將運算單元之間的通訊最佳化

評估通訊總處理量時,請考慮查詢需要的隨機排列量。在階段之間會傳送多少位元組數?會將多少位元組數傳送到每一個運算單元?例如,GROUP BY 會導致傳送值等項目到相同的運算單元進行處理。隨機排列的資料量直接影響到通訊總處理量,因此也會影響到查詢效能。

以下最佳做法提供控制運算單元之間通訊的指引。

使用 JOIN 之前減少資料

最佳做法:減少在 JOIN 子句之前處理的資料量。

請在查詢執行 JOIN 之前,盡早在查詢中修剪資料。如果您在處理週期中及早減少資料,隨機排列與其他複雜的操作就只會對您需要的資料執行。

請勿把 WITH 子句當成參數化查詢

最佳做法:需要獲得可讀性時再使用 WITH 子句。

WITH 子句主要用於可讀性的目的,因為它們並未具體化。例如,將所有查詢放進 WITH 子句中,然後執行 UNION ALL,並不是 WITH 子句的正確用法。如果查詢出現在一個以上的 WITH 子句中,它會在每個子句中執行。

避免使用依日期進行資料分割的資料表

最佳做法:請勿使用依日期進行資料分割的資料表 (又稱為以日期命名的資料表) 來取代時間分區資料表。

分區資料表的執行效果比以日期命名的資料表好。當您建立依日期進行資料分割的資料表時,BigQuery 必須為每個以日期命名的資料表保留一份結構定義與中繼資料的複本。同時,當使用以日期命名的資料表時,BigQuery 可能需要驗證每個查詢資料表的權限。這個做法也會增加查詢的負擔,並影響查詢效能。

避免使用資料分割資料表

最佳做法:避免建立太多資料表資料分割。如果您要依日期對資料表進行資料分割,請改為使用時間分區資料表。

資料表資料分割是指將大型資料集分成單獨的資料表,並為每個資料表名稱加上尾碼。如果您要依日期對資料表進行資料分割,請改為使用時間分區資料表

由於 BigQuery 儲存空間的成本很低,您不需要為了成本的目的最佳化資料表,因為您是在一個關聯式資料庫系統中。 建立大量資料表資料分割會衝擊效能,這與節省成本相較,可說是弊大於利。

資料分割資料表需要 BigQuery 為每個資料分割維持結構定義、中繼資料與權限。由於維持每個資料分割的資訊會增加額外負擔,因此對資料表過度進行資料分割會影響查詢效能。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁

Optimizing Communication Between Slots

When evaluating your communication throughput, consider the amount of shuffling that is required by your query. How many bytes are passed between stages? How many bytes are passed to each slot? For example, a GROUP BY clause passes like values to the same slot for processing. The amount of data that is shuffled directly impacts communication throughput and as a result, query performance.

The following best practices provide guidance on controlling communication between slots.

Reduce data before using a JOIN

Best practice: Reduce the amount of data that is processed before a JOIN clause.

Trim the data as early in the query as possible, before the query performs a JOIN. If you reduce data early in the processing cycle, shuffling and other complex operations only execute on the data that you need.

For an example of using filter pushdown to trim data before a JOIN, see pushing down filters to improve performance.

Do not treat WITH clauses as prepared statements

Best practice: Use WITH clauses primarily for readability.

WITH clauses are used primarily for readability because they are not materialized. For example, placing all your queries in WITH clauses and then running UNION ALL is a misuse of the WITH clause. If a query appears in more than one WITH clause, it executes in each clause.

Avoid date-named tables

Best practice: Do not use date-named tables in place of date-partitioned tables.

Partitioned Tables perform better than date-named tables. When you create date-named tables, BigQuery must maintain a copy of the schema and metadata for each date-named table. Also, when date-named tables are used, BigQuery might be required to verify permissions for each queried table. This practice also adds to query overhead and impacts query performance.

Avoid oversharding tables

Best practice: Avoid creating too many table shards. If you are sharding tables by date, use date-partitioned tables instead.

Table sharding refers to dividing large datasets into separate tables and adding a suffix to each table name. If you are sharding tables by date, use date-partitioned tables instead.

Because of the low cost of BigQuery storage, you do not need to optimize your tables for cost as you would in a relational database system. Creating a large number of table shards has performance impacts that outweigh any cost benefits.

Like date-named tables, sharded tables require BigQuery to maintain schema, metadata, and permissions for each shard. Because of the added overhead required to maintain information on each shard, oversharding tables can impact query performance.

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...