避免 SQL 反模式

以下最佳做法提供了相关指导,说明如何避免在 BigQuery 中使用会影响性能的查询反模式。

自联接

最佳做法:避免使用自联接,请改用窗口函数

通常情况下,自联接用于计算依赖于行的关系。如果使用自联接,则可能导致输出行数翻倍。输出数据的增加可能会导致性能变差。

如果不使用自联接,而使用窗口(解析)函数,则可以减少查询生成的额外字节数。

数据倾斜

最佳做法:如果您的查询处理的键严重偏向一些值,请尽早过滤您的数据。

分区倾斜(有时称为数据倾斜)是指数据分入大小极不均匀的分区这种情况。这会导致槽之间发送的数据量不平衡。您不能在槽之间共享分区,因此如果一个分区特别大,就可能减慢处理该分区的槽的速度,甚至可能导致槽的崩溃。

如果分区键有一个值出现的频率高于其他任何值,则分区就会变大。例如,按 user_id 字段分组,其中 guestNULL 的条目有很多。

如果某个槽的资源不足以满足需求,则会出现 resources exceeded 错误。达到槽的 Shuffle 上限(压缩后所占内存为 2TB)也会导致 Shuffle 写入磁盘并进一步影响性能。采用固定价格的客户可以增加分配槽数。

如果您查看查询说明计划,发现计算时间的平均值与最大值之间存在明显差异,则说明可能存在数据倾斜。

为了避免数据倾斜引起的性能问题,请采取以下措施:

  • 使用近似聚合函数(如 APPROX_TOP_COUNT)确定是否存在数据倾斜。
  • 尽早过滤您的数据。

不平衡联接

在您使用 JOIN 子句时,也可能会出现数据倾斜。因为 BigQuery 对联接两侧的数据执行 Shuffle 操作,所以具有相同联接键的所有数据都会进入同一分片。这种 Shuffle 操作可能会导致槽过载。

为了避免与不平衡联接相关的性能问题,请采取以下措施:

  • 预先过滤表中具有不平衡键的行。
  • 如有可能,将查询拆分为两个查询。

交叉联接(笛卡尔积)

最佳做法:避免使用产生的输出多于输入的联接。如果需要 CROSS JOIN,请预先聚合您的数据。

交叉联接是指第一个表中的每行与第二个表中的每行相联接(两侧都存在非唯一键)的查询。最差情况输出是左表中的行数乘以右表中的行数。在极端情况下,查询可能无法完成。

如果查询作业完成,则查询计划说明会显示输出行与输入行的对比情况。您可以修改查询以显示 JOIN 子句两侧的行数(按联接键分组),从而确认笛卡尔积

为了避免与产生的输出多于输入的联接相关的性能问题,请采取以下措施:

  • 使用 GROUP BY 子句预先聚合数据。
  • 使用窗口函数。窗口函数通常比使用交叉联接更高效。要了解详情,请参阅解析函数

用于更新或插入单行的 DML 语句

最佳做法:避免使用特定于点的 DML 语句(一次更新或插入 1 行)。批量处理您的更新和插入。

使用特定于点的 DML 语句是尝试将 BigQuery 视为在线事务处理 (OLTP) 系统。BigQuery 使用表扫描而不是点查询,侧重于在线分析处理 (OLAP)。如果您需要类似 OLTP 的行为(单行更新或插入),请考虑使用旨在支持 OLTP 用例的数据库,例如 Cloud SQL

BigQuery DML 语句适用于批量更新。BigQuery 中的 UPDATEDELETE DML 语句用于定期重写数据,而不是单行修改。请谨慎使用 INSERT DML 语句。插入操作所占用的修改配额与加载作业相同。如果您的使用场景涉及频繁进行单行插入,不妨考虑改为对您的数据进行流式处理

如果批量处理 UPDATE 语句产生非常长的包含很多元组的查询,就可能接近 256 KB 的查询长度上限。为了避免发生查询长度上限问题,请考虑是否可以根据逻辑标准(而不是一系列直接元组替换)来处理您的更新。

例如,您可以将替换记录集加载到另一个表中,然后编写 DML 语句在未更新的列匹配时更新原始表中的所有值。例如,如果原始数据位于表 t 中,而更新暂存在表 u 中,则查询可能如下所示:

UPDATE
  dataset.t t
SET
  my_column = u.my_column
FROM
  dataset.u u
WHERE
  t.my_key = u.my_key
此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
需要帮助?请访问我们的支持页面

Avoiding SQL Anti-Patterns

The following best practices provide guidance on avoiding query anti-patterns that impact performance in BigQuery.

Self-joins

Best practice: Avoid self-joins. Use a window function instead.

Typcially, self-joins are used to compute row-dependent relationships. The result of using a self-join is that it potentially doubles the number of output rows. This increase in output data can cause poor performance.

Instead of using a self-join, use a window (analytic) function to reduce the number of additional bytes that are generated by the query.

Data skew

Best practice: If your query processes keys that are heavily skewed to a few values, filter your data as early as possible.

Partition skew, sometimes called data skew, is when data is partitioned into very unequally sized partitions. This creates an imbalance in the amount of data sent between slots. You can't share partitions between slots, so if one partition is especially large, it can slow down, or even crash the slot that processes the oversized partition.

Partitions become large when your partition key has a value that occurs more often than any other value. For example, grouping by a user_id field where there are many entries for guest or null.

When a slot's resources are overwhelmed, a resources exceeded error results. Reaching the shuffle limit for a slot (2TB in memory compressed) also causes the shuffle to write to disk and further impacts performance. Customers with flat-rate pricing can increase the number of allocated slots.

If you examine the query explain plan and see a significant difference between avg and max compute times, your data is probably skewed.

To avoid peformance issues that result from data skew:

  • Use an approximate aggregate function such as APPROX_TOP_COUNT to determine if the data is skewed.
  • Filter your data as early as possible.

Unbalanced joins

Data skew can also appear when you use JOIN clauses. Because BigQuery shuffles data on each side of the join, all data with the same join key goes to the same shard. This shuffling can overload the slot.

To avoid performance issues that are associated with unbalanced joins:

  • Pre-filter rows from the table with the unbalanced key.
  • If possible, split the query into two queries.

Cross joins (Cartesian product)

Best practice: Avoid joins that generate more outputs than inputs. When a CROSS JOIN is required, pre-aggregate your data.

Cross joins are queries where each row from the first table is joined to every row in the second table (there are non-unique keys on both sides). The worst case output is the number of rows in the left table multiplied by the number of rows in the right table. In extreme cases, the query might not finish.

If the query job completes, the query plan explanation will show output rows versus input rows. You can confirm a Cartesian product by modifying the query to print the number of rows on each side of the JOIN clause, grouped by the join key.

To avoid performance issues associated with joins that generate more outputs than inputs:

  • Use a GROUP BY clause to pre-aggregate the data.
  • Use a window function. Window functions are often more efficient that using a cross join. For more information, see analytic functions.

DML statements that update or insert single rows

Best practice: Avoid point-specific DML statements (updating or inserting 1 row at a time). Batch your updates and inserts.

Using point-specific DML statements is an attempt to treat BigQuery like an Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) system. BigQuery focuses on Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) by using table scans and not point lookups. If you need OLTP-like behavior (single-row updates or inserts), consider a database designed to support OLTP use cases such as Google Cloud SQL.

BigQuery DML statements are intended for bulk updates. UPDATE and DELETE DML statements in BigQuery are oriented towards periodic rewrites of your data, not single row mutations. The INSERT DML statement is intended to be used sparingly. Inserts consume the same modification quotas as load jobs. If your use case involves frequent single row inserts, consider streaming your data instead.

If batching your UPDATE statements yields many tuples in very long queries, you might approach the query length limit of 256K. To work around the query length limit, consider whether your updates can be handled based on a logical criteria instead of a series of direct tuple replacements.

For example, you could load your set of replacement records into another table, then write the DML statement to update all values in the original table if the non-updated columns match. For example, if the original data is in table t and the updates are staged in table u, the query would look like the following:

UPDATE dataset.t t
SET my_column = u.my_column
FROM dataset.u u
WHERE t.my_key = u.my_key

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...