最佳化查詢運算

評估查詢所需的計算時,請考慮所需的工作量。需要多少 CPU 作業時間?您使用的函式是否像 JavaScript 使用者定義的函式那樣需要額外的 CPU 資源?

以下最佳做法提供控制查詢計算的指引。

透過 SQL 查詢避免重複轉換資料

最佳做法: 如果您是使用 SQL 執行 ETL 作業,請避免發生重複轉換相同資料的情況。

例如,如果您是使用 SQL 來刪減字串或使用規則運算式擷取資料,則在目標資料表中將轉換的結果具體化的效能更高。規則運算式之類的函式需要額外的計算。在不增加轉換負擔的情況下查詢目標資料表會更有效率。

避免使用 JavaScript 使用者定義的函式

最佳做法:避免使用 JavaScript 使用者定義的函式,而改用原生 UDF。

呼叫 JavaScript UDF 需要具現化子程序。直接啟動這個程序並執行 UDF 會影響查詢效能。如果可行,請改用原生 (SQL) UDF

使用近似匯總函式

最佳做法:如果您的應用實例支援的話,請使用近似匯總函式。

如果您使用的 SQL 匯總函式擁有等效的近似函式,近似函式將會產生較快的查詢效能。例如,請使用 APPROX_COUNT_DISTINCT(),而不要使用 COUNT(DISTINCT)。詳情請參閱標準 SQL 參考中的近似匯總函式

您也可以使用 HyperLogLog++ 函式來計算近似值 (包括自訂近似匯總)。詳情請參閱標準 SQL 參考中的 HyperLogLog 函式

將查詢作業排序以發揮最佳效能

最佳做法:僅在最外側查詢或 window 子句內 (分析函式) 使用 ORDER BY。將複雜的作業排到查詢的最後面。

如果您需要將資料排序,請先進行篩選,以減少需要排序的值的數量。如果您先將資料排序,則您排序的資料會比所需的多得多。最好是對部分資料進行排序,而不要對所有資料排序並套用 LIMIT 子句。

當您使用 ORDER BY 子句時,它應該只出現在最外側的查詢中。除非是在窗型 (分析) 函式中使用 ORDER BY 子句,否則在查詢的中間放進這類子句會大幅影響效能。

為查詢進行排序的另一種技巧是將複雜的作業 (例如規則運算式和數學函式) 排到查詢的最後面。同樣地,這項技巧可在執行複雜的作業之前盡可能地剪除資料。

將結合模式最佳化

最佳做法: 對於結合來自多個資料表之資料的查詢,請將結合模式最佳化,並從最大的資料表開始。

當您使用 JOIN 建立查詢時,請考慮合併資料的順序。標準 SQL 查詢最佳化工具可以決定哪個資料表應位於結合的哪一邊,但仍建議您適當地為結合的資料表進行排序。最佳做法是先放置最大的資料表,接著放置最小的資料表,然後逐漸減少大小。

將大型資料表放在 JOIN 的左邊,並將小型資料表放在 JOIN 的右邊時,便建立了傳播結合。傳播結合會將較小資料表中的所有資料傳送至處理較大資料表的每個運算單元。建議先執行傳播結合。

如要查看 JOIN 中的資料表大小,請參閱取得資料表相關資訊

修整分區查詢

最佳做法:查詢分區資料表時,使用 _PARTITIONTIME 虛擬資料欄來篩選分區。

查詢分區資料表時,使用 _PARTITIONTIME 虛擬資料欄。使用 _PARTITIONTIME 篩選資料即可指定單一日期或日期範圍。例如,下列 WHERE 子句使用 _PARTITIONTIME 虛擬資料欄指定 2016 年 1 月 1 日至 2016 年 1 月 31 日之間的分區:

WHERE _PARTITIONTIME
BETWEEN TIMESTAMP(“20160101”)
    AND TIMESTAMP(“20160131”)

查詢只會處理該日期範圍指定的分區中的資料。篩選分區可提升查詢效能並降低成本。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁

Optimizing Query Computation

When evaluating the computation that is required by a query, consider the amount of work that is required. How much CPU time is required? Are you using functions like JavaScript user-defined functions that require additional CPU resources?

The following best practices provide guidance on controlling query computation.

For an example of examining CPU time, see the query plan explanation of time on CPU-bound tasks.

Avoid repeatedly transforming data via SQL queries

Best practice: If you are using SQL to perform ETL operations, avoid situations where you are repeatedly transforming the same data.

For example, if you are using SQL to trim strings or extract data by using regular expressions, it is more performant to materialize the transformed results in a destination table. Functions like regular expressions require additional computation. Querying the destination table without the added transformation overhead is much more efficient.

Avoid JavaScript user-defined functions

Best practice: Avoid using JavaScript user-defined functions. Use native UDFs instead.

Calling a JavaScript UDF requires the instantiation of a Java subprocess. Spinning up this process and running the UDF directly impacts query performance. If possible, use a native UDF instead.

Use approximate aggregation functions

Best practice: If your use case supports it, use an approximate aggregation function.

If the SQL aggregation function you're using has an equivalent approximation function, the approximation function will yeild faster query performance. For example, instead of using COUNT(DISTINCT), use APPROX_COUNT_DISTINCT(). For more information, see approximate aggregation functions in the standard SQL reference.

You can also use HyperLogLog++ functions to do approximations (including custom approximate aggregations). For more information, see HyperLogLog functions in the standard SQL reference.

Order query operations to maximize performance

Best practice: Use ORDER BY only in the outermost query or within window clauses (analytic functions). Push complex operations to the end of the query.

If you need to sort data, filter first to reduce the number of values that you need to sort. If you sort your data first, you sort much more data than is necessary. It is preferable to sort on a subset of data than to sort all the data and apply a LIMIT clause.

When you use an ORDER BY clause, it should appear only in the outermost query. Placing an ORDER BY clause in the middle of a query greatly impacts performance unless it is being used in a window (analytic) function.

Another technique for ordering your query is to push complex operations, such as regular expressions and mathematical functions to the end of the query. Again, this technique allows the data to be pruned as much as possible before the complex operations are performed.

Optimize your join patterns

Best practice: For queries that join data from multiple tables, optimize your join patterns. Start with the largest table.

When you create a query by using a JOIN, consider the order in which you are merging the data. The standard SQL query optimizer can determine which table should be on which side of the join, but it is still recommended to order your joined tables appropriately. The best practice is to place the largest table first, followed by the smallest, and then by decreasing size.

When you have a large table as the left side of the JOIN and a small one on the right side of the JOIN, a broadcast join is created. A broadcast join sends all the data in the smaller table to each slot that processes the larger table. It is advisable to perform the broadcast join first.

To view the size of the tables in your JOIN, see getting information about tables.

Prune partitioned queries

Best practice: When querying a date-partitioned table, use the _PARTITIONTIME pseudo column to filter the partitions.

When you query partitioned tables, use the _PARTITIONTIME pseudo column. Filtering the data using _PARTITIONTIME allows you to specify a date or range of dates. For example, the following WHERE clause uses the _PARTITIONTIME pseudo column to specify partitions between January 1, 2016 and January 31, 2016:

WHERE _PARTITIONTIME
BETWEEN TIMESTAMP(“20160101”)
    AND TIMESTAMP(“20160131”)

The query processes data only in the partitions that are indicated by the date range. Filtering your partitions improves query performance and reduces costs.

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...