面向 AWS 专业人员的 Google Cloud Platform 简介:应用服务

更新时间:2017 年 3 月 20 日

比较 Amazon 和 Google 为促进应用各部分之间的通信而提供的服务。本文重点介绍每个平台上提供的消息传递服务。

消息传递

服务模式比较

对于消息队列,Amazon 提供的服务为 Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS),Google 提供的服务为 Google Cloud Pub/Sub。Amazon SQS 功能与 Cloud Pub/Sub 功能之间的对应关系如下:

功能 Amazon SQS Google Cloud Pub/Sub
数据源 队列 主题
数据目的地 队列 订阅者
部署位置 区域 全球
消息保留时间 最长 14 天 最长 7 天
每个队列的动态消息数上限 标准为 120000,FIFO 为 20000 拉取队列无限制(受配额约束),推送队列为 1000
负载大小上限 256 KB 10 MB
扇出 借助 Amazon SNS 原生支持
死信队列
延迟队列
结算 队列所有者付费 订阅者付费

Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) 和 Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)

在 Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) 中,操作以您创建的消息队列为中心。您将消息发送到队列,然后客户端应用从队列中拉取这些消息。要实现扇出系统(多个订阅者可使用一条消息),您可以将 Amazon SQS 与 Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) 搭配使用,为多个设备和端点提供推送通知。您可以将 Amazon SQS 队列订阅到 Amazon SNS 主题,当消息发布到该主题时,Amazon SNS 会向已订阅的队列发送 Amazon SQS 消息。

Amazon SQS 提供两种消息队列类型:标准队列和 FIFO 队列。标准队列提供高吞吐量,但不保证严格的消息排序或正好一次传送。相反,FIFO 队列可确保这些方面,但吞吐量比标准队列低。

Cloud Pub/Sub

Cloud Pub/Sub 将消息队列、基于推送的消息传送和高容量流式消息传送组合到一个全局服务中。它使用发布/订阅模式:发布者应用创建消息并将消息发送到主题,订阅者应用创建订阅以从主题接收消息。作为基于发布/订阅的服务,Cloud Pub/Sub 以原生方式同时支持扇入(多个消息源可针对一个主题)和扇出。

Amazon SQS 支持基于拉取的消息传送,与之相比,Cloud Pub/Sub 同时支持基于推送和基于拉取的消息传送。在基于推送的传送模式下,Cloud Pub/Sub 向订阅者应用发起请求来传送消息。在基于拉取的传送模式下,订阅者应用向 Cloud Pub/Sub 服务器发起请求来检索消息,这与 Amazon SQS 类似。

与 Amazon SQS 标准队列一样,Cloud Pub/Sub 不保证消息排序。但是,如果您需要严格的消息排序,可以通过多种方式消除该限制。与 Amazon SQS 标准队列一样,Cloud Pub/Sub 也不保证正好一次传送。要处理重复的消息,您的代码应该以幂等的方式处理消息。

与 Amazon SNS 不同的是,Cloud Pub/Sub 适用于应用和系统集成,而不适用于与手机或网页等最终用户界面直接通信。对于客户端与服务器之间的此类型通信,您可以使用 Firebase 云消息传递,该 Cloud Platform 解决方案可用于将推送通知发送到多个移动设备。

消息生命周期

要从队列或订阅中移除消息,Amazon SQS 和 Cloud Pub/Sub 均要求您确认消息。

Amazon SQS

Amazon SQS 设置有“可见性超时”。当进程获取消息以进行处理时,该消息对正在处理该队列的其他进程不可见。下图说明了处理消息时可见性超时的工作原理。

Amazon SQS 可见性超时

图 1:Amazon SQS 可见性超时

获取消息后,可见性超时便开始倒计时。在倒计时期间,使用方应用对消息进行处理。如果处理成功且仍在可见性超时的时间范围内,使用方应用可进行调用以删除该消息。如果可见性超时到期,而应用未进行调用,则消息将再次对其他进程可见。

Cloud Pub/Sub

与之类似,Cloud Pub/Sub 设置有确认截止期限。默认情况下,截止期限为 10 秒,但最长可延长至 10 分钟。对于拉取订阅,订阅者也可以动态修改每条消息的截止期限,为给定消息的处理留出更短或更长的时间。

Cloud Pub/Sub 确认截止期限

图 2:Cloud Pub/Sub 确认截止期限

消息传送保证

Amazon SQS 提供两种类型的队列:标准队列和先进先出 (FIFO) 队列。Amazon SQS 标准队列和 Cloud Pub/Sub 均保证每条消息至少传送一次。同样,这两种服务的限制类似:每种服务都可能偶尔会出现消息重复,并且两种服务均不保证消息传送顺序。

Amazon SQS FIFO 队列支持正好一次的有序消息传送,可解决这两个问题。FIFO 队列的上限为每秒 300 个事务。

虽然 Cloud Pub/Sub 不提供 FIFO 这样的重复信息删除和消息顺序保证,但可在应用级别实现此功能。如需获取指导,请参阅消息排序

费用

Amazon SQS 和 Amazon SNS

Amazon SQS 的价格基于 Amazon SQS 以外的数据传输和请求数量。所有 Amazon SQS API 调用均算作请求。一个请求可包含 1 到 10 条消息,最大总负载为 256 KB。每 64 KB 的负载块按一个请求计费。

Amazon SNS 的价格基于您发布的通知数量、您传送的通知数量,以及用于管理主题和订阅的任何额外 API 调用。传送价格因端点类型而异。

Cloud Pub/Sub

Cloud Pub/Sub 的价格基于用于消息传送的数据量。数据量根据发布、拉取和推送操作的消息和属性数据计算。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud Pub/Sub 价格

后续事项

查看其他“面向 AWS 专业人员的 Google Cloud Platform”文章:

如需查看如何使用各自的消息传递服务在 Cloud Platform 和 AWS 之间传递数据的指导信息,请参阅通过 Cloud Functions 函数将 Google Cloud Pub/Sub 连接到 AWS SNS 主题

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
面向 AWS 专业人员的 Google Cloud Platform 简介

Google Cloud Platform for AWS Professionals: Application Services

Updated March 20, 2017

Compare the services that Amazon and Google provide to help facilitate communication between various parts of your application. This article focuses on the messaging services available on each platform.

Messaging

Service model comparison

For message queueing, Amazon provides Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) and Google provides Google Cloud Pub/Sub. The features of Amazon SQS map to those of Cloud Pub/Sub as follows:

Feature Amazon SQS Google Cloud Pub/Sub
Data source Queue Topic
Data destination Queue Subscriber
Deployment locality Regional Global
Message retention Up to 14 days Up to 7 days
Maximum number of in-flight messages per queue 120,000 for standard & 20,000 for FIFO Unlimited for pull (subject to quota), and 1,000 for push
Maximum payload size 256 KB 10 MB
Fan-out With Amazon SNS Natively supported
Dead letter queue Yes No
Delay queues Yes No
Billing Queue owner pays Subscribers pay

Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) and Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)

In Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS), operations center around a message queue that you create. You send messages to the queue, and client applications pull these messages from the queue. To implement a fan-out system, in which multiple subscribers can consume a single message, you can combine Amazon SQS with Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), which delivers push notifications to a variety of devices and endpoints. You subscribe an Amazon SQS queue to an Amazon SNS topic, and when a message is published to the topic, Amazon SNS sends an Amazon SQS message to the subscribed queue.

Amazon SQS offers two message queue types: standard queues and FIFO queues. Standard queues offer high throughput, but do not guarantee strict message ordering or exactly-once delivery. Conversely, FIFO queues make these guarantees, but have lower throughput than standard queues.

Cloud Pub/Sub

Cloud Pub/Sub combines message queuing, push-based message delivery, and high-volume streaming message delivery into one global service. It uses a publish/subscribe model: a publisher application creates and sends messages to a topic, and subscriber applications create a subscription to receive messages from the topic. As a publish/subscribe-based service, Cloud Pub/Sub natively supports both fan-in, in which multiple message sources can target a single topic, and fan-out.

In contrast to Amazon SQS, which supports pull-based message delivery, Cloud Pub/Sub supports both push- and pull-based message delivery. In push-based delivery, Cloud Pub/Sub initiates requests to your subscriber application to deliver messages. In pull-based delivery, your subscriber application initiates requests to the Cloud Pub/Sub server to retrieve messages, similar to Amazon SQS.

Like Amazon SQS standard queues, Cloud Pub/Sub does not guarantee message ordering. If you need strict message ordering, however, you can mitigate this limitation in various ways. As with Amazon SQS standard queues, Cloud Pub/Sub also does not guarantee exactly-once delivery. To handle duplicate messages, your code should deal with messages in an idempotent manner.

Unlike Amazon SNS, Cloud Pub/Sub is intended for application and system integrations rather than direct communication with end-user interfaces such as mobile phones or web pages. For this type of client-server communication, you can use Firebase Cloud Messaging, Cloud Platform's solution for sending push notifications to multiple mobile devices.

Message lifecycle

Amazon SQS and Cloud Pub/Sub both require you to acknowledge messages to remove them from a queue or subscription.

Amazon SQS

Amazon SQS features visibility timeout. When a process acquires a message for processing, the message becomes invisible to other processes that are processing the queue. The diagram below illustrates how the visibility timeout works when processing messages.

Amazon SQS visibility timeout

Figure 1: Amazon SQS visibility timeout

When the message is acquired, the visibility timeout starts counting down. During this countdown period, the consuming application processes the message. If processing is successful and within the visibility timeout window, the consuming application can then make a call to delete the message. If the application does not make this call before the visibility timeout expires, the message becomes visible to other processes again.

Cloud Pub/Sub

Similarly, Cloud Pub/Sub has an acknowledgement deadline. By default, this deadline is 10 seconds, but it can be extended up to 10 minutes. For a pull subscription, subscribers can also modify the deadline on the fly on a per-message basis to allow for shorter or longer time to process a given message.

Cloud Pub/Sub acknowledgement deadline

Figure 2: Cloud Pub/Sub acknowledgement deadline

Message delivery guarantees

Amazon SQS has two types of queues available: standard queues and first-in-first-out (FIFO) queues. Amazon SQS standard queues and Cloud Pub/Sub both guarantee that each message will be delivered at least once. Similarly, the two services have comparable limitations: each may have occasional message duplication, and neither make guarantees about message delivery order.

Amazon SQS FIFO queues mitigate both problems by supporting exactly-once, ordered delivery of messages. The FIFO queues have a limit of 300 transactions per second.

Though Cloud Pub/Sub does not provide FIFO-style deduplication and message order guarantees, it's possible to achieve this functionality at the application level. For guidance, see Message Ordering.

Costs

Amazon SQS and Amazon SNS

Amazon SQS is priced based on data transfer out of Amazon SQS and number of requests. All Amazon SQS API calls count as requests. A single request can have from 1 to 10 messages, with a maximum total payload of 256 KB. Each 64 KB chunk of the payload is billed as a single request.

Amazon SNS is priced based on the number of notifications you publish, the number of notifications you deliver, and any additional API calls for managing topics and subscriptions. Delivery pricing varies by endpoint type.

Cloud Pub/Sub

Cloud Pub/Sub is priced based on the amount of data volume used for message delivery. Volume is calculated based on the message and attribute data for publish, pull, and push operations. For more details, see Cloud Pub/Sub pricing.

What's next?

Check out the other Google Cloud Platform for AWS Professionals articles:

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...

Google Cloud Platform for AWS Professionals