透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。

台灣家樂福:透過雲端轉型,提升廣告投放成效和線上購物體驗

有關 台灣家樂福

1989 年,全球知名的零售品牌家樂福在台灣開設了第一家分店。截至 2022 年 6 月,台灣家樂福在台灣營運超過 100 家超市和零售商店。為了打造一個涵蓋不同消費形式的零售生態系統,台灣家樂福在 2015 年啟動數位轉型,推出電商平台和行動應用,提供更多元的購物體驗。其行動應用目前有超過五百萬的下載量。

產業別: Retail & Consumer Goods
地區: 台灣

請告訴我們您遇到的挑戰,我們在此提供您協助。

聯絡我們

作為其數位轉型規劃的一部分,台灣家樂福運用 Google Cloud 落實基於 AI 的精準行銷,提供更可靠的線上零售服務,並改善內部系統,提升工作效率。

Google 成效

  • 透過 AutoML 支持的精準行銷,實現高 2.64 倍的廣告投資報酬率
  • 用本地資料中心支持快六倍的系統運行速度
  • 提供更具成本效益的雲端基礎架構,協助節省 40% 的營運成本
  • 使用易於擴展的運算資源,解決高流量造成的停機問題

降低線上廣告每次行動成本達 40%

隨著線上購物持續成長、演進,人們的消費習慣在過去十年間有了顯著的改變。為了滿足消費者的新需求,並提升面對數位商家的競爭優勢,大型零售品牌正運用雲端、AI 等最新技術改變營運方式,拓展服務範圍。

台灣家樂福在 2015 年啟動了雲端轉型,致力於將營運方式和服務現代化。自從總部位於法國、全球領先的零售品牌家樂福在 1989 年進入台灣市場之後,台灣家樂福的營運版圖快速擴展,目前在台灣有超過 100 家超市和零售商店。為了建立一個橫跨實體和虛擬銷售管道的零售生態系統,台灣家樂福推出了電商平台和行動應用,以提供更多元的購物體驗。截至 2022 年 6 月,台灣家樂福的應用已經有超過五百萬的下載量

「我們的目標是讓我們的顧客無論身在何處,都可以便利地取得我們的服務。為了達到這個目標,我們需要落實全面的數位轉型,並在轉型過程中不斷尋找應用新技術的最佳方式,」台灣家樂福數位技術長丁平碩表示。

作為其數位轉型規劃的一部分,台灣家樂福在 2018 年定下了達到電商營收倍數成長的目標。由於線上廣告是提升電商銷售十分重要的一環,台灣家樂福需要落實更具成本效益的廣告策略,並決定使用 AI 技術建立機器學習模型來支持精準行銷。

同時,台灣家樂福也希望將其部署在地端的內部系統遷移到雲端,並提升其電商平台和行動應用的性能表現。台灣家樂福的電商平台和行動應用當時部署在某公有雲平台位於香港的資料中心,網路連線經常出現問題。於是,台灣家樂福選擇 Google Cloud 作為其獨家雲端技術供應商,因為 Google Cloud 的機器學習產品和台灣家樂福用來投放線上廣告的 Google Ads 能高度整合。此外,Google Cloud 在台灣設有資料中心,能提供更快、更穩定的網路連線。

「我們的雲端轉型計畫涵蓋多個面向,包括機器模型訓練和 IT 基礎架構現代化,」丁平碩解釋。「Google Cloud 有高性能雲端產品,並支持執行線上廣告活動,能滿足我們的所有需求。我們可以完全依靠 Google Cloud 在雲端運行所有業務。」

透過 AutoML 支持的精準行銷,提升廣告投放成效

作為採用 Google Cloud 的第一步,台灣家樂福在 2019 年將顧客資料上傳到 AutoML,建立了針對顧客終身價值預測、轉化預測、趨勢預測和市場區隔預測的四個機器學習模型。當時,台灣家樂福沒有具備建立複雜機器學習模型經驗的專業人才,但 Google Cloud Professional Service Organization 協助列出機器學習模型的開發步驟,Google Ads 團隊也提供制定廣告投放成果 KPI 的建議,讓台灣家樂福的機器學習模型能夠開始為公司的行銷活動提供有用的洞見。

例如,基於顧客終身價值預測模型產生的分析結果,台灣家樂福能夠有效辨識高價值顧客,並針對這些顧客投放廣告,將線上廣告的每次行動成本(cost per action)降低了 40%。同時,市場區隔預測模型提供的資料讓台灣家樂福能更了解其顧客的喜好,發送更個人化的廣告,提高廣告的投資報酬率。

「AutoML 支持的機器學習模型讓我們能更了解我們顧客的消費習慣和喜好,藉此得以落實更具成本效益的廣告活動,達到更好的廣告投放成效。整體來說,我們的廣告投資報酬率比以前高了 2.64 倍。」

台灣家樂福數位技術長 丁平碩

用本地資料中心支持更快的系統運行速度,以及更穩定的網路連線

運用 AutoML 建立了機器學習模型之後,台灣家樂福開始將其部署在法國總部地端環境的內部系統,以及在另一個公有雲平台運行的電商網站和行動應用遷移到 Google Cloud,並在 2021 年 7 月完成所有遷移程序。現在,台灣家樂福將其企業資源計畫系統、人資系統和供應鏈管理系統部署在 SAP on Google Cloud Documentation上,並使用Cloud Run上的容器運行其電商平台,以及Google Kubernetes Engine(GKE)上的 Kubernetes 集群作為其行動應用的伺服器。

完成遷移之後,台灣家樂福團隊最先注意到的最大差異是更快且更穩定的網路連線,因為 Google Cloud 在台灣設有資料中心。當台灣家樂福的內部系統部署在法國時,由於資料傳輸的距離很長,系統的回應速度非常慢。先前,台灣家樂福的人資系統需要超過一分鐘才能完成請假程序。遷移到 Google Cloud 之後,同樣的程序在 10 秒鐘內就能完成。丁平碩表示,由於系統運行速度提高,台灣家樂福的工作效率得到了顯著提升。

同時,台灣家樂福電商平台和行動應用的網路穩定性也有所改善。先前,台灣家樂福的這兩個服務部署在位於香港的資料中心,經常遇到網路忽然變慢或瞬斷的問題。由於台灣家樂福先前使用的公有雲平台在台灣不提供本地技術支援,台灣家樂福無法取得足夠的技術資訊來找出造成網路問題的原因,也就無法有效改善服務。自從遷移到 Google Cloud 之後,台灣家樂福的電商平台和行動應用就不曾出現任何網路問題,能提供更好的使用者體驗。

降低營運支出,同時提升服務可用性

在將電商平台和行動應用遷移到 Google Cloud 時,台灣家樂福團隊改變了兩個服務的架構設計,以降低營運成本,並提高可用性。先前,台灣家樂福使用虛擬機來運行電商平台和行動應用的伺服器和資料庫,不只成本高昂,也較難管理。透過採用 Cloud Run 和 GKE 的微服務架構作為伺服器,並使用Cloud SQL作為資料庫,台灣家樂福節省了 40% 的營運成本,因為新的雲端架構更具成本效益,且 Google Cloud 提供長期使用的折扣。

此外,台灣家樂福的新運算架構更易於管理和擴展。在採用 Google Cloud 之前,台灣家樂福的電商網站和行動應用曾多次因為高流量而停機,有時甚至長達一整天,因為台灣家樂福的工程師必須手動調整虛擬機,無法應付突然增加的運算需求。由於 GKE 和 Cloud SQL 有自動擴展功能,Cloud Run 也能在不中斷服務的情況下在運算實例之間分配流量,台灣家樂福得以大幅提升其服務的可用性和穩定度。

「以前,我們的電商平台和行動應用在我們推出促銷活動時會經常停機,因為我們先前的基礎架構無法快速地處理流量暴漲,」丁平碩指出。「有了 GKE 和 Cloud SQL 等易於擴展的產品,我們現在可以提供高度穩定的數位服務,關於系統不穩定的客訴也減少了。」

建立整合的資料倉庫,擴大資料分析的範圍

最近,台灣家樂福將所有商業資料上傳到 BigQuery上,打造了一個整合的資料倉庫。下一步,台灣家樂福計畫建立一個機器學習模型來預測店端存貨,以更好地管理存貨,並使用Recommendations AI 依據商品促銷計畫和顧客喜好來推薦商品。

「透過產生有用的資料洞見,並提供強大且可靠的雲端基礎架構,Google Cloud 協助我們實現了許多數位轉型的目標。運用 Google Cloud 不斷演進的技術,我們相信我們能夠解鎖更多資料的價值,繼續提升我們的零售服務。」

台灣家樂福數位技術長 丁平碩

請告訴我們您遇到的挑戰,我們在此提供您協助。

聯絡我們

有關 台灣家樂福

1989 年,全球知名的零售品牌家樂福在台灣開設了第一家分店。截至 2022 年 6 月,台灣家樂福在台灣營運超過 100 家超市和零售商店。為了打造一個涵蓋不同消費形式的零售生態系統,台灣家樂福在 2015 年啟動數位轉型,推出電商平台和行動應用,提供更多元的購物體驗。其行動應用目前有超過五百萬的下載量。

產業別: Retail & Consumer Goods
地區: 台灣

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Carrefour Taiwan: Optimizing customer engagement and online shopping experiences through cloud transformation

About Carrefour Taiwan

In 1989, world-leading retail brand Carrefour established its first store in Taiwan. As of June 2022, Carrefour Taiwan has more than 100 supermarkets and retail stores across the country. Looking to build a comprehensive retail ecosystem, Carrefour Taiwan embarked on their digital transformation journey in 2015, and started offering more diverse shopping services with an ecommerce platform and a mobile app, which currently has more than five million downloads.

Industries: Retail & Consumer Goods
Location: Taiwan

Tell us your challenge. We're here to help.

Contact us

As a part of its digital transformation effort, Carrefour Taiwan leverages Google Cloud to implement AI-powered precision marketing, offer more reliable online retail services and optimize its internal systems for higher work efficiency.

Google Cloud results

  • Reaches 2.64X higher return on ad spend (ROAS) through precision marketing supported by AutoML
  • Supports 6X faster system operating speed with a local data center
  • Helps save 40% of operational costs with more cost-effective cloud infrastructure
  • Eliminates frequent downtime caused by high traffic with easily scalable computing resources

Lowers cost per action of online advertising by 40%

As online shopping continues to grow and evolve, people's consumption habits have significantly changed over the past decade. To meet consumers' new needs and better compete with digital merchants, established retail brands are transforming the way they operate, and expanding their services with the help of the latest technologies like cloud and artificial intelligence (AI).

Carrefour Taiwan is in the process of modernizing its operations and services through digital transformation, which it embarked on in 2015. Since its parent company Carrefour, a world-leading retail brand headquartered in France, entered the Taiwanese market in 1989, Carrefour Taiwan has expanded its presence in the country to more than 100 supermarkets and retail stores. Aiming at building a retail ecosystem across physical and virtual channels, the company has also launched an ecommerce platform and a mobile app to offer more diverse shopping experiences. As of June 2022, its app had more than five million downloads.

"Our goal is to provide services to our customers no matter where they are and at their greatest convenience. To achieve that, full digital transformation is necessary, and we're always looking for ways to make the best of new technologies in the transformation process," notes Henry Ting, Digital Chief Technology Officer at Carrefour Taiwan.

As a part of its digital transformation effort, Carrefour Taiwan set a goal in 2018 to reach exponential growth in its ecommerce revenues. As online advertising plays a big role in driving up ecommerce sales, the retailer needed to implement more cost-effective advertising strategies and decided to use AI technology to build machine learning (ML) models for precision marketing.

At the same time, Carrefour Taiwan wanted to move its on-prem internal systems to cloud and enhance the performance of its ecommerce platform and mobile app that were hosted in a public cloud platform's data center in Hong Kong, because the network connection was not ideal. After comparing different offerings, Carrefour Taiwan chose Google Cloud as its only cloud provider, based on its high integration between its ML products and Google Ads, which the retailer highly relies on for online advertising. Google Cloud's data center in Taiwan also means that it offers faster and more stable connectivity.

"Our cloud transformation plan involves various aspects, including ML model training and IT infrastructure modernization," explains Ting. "Google Cloud perfectly meets all our needs with its high-performance cloud tools and its support of online advertising campaign execution. We can fully count on Google Cloud to run all our businesses in the cloud."

"Our goal is to provide services to our customers no matter where they are and at their greatest convenience. To achieve that, full digital transformation is necessary, and we're always looking for ways to make the best of new technologies in the transformation process."

Henry Ting, Digital Chief Technology Officer, Carrefour Taiwan

Enhancing customer engagement with precision marketing supported by AutoML

As the first step of its adoption of Google Cloud, Carrefour Taiwan uploaded its customer data to AutoML in 2019, and built four ML models for customer lifetime value prediction, segmentation, conversion rate prediction and churn rate prediction. At that time, the retailer didn't have professionals who were experienced in setting up complex ML models. However, Google Cloud Professional Service Organization helped Carrefour Taiwan map out the development steps of the ML models, and the Google Ads team offered advice on defining the key performance indicators for advertising results. This collaboration enabled Carrefour Taiwan's ML models to deliver useful insights for the company's marketing campaigns.

For example, based on the analytics results generated by the customer lifetime value prediction model, Carrefour Taiwan is able to identify its high-value customers. By delivering ads primarily to these customers, the company has lowered its cost per action of online advertising by 40%. Meanwhile, the customer segmentation model provides data that enables Carrefour Taiwan to understand its customers' preferences better and send out more personalized ads, leading to higher returns on its ad investments.

"With our ML models powered by AutoML, we know more about our customers' consumption habits and preferences, and are therefore able to run more cost-effective advertising campaigns while reaching better customer engagement," says Ting. "Overall, our return on ad spend is 2.64 times higher compared to before."

"With our ML models powered by AutoML, we know more about our customers' consumption habits and preferences, and are therefore able to run more cost-effective advertising campaigns while reaching better customer engagement. Overall, our return on ad spend is 2.64 times higher compared to before."

Henry Ting, Digital Chief Technology Officer, Carrefour Taiwan

Achieving faster system operating speeds and connection stability with a local data center

After building its ML models on AutoML, Carrefour Taiwan started moving its internal systems from an on-prem environment in France, where Carrefour's headquarters is situated, and its ecommerce platform and mobile app from another public cloud platform, to Google Cloud. The retailer completed the migration in July 2021, and now deploys its enterprise resource planning, human resource and supply chain management system on SAP on Google Cloud, while running its ecommerce platform with containers on Cloud Run and its mobile application with servers on Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE).

The first big difference that the Carrefour Taiwan team noticed after the migration was the faster and more stable connectivity, supported by Google Cloud's data center in Taiwan. When the company's internal systems were deployed in France, the system response was very slow due to the long data transfer distance. Previously, it took over a minute for Carrefour Taiwan's human resource system to complete a leave request procedure. Now, the procedure can be done in less than 10 seconds on Google Cloud. Ting says that the company's work efficiency has been greatly enhanced thanks to the faster system operating speed.

At the same time, the network stability of Carrefour Taiwan's ecommerce platform and mobile app has also improved. Before, the company's two services were hosted in a data center in Hong Kong and frequently encountered network issues such as slow connections or disruptions. As the public cloud platform that Carrefour Taiwan previously used didn't have a local branch office, the retailer was unable to acquire sufficient technical support to identify the root causes of connectivity issues. Since the migration, Carrefour Taiwan's ecommerce platform and mobile app have never experienced any network problems, delivering a better user experience.

Reducing operational costs while enhancing service availability

When moving its ecommerce platform and mobile app to Google Cloud, the Carrefour Taiwan team changed the structure design of its two services for lower costs and higher availability. Pre-migration, the retailer used virtual machines (VMs) to run the servers and databases of its ecommerce platform and mobile app, which was costly and challenging to manage. By adopting the microservice architecture of Cloud Run and GKE for servers, and Cloud SQL for databases, Carrefour Taiwan has saved 40% on operational costs, because the new cloud infrastructure is more cost-effective, and Google Cloud offers committed use discounts.

Additionally, the new computing architecture is easier to manage and scale. Prior to the adoption of Google Cloud, Carrefour Taiwan's ecommerce website and mobile app could be down for an entire day due to high traffic, because the company’s engineers needed to manually adjust its VMs, and sometimes failed to meet the sudden increase in demand. As GKE and Cloud SQL support autoscaling, and Cloud Run can distribute traffic among instances without disrupting the service, Carrefour Taiwan is able to greatly increase the availability and stability of its services.

"Our ecommerce platform and mobile app used to frequently experience downtimes when we launched promotion campaigns, because our previous infrastructure couldn't swiftly handle sudden flow surges," explains Ting. "With easily scalable products like GKE and Cloud SQL, we can now provide highly stable digital services, and the user reports about system failures have significantly decreased."

Building an integrated data warehouse for broader data analytics

In the latest step of its cloud transformation, Carrefour Taiwan has uploaded all its business data to BigQuery and built an integrated data warehouse. Next, the retailer plans to set up a ML model to predict store stock demand for better retail inventory management. It will also leverage Recommendations AI to send product recommendations that fit its customers' preferences and its product promotion plans.

"Google Cloud has helped us realize many digital transformation goals by generating useful data insights, and providing powerful and reliable cloud infrastructure," says Ting. "With its ever-advancing technologies, we believe that we can unlock more value from our data and continue optimizing our retail services."

"Google Cloud has helped us realize many digital transformation goals by generating useful data insights, and providing powerful and reliable cloud infrastructure. With its ever-advancing technologies, we believe that we can unlock more value from our data and continue optimizing our retail services."

Henry Ting, Digital Chief Technology Officer, Carrefour Taiwan

Tell us your challenge. We're here to help.

Contact us

About Carrefour Taiwan

In 1989, world-leading retail brand Carrefour established its first store in Taiwan. As of June 2022, Carrefour Taiwan has more than 100 supermarkets and retail stores across the country. Looking to build a comprehensive retail ecosystem, Carrefour Taiwan embarked on their digital transformation journey in 2015, and started offering more diverse shopping services with an ecommerce platform and a mobile app, which currently has more than five million downloads.

Industries: Retail & Consumer Goods
Location: Taiwan