用于预测的自定义容器的要求

如需使用自定义容器通过自定义训练的模型执行预测,您必须为 Vertex AI 提供运行 HTTP 服务器的 Docker 容器映像。本文档介绍了容器映像必须满足才能与 Vertex AI 兼容的要求。本文档还介绍了 Vertex AI 如何与开始运行的自定义容器进行交互。换句话说,本文档介绍了在设计用于 Vertex AI 的容器映像时需要考虑的事项。

如需逐步了解如何使用自定义容器映像来提供预测服务,请参阅使用自定义容器

容器映像要求

如果您的 Docker 容器映像作为容器运行,则该容器必须运行 HTTP 服务器。具体而言,容器必须侦听并响应活跃性检查、运行状况检查和预测请求。以下各小节详细介绍了这些要求。

您可以使用任何编程语言以任何方式实现 HTTP 服务器,只要满足本部分中的要求即可。例如,您可以使用 Web 框架(如 Flask)编写自定义 HTTP 服务器,也可以使用运行 HTTP 服务器(如 TensorFlow ServingTorchServeKServe Python Server)的机器学习 (ML) 服务软件。

运行 HTTP 服务器

您可以使用 ENTRYPOINT 指令CMD 指令在您用于构建容器映像的 Dockerfile 中运行 HTTP 服务器。了解 CMDENTRYPOINT 之间的互动

或者,您也可以在创建 Model 资源时指定 containerSpec.commandcontainerSpec.args 字段,以分别替换容器映像的 ENTRYPOINTCMD。通过指定其中一个字段,您可以使用一个容器映像,此映像会由于 ENTRYPOINTCMD 不兼容(或不存在)而不满足要求。

不过,您可以确定容器在启动时运行的命令,请确定此 entrypoint 命令会无限期运行。例如,不要运行在后台启动 HTTP 服务器然后退出的命令;否则,容器将在开始运行后立即退出。

您的 HTTP 服务器必须在您选择的端口上侦听 0.0.0.0 上的请求。创建 Model 时,请在 containerSpec.ports 字段中指定此端口。如需了解容器如何访问此值,请阅读本文档中有关 AIP_HTTP_PORT 环境变量的部分

活跃性检查

当您的容器启动时,Vertex AI 会执行活跃性检查,以确定服务器正在运行。当您将自定义训练的模型部署到 Endpoint 资源时,Vertex AI 会使用 TCP 活跃性探测尝试与配置端口上的容器建立 TCP 连接。探测最多尝试建立 4 次连接,每次失败后等待 10 秒。此时,如果探测尚未建立连接,Vertex AI 会重启您的容器。

您的 HTTP 服务器不需要执行任何特殊行为来处理这些检查。只要其正在监听已配置端口上的请求,活跃性探测便可以建立连接。

运行状况检查

Vertex AI 会对正在运行的 HTTP 服务器间歇性地执行运行状况检查,以确定其已准备好处理预测请求。该服务使用运行状况探测将 HTTP GET 请求发送到服务器上的可配置运行状况检查路径。请在创建 Model 时在 containerSpec.healthRoute 字段中指定此路径。如需了解容器如何访问此值,请阅读本文档中有关 AIP_HEALTH_ROUTE 环境变量的部分

配置 HTTP 服务器,以响应每个运行状况检查请求,如下所示:

  • 如果服务器已准备好处理预测请求,请在 10 秒内以状态代码 200 OK 响应运行状况检查请求。响应正文的内容无关紧要;Vertex AI 会忽略它们。

    此响应表明服务器运行状况良好。

  • 如果服务器未准备好处理预测请求,则不要在 10 秒内响应运行状况检查请求,也不以 200 OK 之外的任何状态代码响应。例如,以状态代码 503 Service Unavailable 响应。

    此响应(或缺少响应)表明服务器运行状况不佳。

如果运行状况探测收到服务器返回的运行状况不佳响应(包括 10 秒内无响应),则以 10 秒为间隔发送多达 3 次额外运行状况检查。在此期间,Vertex AI 仍会认为您的服务器运行状况良好。如果探测收到上述任一检查的运行状况良好响应,则探测会立即返回其间歇性运行状况检查的时间安排。但是,如果探测收到 4 次连续运行状况不佳的响应,则 Vertex AI 会停止将预测流量路由到容器。(如果 DeployedModel 资源已扩容以使用多个预测节点,则 Vertex AI 会将预测请求路由到其他运行状况良好的容器。)

Vertex AI 不会重启容器;而运行状况探测会继续向运行状况不佳的服务器发送间歇性运行状况检查请求。如果它收到运行状况良好响应,则会将该容器标记为运行状况良好,并再次开始将预测流量路由到该容器。

实用指南

在某些情况下,容器中的 HTTP 服务器始终以状态代码 200 OK 响应运行状况检查。如果您的容器在启动服务器之前加载资源,则在启动期间以及 HTTP 服务器发生故障的任何时间段内,容器运行状况不佳。在其他情况下,它始终返回运行状况良好的响应。

对于更复杂的配置,您可能需要专门设计 HTTP 服务器,以在特定时间响应运行状况不佳的运行状况检查。例如,您可能希望阻止预测流量在一段时间内流向某一节点,以使容器可以执行维护工作。

预测请求

当客户端向 Vertex AI API 发送 projects.locations.endpoints.predict 请求时,Vertex AI 会将此请求作为 HTTP POST 请求转发到服务器上的可配置预测路径。请在创建 Model 时在 containerSpec.predictRoute 字段中指定此路径。如需了解容器如何访问此值,请阅读本文档中有关 AIP_PREDICT_ROUTE 环境变量的部分

请求要求

每个预测请求不得超过 1.5 MB。HTTP 服务器必须接受具有 Content-Type: application/json HTTP 标头和如下格式的 JSON 正文的预测请求:

{
  "instances": INSTANCES,
  "parameters": PARAMETERS
}

在这些请求中:

  • INSTANCES 是包含一个或多个任何类型的 JSON 值的数组。每个值都表示要为其提供预测的实例。

  • PARAMETERS 是一个 JSON 对象,包含容器为帮助对实例执行预测所需的任何参数。Vertex AI 将 parameters 字段视为可选项,因此您可以将容器设计为要求提供此字段、仅在提供时使用或忽略此字段。

详细了解请求正文要求

响应要求

每个预测响应不得超过 1.5 MB。HTTP 服务器必须发送具有以下格式的 JSON 正文的响应:

{
  "predictions": PREDICTIONS
}

在这些响应中,将 PREDICTIONS 替换为一组 JSON 值,这些值表示容器为相应请求中的每个 INSTANCES 生成的预测结果。

HTTP 服务器发送此响应后,Vertex AI 会在响应中添加 deployedModelId 字段,然后才将其返回给客户端。此字段指定响应是 Endpoint 上的哪个 DeployedModel 发送的。详细了解响应正文格式

容器映像发布要求

您必须将容器映像推送到 Artifact RegistryContainer Registry,才能与 Vertex AI 搭配使用。了解如何将容器映像推送到 Artifact Registry 或如何将容器映像推送到 Container Registry

具体而言,您必须将容器映像推送到满足下列位置和权限要求的代码库。

位置

如果您使用 Artifact Registry,则代码库必须使用与您计划在其中创建 Model单区域端点匹配的区域。例如,如果您计划在 us-central1-aiplatform.googleapis.com 端点上创建 Model,则容器映像的全名必须以 us-central1-docker.pkg.dev/ 开头。请勿为您的容器映像使用多区域代码库。

如果您使用 Container Registry,则代码库可以使用任何 Container Registry 主机名

权限

在您创建 Model 时,Vertex AI 必须具有拉取容器映像的权限。具体而言:

您的项目的 Vertex AI Service Agent 是 Vertex AI 用来与其他 Google Cloud 服务进行交互的 Google 管理的服务帐号。此服务帐号的电子邮件地址为 service-PROJECT_NUMBER@gcp-sa-aiplatform.iam.gserviceaccount.com,其中 PROJECT_NUMBER 被替换为 Vertex AI 项目的编号

如果您已将容器映像推送到使用 Vertex AI 的同一 Google Cloud 项目,则无需配置任何权限。向 Vertex AI Service Agent 授予的默认权限已足够。

另一方面,如果您已将容器映像推送到与在其中使用 Vertex AI 的项目不同的 Google Cloud 项目,则必须向 Vertex AI Service Agent 授予对 Artifact Registry 代码库的 Artifact Registry Reader 角色,或者向 Vertex AI Service Agent 授予对 Container Registry 使用的 Cloud Storage 存储桶的 Storage Object Viewer 角色

访问模型工件

如果您不使用自定义容器创建自定义训练的 Model,则必须在 artifactUri 字段中指定包含模型工件的 Cloud Storage 目录的 URI。如果使用自定义容器创建 Model,在 Cloud Storage 中提供模型工件是可选项。

如果容器映像包含处理预测所需的模型工件,则无需从 Cloud Storage 加载文件。但是,如果您通过指定 artifactUri 字段提供模型工件,则容器必须在开始运行时加载这些工件。Vertex AI 启动容器时,会将 AIP_STORAGE_URI 环境变量设置为以 gs:// 开头的 Cloud Storage URI。容器的 entrypoint 命令可下载此 URI 指定的目录,以便访问模型工件。

请注意,AIP_STORAGE_URI 环境变量的值与您在创建 Model 时在 artifactUri 字段中指定的 Cloud Storage URI 不同。AIP_STORAGE_URI 指向由 Vertex AI 管理的另一个 Cloud Storage 存储分区中的模型工件目录的副本。创建 Model 时,Vertex AI 会填充此目录。您无法更新该目录的内容。如果您想使用新模型工件,则必须创建新的 Model

您的容器默认使用的服务帐号拥有读取此 URI 的权限。

另一方面,如果您在将 Model 部署到 Endpoint指定自定义服务帐号,Vertex AI 会自动向您指定的服务授予该 URI 的 Cloud Storage 存储分区的 Storage Object Viewer (roles/storage.objectViewer) 角色

使用任何支持应用默认凭据 (ADC) 的库加载模型工件;您不需要明确配置身份验证。

容器中可用的环境变量

在运行时,容器的入口点命令可以引用您手动配置的环境变量以及 Vertex AI 自动设置的环境变量。本部分介绍设置环境变量的每种方法,并详细介绍 Vertex AI 自动设置的变量。

容器映像中设置的变量

如需在构建容器映像时设置容器映像的环境变量,请使用 Docker 的 ENV 指令。切勿设置任何以前缀 AIP_ 开头的环境变量。

容器的入口点命令可以使用这些环境变量,但您不能在任何 Model 的 API 字段中引用它们。

Vertex AI 设置的变量

Vertex AI 开始运行容器时,会在容器环境中设置以下环境变量。每个变量都以前缀 AIP_ 开头。请勿手动设置任何使用此前缀的环境变量。

容器的 entrypoint 命令可以访问这些变量。如需了解哪些 Vertex AI API 字段也可以引用这些变量,请参阅 ModelContainerSpec 的 API 参考文档

变量名称 默认值 如何配置值 详情
AIP_ACCELERATOR_TYPE 尚未设置 Model 作为 DeployedModel 部署到 Endpoint 资源时,设置 dedicatedResources.machineSpec.acceleratorType 字段 如果适用,此变量用于指定运行容器所在的虚拟机 (VM) 实例使用的加速器类型。
AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID 一串数字,标识此容器的 Model 已部署到的 DeployedModel 不可配置 此值是 DeployedModelid 字段
AIP_ENDPOINT_ID 一串数字,标识此容器的 Model 已部署到的 Endpoint 不可配置 该值是 Endpointname 字段的最后一部分(在 endpoints/ 后面)。
AIP_FRAMEWORK CUSTOM_CONTAINER 不可配置
AIP_HEALTH_ROUTE /v1/endpoints/ENDPOINT/deployedModels/DEPLOYED_MODEL

在此字符串中,将 ENDPOINT 替换为 AIP_ENDPOINT_ID 变量的值,并将 DEPLOYED_MODEL 替换为 AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID 变量的值。
创建 Model 时,设置 containerSpec.healthRoute 字段 此变量指定容器上的 HTTP 路径作为 Vertex AI 发送健康检查的目的地。
AIP_HTTP_PORT 8080 创建 Model 时,设置 containerSpec.ports 字段。此字段中的第一个条目是 AIP_HTTP_PORT 的值。 Vertex AI 会将活跃性检查、健康检查和预测请求发送到容器上的这个端口。您的容器的 HTTP 服务器必须侦听这个端口上的请求。
AIP_MACHINE_TYPE 无默认值,必须配置 Model 作为 DeployedModel 部署到 Endpoint 资源时,设置 dedicatedResources.machineSpec.machineType 字段 此变量用于指定运行容器所在的虚拟机类型。
AIP_MODE PREDICTION 不可配置 此变量表示容器正在 Vertex AI 上运行以提供在线预测服务。您可以使用此环境变量向容器添加自定义逻辑,使容器可在多个计算环境中运行,但在 Vertex AI 上运行时仅使用特定代码路径。
AIP_MODE_VERSION 1.0.0 不可配置 此变量表示 Vertex AI 期望容器满足的自定义容器要求(本文档)的版本。本文档根据语义版本控制进行更新。
AIP_MODEL_NAME AIP_ENDPOINT_ID 变量的值。 不可配置 请参阅 AIP_ENDPOINT_ID 行。此变量是为了保持兼容而存在。
AIP_PREDICT_ROUTE /v1/endpoints/ENDPOINT/deployedModels/DEPLOYED_MODEL:predict

在此字符串中,将 ENDPOINT 替换为 AIP_ENDPOINT_ID 变量的值,并将 DEPLOYED_MODEL 替换为 AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID 变量的值。
创建 Model 时,设置 containerSpec.predictRoute 字段 此变量指定容器上的 HTTP 路径作为 Vertex AI 转发预测请求的目的地。
AIP_PROJECT_NUMBER 您在其中使用 Vertex AI 的 Google Cloud 项目的编号 不可配置
AIP_STORAGE_URI
  • 如果在创建 Model 时不设置 artifactUri 字段,则为空字符串
  • 如果在创建 Model 时设置了 artifactUri 字段,则为 Cloud Storage URI(以 gs:// 开头),指定由 Vertex AI 管理的存储分区中的目录
不可配置 此变量指定模型工件副本所在的目录(如果适用)。
AIP_VERSION_NAME AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID 变量的值。 不可配置 请参阅 AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID 行。此变量是为了保持兼容而存在。

Model 资源中设置的变量

创建 Model 时,您可以在 containerSpec.env 字段中设置其他环境变量。

容器的 entrypoint 命令可以访问这些变量。如需了解哪些 Vertex AI API 字段也可以引用这些变量,请参阅 ModelContainerSpec 的 API 参考文档

后续步骤

Custom container requirements for prediction

To use a custom container to serve predictions from a custom-trained model, you must provide Vertex AI with a Docker container image that runs an HTTP server. This document describes the requirements that a container image must meet to be compatible with Vertex AI. The document also describes how Vertex AI interacts with your custom container once it starts running. In other words, this document describes what you need to consider when designing a container image to use with Vertex AI.

To walk through using a custom container image to serve predictions, read Using a custom container.

Container image requirements

When your Docker container image runs as a container, the container must run an HTTP server. Specifically, the container must listen and respond to liveness checks, health checks, and prediction requests. The following subsections describe these requirements in detail.

You can implement the HTTP server in any way, using any programming language, as long as it meets the requirements in this section. For example, you can write a custom HTTP server using a web framework like Flask or use machine learning (ML) serving software that runs an HTTP server, like TensorFlow Serving, TorchServe, or KFServing Server.

Run the HTTP server

You can run an HTTP server by using an ENTRYPOINT instruction, a CMD instruction, or both in the Dockerfile that you use to build your container image. Read about the interaction between CMD and ENTRYPOINT.

Alternatively, you can specify the containerSpec.command and containerSpec.args fields when you create your Model resource in order to override your container image's ENTRYPOINT and CMD respectively. Specifying one of these fields lets you use a container image that would otherwise not meet the requirements due to an incompatible (or nonexistent) ENTRYPOINT or CMD.

However you determine which command your container runs when it starts, ensure that this entrypoint command runs indefinitely. For example, don't run a command that starts an HTTP server in the background and then exits; if you do, then the container will exit immediately after it starts running.

Your HTTP server must listen for requests on 0.0.0.0, on a port of your choice. When you create a Model, specify this port in the containerSpec.ports field. To learn how the container can access this value, read the section of this document about the AIP_HTTP_PORT environment variable.

Liveness checks

Vertex AI performs a liveness check when your container starts to ensure that your server is running. When you deploy a custom-trained model to an Endpoint resource, Vertex AI uses a TCP liveness probe to attempt to establish a TCP connection to your container on the configured port. The probe makes up to 4 attempts to establish a connection, waiting 10 seconds after each failure. If the probe still hasn't established a connection at this point, Vertex AI restarts your container.

Your HTTP server doesn't need to perform any special behavior to handle these checks. As long as it is listening for requests on the configured port, the liveness probe is able to make a connection.

Health checks

Vertex AI intermittently performs health checks on your HTTP server while it is running to ensure that it is ready to handle prediction requests. The service uses a health probe to send HTTP GET requests to a configurable health check path on your server. Specify this path in the containerSpec.healthRoute field when you create a Model. To learn how the container can access this value, read the section of this document about the AIP_HEALTH_ROUTE environment variable.

Configure the HTTP server to respond to each health check request as follows:

  • If the server is ready to handle prediction requests, respond to the health check request within 10 seconds with status code 200 OK. The contents of the response body do not matter; Vertex AI ignores them.

    This response signifies that the server is healthy.

  • If the server is not ready to handle prediction requests, do not respond to the health check request within 10 seconds, or respond with any status code except for 200 OK. For example, respond with status code 503 Service Unavailable.

    This response (or lack of a response) signifies that the server is unhealthy.

If the health probe ever receives an unhealthy response from your server (including no response within 10 seconds), then it sends up to 3 additional health checks at 10 second intervals. During this period, Vertex AI still considers your server healthy. If the probe receives a healthy response to any of these checks, then the probe immediately returns to its intermittent schedule of health checks. However, if the probe receives 4 consecutive unhealthy responses, then Vertex AI stops routing prediction traffic to the container. (If the DeployedModel resource is scaled to use multiple prediction nodes, then Vertex AI routes prediction requests to other, healthy containers.)

Vertex AI does not restart the container; instead the health probe continues sending intermittent health check requests to the unhealthy server. If it receives a healthy response, then it marks that container as healthy and starts to route prediction traffic to it again.

Practical guidance

In some cases, it is sufficient for the HTTP server in your container to always respond with status code 200 OK to health checks. If your container loads resources before starting the server, then the container is unhealthy during the startup period and during any periods when the HTTP server fails. At all other times, it responds as healthy.

For a more sophisticated configuration, you might want to purposefully design the HTTP server to respond to health checks with an unhealthy status at certain times. For example, you might want to block prediction traffic to a node for a period so that the container can perform maintenance.

Prediction requests

When a client sends a projects.locations.endpoints.predict request to the Vertex AI API, Vertex AI forwards this request as an HTTP POST request to a configurable prediction path on your server. Specify this path in the containerSpec.predictRoute field when you create a Model. To learn how the container can access this value, read the section of this document about the AIP_PREDICT_ROUTE environment variable.

Request requirements

Each prediction request must be 1.5 MB or smaller. The HTTP server must accept prediction requests that have the Content-Type: application/json HTTP header and JSON bodies with the following format:

{
  "instances": INSTANCES,
  "parameters": PARAMETERS
}

In these requests:

  • INSTANCES is an array of one or more JSON values of any type. Each values represents an instance that you are providing a prediction for.

  • PARAMETERS is a JSON object containing any parameters that your container requires to help serve predictions on the instances. Vertex AI considers the parameters field optional, so you can design your container to require it, only use it when provided, or ignore it.

Learn more about the request body requirements.

Response requirements

Each prediction response must be 1.5 MB or smaller. The HTTP server must send responses with JSON bodies that meet the following format:

{
  "predictions": PREDICTIONS
}

In these responses, replace PREDICTIONS with an array of JSON values representing the predictions that your container has generated for each of the INSTANCES in the corresponding request.

After your HTTP server sends this response, Vertex AI adds a deployedModelId field to the response before returning it to the client. This field specifies which DeployedModel on an Endpoint is sending the response. Learn more about the response body format.

Container image publishing requirements

You must push your container image to Artifact Registry or to Container Registry in order to use it with Vertex AI. Learn how to push a container image to Artifact Registry or how to push a container image to Container Registry.

In particular, you must push the container image to a repository that meets the following location and permissions requirements.

Location

If you use Artifact Registry, then the repository must use a region that matches the regional endpoint where you plan to create a Model. For example, if you plan to create a Model on the us-central1-aiplatform.googleapis.com endpoint, then the full name of your container image must start with us-central1-docker.pkg.dev/. Do not use a multi-regional repository for your container image.

If you use Container Registry, then your repository can use any of the Container Registry hostnames.

Permissions

Vertex AI must have permission to pull the container image when you create a Model. Specifically:

The Vertex AI Service Agent for your project is the Google-managed service account that Vertex AI uses to interact with other Google Cloud services. This service account has the email address service-PROJECT_NUMBER@gcp-sa-aiplatform.iam.gserviceaccount.com, where PROJECT_NUMBER is replaced with the project number of your Vertex AI project.

If you have pushed your container image to the same Google Cloud project where you are using Vertex AI, then you do not have to configure any permissions. The default permissions granted to the Vertex AI Service Agent are sufficient.

On the other hand, if you have pushed your container image to a different Google Cloud project from the one where you are using Vertex AI, then you must grant the Artifact Registry Reader role for the Artifact Registry repository to the Vertex AI Service Agent or grant the Storage Object Viewer role for the Cloud Storage bucket that Container Registry uses to the Vertex AI Service Agent.

Access model artifacts

When you create a custom-trained Model without a custom container, you must specify the URI of a Cloud Storage directory with model artifacts as the artifactUri field. When you create a Model with a custom container, providing model artifacts in Cloud Storage is optional.

If the container image includes the model artifacts that you need to serve predictions, then there is no need to load files from Cloud Storage. However, if you do provide model artifacts by specifying the artifactUri field, then the container must load these artifacts when it starts running. When Vertex AI starts your container, it sets the AIP_STORAGE_URI environment variable to a Cloud Storage URI that begins with gs://. Your container's entrypoint command can download the directory specified by this URI in order to access the model artifacts.

Note that the value of the AIP_STORAGE_URI environment variable is not identical to the Cloud Storage URI that you specify in the artifactUri field when you create the Model. Rather, AIP_STORAGE_URI points to a copy of your model artifact directory in a different Cloud Storage bucket, which Vertex AI manages. Vertex AI populates this directory when you create a Model. You cannot update the contents of the directory. If you want to use new model artifacts, then you must create a new Model.

The service account that your container uses by default has permission to read from this URI.

On the other hand, if you specify a custom service account when you deploy the Model to an Endpoint, Vertex AI automatically grants your specified service account the Storage Object Viewer (roles/storage.objectViewer) role for the URI's Cloud Storage bucket.

Use any library that supports Application Default Credentials (ADC) to load the model artifacts; you don't need to explicitly configure authentication.

Environment variables available in the container

When running, the container's entrypoint command can reference environment variables that you have configured manually, as well as environment variables set automatically by Vertex AI. This section describes each way that you can set environment variables, and it provides details about the variables set automatically by Vertex AI.

Variables set in the container image

To set environment variables in the container image when you build it, use Docker's ENV instruction. Do not set any environment variables that begin with the prefix AIP_.

The container's entrypoint command can use these environment variables, but you cannot reference them in any of your Model's API fields.

Variables set by Vertex AI

When Vertex AI starts running the container, it sets the following environment variables in the container environment. Each variable begins with the prefix AIP_. Do not manually set any environment variables that use this prefix.

The container's entrypoint command can access these variables. To learn which Vertex AI API fields can also reference these variables, read the API reference for ModelContainerSpec.

Variable name Default value How to configure value Details
AIP_ACCELERATOR_TYPE Unset When you deploy a Model as a DeployedModel to an Endpoint resource, set the dedicatedResources.machineSpec.acceleratorType field. If applicable, this variable specifies the type of accelerator used by the virtual machine (VM) instance that the container is running on.
AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID A string of digits identifying the DeployedModel to which this container's Model has been deployed. Not configurable This value is the DeployedModel's id field.
AIP_ENDPOINT_ID A string of digits identifying the Endpoint on which the container's Model has been deployed. Not configurable This value is the last segment of the Endpoint's name field (following endpoints/).
AIP_FRAMEWORK CUSTOM_CONTAINER Not configurable
AIP_HEALTH_ROUTE /v1/endpoints/ENDPOINT/deployedModels/DEPLOYED_MODEL

In this string, replace ENDPOINT with the value of the AIP_ENDPOINT_ID variable and replace DEPLOYED_MODEL with the value of the AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID variable.
When you create a Model, set the containerSpec.healthRoute field. This variables specifies the HTTP path on the container that Vertex AI sends health checks to.
AIP_HTTP_PORT 8080 When you create a Model, set the containerSpec.ports field. The first entry in this field becomes the value of AIP_HTTP_PORT. Vertex AI sends liveness checks, health checks, and prediction requests to this port on the container. Your container's HTTP server must listen for requests on this port.
AIP_MACHINE_TYPE No default, must be configured When you deploy a Model as a DeployedModel to an Endpoint resource, set the dedicatedResources.machineSpec.machineType field. This variable specifies the type of VM that the container is running on.
AIP_MODE PREDICTION Not configurable This variable signifies that the container is running on Vertex AI to serve online predictions. You can use this environment variable to add custom logic to your container, so that it can run in multiple computing environments but only use certain code paths on when run on Vertex AI.
AIP_MODE_VERSION 1.0.0 Not configurable This variable signifies the version of the custom container requirements (this document) that Vertex AI expects the container to meet. This document updates according to semantic versioning.
AIP_MODEL_NAME The value of the AIP_ENDPOINT_ID variable Not configurable See the AIP_ENDPOINT_ID row. This variable exists for compatibility reasons.
AIP_PREDICT_ROUTE /v1/endpoints/ENDPOINT/deployedModels/DEPLOYED_MODEL:predict

In this string, replace ENDPOINT with the value of the AIP_ENDPOINT_ID variable and replace DEPLOYED_MODEL with the value of the AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID variable.
When you create a Model, set the containerSpec.predictRoute field. This variable specifies the HTTP path on the container that Vertex AI forwards prediction requests to.
AIP_PROJECT_NUMBER The project number of the Google Cloud project where you are using Vertex AI Not configurable
AIP_STORAGE_URI
  • If you don't set the artifactUri field when you create a Model: an empty string
  • If you do set the artifactUri field when you create a Model: a Cloud Storage URI (starting with gs://) specifying a directory in a bucket managed by Vertex AI
Not configurable This variable specifies the directory that contains a copy of your model artifacts, if applicable.
AIP_VERSION_NAME The value of the AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID variable Not configurable See the AIP_DEPLOYED_MODEL_ID row. This variable exists for compatibility reasons.

Variables set in the Model resource

When you create a Model, you can set additional environment variables in the containerSpec.env field.

The container's entrypoint command can access these variables. To learn which Vertex AI API fields can also reference these variables, read the API reference for ModelContainerSpec.

What's next