檔,也可以透過 Stackdriver Logging Agent 在許多作業系統上安裝。記錄代理程式是 App Engine 和 Kubernetes Engine 的預設記錄接收器。

熱路徑

熱路徑記錄

在熱路徑中,您在 Stackdriver Logging 接收器 中指定篩選器,並串流至多個 BigQuery 表格,以選擇需要由您的服務監控和分析的重要記錄。對於 ERRORWARN 記錄等級,請使用獨立的資料表,如果預期出現高流量,可以依據服務進一步分割。此一最佳做法可使每資料表每秒的插入次數低於極限值十萬筆,並可使針對此資料的查詢保持良好運行。

冷路徑

冷路徑記錄

對於冷路徑而言,可使用指向位於 Cloud Storage 值區的 Stackdriver Logging 接收器選擇不需要以接近即時的方式處理的記錄。記錄會被批次處理,並以 Cloud Storage 分時批次的形式寫入記錄檔中。接下來,您可以使用標準 Cloud Storage 檔案匯入過程,透過 Google Cloud Platform 主控台、指令列介面 (CLI),或甚至一個簡單的指令碼,將這些記錄批次載入 BigQuery。批次載入並不會影響熱路徑的串流擷取或查詢效能。在大部分情況下,最好將冷路徑記錄直接合併至熱路徑記錄使用的同一份資料表,以簡化疑難排解和報表生成。

分析事件

分析事件可由應用程式的服務在 GCP 中產生,或從遠處的用戶端傳送過來。透過 Cloud Pub/Sub 擷取這些分析事件,並於 Dataflow 中處理,可提供延遲時間短、總處理量高的系統。儘管將熱分析和冷分析事件送到兩個獨立的 Cloud Pub/Sub 主題並非不可行,您應使用獨立的熱路徑和冷路徑 Cloud Dataflow 工作,將所有的事件傳送到同一個主題,然後處理它們。如此一來,您可以透過更新 Cloud Dataflow 工作,改變分析事件遵循的路徑,這比部署新的應用程式或用戶端版本要來得容易。

熱路徑

熱路徑事件

有些事件需要立即分析。例如,某一事件可能表明不受歡迎的客戶行為或行徑惡劣者。您應使用自動擴展的 Cloud Dataflow 工作,從 Cloud Pub/Sub 中挑出此種事件,然後將事件直接傳送到 BigQuery。Dataflow 工作可將此資料劃分,以確保不至於達到每個資料表每秒十萬列的極限。這也可以確保查詢作業的執行效能。

冷路徑

冷路徑事件

需要每小時或每天追蹤,但從來不需要立即處理的事件,可以由 Cloud Dataflow 推送到 Cloud Storage 上的物件。您可以使用 Cloud Platform 主控台、CLI 或甚至一個簡單的指令碼,從 Cloud Storage 啟動載入至 BigQuery 的作業。您可以把它們合併至與熱路徑事件相同的資料表。批次載入的分析事件如同記錄冷路徑,並不會對保留的查詢資源造成影響,還可以讓串流擷取路徑保持合理的負載。

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Architectures

Architecture: Optimizing Large-Scale Ingestion of Analytics Events and Logs

This article describes an architecture for optimizing large-scale analytics ingestion on Google Cloud Platform (GCP). For the purposes of this article, 'large-scale' means greater than 100,000 events per second, or having a total aggregate event payload size of over 100 MB per second.

You can use GCP's elastic and scalable managed services to collect vast amounts of incoming log and analytics events, and then process them for entry into a data warehouse, such as BigQuery.

Any architecture for ingestion of significant quantities of analytics data should take into account which data you need to access in near real-time and which you can handle after a short delay, and split them appropriately. A segmented approach has these benefits:

  • Log integrity. You can see complete logs. No logs are lost due to streaming quota limits or sampling.
  • Cost reduction. Streaming inserts of events and logs are billed at a higher rate than those inserted from Cloud Storage using batch jobs.
  • Reserved query resources. Moving lower-priority logs to batch loading keeps them from having an impact on reserved query resources.

The following architecture diagram shows such a system, and introduces the concepts of hot paths and cold paths for ingestion:

general ingestion paths

Architectural Overview

In this architecture, data originates from two possible sources:

After ingestion from either source, based on the latency requirements of the message, data is put either into the hot path or the cold path. The hot path uses streaming input, which can handle a continuous dataflow, while the cold path is a batch process, loading the data on a schedule you determine.

Logging events

You can use Stackdriver Logging to ingest logging events generated by standard operating system logging facilities. Stackdriver logging is available in a number of Compute Engine environments by default, including the standard images, and can also be installed on many operating systems by using the Stackdriver Logging Agent. The logging agent is the default logging sink for App Engine and Kubernetes Engine.

Hot path

hot path logging

In the hot path, critical logs required for monitoring and analysis of your services are selected by specifying a filter in the Stackdriver Logging sink and then streamed to multiple BigQuery tables. Use separate tables for ERROR and WARN logging levels, and then split further by service if high volumes are expected. This best practice keeps the number of inserts per second per table under the 100,000 limit and keeps queries against this data performing well.

Cold path

cold path logging

For the cold path, logs that don't require near real-time analysis are selected using a Stackdriver Logging sink pointed at a Cloud Storage bucket. Logs are batched and written to log files in Cloud Storage hourly batches. These logs can then be batch loaded into BigQuery using the standard Cloud Storage file import process, which can be initiated using the Google Cloud Platform Console, the command-line interface (CLI), or even a simple script. Batch loading does not impact the hot path's streaming ingestion nor query performance. In most cases, it's probably best to merge cold path logs directly into the same tables used by the hot path logs to simplify troubleshooting and report generation.

Analytics events

Analytics events can be generated by your app's services in GCP or sent from remote clients. Ingesting these analytics events through Cloud Pub/Sub and then processing them in Cloud Dataflow provides a high-throughput system with low latency. Although it is possible to send the hot and cold analytics events to two separate Cloud Pub/Sub topics, you should send all events to one topic and process them using separate hot- and cold-path Cloud Dataflow jobs. That way, you can change the path an analytics event follows by updating the Cloud Dataflow jobs, which is easier than deploying a new app or client version.

Hot path

hot path events

Some events need immediate analysis. For example, an event might indicate undesired client behavior or bad actors. You should cherry pick such events from Cloud Pub/Sub by using an autoscaling Cloud Dataflow job and then send them directly to BigQuery. This data can be partitioned by the Dataflow job to ensure that the 100,000 rows per second limit per table is not reached. This also keeps queries performing well.

Cold path

cold path events

Events that need to be tracked and analyzed on an hourly or daily basis, but never immediately, can be pushed by Cloud Dataflow to objects on Cloud Storage. Loads can be initiated from Cloud Storage into BigQuery by using the Cloud Platform Console, the CLI, or even a simple script. You can merge them into the same tables as the hot path events. Like the logging cold path, batch-loaded analytics events do not have an impact on reserved query resources, and keep the streaming ingest path load reasonable.

What's Next

Send feedback about...

Architectures