数据加载简介

本页面简要介绍了如何将数据加载到 BigQuery 中。

概览

您可以通过多种方式将数据提取到 BigQuery 中:

  • 批量加载一组数据记录。
  • 流式传输个别记录或批量记录。
  • 使用查询生成新数据,并将结果附加到表中或覆盖表中的数据。
  • 使用第三方应用或服务。

本部分简要介绍了每种方法。

批量加载。使用批量加载时,可通过单个批量操作将源数据加载到 BigQuery 表中。例如,数据源可以是 CSV 文件、外部数据库或一组日志文件。传统的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 作业属于此类别。

在 BigQuery 中进行批量加载的选项包括:

  • 通过创建加载作业,从 Cloud Storage 或本地文件加载数据。记录可以是 Avro、CSV、JSON、ORC 或 Parquet 格式。
  • 使用 BigQuery Data Transfer Service 自动从 Google 软件即服务 (SaaS) 应用或第三方应用和服务加载数据。
  • 使用其他代管式服务从外部数据存储区中导出数据并将数据导入到 BigQuery 中。例如,您可以从 Firestore 导出文件加载数据。

批量加载可以作为一次性操作执行,也可以按周期性计划执行。例如,您可以执行以下操作:

  • 您可以按计划运行 BigQuery Data Transfer Service 传输作业。
  • 您可以使用 Cloud Composer 等编排服务来安排加载作业。
  • 您可以使用 Cron 作业来按计划加载数据。

流式传输。 使用流式传输,可以一次性或批量发送数据。您可以编写直接调用流式传输 API 的代码,也可以将 Dataflow 与 Apache Beam SDK 搭配使用来设置流式传输流水线。

生成的数据。您可以使用数据操纵语言 (DML) 语句执行批量插入现有表中或将查询结果存储在新表中。

第三方应用一些第三方应用和服务提供可将数据提取到 BigQuery 中的连接器。如何配置和管理提取流水线的详细信息取决于应用。

您可以将数据加载到新的表或分区、将数据附加到现有的表或分区,或者覆盖表或分区。如需详细了解如何使用分区,请参阅管理分区表。当数据加载到 BigQuery 时,它会转换为适用于 Capacitor 的列式格式(BigQuery 的存储格式)。

BigQuery 还可以对某些类型的外部数据运行查询,而无需将数据加载到 BigQuery 存储空间中。如需了解详情,请参阅加载数据的替代方案

亲自尝试

如果您是 Google Cloud 新手,请创建一个帐号来评估 BigQuery 在实际场景中的表现。新客户还可获享 $300 赠金,用于运行、测试和部署工作负载。

免费试用 BigQuery

选择数据提取方法

选择数据提取方法时,需要考虑以下注意事项。

数据源。数据来源或数据格式可决定批量加载或流式传输是否更易于实现和维护。请考虑以下几点:

  • 如果 BigQuery Data Transfer Service 支持数据源,则将数据直接传输到 BigQuery 可能是最容易实现的解决方案。

  • 如果您的数据来自 Spark 或 Hadoop,请考虑使用 BigQuery 连接器来简化数据提取。

  • 对于本地文件,请考虑批量加载,特别是当 BigQuery 支持这种文件格式时,无需执行转换或数据清理步骤。

  • 对于应用事件或日志流等应用数据,实时流式传输数据可能更容易,而不是实现批量加载。

缓慢更改的数据与快速更改的数据。如果您需要近乎实时地提取和分析数据,请考虑流式传输数据。借助流式传输,每条记录一旦到达即可查询数据。应避免使用 DML 语句来提交大量单独的行更新或插入。对于频繁更新的数据,通常最好是流式传输更改日志并使用视图来获取最新结果。另一个选项是使用 Cloud SQL 作为 Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) 数据库,并使用联合查询来联接 BigQuery 中的数据。

如果源数据更改缓慢或您不需要持续更新的结果,请考虑使用加载作业。例如,如果您使用数据运行每日或每小时报告,则加载作业的费用可能较低,并且使用的系统资源数量较少。

另一种情况是到达频率较低或为响应事件而产生的数据。在这种情况下,请考虑使用 Dataflow 流式传输数据,或使用 Cloud Functions 调用流式传输 API 来响应触发器。

解决方案的可靠性。BigQuery 具有服务等级协议 (SLA)。但是,您还需要考虑所实现的特定解决方案的可靠性。请考虑以下几点:

  • 对于 JSON 或 CSV 等弱类型格式,错误数据可能会使整个加载作业失败。考虑是否需要在加载之前执行数据清理步骤,并考虑如何响应错误。另外,请考虑使用强类型格式,例如 Avro、ORC 或 Parquet。
  • 定期加载作业需要使用 Cloud Composer、cron 或其他工具进行安排。安排组件可能会成为解决方案中的故障点。
  • 借助流式传输,您可以检查每条记录是否成功,并快速报告错误。考虑将失败的消息写入未处理的消息队列,以供日后分析和处理。如需详细了解 BigQuery 流式传输错误,请参阅排查流式传输问题
  • 流式传输和加载作业受配额限制。如需了解如何处理配额错误,请参阅排查 BigQuery 配额错误
  • 第三方解决方案在配置、可靠性、排序保证及其他因素方面可能存在差异,因此在采用某个解决方案之前,请考虑这些因素。

延迟时间。考虑加载的数据量以及您需要数据可用的快慢。流式传输提供了让数据可用于分析的最低延迟。定期加载作业的延迟时间较长,因为须在每个加载作业都完成后,新数据才可用。

默认情况下,加载作业使用的共享池。加载作业可能会以待处理状态等待到槽可用,尤其是在您加载非常大量的数据时。如果这样会导致不可接受的等待时间,您可以购买专用槽,而不是使用共享的槽池。如需了解详情,请参阅预留简介

外部数据源的查询性能可能低于存储在 BigQuery 中的数据的查询性能。如果最大限度地减少查询延迟时间很重要,则建议将数据加载到 BigQuery 中。

数据提取格式。根据以下因素选择数据提取格式:

  • 架构支持。Avro、ORC、Parquet 和 Firestore 导出文件是自描述格式。BigQuery 会根据源数据自动创建表架构。对于 JSON 和 CSV 数据,您可以提供明确的架构,也可以使用架构自动检测

  • 平展型数据或嵌套和重复的字段。 Avro、CSV、JSON、ORC 和 Parquet 都支持平展型数据。Avro、JSON、ORC、Parquet 和 Firestore 导出文件还支持包含嵌套重复字段的数据。表示分层数据时,嵌套的重复数据会很有用。 此外,在对数据进行反规范化处理时,嵌套重复字段可以减少重复情况。

  • 嵌入式换行符。从 JSON 文件加载数据时,各行内容必须以换行符分隔。BigQuery 要求以换行符分隔的 JSON 文件必须每行包含一条记录。

  • 编码。BigQuery 支持采用 UTF-8 编码的嵌套数据或重复数据以及平展型数据。此外,它还支持采用 ISO-8859-1 编码的平展型数据,但这仅适用于 CSV 文件。

加载反规范化的嵌套重复数据

许多开发者都习惯于使用关系型数据库和规范化的数据架构。 规范化处理可避免存储重复的数据,还可确保数据定期更新的一致性。

反规范化是用于提高之前已规范化的关系型数据集的读取性能的常用策略。在 BigQuery 中对数据进行反规范化的推荐方法是使用嵌套和重复字段。当关系具有分层结构并且经常一起被查询时(例如在父子关系中),推荐使用此策略。

使用规范化数据节省的存储空间对于现代系统来说已不再那么重要。使用反规范化的数据虽然会增加存储费用,但可以提高性能,因此是值得的。联接需要协调数据(通信带宽)。反规范化会将数据本地化到各个,因此可以实现并行执行。

要在对数据进行反规范化的同时保持关系,您可以使用嵌套重复字段,而不是完全展平数据。如果将关系型数据完全展平,网络通信(数据重排)会对查询性能产生负面影响。

例如,如果对订单架构进行反规范化而不使用嵌套重复的字段,您可能需要按 order_id 这样的字段进行数据分组(如果存在一对多关系)。由于涉及数据重排,与使用嵌套重复的字段对数据进行反规范化相比,对数据进行分组的做法效率较为低下。

在某些情况下,对数据进行反规范化并使用嵌套重复字段并不会提高性能。请避免在以下使用场景中执行反规范化:

  • 您采用的是星型架构且维度更改频繁。
  • BigQuery 执行行级层的变更来补全 Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) 系统,但无法取代该系统。

嵌套重复的字段支持以下数据格式:

  • Avro
  • JSON(以换行符分隔)
  • ORC
  • Parquet
  • Datastore 导出文件
  • Firestore 导出文件

如需了解如何在加载数据时指定架构中的嵌套重复字段,请参阅指定嵌套重复的字段

从其他 Google 服务加载数据

BigQuery Data Transfer Service

BigQuery Data Transfer Service 会自动将以下服务中的数据加载到 BigQuery:

Google 软件即服务 (SaaS) 应用 外部云存储服务商 数据仓库 此外,Google Cloud Marketplace 提供了多项第三方转移作业服务

配置完数据转移功能后,BigQuery Data Transfer Service 会自动安排和管理从源应用到 BigQuery 的定期数据加载作业。

Google Analytics 360

如需了解如何将会话和命中数据从 Google Analytics 360 报告数据视图导出到 BigQuery,请参阅 Google Analytics(分析)帮助中心内的 BigQuery Export

如需查看在 BigQuery 中查询 Google Analytics(分析)数据的示例,请参阅 Google Analytics(分析)帮助中的 BigQuery 实战宝典

Dataflow

Dataflow 可以将数据直接加载到 BigQuery 中。如需详细了解如何使用 Dataflow 对 BigQuery 执行读写操作,请参阅 Apache Beam 文档中的 BigQuery I/O 连接器

加载数据的替代方案

在以下情况下,您无需在运行查询之前加载数据:

公共数据集
公共数据集是存储在 BigQuery 中并公开共享的数据集。如需了解详情,请参阅 BigQuery 公共数据集
共享数据集
您可与他人共享存储在 BigQuery 中的数据集。如果有人与您共享了某个数据集,您可以在不加载数据的情况下对该数据集运行查询。
外部数据源
您可以通过查询外部数据源中的数据来跳过数据加载过程。通过此方法,您可以充分利用 BigQuery 的分析功能,而无需移动存储在其他位置的数据。如需了解这种方法的优点和限制,请参阅外部数据源
日志文件
Cloud Logging 提供了将日志文件导出到 BigQuery 的选项。如需了解详情,请参阅使用日志查看器导出日志

后续步骤

Introduction to loading data

This page provides an overview of loading data into BigQuery.

Overview

There are several ways to ingest data into BigQuery:

  • Batch load a set of data records.
  • Stream individual records or batches of records.
  • Use queries to generate new data and append or overwrite the results to a table.
  • Use a third-party application or service.

This section briefly describes each method.

Batch loading. With batch loading, you load the source data into a BigQuery table in a single batch operation. For example, the data source could be a CSV file, an external database, or a set of log files. Traditional extract, transform, and load (ETL) jobs fall into this category.

Options for batch loading in BigQuery include the following:

  • Load data from Cloud Storage or from a local file by creating a load job. The records can be in Avro, CSV, JSON, ORC, or Parquet format.
  • Use BigQuery Data Transfer Service to automate loading data from Google Software as a Service (SaaS) apps or from third-party applications and services.
  • Use other managed services to export data from an external data store and import it into BigQuery. For example, you can load data from Firestore exports.

Batch loading can be done as a one-time operation or on a recurring schedule. For example, you can do the following:

  • You can run BigQuery Data Transfer Service transfers on a schedule.
  • You can use an orchestration service such as Cloud Composer to schedule load jobs.
  • You can use a cron job to load data on a schedule.

Streaming. With streaming, you send the data one record at a time or in batches. You can either write code that calls the streaming API directly, or you can use Dataflow with the Apache Beam SDK to set up a streaming pipeline.

Generated data. You can use data manipulation language (DML) statements to perform bulk inserts into an existing table or store query results in a new table.

Third-party applications. Some third-party applications and services provide connectors that can ingest data into BigQuery. The details of how to configure and manage the ingestion pipeline depend on the application.

You can load data into a new table or partition, append data to an existing table or partition, or overwrite a table or partition. For more information about working with partitions, see Managing partitioned tables. When your data is loaded into BigQuery, it is converted into columnar format for Capacitor (BigQuery's storage format).

BigQuery can also run queries on certain forms of external data, without loading the data into BigQuery storage. For more information, see Alternatives to loading data.

Choosing a data ingestion method

Here are some considerations to think about when you choose a data ingestion method.

Data source. The source of the data or the data format can determine whether batch loading or streaming is simpler to implement and maintain. Consider the following points:

  • If BigQuery Data Transfer Service supports the data source, transferring the data directly into BigQuery might be the simplest solution to implement.

  • If your data comes from Spark or Hadoop, consider using BigQuery connectors to simplify data ingestion.

  • For local files, consider batch loading, especially if BigQuery supports the file format without requiring a transformation or data cleansing step.

  • For application data such as application events or a log stream, it might be easier to stream the data in real time, rather than implement batch loading.

Slow-changing versus fast-changing data. If you need to ingest and analyze data in near real time, consider streaming the data. With streaming, the data is available for querying as soon as each record arrives. Avoid using DML statements to submit large numbers of individual row updates or insertions. For frequently updated data, it's often better to stream a change log and use a view to obtain the latest results. Another option is to use Cloud SQL as your online transaction processing (OLTP) database and use federated queries to join the data in BigQuery.

If your source data changes slowly or you don't need continuously updated results, consider using a load job. For example, if you use the data to run a daily or hourly report, load jobs can be less expensive and can use fewer system resources.

Another scenario is data that arrives infrequently or in response to an event. In that case, consider using Dataflow to stream the data or use Cloud Functions to call the streaming API in response to a trigger.

Reliability of the solution. BigQuery has a Service Level Agreement (SLA). However, you also need to consider the reliability of the particular solution that you implement. Consider the following points:

  • With loosely typed formats such as JSON or CSV, bad data can make an entire load job fail. Consider whether you need a data cleansing step before loading, and consider how to respond to errors. Also consider using a strongly typed format such as Avro, ORC, or Parquet.
  • Periodic load jobs require scheduling, using Cloud Composer, cron, or another tool. The scheduling component could be a failure point in the solution.
  • With streaming, you can check the success of each record and quickly report an error. Consider writing failed messages to an unprocessed messages queue for later analysis and processing. For more information about BigQuery streaming errors, see Troubleshooting streaming inserts.
  • Streaming and load jobs are subject to quotas. For information about how to handle quota errors, see Troubleshooting BigQuery quota errors.
  • Third-party solutions might differ in configurability, reliability, ordering guarantees, and other factors, so consider these before adopting a solution.

Latency. Consider how much data you load and how soon you need the data to be available. Streaming offers the lowest latency of data being available for analysis. Periodic load jobs have a higher latency, because new data is only available after each load job finishes.

Load jobs use a shared pool of slots by default. A load job might wait in a pending state until slots are available, especially if you load a very large amount of data. If that creates unacceptable wait times, you can purchase dedicated slots, instead of using the shared slot pool. For more information, see Introduction to Reservations.

Query performance for external data sources might not be as high as query performance for data stored in BigQuery. If minimizing query latency is important, then we recommend loading the data into BigQuery.

Data ingestion informat. Choose a data ingestion format based on the following factors:

  • Schema support. Avro, ORC, Parquet, and Firestore exports are self-describing formats. BigQuery creates the table schema automatically based on the source data. For JSON and CSV data, you can provide an explicit schema, or you can use schema auto-detection.

  • Flat data or nested and repeated fields. Avro, CSV, JSON, ORC, and Parquet all support flat data. Avro, JSON, ORC, Parquet, and Firestore exports also support data with nested and repeated fields. Nested and repeated data is useful for expressing hierarchical data. Nested and repeated fields also reduce duplication when denormalizing the data.

  • Embedded newlines. When you are loading data from JSON files, the rows must be newline delimited. BigQuery expects newline-delimited JSON files to contain a single record per line.

  • Encoding. BigQuery supports UTF-8 encoding for both nested or repeated and flat data. BigQuery supports ISO-8859-1 encoding for flat data only for CSV files.

Loading denormalized, nested, and repeated data

Many developers are accustomed to working with relational databases and normalized data schemas. Normalization eliminates duplicate data from being stored, and provides consistency when regular updates are made to the data.

Denormalization is a common strategy for increasing read performance for relational datasets that were previously normalized. The recommended way to denormalize data in BigQuery is to use nested and repeated fields. It's best to use this strategy when the relationships are hierarchical and frequently queried together, such as in parent-child relationships.

The storage savings from using normalized data has less of an effect in modern systems. Increases in storage costs are worth the performance gains of using denormalized data. Joins require data coordination (communication bandwidth). Denormalization localizes the data to individual slots, so that execution can be done in parallel.

To maintain relationships while denormalizing your data, you can use nested and repeated fields instead of completely flattening your data. When relational data is completely flattened, network communication (shuffling) can negatively impact query performance.

For example, denormalizing an orders schema without using nested and repeated fields might require you to group the data by a field like order_id (when there is a one-to-many relationship). Because of the shuffling involved, grouping the data is less effective than denormalizing the data by using nested and repeated fields.

In some circumstances, denormalizing your data and using nested and repeated fields doesn't result in increased performance. Avoid denormalization in these use cases:

  • You have a star schema with frequently changing dimensions.
  • BigQuery complements an Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) system with row-level mutation but can't replace it.

Nested and repeated fields are supported in the following data formats:

  • Avro
  • JSON (newline delimited)
  • ORC
  • Parquet
  • Datastore exports
  • Firestore exports

For information about specifying nested and repeated fields in your schema when you're loading data, see Specifying nested and repeated fields.

Loading data from other Google services

BigQuery Data Transfer Service

The BigQuery Data Transfer Service automates loading data into BigQuery from these services:

Google Software as a Service (SaaS) apps External cloud storage providers Data warehouses In addition, several third-party transfers are available in the Google Cloud Marketplace.

After you configure a data transfer, the BigQuery Data Transfer Service automatically schedules and manages recurring data loads from the source app into BigQuery.

Google Analytics 360

To learn how to export your session and hit data from a Google Analytics 360 reporting view into BigQuery, see BigQuery export in the Analytics Help Center.

For examples of querying Analytics data in BigQuery, see BigQuery cookbook in the Analytics Help.

Dataflow

Dataflow can load data directly into BigQuery. For more information about using Dataflow to read from, and write to, BigQuery, see BigQuery I/O connector in the Apache Beam documentation.

Alternatives to loading data

You don't need to load data before running queries in the following situations:

Public datasets
Public datasets are datasets stored in BigQuery and shared with the public. For more information, see BigQuery public datasets.
Shared datasets
You can share datasets stored in BigQuery. If someone has shared a dataset with you, you can run queries on that dataset without loading the data.
External data sources
You can skip the data loading process by querying data from an external data source. This approach lets you take advantage of the analytic capabilities of BigQuery without moving data that is stored elsewhere. For information about the benefits and limitations of this approach, see external data sources.
Logging files
Cloud Logging provides an option to export log files into BigQuery. See Exporting with the Logs Viewer for more information.

Next steps