Google Cloud Platform Security

Google Cloud Platform meets rigorous privacy and compliance standards that test for data safety, privacy, and security.

Independent Audits of Infrastructure, Services, and Operations

Our customers and regulators expect independent verification of security, privacy and compliance controls. Google undergoes several independent third party audits on a regular basis to provide this assurance. This means that an independent auditor has examined the controls present in our data centers, infrastructure and operations. Google has annual audits for the following standards:

  • SSAE16 / ISAE 3402 Type II:
  • ISO 27001, one of the most widely recognized, internationally accepted independent security standards. Google has earned ISO 27001 certification for the systems, applications, people, technology, processes and data centers serving Google Cloud Platform. The ISO 27001 Certificate for Google Cloud Platform is here. Google has also earned the ISO 27001 certification for Google's shared Common Infrastructure. The ISO 27001 Certificate for Common Infrastructure is here.
  • ISO 27017, Cloud Security, This is an international standard of practice for information security controls based on ISO/IEC 27002 specifically for cloud services. Our ISO 27017 Certificate is here.
  • ISO 27018, Cloud Privacy, This is an international standard of practice for protection of personally identifiable information (PII) in public clouds services. Our ISO 27018 Certificate is here.
  • FedRAMP ATO for Google App Engine
  • PCI DSS v3.2

Google’s third party audit approach is designed to be comprehensive in order to provide assurances of Google’s level of information security with regard to confidentiality, integrity and availability. Customers may use these third party audits to assess how Google’s products can meet their compliance and data-processing needs.


Google Cloud Platform will also support HIPAA covered customers by entering into a Business Associates Agreement. The Cloud Platform BAA currently covers Compute Engine, Cloud Storage, Cloud SQL for MySQL, Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL, Cloud Dataproc, Genomics, BigQuery, Container Engine, Container Registry, Cloud Dataflow, Cloud Bigtable, Cloud Pub/Sub, Cloud Translation API, Cloud Speech API, Stackdriver Logging, Stackdriver Error Reporting, Stackdriver Trace, Cloud Datalab, Cloud Machine Learning Engine, Cloud Natural Language API, Cloud Data Loss Prevention API, and Cloud Vision API. Learn more about HIPAA compliance.


Google Cloud has completed the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) STAR Self-Assessment. Learn more here.

MTCS Tier 3 Certification (Singapore)

The Multi-Tier Cloud Security (MTCS) Singapore Standard (SS) 584 is a cloud security certification managed by the Singapore Info-comm Media Development Authority (IMDA). The standard has 3 tiers designed to certify cloud service providers at different levels of operational security, with Tier 3 having the most stringent requirements. At the conclusion of the assessment, which included an audit by an independent MTCS Certifying Body, 114 Google Cloud services and 20 datacenter sites received Tier 3 certification. The scope of services included in the certification highlights Google Cloud’s ongoing and continuous commitment to ensuring sound operational and security controls across all three service models--Infrastructure-as-a-Service (Iaas), Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS), and Software-as-a-Service (SaaS). The certificate can be downloaded here.

Google Cloud Platform and the EU Data Protection Directive

As part of Google’s rigorous privacy and compliance standards and commitment to our customers, Google Inc. is certified under the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework and the Swiss-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework. In addition, Google offers Cloud Platform customers EU model contract clauses as a method to meet the adequacy and security requirements of the EU Data Protection Directive. The European Union's data protection authorities have concluded that Google's model contract clauses meet EU regulatory expectations, confirming that Google Cloud services provide sufficient commitments to frame international data flows from Europe to the rest of the world. For details on the approval of the Google Cloud from the Article 29 Working Party, please see the respective decisions for G Suite and the Google Cloud Platform. Learn more about EU Data Protection.

Protection of Personal Information and My Number Data (Japan)

The Japanese government issues a unique number to every resident of Japan (both foreign and domestic). This number, also referred to as the Social Benefits or Tax Number, is protected by the “My Number Act”.

The responsibility to protect personal information and “My Number” data lies with our customers when using Google Cloud Platform. Google Cloud Platform products are ISO 27001 and ISO 27018 certified. These are international certifications related to practices to protect information (such as personal information and “My Number” data) and include appropriate access control measures.

FISC (Japan)

FISC (Center for Financial Industry Information Systems) is a public interest incorporated foundation tasked with conducting research related to technology, utilization, control, and threat/defense related to financial information systems in Japan. One of the key documents created by the organization is the "FISC Security Guidelines on Computer Systems for Banking and Related Financial Institutions". The document describes controls related to facilities, operations, and technical infrastructure.

Google has developed a guide to help customers understand how Google’s control environment aligns with the FISC guidelines. Most of the controls outlined in our guide are part of our third-party audited compliance programs, including ISO 27001, ISO 27017, and ISO 27108 certifications. View our response to the FISC controls:

MPAA Best Practices Guidelines

The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) has created a best practices guideline for cloud providers. Under a shared security model, customers using Google Cloud Platform can configure their cloud services to support these best practices. While not a formal certification, the control aspects of the guidelines map closely to Google’s existing third party audited core compliance programs, including ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27108, and CSA STAR certifications. This document details the MPAA controls that Google Cloud Platform supports. Google contracts with a third party auditor to validate these controls on a regular basis.


Answers to your frequently asked questions

View the FAQ

Security Whitepaper

Read more about Google’s approach to security

View the whitepaper

Contact us

Talk with a Cloud Platform team member about security

Contact us

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.