透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。

臺北醫學大學:應用高效能的雲端技術,建立優質的數位教育環境

有關 臺北醫學大學

臺北醫學大學於 1960 年創校,是台灣的頂尖醫學高等教育機構之一,擁有超過 6,000 名學生和六家附設醫院,致力於透過持續升級校園的軟硬體,提供最高的教育品質。2022 年,「THE 世界大學排名」將臺北醫學大學列為全球前 250 大大學之一。

產業別: Education
地區: 台灣

請告訴我們您遇到的挑戰,我們在此提供您協助。

聯絡我們

有關 CloudMile

CloudMile 為亞洲領先的人工智慧與雲端服務供應商,並以實踐 AI 成為企業成長動能為己任。團隊利用機器學習及大數據分析,協助企業進行商業預測及產業升級,至今為止已服務海內外超過 500 家企業。CloudMile 擁有獲得超過 120 張專業認證,其中有超過 60 張 Google Cloud 專業技術認證,也是 Google Cloud 北亞地區擁有 Machine Learning(機器學習)、Infrastructure(基礎架構)、 Data Analytics(資料分析)及 Cloud Migration(雲端搬遷)四項專業認證的菁英合作夥伴。於2020年,CloudMile 萬里雲更是獲得雙重殊榮,包含全台第一家Google Cloud MSP 託管服務認證,以及2020年亞太「Google Cloud公部門年度最佳合作夥伴」。

為了提高其教學和行政服務的品質,臺北醫學大學使用 Google Cloud 增加教學務系統的可用性,同時擴大對 Google Workspace for Education 的使用,建立易於使用的數位學習環境。

Google 成效

  • 使用 Google Cloud 在地機房,縮短系統回應時間達三倍
  • 運用 Cloud Load Balancing 有效地分配流量,提升系統的可用性
  • 在 COVID-19 封鎖措施期間,每天用 Meet 支持超過 600 場會議和課程

快速擴展 15 倍的運算資源,處理流量增長

全世界的教育機構都正透過採用最新科技,探索提升教學和學習品質的新方式,台灣也不例外。為了配合課程數位化,教育機構需要高可用的教學務系統來提供支持。

臺北醫學大學(北醫)致力於打造世界級的學習環境,透過不斷投資升級學校的軟硬體設備,提升為其 6,000 名學生提供的教育品質。在 2022 年「THE 世界大學排名」名列全球前 250 大大學的北醫,多年前就已經將其網站、行政系統、資料庫和線上學習平台部署在混合雲上,並使用 Google Workspace for Education 作為學校電子郵件和協作系統。

先前,北醫在其混合雲架構中分別使用國內外公有雲平台來運行其招生、選課和人資系統。其中國外公有雲廠商在台灣沒有資料中心,導致該公有雲平台和北醫地端 IT 架構之間的整合並不理想,網路連線和系統穩定度都有待提升。另外原使用之國內公有雲平台也常因服務的擴充性及技術整合的不足,使北醫的教學務系統在每學期選課或需要負載性高及大流量的招生任務時,經常性停機達數小時之久。

「我們先前使用的公有雲平台無法同時處理數千個訪問請求。當學生試著要選課或送出申請的時候,我們的行政系統便有不穩定的情形。」臺北醫學大學資訊處資訊長張資昊解釋。「但這些正是我們需要系統正常運作的關鍵時期,因為學生必須在一定期限內完成行政手續。」

為了提升使用者體驗,北醫開始尋找能符合其需求的其他公有雲平台。在比較過多家廠商之後,北醫在 2021 年底選擇使用 Google Cloud。由於在台灣設有資料中心,Google Cloud 可以更好地與位於台灣的地端 IT 環境整合,支持更快的資料傳輸速度。在轉換公有雲平台的同時,北醫也希望能透過擴大對 Google Workspace for Education的使用,提高 COVID-19 封鎖措施期間的遠距教學品質。

「我們做過比較測試,認為 Google Cloud 不僅在台灣有資料中心,並能支持最佳性能表現,可以提供學生最佳體驗,」張資昊表示。「同時,我們在使用 Google Workspace for Education 的十年期間取得良好的成效,希望能運用其最新技術打造更優質的數位教學環境。」

臺北醫學大學資訊處資訊長 張資昊

支持快速系統回應、高度整合的混合雲環境

北醫是台灣最早同時採用 Google Cloud 和 Google Workspace for Education 的高等教育機構之一,且擁有兩個校區和六所附屬醫院,需要大量的外部技術支持,以擬定詳盡的遷移和運行計畫。在具備深厚雲端遷移經驗的 Google Cloud 合作夥伴 CloudMile的協助下,北醫得以設計出一個能無縫整合地端和 Google Cloud 資源的新混合雲架構,並為不同單位架設子網,以更好地管理 Google Workspace for Education。

為了加快採用 Google Cloud 的速度,CloudMile 也為北醫團隊舉行了四場訓練課程,詳盡介紹 Google Cloud 的生態環境。最終,北醫成功地在兩個月內將所有行政系統遷移到 Google Cloud 上,並將其 Google Workspace for Education 的方案升級為 Google Workspace for Education Plus。

「CloudMile 和我們分享了系統整合和重組的最佳實踐方式。在遷移過程中,CloudMile 團隊引導我們執行每一步過程,並給予非常實用的技術指引,」張資昊說。

完成遷移之後,北醫團隊第一個注意到的顯著差異是網路連線速度。先前,北醫的人資系統需要 20-30 微秒才能做出回應,加載圖片的時間也需要超過 20 秒。遷移到 Google Cloud 之後,北醫人資系統能在 10 微秒內回應,且加載圖片只需要 5 秒。

運用 Compute Engine 和 Cloud Load Balancing 避免系統延遲和崩潰

招生和選課期間向來是大專院校行政系統故障、當機的高風險期。在大學申請選課期間,IT系統資源不足的學校,經常會有長達五到六天系統延遲或當機的情況。如果發生系統故障,各校的資訊單位也必須派大量的人力來處理。

現在,北醫使用 Compute Engine 上的虛擬機器來運行招生和選課系統,並用 Cloud Load Balancing在虛擬機器之間分配流量。為了建立最具成本效益、出錯率最低的操作方式,北醫制定了根據需求調整虛擬機器數量的標準作業程序,並在正式遷移到 Google Cloud 之前做了多次壓力測試。Compute Engine 上的虛擬機器可以瞬間擴展超過 15 倍,而 Cloud Load Balancing 也能在虛擬機器過載之前,將流量引導到其他虛擬機器上。自從遷移到 Google Cloud 之後,北醫的招生和選課系統就不曾出現任何崩潰或延遲的情況。

「Compute Engine 和 Cloud Load Balancing 的負載均衡機制非常有效,可以快速啟用新的虛擬機。自從上了 Google Cloud,一次性大量的運算資源需求如年度註冊、學生選課都沒有出過任何問題。」

臺北醫學大學資訊處副資訊長 許權廣

在 COVID-19 期間支持學校行政作業和線上課程

北醫從超過 10 年前就一直使用 Gmail 作為學校電子郵件系統,在 Drive上儲存所有學校內部檔案,並在所有學校系統上運用 Google Workspace for Education 的單一登入功能,讓使用者能更快速地登入帳號。同時,北醫也藉助 DocsSheets的共同編輯功能提升辦公室的協作效率。當 2021 年台灣的 COVID-19 封鎖措施鼓勵遠距工作時,北醫的團隊得以迅速地適應新的工作模式,維持正常的生產力。

2021 年,北醫也將 Google Workspace for Education 的方案升級成 Google Workspace for Education Plus,以運用更多工具和技術。現在,北醫可以在 Meet上舉行多達 500 名參與者的視訊會議,在遠距教學的情境下也能維持教學品質。北醫也向教師和學生提供詳盡的技術支持和訓練,協助他們熟悉新的學習平台,充分利用分組討論室、投票等進階線上會議功能。在疫情封鎖期間,北醫每天在 Meet 上舉行超過 600 場課程、小組討論和會議。

除此之外,Meet、Gmail 和Calendar的深度整合,讓北醫的教師、學生和員工能輕易地預約會議並更新內容,而不需要繁瑣的來回溝通。這個功能對北醫來說特別有幫助,因為其許多課程的參與學生人數達到數百人。

「在過去超過 10 年間,Google Workspace for Education 一直為我們的行政和教學工作提供有力的支持。在 COVID-19 期間,使用 Google Workspace for Education Plus 的優勢變得更加顯著,因為無論我們的教師、學生和員工身在何處,都可以輕鬆地正常執行日常工作,」臺北醫學大學資訊處副資訊長萬序恬表示。

體驗過 Google Workspace for Education Plus 對線上課程的詳盡支持之後,北醫也將遠距教學設為慣例,以提升在不同校區授課的彈性。同時,北醫也採用  Chromebooks打造智慧教室,提供更具互動性的授課體驗。由於 Chromebook 和 Google Workspace 深度整合,北醫的教師和學生可以在上課期間輕鬆地用平板電腦進行討論,或共同編輯文件。

打造基於雲端、易於使用的學習環境

北醫正持續引入更多新技術,建立一個讓教師能以更有創意的方式教學、學生能更自主地學習的數位學習環境。北醫已經將其部署在 Google Cloud 的所有教學務系統合併成「教育雲」,並將在其上建置一個學生個人化入口,置入 Gmail 和 Calendar,便於學生追蹤他們的學習進度。

在管理方面,北醫計畫在未來使用Looker深入理解學校的運作情況,並用 Dialogflow 打造可以提供自動化支援的聊天機器人。同時,北醫也將採用 Google Cloud Armor強化教學務系統的安全,並用BigQueryDataflow加速臨床研究的資料處理。

「我們的目標是建立一個高品質的教學研究環境,讓我們的教師和學生享受數位化的好處,有了 Google Cloud、Chromebook 和 Google Workspace for Education Plus,我們得以克服學校系統的技術障礙,並成功地落實混合課程。未來,我們將運用更多 Google Cloud 的先進技術,持續提升我們學校的教學和學習品質。」

臺北醫學大學資訊處副資訊長 萬序恬

請告訴我們您遇到的挑戰,我們在此提供您協助。

聯絡我們

有關 臺北醫學大學

臺北醫學大學於 1960 年創校,是台灣的頂尖醫學高等教育機構之一,擁有超過 6,000 名學生和六家附設醫院,致力於透過持續升級校園的軟硬體,提供最高的教育品質。2022 年,「THE 世界大學排名」將臺北醫學大學列為全球前 250 大大學之一。

產業別: Education
地區: 台灣

有關 CloudMile

CloudMile 為亞洲領先的人工智慧與雲端服務供應商,並以實踐 AI 成為企業成長動能為己任。團隊利用機器學習及大數據分析,協助企業進行商業預測及產業升級,至今為止已服務海內外超過 500 家企業。CloudMile 擁有獲得超過 120 張專業認證,其中有超過 60 張 Google Cloud 專業技術認證,也是 Google Cloud 北亞地區擁有 Machine Learning(機器學習)、Infrastructure(基礎架構)、 Data Analytics(資料分析)及 Cloud Migration(雲端搬遷)四項專業認證的菁英合作夥伴。於2020年,CloudMile 萬里雲更是獲得雙重殊榮,包含全台第一家Google Cloud MSP 託管服務認證,以及2020年亞太「Google Cloud公部門年度最佳合作夥伴」。

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Taipei Medical University: Supporting education excellence with a highly available digital learning environment

About TMU

Established in 1960, Taipei Medical University is a leading medical education institution in Taiwan that has more than 6,000 students and six affiliated hospitals. Dedicated to offering high-quality education through continuously upgrading school software and hardware, Taipei Medical University was listed among the world’s top 250 universities by the THE World University Rankings in 2022.

Industries: Education
Location: Taiwan

Tell us your challenge. We're here to help.

Contact us

About CloudMile

CloudMile is a leading AI and cloud technology company in Asia that empowers businesses to accelerate digital transformation and drive growth. Leveraging machine learning and big data analysis, CloudMile has assisted more than 500 clients with business forecasts and industrial upgrades. A Google Cloud Premier Partner, the company has become a Google Cloud Managed Service Provider (MSP) covering Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Singapore and was the Public Sector Partner of the Year for APAC Region in 2020.

To enhance the quality of its administration services and education, Taipei Medical University uses Google Cloud to increase the availability of its academic affairs systems while expanding its use of Google Workspace for Education to build a highly accessible digital learning environment.

Google Cloud results

  • Reduces system response time by 3X with the local data center of Google Cloud
  • Enables high system availability by effectively distributing traffic through Cloud Load Balancing
  • Supports more than 600 meetings and lectures per day during COVID-19 lockdowns with Meet

Instantly scales up computing resources by 15X to handle traffic flow surges

Education institutions in Taiwan and around the world are exploring new methods to enhance the quality of teaching and learning by bringing the latest technologies to campus. Digitalizing the curriculum across the board is one of such efforts, which means that institutions need highly available academic affairs systems.

Dedicated to building a world-class learning environment, Taipei Medical University (TMU) has been heavily invested in upgrading its school software and hardware to improve the quality of the education provided to its more than 6,000 students. Listed among the world’s top 250 universities by the THE World University Rankings in 2022, the university started deploying its websites, administration systems, databases and online learning platforms in a hybrid cloud environment several years ago, and has been using Google Workspace for Education as the backbone of its school email and office collaboration systems.

TMU previously incorporated public cloud platforms offered by Taiwanese and foregin providers in its hybrid cloud architecture to run its admission, course registration and human resource systems. Since the foreign public cloud provider didn't have a data center in Taiwan, the integration between the public cloud and the university's on-prem IT structure was not ideal, which led to poor connectivity and stability. Moreover, the Taiwanese cloud provider couldn't offer sufficient scalability and system integration. During the traffic peak periods like the beginning of a semester, TMU's academic affairs system often experienced downtime for hours.

"The public cloud platform that we previously used could not handle thousands of access requests to our systems at the same time, so our administration systems frequently crashed when students tried to register their courses or apply for our programs," explains Kevin Chang, IT director at TMU. "But these are exactly the times when we need the systems to function well the most, because students have to complete these administration procedures within a tight deadline."

To improve user experience, TMU continued in its search for a public cloud platform that could accommodate its needs. After comparing different offerings, the university landed on Google Cloud in late 2021. With a data center in Taiwan, Google Cloud could support better integration with its local on-prem IT environment, resulting in faster data transfers. Along with the migration, TMU also wanted to increase the quality of remote teaching during COVID-19 lockdowns by expanding its use of Google Workspace for Education.

“We’ve done a comparison test, and found that Google Cloud not only has a data center in Taiwan, but also stood out by supporting the best performance and user experience,” says Chang. “At the same time, we’ve had excellent experience from using Google Workspace for Education for more than 10 years and wanted to leverage its latest technologies to create a better digital learning environment.”

"We’ve done a comparison test, and found that Google Cloud not only has a data center in Taiwan, but also stood out by supporting the best performance and user experience. At the same time, we've had excellent experience from using Google Workspace for Education for more than 10 years and wanted to leverage its latest technologies to create a better digital learning environment."

Kevin Chang, IT Director, Taipei Medical University

A well-integrated hybrid cloud environment supporting quick system responses

As one of the first higher education institutions in Taiwan that adopts both Google Cloud and Google Workspace for Education, as well as an organization that has two campuses and six affiliated hospitals, TMU required extensive external technical assistance to map out the migration and operation plan. Working with Google Cloud partner agency CloudMile, who is experienced in cloud migration, TMU was able to design a new hybrid cloud architecture that seamlessly integrates on-prem and Google Cloud resources, and set up subnets for better management on Google Workspace for Education.

To accelerate the adoption process, CloudMile also held four training sessions that walked the TMU team through the Google Cloud ecosystem. As a result, TMU successfully completed migrating all its administration systems to Google Cloud and upgraded its Google Workspace for Education plan to Google Workspace for Education Plus in two months.

"CloudMile shared with us the best practices for system integration and restructuring. During the migration process, the CloudMile team guided us through each step and shared very useful technical tips," says Chang.

The first significant difference that the TMU noticed after the migration was the connection speed. It used to take the human resources system 20-30 microseconds to respond and more than 20 seconds to load an image. After the migration to Google Cloud, the system always responds within 10 microseconds and only needs three to five seconds for image loading.

Eliminating system delays and crashes with Compute Engine and Cloud Load Balancing

The student admission and course registration periods are the times when universities' administration systems encounter higher risk of errors and downtime. During these periods, schools with insufficient computing resources might see their systems having serious response delays or being fully down for five to six days. When a system is down, it requires a lot of time and effort to clear the issue.

Now, TMU uses the virtual machines (VMs) on Compute Engine to run the two systems and leverages Cloud Load Balancing to distribute traffic among VMs. To establish the most cost-efficient and error-free practice, the university also set up a standard operating procedure for adjusting the number of VMs according to needs, which went through a number of pressure tests before the systems were launched on Google Cloud. Now, the VMs on Compute Engine can be instantly scaled up by more than 15X. Cloud Load Balancing is also able to redirect incoming traffic in time before a VM is overloaded. TMU's admission and course registration systems no longer experience any crashes or delays since the migration.

"The load balancing mechanism of Compute Engine and Cloud Load Balancing is very effective, because it can quickly launch a new VM," says Rock Hsu, IT deputy director at TMU. "Since we migrated our systems to Google Cloud, no issues have occurred during the periods when a huge number of computing resources are needed, such as student admission and course registration."

"The load balancing mechanism of Compute Engine and Cloud Load Balancing is very effective, because it can quickly launch a new VM. Since we migrated our systems to Google Cloud, no issues have occurred during the periods when a huge number of computing resources are needed, such as student admission and course registration."

Rock Hsu, IT Deputy Director, Taipei Medical University

Supporting university administration and enabling online classes during COVID-19 and beyond

TMU has been using Gmail as its school email system, Drive to store all its internal files, and the single sign-on feature of Google Workspace for Education across all its school systems for easier account access for more than 10 years. It has also been relying on the concurrent editing feature of Docs and Sheets to realize efficient office collaboration. When the COVID-19 lockdown measures made remote working obligatory in Taiwan in 2021, the team was able to quickly adapt to the new workplace model without sacrificing any productivity.

However, the university was able to enhance its Google Workspace for Education use cases after upgrading to Google Workspace for Education Plus. Today, TMU is able to hold video meetings with up to 500 participants on Meet, which has helped maintain its teaching quality even in a remote setting. By providing comprehensive technical support and training, the university successfully assisted its teachers and students to get the hang of the new learning platform and fully enjoy the extra benefits brought by the advanced online meeting features like breakout rooms and polling. During the pandemic lockdown periods, more than 600 lectures, group discussions and meetings at TMU took place on Meet every day.

On top of that, the high integration among Meet, Gmail and Calendar means that TMU’s teachers, students and staff can easily schedule and update meetings without too much back-and-forth communication. The feature is particularly helpful for the university, since it has many lectures taken by hundreds of students.

"Google Workspace for Education has been supporting our administration and academic workloads for more than a decade, and the advantages of using it became even more obvious during COVID-19, because our teachers, students and staff can easily carry on their daily work as usual no matter where they are," says Marian Wan, IT deputy director at TMU.

Having benefited from the extensive support of Google Workspace for Education Plus for online classes, TMU has made remote teaching a norm for all its lectures to increase the flexibility of class arrangements across different campuses. It has also created more interactive class experiences through adopting Chromebooks to build smart classrooms. Since Chromebook is fully integrated with Google Workspace for Education, TMU's teachers and students can easily have discussions and co-edit files on the tablets during classes.

Building a cloud-based, highly accessible learning environment

TMU continues to build a digital learning environment that enables its teachers to teach creatively and its students to learn autonomously by introducing more new technologies. The university has merged all its academic affairs systems on Google Cloud into Education Cloud, on which it will launch a personalized student learning portal embedded with Calendar, so that its students can track their course schedules more easily.

On the management side, TMU plans to leverage Looker in the near future to get a better picture of the university's operation, while using Dialogflow to build chatbots that can provide automated support. It will also adopt Google Cloud Armor to strengthen the security of its academic affairs systems. To facilitate its clinical research, the university will use BigQuery and Dataflow to accelerate data processing.

"Our goal is to establish a high-quality education environment that brings all the benefits of digitalization to our teachers and students," says Wan. "With Google Cloud, Chromebooks and Google Workspace for Education Plus, we have cleared the technical obstacles of our school systems and successfully implemented hybrid classes. Moving forward, we'll leverage more advanced technologies of Google Cloud to continue enhancing the teaching and learning quality of our university."

"With Google Cloud, Chromebooks and Google Workspace for Education Plus, we have cleared the technical obstacles of our school systems and successfully implemented hybrid classes. Moving forward, we'll leverage more advanced technologies of Google Cloud to continue enhancing the teaching and learning quality of our university."

Marian Wan, IT Deputy Director, Taipei Medical University

Tell us your challenge. We're here to help.

Contact us

About TMU

Established in 1960, Taipei Medical University is a leading medical education institution in Taiwan that has more than 6,000 students and six affiliated hospitals. Dedicated to offering high-quality education through continuously upgrading school software and hardware, Taipei Medical University was listed among the world’s top 250 universities by the THE World University Rankings in 2022.

Industries: Education
Location: Taiwan

About CloudMile

CloudMile is a leading AI and cloud technology company in Asia that empowers businesses to accelerate digital transformation and drive growth. Leveraging machine learning and big data analysis, CloudMile has assisted more than 500 clients with business forecasts and industrial upgrades. A Google Cloud Premier Partner, the company has become a Google Cloud Managed Service Provider (MSP) covering Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Singapore and was the Public Sector Partner of the Year for APAC Region in 2020.