gzip 壓縮檔轉碼

本頁討論如何將檔案轉成「gzip」壓縮狀態與解壓縮,內容包括轉碼概述、處理關聯中繼資料的最佳做法,以及 Cloud Storage 的壓縮檔行為。

轉碼和 gzip

gzip 是一種資料壓縮格式,一般用來減少檔案大小。這可以讓檔案的傳輸比未壓縮時快,且佔用的儲存空間較少。壓縮檔案有助減少成本和傳輸時間。Cloud Storage 的「轉碼」功能會自動變更檔案壓縮,再將檔案提供給要求者。當轉碼功能使檔案變成 gzip 壓縮時,這個檔案會被視為「壓縮」,反之,當產生的檔案不再是 gzip 壓縮狀態,就會被視為「解壓縮」。Cloud Storage 支援解壓縮格式的轉碼。

解壓縮轉碼

如果檔案在 Cloud Storage 中存成 gzip 壓縮物件,這些檔案可以自動解壓縮,再傳送給要求者,進而產生「身分編碼的」 (也就是未壓縮的) 檔案。如此一來,不僅將物件儲存在 Cloud Storage 中的成本會降低,還能將本身未經壓縮的檔案提供給要求者,對於像是提供檔案給客戶的情況,此功能非常實用。

物件必須滿足兩項條件,才能使用解壓縮轉碼:

  1. 檔案以 gzip 壓縮格式儲存於 Cloud Storage。

  2. 關聯的中繼資料包括 Content-Encoding: gzip

當物件滿足這兩項條件,那麼就會在接獲要求時進行解壓縮轉碼,此時,也會提供無 Content-Encoding 標頭的物件。如果您「要」滿足這兩項條件的物件以壓縮狀態提供的話 (例如為了降低輸出成本或時間),有兩種方法可阻止解壓縮轉碼發生:

  • 如果物件的要求包括 Accept-Encoding: gzip 標頭,則針對此特定要求,物件會以原狀提供,並加上 Content-Encoding: gzip 回應標頭。

  • 如果物件的 Cache-Control 中繼資料欄位設為 no-transform,則在所有後續要求中,物件會以壓縮物件的形式提供,無論是否有 Accept-Encoding 要求標頭都是如此。

Content-Type 和 Content-Encoding 的比較

關於 Content-TypeContent-Encoding 與轉碼之間的關係,有幾個行為應該注意。這兩者都是隨物件一起儲存的中繼資料,請參閱查看及編輯物件中繼資料一文,瞭解如何將中繼資料新增到物件的逐步操作說明。

Content-Type 應包含在所有上傳作業中,並指示上傳中物件的類型。例如:

Content-Type: text/plain

表示上傳的物件是純文字檔案。雖然不會執行任何檢查來確保指定的 Content-Type 符合所上傳物件的真正性質,但類型指定錯誤的話,絕對會造成要求者收到非預期中的內容,並且可能導致不希望發生的行為。

Content-Encoding 是選用項目,可視需要包含在壓縮檔案的上傳作業。例如:

Content-Encoding: gzip

表示上傳的物件為 gzip 壓縮檔。至於 Content-Type,不會執行任何檢查來確保指定的 Content-Encoding 會確實套用至上傳的物件,且物件指定錯誤的話,可能會導致後續的下載要求發生不希望發生的行為。

建議做法

  • 上傳 gzip 壓縮物件時,建議您在設定中繼資料時,同時指定 Content-TypeContent-Encoding。例如,對於壓縮的純文字檔案,可指定:

    Content-Type: text/plain
    Content-Encoding: gzip
    

    這樣可提供最多物件狀態相關資訊給存取物件的任何人,此外,也會讓物件可以在之後下載時進行解壓縮轉碼,讓用戶端應用程式正確處理 Content-Type 的語意。

  • 或者,您可以在上傳物件時設定 Content-Type 來指示壓縮,並且不使用任何 Content-Encoding。例如:

    Content-Type: application/gzip
    

    不過,在這個情況下,對於這個物件,只能馬上知道它是 gzip 壓縮,對於物件類型將一無所悉。而且,物件也會無法進行解壓縮轉碼。

不建議的做法

  • 雖然可以這樣做,但不建議上傳 gzip 壓縮檔時,將檔案的壓縮性質刪去。例如,對於 gzip 壓縮純文字檔案,應避免只設定 Content-Type: text/plain 而已,以免傳送給要求者的物件狀態遭到扭曲。

  • 同理,物件不可在省略 Content-Type 的情況下上傳,即使已包含 Content-Encoding,否則可能導致將 Content-Type 設為預設值,但根據上傳的執行方式,可能會造成要求被拒。

錯誤的做法

  • 不應設定中繼資料,重複回報物件的壓縮。

    Content-Type: application/gzip
    Content-Encoding: gzip
    

    這是指重複上傳早已是 gzip 壓縮的 gzip 壓縮物件,但其實通常不該如此 (如果您「確實」需要重複壓縮檔案,請參閱以下的對壓縮物件使用 gzip 一節)。當解壓縮轉碼發生在回報錯誤的物件時,該物件會以身分編碼的狀態提供,但要求者會「認為」收到的物件仍有關聯的壓縮層。對物件解壓縮將會失敗。

  • 同理,非 gzip 壓縮檔上傳時不應包含 Content-Encoding: gzip。否則,物件會「看起來似乎」可以進行轉碼,但要求物件時,轉碼作業會失敗。

對壓縮物件使用 gzip

有些物件如許多影片、音訊和影像檔等,本身不會提到 gzip 檔案,但其實已經過壓縮。對這類的物件使用 gzip,幾乎毫無助益:幾乎在所有情況下,這樣做會使物件因 gzip 作業負擔而變大。因此,一般不建議對壓縮內容使用 gzip,以免可能導致不希望發生的行為。

例如,雖然 Cloud Storage 允許上傳和儲存「重複壓縮」物件 (也就是物件已經過 gzip 壓縮,但又包含本身已壓縮的 Content-Type),但不允許提供重複壓縮狀態的物件,除非 Cache-Control 中繼資料包含 no-transform。相反的,它會移除外部 gzip 壓縮層,捨棄 Content-Encoding 回應標頭,然後提供結果物件。即使要求包含 Accept-Encoding: gzip 也不例外。

使用 Range 標頭

轉碼發生時,如果物件的要求包含 Range 標頭,則會在不發出通知的情況下略過該標頭。也就是說,要求提供局部內容是無法實現的,而回應會改為提供整個要求的物件。這種行為的發生,是因為如果沒有先將整個壓縮檔解壓縮,就無法選取其中的範圍;為了達成對提供檔案其中一部分的要求,而將整個可能很大的檔案解壓縮,等於用不妥當的方式來利用資源。您應注意這種行為,並且避免使用 Range 標頭來進行轉碼功能,因為這會依傳送整個物件來計費,而非只用傳送要求的範圍來計費。如要進一步瞭解使用 Range 標頭發出要求所允許的回應行為,請參閱規格

如果需要使用 Range 標頭來發出要求,請確保不會對所要求的物件進行轉碼。您可以在上傳物件時選擇適當的屬性來達成這項目標。例如,使用 Content-Type: application/gzip 但不使用 Content-Encoding 對物件提出範圍要求,將會按照這樣的要求來執行。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Storage
需要協助嗎?請前往我們的支援網頁

Transcoding of gzip-compressed files

This page discusses the conversion of files to and from a gzip-compressed state. The page includes an overview of transcoding, best practices for working with associated metadata, and compressed file behavior in Google Cloud Storage.

Transcoding and gzip

gzip is a form of data compression: it typically reduces the size of a file. This allows the file to be transferred faster and stored using less space than if it were not compressed. Compressing a file can reduce both cost and transfer time. Transcoding, in Google Cloud Storage, is the automatic changing of a file's compression before it's served to a requester. When transcoding results in a file becoming gzip-compressed, it can be considered compressive, whereas when the result is a file that is no longer gzip-compressed, it can be considered decompressive. Google Cloud Storage supports the decompressive form of transcoding.

Decompressive transcoding

If files are stored as gzip-compressed objects on Google Cloud Storage, they can be automatically decompressed before being sent to a requester, resulting in a file that is identity encoded (that is, not compressed). This allows for reduced storage costs for the object within Google Cloud Storage, but gives the requester the file itself, without any compression. This is useful, for example, when serving files to customers.

In order to be eligible for decompressive transcoding, an object must be 1) gzip-compressed and 2) have been uploaded with Content-Encoding: gzip. When an object meets these two criteria, it undergoes decompressive transcoding when requested, in which case it is also served without a Content-Encoding header. If you want an object that meets both criteria to be served in its compressed state (for example, to reduce egress cost or time), there are two ways to prevent decompressive transcoding from occurring:

  • If the request for the object includes an Accept-Encoding: gzip header, the object is served as-is in that specific request, along with a Content-Encoding: gzip response header.

  • If the Cache-Control metadata field for the object is set to no-transform, the object is served as a compressed object in all subsequent requests, regardless of any Accept-Encoding request headers.

Content-Type vs. Content-Encoding

There are several behaviors that you should be aware of concerning how Content-Type and Content-Encoding relate to transcoding. Both are metadata uploaded along with an object. When using the XML API, they are included as headers in the upload request. When using the JSON API, they should be included as explicit metadata.

Content-Type should be included in all uploads and indicates the type of object being uploaded. For example:

Content-Type: text/plain

indicates that the uploaded object is a plain-text file. While there is no check to guarantee the specified Content-Type matches the true nature of an uploaded object, incorrectly specifying its type will at best cause requesters to receive something other than what they were expecting and could lead to unintended behaviors.

Content-Encoding is optional and can, if desired, be included in the upload of files that are compressed. For example:

Content-Encoding: gzip

indicates that the uploaded object is gzip-compressed. As with Content-Type, there is no check to guarantee the specified Content-Encoding was actually applied to the uploaded object, and incorrectly specifying an object's encoding could lead to unintended behavior on subsequent download requests.

Good practices

  • When uploading a gzip-compressed object, the recommended way to set your metadata is to specify both the Content-Type and Content-Encoding. For example, for a compressed, plain-text file:

    Content-Type: text/plain
    Content-Encoding: gzip
    
    This gives the most information about the state of the object to anyone accessing it. Doing so also makes the object eligible for decompressive transcoding when it is later downloaded, allowing client applications to handle the semantics of the Content-Type correctly.

  • Alternatively, you can upload the object with the Content-Type set to indicate compression and NO Content-Encoding at all. For example:

    Content-Type: application/gzip
    
    However, in this case the only thing immediately known about the object is that it is gzip-compressed, with no information regarding the underlying object type. Moreover, the object is not eligible for decompressive transcoding.

Discouraged practices

  • While it is possible to do so, a file that is gzip-compressed should not be uploaded with the compressed nature of the file omitted. For example, for a gzip-compressed plain-text file, you should avoid only setting Content-Type: text/plain. Doing so misrepresents the state of the object as it will be delivered to a requester.

  • Similarly, objects should not be uploaded with an omitted Content-Type, even if a Content-Encoding is included. Doing so may result in Content-Type being set to a default value, but may result in the request being rejected, depending on how the upload is made.

Incorrect practices

  • You should not set your metadata to redundantly report the compression of the object:

    Content-Type: application/gzip
    Content-Encoding: gzip
    
    This implies you are uploading a gzip-compressed object that has been gzip-compressed a second time, when that is not usually the case (if you actually plan to doubly compress a file, please see the using gzip on compressed objects section below). When decompressive transcoding occurs on such an incorrectly reported object, the object is served identity encoded, but requesters think that they have received an object that still has a layer of compression associated with it. Attempts to decompress the object will fail.

  • Similarly, a file that is not gzip-compressed should not be uploaded with the Content-Encoding set to gzip. Doing so makes the object appear to be eligible for transcoding, but when requests for the object are made, attempts at transcoding fail.

Using gzip on compressed objects

Some objects, such as many video, audio, and image files, not to mention gzip files themselves, are already compressed. Using gzip on such objects offers virtually no benefit: in almost all cases, doing so makes the object larger due to gzip overhead. For this reason, using gzip on compressed content is generally discouraged and may cause undesired behaviors.

For example, while Google Cloud Storage allows "doubly compressed" objects (that is, objects that are gzip-compressed but also have an underlying Content-Type that is itself compressed) to be uploaded and stored, it does not allow objects to be served in a doubly compressed state unless their Cache-Control metadata includes no-transform. Instead, it removes the outer, gzip, level of compression, drops the Content-Encoding response header, and serves the resulting object. This occurs even for requests with Accept-Encoding: gzip.

This behavior invalidates integrity checking on affected objects because the stored hashes for the objects represent the doubly compressed data, while what is served is singly compressed data. For this reason, if doubly compressed objects will be stored on Google Cloud Storage, it is recommended they be created with Cache-Control: no-transform so that they are served as-is.

Using the Range header

When transcoding occurs, if the request for the object includes a Range header, that header is silently ignored. This means that requests for partial content are not fulfilled, and the response instead serves the entire requested object. This behavior arises because it is not possible to select a range from a compressed file without first decompressing the file in its entirety: each request for part of a file would be accompanied by the decompression of the entire, potentially large, file, which would poorly utilize resources. You should be aware of this behavior and avoid using the Range header when using transcoding, as charges are incurred for the transmission of the entire object and not just the range requested. For more information on allowed response behavior to requests with Range headers, see the specification.

If requests with Range headers are needed, you should ensure that transcoding does not occur for the requested object. You can achieve this by choosing the appropriate properties when uploading objects to begin with. For example, range requests for objects with Content-Type: application/gzip and no Content-Encoding are performed as requested.

Send feedback about...

Cloud Storage Documentation