Vertex Explainable AI 简介

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

Vertex Explainable AI 将特征归因集成到 Vertex AI 中。本页面提供 Vertex AI 提供的特征归因方法的简要概念概览。如需深入讨论技术问题,请参阅 AI Explanations 白皮书

Vertex Explainable AI 可帮助您了解模型的分类和回归任务输出。Vertex AI 会告诉您数据中的每个特征对预测结果的影响程度。然后,您可以使用这些信息验证模型的行为是否符合预期、识别模型中的偏差,并在寻找改进模型和训练数据的方法时获得启发。

对于以下模型类型,Vertex AI 支持 Vertex Explainable AI:

  • AutoML 图片模型(仅限分类模型)
  • AutoML 表格模型(仅限分类和回归模型)
  • 基于表格数据的自定义训练模型
  • 基于图片数据的自定义训练模型

对于 AutoML 表格模型,特征归因在 Google Cloud Console 中显示为特征重要性。您可以看到模型整体的模型特征重要性,以及适用于线上批次预测局部特征重要性

特征归因

特征归因指出了模型中每个特征对每个给定实例的预测结果的影响程度。请求预测时,您会获得适合您模型的预测值。请求说明时,您会获得预测结果以及特征归因信息。

特征归因可处理表格数据,并内置可视化功能以用于处理图片数据。请参考以下示例:

  • 深度神经网络经训练后可根据天气数据和之前的骑行共享数据来预测骑行时长。如果您仅使用此模型请求预测结果,则可以在几分钟后获得预计的骑行时长。如果您请求说明,则会获得预计的骑行时长,以及说明请求中每个特征的归因分数。归因分数显示特征对预测值相对于指定基准值的变化的影响程度。选择对模型有意义的基准,在本例中,基准为骑行时长的中间值。您可以绘制特征归因分数,查看哪些特征对生成的预测结果影响最大:

    一次骑行的预测时长的特征归因图

  • 图片分类模型经训练后可预测给定图片是否包含狗或猫。如果您请求使用此模型对一组新图片进行预测,则会收到每张图片的预测结果(“猫”或“狗”)。如果您请求说明,则会获得预测的类,并且图片上还会附加一个叠加图层,显示图片中哪些像素对生成的结果影响最大

    包含特征归因叠加图层的猫的照片
    包含特征归因叠加图层的猫的照片
    包含特征归因叠加图层的狗的照片
    包含特征归因叠加图层的狗的照片
  • 训练图片分类模型以预测图片中花的种类。如果您请求使用此模型对一组新图片进行预测,则会收到每张图片的预测结果(“雏菊”或“蒲公英”)。如果您请求说明,则会获得预测的类,并且图片上还会附加一个叠加图层,显示图片中哪些区域对生成的结果影响最大

    包含特征归因叠加图层的雏菊的照片
    包含特征归因叠加图层的雏菊的照片

优势

如果您在训练数据集中检查特定实例并汇总特征归因,就可以更深入地了解模型的工作原理。请考虑以下优点:

  • 调试模型:特征归因有助于检测出数据中通常被标准模型评估技术忽略的问题。

    例如,某个图片病理学模型在一个胸部 X 光片测试数据集中获得了好得令人生疑的结果。特征归因表明,模型的高准确度依赖于图片中放射科专家所做的记号。 如需详细了解此示例,请参阅 AI Explanations 白皮书

  • 优化模型:您可以识别和移除不太重要的特征,从而生成更有效率的模型。

概念限制

请考虑特征归因的以下限制:

  • 特征归因(包括 AutoML 的本地特征重要性)特定于个别预测。检查个别预测结果的特征归因可能会提供有用的见解,但对于该实例的整个类或整个模型来说,该见解可能不具备概括性。

    如需获得更通用的 AutoML 模型数据分析,请参阅模型特征重要性。如需获得针对其他模型的更多数据洞见,请通过数据集内的子集或整个数据集聚合归因。

  • 虽然特征归因有助于调试模型,但它们无法保证总能清楚指出问题是由模型引起的,还是由训练模型所采用的数据引起的。您必须尽量正确地做出判断,并诊断常见的数据问题,以筛查出可能的原因。

  • 特征归因与复杂模型中的预测一样,也会受到类似的反对性攻击。

如需详细了解限制,请参阅高层级限制列表AI Explanations 白皮书

比较特征归因方法

Vertex Explainable AI 提供了三种用于特征归因的方法:采样 Shapley、积分梯度和 XRAI。

方法 基本说明 推荐的模型类型 实际使用示例 兼容的 Vertex AI Model 资源
采样 Shapley 为每个特征的结果分配积分,并考虑特征的不同排列。此方法可以提供精确 Shapley 值的近似采样值。 不可微分的模型,例如树和神经网络的集成学习
  • 对表格数据进行分类和回归
  • 自定义训练模型(任何预测容器)
  • AutoML 表格模型
积分梯度 梯度方法可以高效计算与 Shapley 值具有相同公理属性的特征归因。 可微分模型,例如神经网络。特别推荐用于具有大型特征空间的模型。
建议用于低对比度图片,例如 X 光。
  • 对表格数据进行分类和回归
  • 对图片数据进行分类
XRAI(带排名区域积分的说明) 根据积分梯度方法,XRAI 会评估图片的重叠区域,以创建显著图来突出显示相关图片区域(而非像素)。 接受图片输入的模型。特别推荐用于自然图片,即任何包含多个对象的现实场景。
  • 对图片数据进行分类

如需查看归因方法的更全面的比较,请参阅 AI Explanations 说明白皮书

可微分和不可微分的模型

在可微分的模型中,您可以计算 TensorFlow 图中所有运算的导数。该属性有助于在此类模型中使用反向传播算法。例如,神经网络可微分。如需获取可微分模型的特征归因,请使用积分梯度方法。

注意:积分梯度方法不适用于不可微分的模型。详细了解如何对不可微分的输入进行编码,以使用积分梯度方法。

不可微分的模型在 TensorFlow 图中包含不可微分的运算,例如执行解码和舍入任务的运算。例如,作为树和神经网络的集成学习构建的模型是不可微分的。若要获取不可微分的模型的特征归因,请使用采样 Shapley 方法。采样 Shapley 还适用于可微分的模型,但在这种情况下,会耗费更多不必要的计算资源。

特征归因方法

每种特征归因方法都基于 Shapley 值,这是一种根据特定结果为游戏中的每位玩家分配积分的合作博弈论算法。应用到机器学习模型中,就意味着每个模型特征都被视作游戏中的一个“玩家”Vertex Explainable AI 会根据特定预测的结果按比例为每个特征分配积分。

采样 Shapley 方法

采样 Shapley 可以提供精确 Shapley 值的近似采样值。 AutoML Tables 模型使用采样 Shapley 方法获得特征重要性。采用 Shapley 非常适合这些模型,模型是树和神经网络的元集成。

要深入了解采样的 Shapley 方法的工作原理,请参阅论文《限定采样 Shapley 值逼近法的估计误差》

积分梯度方法

在积分梯度方法中,预测结果输出的梯度根据输入的特征沿积分路径进行计算。

  1. 梯度按调节参数的不同间隔值进行计算。 高斯求积规则可确定每个间隔的大小。(对于图片数据,可将此调节参数想象成一个“滑块”,它能够将图片的所有像素调节为黑色。)
  2. 梯度集成如下:
    1. 积分是使用加权平均值进行近似计算的。
    2. 计算平均梯度和原始输入的元素积。

如需了解此流程应用到相应图片的直观说明,请参阅将深度网络的预测结果归因于输入特征这篇博文。积分梯度原文(深度网络的公理化归因)作者在前面的博文中展示了相应图片在流程的每个步骤中的效果。

XRAI 方法

XRAI 方法结合了积分梯度方法和其他步骤,以确定图片的哪些区域对给定类别预测的贡献最大。

  1. 像素级别归因:XRAI 为输入图片执行像素级别归因。在此步骤中,XRAI 使用带有黑色基准和白色基准的积分梯度方法。
  2. 过度分割:XRAI 不受像素级别归因的影响,会对图片进行过度分割,创建一个由小区域拼凑而成的对象。XRAI 使用 Felzenswalb 的基于图表的方法创建图片细分。
  3. 区域选择:XRAI 会汇总每个细分内的像素级归因,以确定其归因密度。XRAI 使用这些值对每个细分进行排名,然后按照从正到负的顺序对细分进行排序。 这决定了图片的哪个区域最显着,或对给定的类别预测贡献最大。

显示 XRAI 算法步骤的图片

引用

采样 Shapley、积分梯度和 XRAI 的实现分别基于下列参考文档:

如需详细了解 Vertex Explainable AI 的实现,请阅读 AI Explanations 白皮书

教育资源

以下资源提供了更多有用的教育材料:

后续步骤

Introduction to Vertex Explainable AI

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Machine learning models are often seen as "black boxes", where even its designers cannot explain how or why a model produced a specific prediction. Vertex Explainable AI offers Feature-based and Example-based explanations to provide better understanding of model decision making.

Knowing how a model behaves, and how it is influenced by its training dataset, gives anyone who builds or uses ML new abilities to improve models, build confidence in their predictions, and understand when and why things go awry.

Example-based explanations (preview)

With example-based explanations, Vertex AI uses nearest neighbor search to return a list of examples (typically from the training set) that are most similar to the input. Because we generally expect similar inputs to yield similar predictions, we can use these examples to explore and explain our model's behavior.

For example, suppose we have a model that classifies images as either a bird or a plane, and that it is misclassifying some birds as planes. We can use Example-based explanations to retrieve similar images from the training set to figure out what is happening. Examining those examples, we notice that many of the misclassified birds and their similar training examples are dark silhouettes, and that most of the dark silhouettes in the training set were planes. This indicates that we might improve model quality by adding more silhouetted birds to the training set.

Example-based Explanations can also help identify confounding inputs that might benefit from human labeling. For example, if out of 10 total nearest neighbors for an image, five are birds and five are planes, the image might be a good candidate for human annotation, further enriching the training set and improving model quality.

To create a Model that supports example-based explanations, see Configuring example-based explanations.

Supported model types

Any model that can provide an embedding (latent representation) for inputs is supported. Tree-based models, such as decision trees, are not supported.

For deep neural networks, we generally assume that the higher layers (closer to the output layer) have learned something "meaningful", and thus, the penultimate layer is often chosen for embeddings. You can experiment with a few different layers, investigate the examples you are getting, and choose one based on some quantitative (class match) or qualitative (looks sensible) measures.

For a demonstration on how to extract embeddings from a TensorFlow model and perform nearest neighbor search, see the example-based explanation notebook.

Feature-based explanations

Vertex Explainable AI integrates feature attributions into Vertex AI. This section provides a brief conceptual overview of the feature attribution methods available with Vertex AI.

Feature attributions indicate how much each feature in your model contributed to the predictions for each given instance. When you request predictions, you get predicted values as appropriate for your model. When you request explanations, you get the predictions along with feature attribution information.

Feature attributions work on tabular data, and include built-in visualization capabilities for image data. Consider the following examples:

  • A deep neural network is trained to predict the duration of a bike ride, based on weather data and previous ride sharing data. If you request only predictions from this model, you get predicted durations of bike rides in number of minutes. If you request explanations, you get the predicted bike trip duration, along with an attribution score for each feature in your explanations request. The attribution scores show how much the feature affected the change in prediction value, relative to the baseline value that you specify. Choose a meaningful baseline that makes sense for your model - in this case, the median bike ride duration. You can plot the feature attribution scores to see which features contributed most strongly to the resulting prediction:

    A feature attribution chart for one predicted bike ride duration

  • An image classification model is trained to predict whether a given image contains a dog or a cat. If you request predictions from this model on a new set of images, then you receive a prediction for each image ("dog" or "cat"). If you request explanations, you get the predicted class along with an overlay for the image, showing which pixels in the image contributed most strongly to the resulting prediction:

    A photo of a cat with feature attribution overlay
    A photo of a cat with feature attribution overlay
    A photo of a dog with feature attribution overlay
    A photo of a dog with feature attribution overlay
  • An image classification model is trained to predict the species of a flower in the image. If you request predictions from this model on a new set of images, then you receive a prediction for each image ("daisy" or "dandelion"). If you request explanations, you get the predicted class along with an overlay for the image, showing which areas in the image contributed most strongly to the resulting prediction:

    A photo of a daisy with feature attribution overlay
    A photo of a daisy with feature attribution overlay

Supported model types

Feature attribution is supported for all types of models (both AutoML and custom-trained), frameworks (TensorFlow, scikit, XGBoost), and modalities (images, text, tabular, video).

To use feature attribution, configure your model for feature attribution when you upload the model to the Vertex AI Model Registry.

Additionally, for the following types of AutoML models, feature attribution is integrated into the Google Cloud console:

  • AutoML image models (classification models only)
  • AutoML tabular models (classification and regression models only)

For AutoML model types that are integrated, you can enable feature attribution in the Google Cloud console during training and see model feature importance for the model overall, and local feature importance for both online and batch predictions.

For AutoML model types that are not integrated, you can still enable feature attribution by exporting the model artifacts and configuring feature attribution when you upload the model artifacts to the Vertex AI Model Registry.

Advantages

If you inspect specific instances, and also aggregate feature attributions across your training dataset, you can get deeper insight into how your model works. Consider the following advantages:

  • Debugging models: Feature attributions can help detect issues in the data that standard model evaluation techniques would usually miss.

    For example, an image pathology model achieved suspiciously good results on a test dataset of chest X-Ray images. Feature attributions revealed that the model's high accuracy depended on the radiologist's pen marks in the image. For more details about this example, see the AI Explanations Whitepaper.

  • Optimizing models: You can identify and remove features that are less important, which can result in more efficient models.

Feature attribution methods

Each feature attribution method is based on Shapley values - a cooperative game theory algorithm that assigns credit to each player in a game for a particular outcome. Applied to machine learning models, this means that each model feature is treated as a "player" in the game. Vertex Explainable AI assigns proportional credit to each feature for the outcome of a particular prediction.

Sampled Shapley method

The sampled Shapley method provides a sampling approximation of exact Shapley values. AutoML tabular models use the sampled Shapley method for feature importance. Sampled Shapley works well for these models, which are meta-ensembles of trees and neural networks.

For in-depth information on how the sampled Shapley method works, read the paper Bounding the Estimation Error of Sampling-based Shapley Value Approximation.

Integrated gradients method

In the integrated gradients method, the gradient of the prediction output is calculated with respect to the features of the input, along an integral path.

  1. The gradients are calculated at different intervals of a scaling parameter. The size of each interval is determined by using the Gaussian quadrature rule. (For image data, imagine this scaling parameter as a "slider" that is scaling all pixels of the image to black.)
  2. The gradients are integrated as follows:
    1. The integral is approximated by using a weighted average.
    2. The element-wise product of the averaged gradients and the original input is calculated.

For an intuitive explanation of this process as applied to images, refer to the blog post, "Attributing a deep network's prediction to its input features". The authors of the original paper about integrated gradients (Axiomatic Attribution for Deep Networks) show in the preceding blog post what the images look like at each step of the process.

XRAI method

The XRAI method combines the integrated gradients method with additional steps to determine which regions of the image contribute the most to a given class prediction.

  1. Pixel-level attribution: XRAI performs pixel-level attribution for the input image. In this step, XRAI uses the integrated gradients method with a black baseline and a white baseline.
  2. Oversegmentation: Independently of pixel-level attribution, XRAI oversegments the image to create a patchwork of small regions. XRAI uses Felzenswalb's graph-based method to create the image segments.
  3. Region selection: XRAI aggregates the pixel-level attribution within each segment to determine its attribution density. Using these values, XRAI ranks each segment and then orders the segments from most to least positive. This determines which areas of the image are most salient, or contribute most strongly to a given class prediction.

Images that show the steps of the XRAI algorithm

Compare feature attribution methods

Vertex Explainable AI offers three methods to use for feature attributions: sampled Shapley, integrated gradients, and XRAI.

Method Basic explanation Recommended model types Example use cases Compatible Vertex AI Model resources
Sampled Shapley Assigns credit for the outcome to each feature, and considers different permutations of the features. This method provides a sampling approximation of exact Shapley values. Non-differentiable models, such as ensembles of trees and neural networks
  • Classification and regression on tabular data
  • Any custom-trained model (running in any prediction container)
  • AutoML tabular models
Integrated gradients A gradients-based method to efficiently compute feature attributions with the same axiomatic properties as the Shapley value. Differentiable models, such as neural networks. Recommended especially for models with large feature spaces.
Recommended for low-contrast images, such as X-rays.
  • Classification and regression on tabular data
  • Classification on image data
XRAI (eXplanation with Ranked Area Integrals) Based on the integrated gradients method, XRAI assesses overlapping regions of the image to create a saliency map, which highlights relevant regions of the image rather than pixels. Models that accept image inputs. Recommended especially for natural images, which are any real-world scenes that contain multiple objects.
  • Classification on image data

For a more thorough comparison of attribution methods, see the AI Explanations Whitepaper.

Differentiable and non-differentiable models

In differentiable models, you can calculate the derivative of all the operations in your TensorFlow graph. This property helps to make backpropagation possible in such models. For example, neural networks are differentiable. To get feature attributions for differentiable models, use the integrated gradients method.

The integrated gradients method does not work for non-differentiable models. Learn more about encoding non-differentiable inputs to work with the integrated gradients method.

Non-differentiable models include non-differentiable operations in the TensorFlow graph, such as operations that perform decoding and rounding tasks. For example, a model built as an ensemble of trees and neural networks is non-differentiable. To get feature attributions for non-differentiable models, use the sampled Shapley method. Sampled Shapley also works on differentiable models, but in that case, it is more computationally expensive than necessary.

Conceptual limitations

Consider the following limitations of feature attributions:

  • Feature attributions, including local feature importance for AutoML, are specific to individual predictions. Inspecting the feature attributions for an individual prediction may provide good insight, but the insight may not be generalizable to the entire class for that individual instance, or the entire model.

    To get more generalizable insight for AutoML models, refer to the model feature importance. To get more generalizable insight for other models, aggregate attributions over subsets over your dataset, or the entire dataset.

  • Although feature attributions can help with model debugging, they do not always indicate clearly whether an issue arises from the model or from the data that the model is trained on. Use your best judgment, and diagnose common data issues to narrow the space of potential causes.

  • Feature attributions are subject to similar adversarial attacks as predictions in complex models.

For more information about limitations, refer to the high-level limitations list and the AI Explanations Whitepaper.

References

For feature attribution, the implementations of sampled Shapley, integrated gradients, and XRAI are based on the following references, respectively:

Learn more about the implementation of Vertex Explainable AI by reading the AI Explanations Whitepaper.

Notebooks

To get started using Vertex Explainable AI, use these notebooks:

What do you want to do? Resource
Create an AutoML tabular binary classification model and perform batch prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex AI SDK: AutoML training tabular binary classification model for batch explanation
Create an AutoML tabular classification models and perform online prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex SDK: AutoML training tabular classification model for online explanation
Create a custom image classification model and perform batch prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex AI SDK: Custom training image classification model for batch prediction with explainabilty
Create a custom image classification model and perform online prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex SDK: Custom training image classification model for online prediction with explainabilty
Create a custom tabular regression model and perform batch prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex SDK: Custom training tabular regression model for batch prediction with explainabilty
Create a custom tabular regression model and perform online prediction with feature-based explanations. Vertex SDK: Custom training tabular regression model for online prediction with explainabilty
Configure feature-based explanations on a pre-trained image classification model and make online and batch predictions with explanations. Explaining image classification with Vertex Explainable AI
Create a custom image classification model and perform online prediction with example-based explanations. Vertex client library: Custom training image classification model for online prediction with explanation using Example-based API

Educational resources

The following resources provide further useful educational material:

What's next