可用性与耐用性

本页面提供有关数据集和灾难恢复系统的 BigQuery 灾难恢复能力的信息。请注意,此信息按照设计描述系统,不提供任何保证。

故障网域

以下是 Google Cloud 数据中心可能发生的故障的故障网域类型。

机器级:此类故障影响 Google Cloud 地区中的一台机器或少数机器,但不是所有机器。机器级故障的示例包括单台机器的硬件故障。

地区性:此类故障会导致单个 Google Cloud 地区不可用,而同一 Google Cloud 区域中的其他地区仍然可用。Google Cloud 地区具有不同的故障网域,但多个地区可位于同一地理位置。例如,建筑物火灾、停电、光纤线缆切断和网络分区。

区域性:此类故障影响整个 Google Cloud 区域,其中包含多个地区。例如,飓风和大规模地震。

故障类型

故障分为两种类型:软故障和硬故障。

软故障是指硬件未损坏的操作缺陷。例如,电源故障、网络分区或机器崩溃。一般而言,即使故障损坏了某些硬件,BigQuery 绝不会因软故障而丢失数据。

硬故障是指硬件损坏的操作缺陷。硬故障比软故障严重。硬故障的示例包括洪水、恐怖袭击、地震和飓风造成的破坏。

单区域的可用性与耐用性

区域是指您可以在其中托管数据的特定地理位置,如爱荷华州 (us-central1) 或蒙特利尔 (northamerica-northeast1)。

在单区域中,数据仅存储在区域中。Google Cloud 不在其他区域提供备份或复制。如果您想要为数据集使用单区域,但认为缺少备份或复制过于冒险,则可以创建跨区域数据集副本来增强您的灾难恢复保证。

独立于恢复能力,如需详细了解 BigQuery 单区域,请参阅位置注意事项

如果发生机器级故障,BigQuery 将继续运行,延迟时间不超过几毫秒。所有查询仍然应该成功。

如果发生地区性故障,可能会丢失部分数据,具体取决于故障类型。如果硬故障对地区造成破坏,则任何未复制的数据都可能会丢失。复制数据通常需要大约 90 秒,但最多可能需要 1 小时。普遍认为,断电、变压器损坏或网络分区等软故障不会造成任何数据丢失。软地区性故障转移是经过充分测试的路径。

如果发生硬区域性故障,例如某个灾难摧毁了区域,则该区域中的所有数据都将丢失。在区域重新连接到网络之前,软区域性故障将导致不可用,但不会导致数据丢失。

多区域的可用性与耐用性

多区域是指至少包含两个地理位置的大型地理区域,如美国 (US) 或欧洲 (EU)。在多区域中,数据存储在单个区域中,但会在地理分隔的区域中备份,以便应对区域性灾难。恢复和故障转移过程由 BigQuery 管理。

独立于恢复能力,如需详细了解 BigQuery 多区域,请参阅位置注意事项

如果发生机器级故障,BigQuery 将继续运行,延迟时间不超过几毫秒。所有查询仍然应该成功。

如果发生地区性故障,可能会丢失部分数据,具体取决于故障类型。如果硬故障对地区造成破坏,则任何未复制的数据都可能会丢失。复制数据通常需要大约 90 秒,但最多可能需要 1 小时。普遍认为,断电、变压器损坏或网络分区等软故障不会造成任何数据丢失。

如果发生硬区域性故障,例如某个灾难摧毁了区域,则最近的数据可能会丢失。具体而言,这是指尚未异地备份到其他区域的任何数据。异地数据备份最长可能会在 48 小时后过时。此外,从备份中重新构建数据可能需要一些时间。当备份用于灾难恢复时,数据会按优先级顺序恢复,其中白金级客户的数据以最高优先级恢复。恢复时间可能为 7-30 天。

Availability and durability

This page provides information about the BigQuery disaster resilience for datasets and the disaster recovery system. Note that this information describes the system as designed and does not provide any guarantees.

Failure domains

The following are the types of failure domains for failures that could occur in Google Cloud data centers.

Machine-level: Failures impacting a single or few, but not all, machines within a Google Cloud zone. An example of a machine-level failure is hardware failure for a single machine.

Zonal: Failures that render a single Google Cloud zone unavailable while other zones in the same Google Cloud region are still available. Google Cloud zones have different failure domains but multiple zones can be co-located in the same geographical location. Examples are a building fire, power outage, cut fiber-optic cable, and network partitions.

Regional: Failures affecting an entire Google Cloud region that consists of multiple zones. Examples are hurricanes and large-scale earthquakes.

Types of failures

There are two types of failures, soft failures and hard failures.

Soft failure is an operational deficiency where hardware is not destroyed. Examples include power failure, network partition, or a machine crash. In general, BigQuery should never lose data for a soft failure, even if the failure damages some hardware.

Hard failure is an operational deficiency where hardware is destroyed. Hard failures are more severe than soft failures. Hard failure examples include damage from floods, terrorist attacks, earthquakes, and hurricanes.

Availability and durability for single regions

A region is a specific geographical location, such as Iowa (us-central1) or Montréal (northamerica-northeast1), where you can host your data.

In a single region, data is stored only in the region. There is no Google Cloud–provided backup or replication to another region. If you want to use a single region for your datasets but consider the lack of backup or replication too risky, you can create cross-region dataset copies to enhance your disaster recovery guarantees.

Independent of resilience, to learn more about BigQuery single regions, see Location considerations.

In the event of a machine-level failure, BigQuery will continue running with no more than a few milliseconds delay. All queries should still succeed.

In the event of a zonal failure, there may be some data loss depending on the type of failure. If a hard failure destroys the zone, any unreplicated data may be lost. Usually data is replicated in around 90 seconds but it can take up to 1 hour. A soft failure, such as from a power outage, destroyed transformer, or network partition, would not be expected to cause any data loss. Soft zonal failover is a well-tested path.

If a hard regional failure occurs, for example, if a disaster destroys the region, all data in that region will be lost. A soft regional failure will result in loss of availability until the region is brought back online, but it will not result in lost data.

Availability and durability for multi-regions

A multi-region is a large geographic area, such as the United States (US) or Europe (EU), that contains two or more geographic places. In a multi-region, data is stored in a single region but is backed up in a geographically-separated region to provide resilience to a regional disaster. The recovery and failover process is managed by BigQuery.

Independent of resilience, to learn more about BigQuery multi-regions, see Location considerations.

In the event of a machine-level failure, BigQuery will continue running with no more than a few milliseconds delay. All queries should still succeed.

In the event of a zonal failure, there may be some data loss depending on the type of failure. If a hard failure destroys the zone, any unreplicated data may be lost. Usually data is replicated in around 90 seconds but it can take up to 1 hour. A soft failure, such as from a power outage, destroyed transformer, or network partition, would not be expected to cause any data loss.

If a hard regional failure occurs, for example, if a disaster destroyed a region, recent data may be lost. Specifically, this would be any data that has not yet been backed up offsite to a different region. Offsite data backups may be up to 48 hours stale. Additionally, it may take some time to rebuild the data from the backup. When backups are used for disaster recovery, data is recovered in priority order, with data for platinum customers recovered at highest priority. The recovery time may be 7-30 days.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Need help? Visit our support page.