自带许可

本页面简要介绍了如何使用单租户节点和就地重启功能为 Compute Engine 自带许可 (BYOL)。在开始之前,请查看您的许可条款及条件,以确认您是否符合为 Compute Engine 自带许可的许可要求。如需查看分步说明,请参阅自带许可的方法指南

如果您有现有的操作系统许可,则可以使用单租户节点将其用于 Compute Engine,同时使用就地重启功能最大限度地减少物理核心使用量。单租户节点是物理 Compute Engine 服务器,专门用于仅托管特定项目的虚拟机实例。当您在单租户节点上启用就地重启功能时,Compute Engine 会尽可能在同一服务器上重启虚拟机,从而最大限度地减少运行虚拟机作业的物理服务器数量。如果无法在同一物理服务器上重启虚拟机(例如,如果物理服务器遇到严重的硬件故障),则您的虚拟机会迁移到其他服务器。Compute Engine 会分配并报告新的物理服务器 ID,旧服务器 ID 将永久停用。

这在主机维护事件期间特别有用。Compute Engine 会在同一服务器上终止并重启虚拟机,而不是将虚拟机实时迁移到新的物理服务器。在进行维护时,虚拟机将脱机并且不可用

在单租户节点上托管实例具有以下优势:

  • 您的虚拟机在专用于您的项目的硬件上运行。
  • 将会最大限度地减少维护事件期间虚拟机实例涉及的物理服务器数量。
  • 您可以跟踪许可报告可能需要的每个插槽和每个核心的许可使用。
  • 您可以控制节点布置,以便在特定的单租户节点上或者在一组匹配节点之间安排虚拟机。
  • Compute Engine 使用服务器 ID 报告在特定服务器上创建或删除实例的时间,这可以支持服务器用量报告。您可以将此信息与服务器的物理特征结合使用,以确定许可使用信息。
  • 您可以为 Windows Server 和 Windows 客户端自备许可。

对于 SharePoint Server、Microsoft Exchange Server 等 Windows 应用,可以改为使用许可移动性在 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 上部署现有的应用许可。如需了解详情,请参阅常见问题解答

兼容的操作系统版本

当前的 Compute Engine 映像导入工作流已经过测试,可与以下操作系统版本兼容:

  • Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1、2012、2012 R2、2016、2019
  • Windows 7 SP1 x64、8.1 x64、10(版本 1709 和 1903)x64

如果您想导入 Windows 7 SP1 或 Windows 2008 R2 SP1,则映像必须支持 SHA2 签名,因为 Compute Engine 驱动程序使用 SHA2 签名。另请注意,某些来自第三方云提供商的代理可能会干扰 Compute Engine 驱动程序安装工作流,应在导入之前移除。

价格和可用性

此功能在支持单租户节点的所有区域均可使用。如需查看完整列表,请参阅区域和地区

如果您为 Compute Engine 自带许可,不用支付额外的费用。

许可和激活

在开始使用自带许可和单租户节点之前,请确保您了解产品许可条款。

此外,您还必须根据您的协议准备 BYOL 客机映像。如果您使用 Compute Engine 公共映像,则 GCP 的随用随付许可将附加到使用这些映像的虚拟机实例,并且以后无法将该虚拟机更新为使用您自己的许可。

与 Compute Engine 负责激活许可的付费映像不同的是,导入的映像要求您自行完成许可激活过程。您无法依靠 Compute Engine 许可服务器来激活许可。您必须为激活许可准备基础架构(例如 KMS 服务器和网络连接),并负责激活许可。

工作负载注意事项

在尝试自带许可之前,我们强烈建议您查看以下信息,以帮助您确定此功能的最佳工作负载。

预期停机

您可以使用此功能就地重启在单租户节点上运行的虚拟机实例。这意味着,在维护事件期间,系统会尽可能在同一物理服务器上终止并重启实例,而不是将正在运行的实例实时迁移到其他机器并向其他物理服务器公开您的许可。如果该服务器不再可用,Google 会在新的专用服务器上重启您的虚拟机并报告服务器 ID。

Google 平均每月执行一次维护事件,这意味着在进行维护时,您的服务器上的虚拟机将经历停机。每次事件会持续大约 60 分钟时间,不过,具体的持续时间可能会因不同的情况(例如维护类型、是否为修补事件等等)而异。

由于存在这种预期停机情况,因此我们建议使用能够承受与这些维护事件相关的停机时间的工作负载。

物理服务器迁移

在极少数情况下,由于某个事件(例如严重的硬件故障),Compute Engine 可能需要停用某个物理服务器并将您的虚拟机转移到新的底层服务器。在这些情况下,Compute Engine 会在新的物理服务器上重启您的虚拟机并分配新的单租户物理服务器 ID。如果您设置了 --restart-on-failure 虚拟机属性,则虚拟机将在新预配的物理服务器上重启。发生这种情况之后,系统不会重复使用上一个单租户物理服务器 ID。

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Compute Engine 文档

Bring your own license

This page provides an overview of bringing your own license (BYOL) to Compute Engine using sole-tenant nodes and the in-place restart feature. Before getting started, please review your licensing terms and conditions to confirm that you meet the licensing requirements to bring your own license to Compute Engine. For step-by-step instructions, read the how-to guide to bringing your own license.

If you have existing operating system licenses, you can bring them to Compute Engine using sole-tenant nodes and the in-place restart feature. Sole-tenant nodes are physical Compute Engine servers that are dedicated to hosting VM instances only for your specific project; that is, these servers are dedicated to just your workloads. When you enable the in-place restart feature on sole-tenant nodes, Compute Engine will also restart your node VMs on the same physical server instead of live migrating to a new physical server during host maintenance events. If that is not possible (for example, if the physical server is no longer available), then the VM is restarted on another server and Compute Engine reports the new physical server ID.

By using sole-tenant nodes with in-place restarts, you expose your VMs to a minimal number of physical servers to support potential hardware requirements for licenses. Please note that VMs on your server will experience outages while maintenance is applied.

Hosting instances on sole-tenant nodes provides the following benefits:

  • Ensures your VMs run on hardware that is exclusively dedicated to your project.
  • Minimizes the number of physical servers your VM instances will touch during maintenance events.
  • Allows you to track per-socket and per-core usage that might be required for license reporting purposes.
  • Gives you control over node placement so that your VMs can be scheduled on a specific sole-tenant node or scheduled across a set of matching nodes.
  • Supports server usage reporting, where Compute Engine will report when instances are created or deleted on a specific server using a server ID. This information can be combined with the server's physical characteristics to determine information for license usage.
  • Bring your own licenses for Windows Server and Windows Client.

For Windows applications such as SharePoint Server, MS Exchange Server, and so on, existing application licenses can be deployed on Google Cloud Platform using License Mobility instead. See the Frequently Asked Questions for details.

Compatible OS versions

Compute Engine's current image import workflow has been tested for compatibility with the following OS versions.

  • Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1, 2012, 2012 R2, 2016
  • Windows 7 SP1 x64, 10 Enterprise x64

If you are looking to use Windows 7 SP1 or Windows 2008 R2, your image must support SHA2 signing as Compute Engine drivers are signed with SHA2. Additionally, certain agents from 3rd party cloud providers might interfere with the Compute Engine driver installation workflow and should be removed prior to import.

Pricing and availability

During Beta, this feature is available only in the following regions:

  • us-central
  • us-west1
  • us-east1
  • europe-west1

You will not be charged extra for bringing your own licenses to Compute Engine.

Licensing and activation

Before getting started with BYOL with sole-tenant nodes, please make sure that you understand your product licensing terms.

You must also prepare your guest image for BYOL according to your agreements. If you use Compute Engine public images, Google Cloud Platform's (GCP) pay-as-you-go licenses will be attached to VM instances that use these images and you cannot update the VM to use your own licenses later.

Unlike premium images where Compute Engine will take care of license activation, imported images require that you own the license activation process. It is not possible to activate licenses against Compute Engine's license server. As such, you are responsible for preparing infrastructure for activation, such as a KMS server and network connection, and activating your licenses.

Workload considerations

During Beta, we strongly recommend reviewing the following information to help you determine the best workload for this feature.

Expected downtime

This feature adds the ability to enable in-place restarts for your VM instances running on sole-tenant nodes. This means that, during maintenance events, instead of live migrating a running instance to another machine and exposing your license to another physical server, the instance is terminated and restarted on the same physical server whenever possible. If that server is no longer available, Google restarts your VMs on a new dedicated server and reports the server ID.

Google performs an average of one maintenance event a month, which means the VMs on your server will experience an outage while maintenance is applied. Each event lasts about 60 minutes each, though this could vary depending on the situation, such as type of maintenance, whether it is a patching event, and so on.

Because of this expected downtime, Google recommends using workloads that are tolerant of the downtime associated with these maintenance events.

Physical server migration

From time to time, Compute Engine might need to retire a physical server and move your VMs to a new underlying server. During these situations, Compute Engine will restart your VMs on a new physical server and assign a new sole-tenant physical server ID. The VMs will be restarted on the newly-provisioned physical server if the user sets the following VM property (--restart-on-failure) for it. Once this happens, the previous sole tenant physical server ID will not be reused.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation