映像管理最佳做法

此解决方案提供关于如何管理 Compute Engine 映像的深度指导。映像为 Compute Engine 中运行的应用提供了基本操作环境,对确保应用快速、可靠地部署和扩缩也至关重要。您还可使用映像归档应用版本,从而应对灾难恢复或回滚场景。

了解映像

Compute Engine 中的映像是一种云资源,可提供对不可变磁盘的引用。之后,该磁盘表示法使用一些数据格式进行封装。

了解映像。

映像是一组用于创建预填充硬盘的原始字节。任何格式化的磁盘上均写入一个分区表,该表指向包含数据的一个或多个分区。如需使映像能够启动,映像必须包含主启动记录和可启动的分区。如需让磁盘导入为 Compute Engine 映像,必须将磁盘的字节写入名为 disk.raw 的文件。

在将磁盘字节的完整序列写入文件后,系统会按 tar 格式归档文件,再按 GZIP 格式进行压缩。然后,您可以将生成的 *.tar.gz 文件上传到 Cloud Storage,并将其注册为 Compute Engine 中的映像,如上图所示。注册映像后,可用它在 Google Cloud Platform 的任何区域中创建与原始磁盘完全相同的副本。新注册的映像通常用作 Compute Engine 实例的启动卷。

如需了解这些 Compute Engine 术语的更多基础简介,请参阅文档中的虚拟机实例映像

选择启动映像

使用 Compute Engine 时,首先是选择所需映像作为虚拟机实例的操作系统。您可以使用 GCP 提供的公共映像,这些映像会定期更新。GCP 提供了 Debian、Ubuntu、CentOS 等众多操作系统供您使用,且无额外费用。而 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 和 Microsoft Windows 等一些操作系统属于付费映像,实例运行每小时都会产生额外费用。

如需详细了解特定映像(例如自动更新政策、安全修补和支持渠道),请参阅产品文档的操作系统详情部分。

启动映像。

您可以使用 GCP 公共映像启动 Compute Engine 实例,然后可以自定义实例以运行您的应用。

一种配置实例的方法是,在实例启动时使用启动脚本运行部署应用的命令。请记住,实例每次启动时都会运行此脚本,因此必须使脚本具有幂等性,避免最后出现不一致或不完整配置状态。如果您的实例是托管实例组的一部分,则您可使用实例组更新程序重启或重建实例,后者会重新运行启动脚本。一种常见做法是使用启动脚本运行 Chef 或 Ansible 等配置管理工具。

创建自定义映像

虽然配置实例的启动脚本即可预配基础架构,但更高效的方法是创建新的自定义映像并将您的配置包含在公共映像中。您可采用以下几种方式自定义映像:

  • 手动
  • 自动
  • 导入

创建自定义映像的过程称为创建阶段

创建映像具有以下优势:

  • 缩短从启动到应用就绪的时间。
  • 增强应用部署的可靠性。
  • 简化到先前版本的回滚。
  • 减少引导期间对外部服务的依赖。
  • 扩展式创建带相同软件版本的实例。

手动创建

您可按以下方式创建简单的自定义映像:基于公共映像创建新的虚拟机实例,使用所需的应用和设置配置实例,然后基于该实例创建自定义映像。如果您能手动从头开始配置映像(而不是通过自动创建导入现有映像),请使用此方法。

您可按以下步骤创建简单的自定义映像:

  1. 通过公共映像创建实例
  2. 连接到实例
  3. 根据需求自定义实例。
  4. 停止实例
  5. 通过该实例的启动磁盘创建自定义映像。此过程要求您删除实例,但保留启动磁盘。

自动创建

如果您的映像较少,则手动创建很容易上手,但映像数量较多时,则很难审核和管理。 Packer 是一种开源工具,它能提升映像创建的可再现性、可审核性、可配置性、可靠性。如需详细了解如何创建“自动创建映像流水线”,请参阅通过 Jenkins、Packer、Kubernetes 自动构建映像。您还可以在 Spinnaker 流水线期间使用 Packer 生成部署到实例集群的映像。

导入现有映像

您可以通过将映像从现有基础架构导出到 Compute Engine 来迁移映像。对于 Linux 机器,请参阅有关迁移 RAW 磁盘映像、Amazon 机器映像 (AMI)、VirtualBox 映像的详细指南

如需导入现有映像,还可使用 CloudEndure 等付费迁移服务。CloudEndure 是一种工具链和在线服务,它利用持续块级复制功能帮助在平台之间迁移机器,同时尽量减少停机时间。借助 CloudEndure,您可以将机器迁移到 Compute Engine,然后通过手动创建方式来创建映像。

加密映像

Compute Engine 中的所有磁盘均使用 Google 的加密密钥默认加密。基于磁盘构建的映像也会加密。另外,您可以在创建磁盘时提供自己的加密密钥。创建磁盘后,您可以通过向映像创建命令提供加密密钥来创建加密映像。如需详细了解静态加密和客户提供的加密密钥,请参阅 GCP 文档中的静态加密

映像生命周期

设置映像构建流水线之后,您可以使用映像可靠地启动应用实例。虽然流水线可以处理映像的创建,但您还须确保部署机制使用最新版本的映像。最后,您需要一个映像选择过程,避免无意中使用到旧映像和已作废的映像。

使用映像系列

Compute Engine 提供了映像系列,可帮助您确保自动化系统和用户运行最新的映像。作为管理员,您可以将属于同一应用或用例的一组映像分组为一个映像系列。随后,映像的用户只需跟踪映像系列名称,而无需跟踪精确的映像名称。由于映像名称必须唯一,因此映像构建流水线通常会创建编码有应用名称、日期和版本等信息的映像名称,例如 my-application-v3-20161011。您无需更改自动化工具以通过将特定名称传播到其他系统来引导用户使用最新映像,而只需引用映像系列名称,该系列名称将始终返回系列中的最新映像,例如 my-application

映像系列。

如需将映像添加到映像系列,或者在没有映像系列的情况下创建映像系列,您必须在映像创建步骤中添加一个额外的 --family 标志,例如:

gcloud compute images create my-application-v3-20161011 \
    --source-disk my-application-disk-1 \
    --source-disk-zone us-central1-f \
    --family my-application

运行此命令后,任何基于映像 my-application 运行实例的调用都将指向新创建的映像 my-application-v3-20161011

弃用映像

作为管理员,您还可以通过以下命令弃用映像,从而回滚映像系列指向的映像

gcloud compute images deprecate my-application-v3-20161011 --state DEPRECATED

各种弃用状态可供选择:

状态 说明
已弃用 不再是最新版但仍可由用户启动的映像。用户将在启动时收到提醒,上面提示其未使用最新映像。
已作废 用户或自动化作业不应启动的映像。如果尝试基于这些映像创建实例,则操作将失败。您可使用此映像状态来归档映像,以便当其装载为非启动磁盘时,其数据仍可用。
已删除 已删除或标记将来要删除的映像。这些映像无法启动,您应尽快将其删除。

强制执行生命周期政策

您可以使用 gcloud compute images deprecate 命令将映像标记为删除或作废。您可以提供 --delete-in--delete-on 标志将元数据附加到映像上,标记它们供之后删除。如需附加元数据来标记映像供之后作废,请提供 --obsolete-in--obsolete-on 标志。您可将此命令包含在映像构建过程中,从而强制执行限制项目中过时及过期映像激增的映像生命周期政策。例如,您可在映像构建流水线的末尾对需要弃用或删除的映像添加额外检查,然后明确执行这些操作。

默认情况下,已弃用和已删除的映像不再通过 API 和界面显示,但您仍可通过提供 --show-deprecated 标志进行查看。如需完全删除映像及其数据,您必须为该映像发送显式 delete 命令

在项目之间共享映像

组织通常会创建多个 GCP 项目来将其资源、环境和用户访问权限进行分区。通过将资源隔离到项目中,可实现精细结算、安全机制的强制实施和网络隔离。虽然大多数云资源无需跨多个项目,但映像非常适用于跨项目共享。通过使用一组共享映像,您能够按照常见流程提供映像,采用最佳做法实现为组织其余任务预配置的安全性、授权、软件包管理和操作。

共享映像。

您可以通过将 IAM 角色分配给组织的项目来共享映像。包含要与其他项目共享的映像的项目(在上图中称为“映像创建项目”)必须应用以下 IAM 角色和政策:

  1. 通过向“映像用户组”的用户授予 compute.imageUser 角色,让其能够基于这些映像创建实例。
  2. 通过向“映像创建用户”授予 compute.instanceAdmin 角色,让其能够在此项目中创建实例。
  3. 通过向“映像创建用户”授予 compute.storageAdmin 角色,让其能够在此项目中创建映像和磁盘。

如果您希望项目能够使用共享映像,则该项目必须通过向具有 compute.imageUser 角色的用户分配 compute.instanceAdmin 角色,使这些用户能够创建实例。

如需详细了解如何在项目之间共享映像,请参阅 Compute Engine 文档中的“跨项目共享映像”

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
解决方案

Image Management Best Practices

This solution provides in-depth guidance on how to manage Google Compute Engine images. Images provide the base operating environment for applications that run in Compute Engine, and they are critical to ensuring your application deploys and scales both quickly and reliably. You can also use images to archive application versions for disaster recovery or rollback scenarios.

Understanding images

An image in Compute Engine is a cloud resource that provides a reference to an immutable disk. That disk representation is then encapsulated using a few data formats.

Understanding Images

At its core, an image is a bundle of the raw bytes used to create a prepopulated hard disk device. Written on any formatted disk is a partition table that points to one or more partitions that contain data. For an image to be bootable, it must contain a master boot record and a bootable partition. For a disk to be imported as a Compute Engine image, the disk’s bytes must be written to a file named disk.raw.

After the complete sequence of bytes from the disk are written to the file, the file is archived using the tar format and then compressed using the GZIP format. You can then upload the resulting *.tar.gz file to Google Cloud Storage and register it an image in Compute Engine, as shown in the preceding diagram. After you register an image, you can use it to create exact replicas of the original disk in any region of Google Cloud Platform. The newly registered images are often used as boot volumes for Compute Engine instances.

For a more basic introduction to these Compute Engine terms, see Virtual Machine Instances and Images in the documentation.

Choosing a boot image

The first step in using Compute Engine is to choose the image you want as the operating system for your virtual machine (VM) instance. You can use public images supplied by Google Cloud Platform, which are updated on a regular basis. Cloud Platform provides a variety of operating systems including Debian, Ubuntu, and CentOS for your use at no extra cost. Some operating systems, such as Red Hat Enterprise Linux and Microsoft Windows, are premium images, which incur additional fees for every hour that the instances run.

For more information on a particular image, such as automatic update policies, security patching, and support channels, see the Operating System Details section of the product documentation.

Boot Image

You can use the Cloud Platform public images to boot a Compute Engine instance, after which you can customize the instance to run your application.

One approach to configuring your instance is to use the startup script to run the commands that deploy your application as it boots. Keep in mind that this script runs every time the instance boots, so you must make the script idempotent to avoid ending up in an inconsistent or partially configured state. If your instances are part of a managed instance group, you can use the Instance Group Updater to restart or rebuild your instances, which re-runs your startup script. A common practice is to use the startup script to run a configuration management tool such as Chef or Ansible.

Creating customized images

While configuring an instance’s startup script is a viable way to provision your infrastructure, a more efficient method is to create a new custom image with your configuration incorporated into the public image. You can customize images in several ways:

  • Manual
  • Automated
  • Import

The process of creating a custom image is called baking.

Baking your images has the following benefits:

  • Shorter time from boot to application readiness.
  • Enhanced reliability for application deployments.
  • Easier roll back to previous versions.
  • Fewer dependencies on external services during application bootstrap.
  • Scaling up creates instances that contain identical software versions.

Manual baking

You can create a simple custom image by creating a new VM instance from a public image, configuring the instance with the applications and settings that you want, and then creating a custom image from that instance. Use this method if you can configure your images from scratch manually rather than using automated baking or importing existing images.

You can create a simple custom image using the following steps:

  1. Create an instance from a public image.
  2. Connect to the instance.
  3. Customize the instance for your needs.
  4. Stop the instance.
  5. Create a custom image from the boot disk of that instance. This process requires you to delete the instance but keep the boot disk.

Automated baking

Manual baking is an easy way to start if you have a small number of images, but large numbers of images become difficult to audit and manage. Packer is an open-source tool for making image creation more reproducible, auditable, configurable, and reliable. For more information on how to create an automated image-creation pipeline, see the Automated Image Builds with Jenkins, Packer, and Kubernetes solution. You can also use Packer as part of a Spinnaker pipeline to produce images that are deployed to clusters of instances.

Importing existing images

You might need to migrate images as-is from their existing infrastructure to Google Cloud Platform. You can export these images from their existing infrastructure and then upload them to Compute Engine. For Linux machines, here is an in-depth guide on migrating RAW disk images, Amazon Machine Images (AMI) and VirtualBox images.

Another option for importing your existing images is to use a paid migration service like CloudEndure. CloudEndure is a tool chain and online service that facilitates the migration of machines from one platform to another with minimal downtime using continuous block-level replication. With CloudEndure you can migrate your machines to Compute Engine and then use manual baking to create images.

Encrypting images

All disks in Compute Engine are encrypted by default using Google’s encryption keys. Images built from disks are also encrypted. Alternatively, you can provide your own encryption keys when your disks are created. After you create the disk you can create an encrypted image by providing your encryption keys to the image create command. For more information about encryption at rest and customer-supplied encryption keys, see Encryption at Rest in the Cloud Platform documentation.

Image lifecycle

After you set up an image-building pipeline, you can use images to reliably launch instances of an application. While the pipeline can handle creating images, you must also ensure that your deployment mechanisms use the latest versions of the images. Finally, you need a process to curate images, so that old and obsolete images aren’t used inadvertently.

Using image families

Compute Engine provides image families to help you ensure that your automation systems and users run the latest images. As an administrator, you can group a set of images that belong to the same application or use case as an image family. Then users of the images only have to keep track of the image family name, rather than an exact image name. Because image names must be unique, image build pipelines often create image names with information encoded in them such as the application name, date, and version, for example, my-application-v3-20161011. Rather than changing automated tools to direct consumers to the latest image by propagating the specific name to other systems, you can simply reference the image family name, which will always return the latest image in the family, for example, my-application.

Image Families

To add an image to an image family, or to create an image family if one doesn't exist, you must add an additional --image-family flag to the image create step. For example:

gcloud compute images create my-application-v3-20161011 --source-disk my-application-disk-1 --source-disk-zone us-central1-f --family my-application

After you run this command, any calls to run an instance based on the image my-application will point to the newly created image, my-application-v3-20161011.

Deprecating an image

As an administrator, you can also roll back the image that the image family points to by deprecating the image using the following command:

 gcloud compute images deprecate my-application-v3-20161011 --state DEPRECATED

You can choose from various states of deprecation:

State Description
DEPRECATED Images that are no longer the latest, but can still be launched by users. Users will see a warning at launch that they are no longer using the most recent image.
OBSOLETE Images that should not be launched by users or automation. An attempt to create an instance from these images will fail. You can use this image state to archive images so their data is still available when mounted as a non-boot disk.
DELETED Images that have already been deleted or are marked for deletion in the future. These cannot be launched, and you should delete them as soon as possible.

Enforcing lifecycle policies

You can mark images for deletion or obsolescence by using the gcloud compute images deprecate command. You can attach metadata to images to mark them for future deletion by providing one of the --delete-in or --delete-on flags. To attach metadata to mark images for future obsolescence, provide the --obsolete-in or --obsolete-on flags. You can incorporate this command into an image build process to enforce an image lifecycle policy that restricts the proliferation of stale and expired images in your project. For example, at the end of your image-building pipeline, you could include an additional check for images that need to be deprecated or deleted and then perform those actions explicitly.

While deprecated and deleted images are no longer shown via the API and UI by default, you can still see them by providing the --show-deprecated flag. To completely delete the image and its data, you must send an explicit delete command for that image.

Sharing images between projects

Organizations often create multiple Cloud Platform projects to partition their resources, environments, and user access. Isolating resources into projects allows for granular billing, security enforcement, and segregated networking. Although most cloud resources do not need to span multiple projects, images are good candidates for sharing across projects. By using a shared set of images, you can follow a common process to deliver images with best practices for security, authorization, package management, and operations pre-configured for the rest of the organization.

Sharing Images

You share images by assigning IAM roles to an organization's projects. The project that contains the images you want to share with other projects, referred to in the above diagram as the “Image Creation Project,” must have the following IAM roles and policies applied:

  1. Allow users of the “Image User Group” to create instances from these images by granting them the compute.imageUser role.
  2. Allow the “Image Creation User” to create instances in this project by granting them the compute.instanceAdmin role.
  3. Allow the “Image Creation User” to create create images and disks in this project by granting them the compute.storageAdmin role.

Projects that you want to be able to use the shared images must allow users with the compute.imageUser role to create instances by assigning them the compute.instanceAdmin role.

For more detailed instructions on sharing images between projects, see Sharing Images Across Projects in the Compute Engine documentation.

What's next

Send feedback about...