Autopilot 概览

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

Autopilot 是 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 中的一种新操作模式,旨在降低管理集群、降低用于生产的集群的性能,以及提高工作负载可用性。“运营模式”是指您对集群具有的灵活性、责任和控制。除了全托管式控制平面和节点自动化之外,GKE 还提供两种操作模式:

  • Autopilot:GKE 预配和管理集群的底层基础架构(包括节点和节点池),为您提供一个带亲身体验的优化集群。
  • 标准:您管理集群的底层基础架构,获得节点配置灵活性。

有了 Autopilot,您无需再监控节点的运行状况,也不必计算工作负载所需的计算能力。Autopilot 支持大多数 Kubernetes API、工具及其丰富的系统。您保留在 GKE 中,无需与 Compute Engine API、CLI 或界面交互,因为节点无法通过 Compute Engine 访问,就像标准模式中的那样。您只需为 Pod 在运行时请求的 CPU、内存和存储空间付费。

Autopilot 集群进行预先配置,已准备好用于生产工作负载。此简化配置遵循集群和工作负载设置以及安全性的 GKE 最佳做法和建议。其中部分内置设置(如 Autopilot 与标准版本比对表详述)是不可变的,其他可选设置则可以开启或关闭。

Autopilot 附带服务等级协议 (SLA),它同时涵盖控制平面和 Pod。借助 AutoPilot,由于底层基础架构抽象化,因此您可以专注于 Kubernetes API 和部署。Autopilot 使用您在 PodSpec 中定义的资源要求,并预配部署资源(如 CPU、内存和永久性磁盘)。

以下是您可能需要使用标准操作模式取代 Autopilot 的一些原因:

  • 您需要更好地控制集群配置。
  • 您的集群必须运行不符合 Autopilot 限制条件的工作负载。

扩缩

Autopilot 会根据您的 Pod 规范自动扩缩集群的资源,以便您可以专注于您的 Pod。要自动增加或减少 Pod 的数量,您可以使用标准 Kubernetes CPU 或内存指标来实现横向 pod 自动扩缩,也可以通过 Cloud Monitoring 使用自定义指标。

允许的资源范围

Autopilot 允许您为工作负载请求 CPU、内存和临时存储资源。允许的范围取决于您是要在默认的通用计算平台上还是在计算类上运行 Pod。如需了解默认容器资源请求和允许的资源范围,请参阅 Autopilot 中的资源请求

Autopilot 中的工作负载局限和限制

Autopilot 支持运行您的应用的大多数工作负载。为了使 GKE 提供节点并为您提供更流畅的运营体验,与 GKE 标准相比,存在以下限制和限制。其中一些限制是安全性方面的最佳做法,而其他限制则可让 Autopilot 集群安全管理。工作负载限制适用于所有 Pod,包括 Deployment、DaemonSet、ReplicaSet、ReplicationController、StatefulSet、Job 和 CronJob 的 Pod。

主机选项限制

不允许使用 HostPort 和 hostNetwork,因为节点管理由 GKE 处理。在写入模式下禁止使用 hostPath 卷,而只能在读取模式下使用 hostPath 卷以执行 /var/log/ 路径前缀。在工作负载中禁止使用主机命名空间

Linux 工作负载限制

Autopilot 仅支持以下工作负载的 Linux 功能

"SETPCAP", "MKNOD", "AUDIT_WRITE", "CHOWN", "DAC_OVERRIDE", "FOWNER",
"FSETID", "KILL", "SETGID", "SETUID", "NET_BIND_SERVICE", "SYS_CHROOT", "SETFCAP"

在 GKE 1.21 及更高版本中,还支持工作负载的 "SYS_PTRACE" 功能。

节点选择器和节点亲和性

支持地区相似性拓扑。节点亲和性节点选择器仅适用于以下键:topology.kubernetes.io/regiontopology.kubernetes.io/zonefailure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/regionfailure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/zonecloud.google.com/gke-os-distributionkubernetes.io/oskubernetes.io/arch。Autopilot 仅支持操作系统和架构的所有值。

您还可以将节点选择器和节点亲和性用于以下用途:

无特权 Pod

工作负载的容器的特权模式主要用于更改节点,例如更改 kubelet 或网络设置。使用 Autopilot 集群时,不允许更改节点,因此也不允许使用这些类型的 Pod。此限制可能会影响某些管理员工作负载。

Pod 相似性和反相似性

虽然 GKE 会为您管理 Autopilot 中的节点,但您仍可安排 Pod。Autopilot 支持 Pod 粘性,以便您可以将 Pod 放置在一个节点上,从而实现网络效率。例如,您可以使用 Pod 亲和性在带有后端 Pod 的节点上部署前端 Pod。Pod 亲和性限制仅适用于以下密钥:topology.kubernetes.io/regiontopology.kubernetes.io/zonefailure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/regionfailure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/zone

Autopilot 还支持反亲和性,因此您可以跨节点分散 Pod,以避免单点故障。例如,您可以使用 Pod 反相似性来防止前端 Pod 与后端 Pod 共存。

仅支持分离工作负载的容忍设置

仅支持分离工作负载的容忍设置根据需要,节点自动预配功能会自动添加污点。

Autopilot 中的安全限制

容器隔离

Autopilot 将对您的 Pod 实施安全强化配置,以便提供增强的安全隔离功能,并且有助于限制容器对集群漏洞漏洞的影响:

  • 默认情况下,容器运行时默认 seccomp 配置文件会应用到集群中的所有 Pod。
  • 已删除所有容器的 CAP_NET_RAW 容器权限。CAP_NET_RAW 权限通常不使用,并且是多容器转义漏洞的主题。缺少 CAP_NET_RAW 可能会导致在容器内使用 ping 失败。
  • 系统会强制执行 Workload Identity,并阻止 Pod 访问底层 Compute Engine 服务帐号和其他敏感节点元数据。
  • 设置了 spec.ExternalIPs 的服务以防止出现 CVE-2020-8554 攻击。我们很少使用这些服务。
  • 允许使用以下 StorageType。其他 StorageType 会被阻止,因为它们需要对该节点的权限:

    "configMap", "csi", "downwardAPI", "emptyDir", "gcePersistentDisk", "hostPath",
    "nfs", "persistentVolumeClaim", "projected", "secret"
    

Pod 安全政策

Autopilot 会强制执行为容器提供增强隔离的设置。Autopilot 集群不支持 Kubernetes PodSecurityPolicy。在 1.21 之前的 GKE 版本中,也不支持 OPA GatekeeperPolicy Controller

Autopilot 中的安全边界

在 Kubernetes 层,GKE AutoPilot 模式提供 Kubernetes API,但移除了使用某些高权限 Kubernetes 原语(如特权 Pod)的权限,目标是为了限制访问、修改或直接控制节点虚拟机 (VM)。

为 GKE Autopilot 模式设定上述限制,以便限制工作负载对节点虚拟机进行低级层访问,从而使 Google Cloud 能够全面管理节点以及 Pod 级层的 SLA

这样做的目的是防止意外访问节点虚拟机。我们接受出于此目的通过 Google 的漏洞奖励计划 (VRP) 提交的报告内容,并将根据 Google VRP 奖励小组的决定对提交的报告进行奖励。

特权用户(例如集群管理员)从设计上拥有对任何 GKE 集群的完全控制权。为保证安全性,我们建议您避免广泛授予强大的 GKE/Kubernetes 特权,而是尽可能使用命名空间管理员委任,如多租户指南中所述。

Autopilot 上的工作负载将继续享受与 GKE Standard 模式相同的安全性,在该模式下,单租户虚拟机已在用户项目中预配供其专用。此外,与 Standard 一样,在每台虚拟机上,集群内的 Autopilot 工作负载可以在具有安全强化型共享核心的虚拟机上一起运行。

由于共享核心表示单个安全边界,因此 GKE 建议您在具有高度隔离需求(例如高风险或不受信任的工作负载)的情况下,在使用 GKE 沙盒以提供多层安全保护的 GKE Standard 集群上运行工作负载。

AutoPilot 中的其他限制

证书签名请求

您不能在 Autopilot 内创建证书签名请求

外部监控工具

大多数外部监控工具都需要访问受限的服务。多个 Google Cloud 合作伙伴提供的解决方案可用于 Autopilot,但并非所有支持,且自定义监控工具无法在 Autopilot 集群上安装。

外部服务

Autopilot 集群不允许外部 IP 服务。如需向 Service 提供外部 IP,您可以使用 Service 的 LoadBalancer 类型,或使用 Ingress 将 Service 添加到外部 IP 地址在多个服务之间共享的 IP。

托管式命名空间

kube-system 命名空间是托管的,这意味着此命名空间中的所有资源无法更改,也无法创建新资源。

没有更改节点

如果工作负载具有特定的计算要求,则您无法更改 Autopilot 节点,例如更改底层机器类型。

无转化

不支持将标准集群转换为 Autopilot 模式,并且不支持 Autopilot 集群转换为标准模式。

没有专用集群的直接外部入站连接

包含专用节点的 Autopilot 集群没有外部 IP,无法直接接受入站连接。如果您在 NodePort 上部署服务,则无法从 VPC 外部(例如通过互联网)访问这些服务。如需在 Autopilot 集群中公开应用,请使用 Service。如需了解详情,请参阅使用服务公开应用

无 Pod 爆发

对于标准集群,可以将 Pod 配置为爆发到节点上的未使用容量。对于 Autopilot 集群,因为所有 Pod 对请求设置了限制,因此无法进行资源爆发。请务必确保您的 Pod 规范为资源请求定义了足够的资源,并且不依赖于爆发。

无法通过 SSH 连接到节点

由于您无法再在 Autopilot 中预配或管理节点,因此无法通过 SSH 访问节点。GKE 会处理节点的所有操作方面,包括节点运行状况和节点上运行的所有 Kubernetes 组件。

您仍然可以使用 Kubernetes exec 功能远程连接到正在运行的容器,以在容器中执行调试命令,包括连接到交互式 shell(例如使用 kubectl exec -it deploy/YOUR_DEPLOYMENT -- sh.

资源限制

在 Autopilot 集群中,每个 Pod 都被视为有保证的 QoS 类 Pod,限制等于请求。如果您未指定资源限制,Autopilot 会自动将资源限制设置为等于请求数。如果指定了资源限制,您的限制将被替换,等于等于请求量。

串行端口日志记录

Autopilot 集群需要启用串行端口日志记录以支持调试节点并进行问题排查。如果您的 Google Cloud 组织具有强制执行 compute.disableSerialPortLogging 限制条件的组织政策,则新节点可能不会预配。

请要求组织政策管理员在包含 Autopilot 集群的项目中移除此限制条件。

网络钩子限制

在 GKE 1.21 及更高版本中,您还可以创建变更动态准入网络钩子。但是,Autopilot 会修改变更网络钩子对象来添加命名空间选择器,以防止代管式命名空间中的资源(例如 kube-system)被拦截。此外,在规则中指定以下一个或多个资源(及其任何子资源)的网络钩子会被拒绝:

- group: ""
  resource: nodes
- group: ""
  resource: persistentvolumes
- group: certificates.k8s.io
  resource: certificatesigningrequests
- group: authentication.k8s.io
  resource: tokenreviews

您不能使用 resourcesgroups 字段中代表所有值的 * 标记来允许上述资源。

用户模拟限制

GKE 1.22.4-gke.1501 及更高版本支持针对所有用户定义的用户和群组的用户模拟。无法模拟系统用户和群组(例如 kube-apiserver 用户和 system:masters 群组)。

无法安装 Google Cloud Marketplace 应用

您无法在 Autopilot 集群中安装 Cloud Marketplace 应用。

问题排查

如需了解问题排查步骤,请参阅排查 Autopilot 集群问题

后续步骤

Autopilot overview


Autopilot is a new mode of operation in Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) that is designed to reduce the operational cost of managing clusters, optimize your clusters for production, and yield higher workload availability. The mode of operation refers to the level of flexibility, responsibility, and control that you have over your cluster. In addition to the benefits of a fully managed control plane and node automations, GKE offers two modes of operation:

  • Autopilot: GKE provisions and manages the cluster's underlying infrastructure, including nodes and node pools, giving you an optimized cluster with a hands-off experience.
  • Standard: You manage the cluster's underlying infrastructure, giving you node configuration flexibility.

With Autopilot, you no longer have to monitor the health of your nodes or calculate the amount of compute capacity that your workloads require. Autopilot supports most Kubernetes APIs, tools, and its rich ecosystem. You stay within GKE without having to interact with the Compute Engine APIs, CLIs, or UI, as the nodes are not accessible through Compute Engine, like they are in Standard mode. You pay only for the CPU, memory, and storage that your Pods request while they are running.

Autopilot clusters are pre-configured with an optimized cluster configuration that is ready for production workloads. This streamlined configuration follows GKE best practices and recommendations for cluster and workload setup and security. Some of these built-in settings (detailed in the Autopilot and Standard comparison table below) are immutable and other optional settings can be turned on or off.

Autopilot comes with a SLA that covers both the control plane and your Pods. With Autopilot, as the underlying infrastructure is abstracted away, you can focus on the Kubernetes API and your deployments. Autopilot uses the resource requirements that you define in your PodSpec and provisions the resources for the deployment such as CPU, memory, and persistent disks.

Here are some reasons why you might want to use the Standard mode of operation instead of Autopilot:

  • You require a higher level of control over your cluster configuration.
  • Your clusters must run workloads that do not meet Autopilot constraints.
  • Your workloads are highly compute-intensive. Autopilot clusters are ideal for running most production workloads, but Standard clusters might be better suited for compute-intensive workloads that require high-performance compute platforms.

Comparing Autopilot and Standard modes

With Autopilot, GKE manages many complexities of the lifecycle of your cluster. The following table shows options that are available depending on the mode of operation for the cluster:

  • Pre-configured: This setting is built-in and you cannot change it.
  • Default: This setting is turned on but you can override it.
  • Optional: This setting is turned off but you can turn it on.
Options Autopilot mode Standard mode
Basic cluster type Availability and version:

Pre-configured: Regional
Default: Regular release channel
Availability and version:

Optional:
Nodes and node pools Managed by GKE. Managed, configured, and specified by you.
Provisioning resources GKE dynamically provisions resources based on your Pod specification. You manually provision additional resources and set overall cluster size. Configure cluster autoscaling and node auto-provisioning to help automate the process.
Compute class Default: General-purpose platform optimized for most workloads.
Optional: Choose compute classes for workloads with specific needs such as Arm architecture.
Default: General-purpose hardware configuration.
Optional: Choose an optimized compute class and architecture.
Image type Pre-configured: Container-Optimized OS with containerd Choose one of the following:
Billing Pay per Pod resource requests (CPU, memory, and ephemeral storage) Pay per node (CPU, memory, boot disk)
Security Pre-configured:
Optional:
Optional:
Networking Pre-configured:
Default:
  • Public cluster
  • Default CIDR ranges

    Note: Ensure that you review your CIDR ranges to factor in expected cluster growth.

  • Network name/subnet
Optional:
Optional:
Upgrades, repair, and maintenance Pre-configured:
Optional:
Authentication credentials Pre-configured: Workload Identity Optional:
Scaling Pre-configured: Autopilot handles all the scaling and configuring of your nodes.

Default:
Optional:
Logging Pre-configured: System and workload logging Default: System and workload logging

Optional: System-only logging
Monitoring Pre-configured: System monitoring

Optional: System and workload monitoring
Default: System monitoring

Optional: System and workload monitoring
Cluster add-ons Pre-configured:
Default:
Optional:
  • Managed Anthos Service Mesh (Preview)
  • Istio (Use Managed Anthos Service Mesh (Preview))
  • Optional:

    1Further configuration required to enable Cloud NAT on a cluster.

    Unsupported cluster features

    The following GKE cluster features are not supported for Autopilot clusters:

    Compute Engine instances

    For GKE versions prior to 1.21.4, the following instance types are not supported in Autopilot clusters:

    Security

    Storage

    Add-ons and integrations

    Scaling

    Autopilot automatically scales the cluster's resources based on your Pod specifications, so that you can focus on your Pods. To automatically increase or decrease the number of Pods, you can implement Horizontal pod autoscaling using the standard Kubernetes CPU or memory metrics, or using custom metrics through Cloud Monitoring.

    Allowable resource ranges

    Autopilot lets you request CPU, memory, and ephemeral storage resources for your workloads. The allowed ranges depend on whether you want to run your Pods on the default general-purpose compute platform, or on a compute class. For information about the default container resource requests and the allowed resource ranges, refer to Resource requests in Autopilot.

    Workload limitations and restrictions in Autopilot

    Autopilot supports most workloads that run your applications. In order for GKE to offer management of the nodes and provide you with a more streamlined operational experience, there are a few restrictions and limitations when compared to GKE Standard. Some of these limitations are security best practices, while others allow Autopilot clusters to be safely managed. Workload limitations apply to all Pods, including those launched by Deployments, DaemonSets, ReplicaSets, ReplicationControllers, StatefulSets, Jobs, and CronJobs.

    Host options restrictions

    HostPort and hostNetwork are not permitted because node management is handled by GKE. Using hostPath volumes in write mode is prohibited, while using hostPath volumes in read mode is allowed only for /var/log/ path prefixes. Using host namespaces in workloads is prohibited.

    Linux workload limitations

    Autopilot supports only the following Linux capabilities for workloads:

    "SETPCAP", "MKNOD", "AUDIT_WRITE", "CHOWN", "DAC_OVERRIDE", "FOWNER",
    "FSETID", "KILL", "SETGID", "SETUID", "NET_BIND_SERVICE", "SYS_CHROOT", "SETFCAP"
    

    In GKE version 1.21 and later, the "SYS_PTRACE" capability is also supported for workloads.

    Node selectors and node affinity

    Zonal affinity topologies are supported. Node affinity and node selectors are limited for use only with the following keys: topology.kubernetes.io/region, topology.kubernetes.io/zone, failure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/region, failure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/zone, cloud.google.com/gke-os-distribution, kubernetes.io/os, and kubernetes.io/arch. Not all values of OS and arch are supported in Autopilot.

    You can also use node selectors and node affinity for the following purposes:

    No Container Threat Detection

    Autopilot does not support Container Threat Detection.

    No privileged Pods

    Privileged mode for containers in workloads is mainly used to make changes to nodes, like changing kubelet or networking settings. With Autopilot clusters, node changes aren't allowed, so these types of Pods are also not allowed. This restriction might impact some admin workloads.

    Pod affinity and anti-affinity

    Although GKE manages your nodes for you in Autopilot, you retain the ability to schedule your Pods. Autopilot supports Pod affinity , so that you can co-locate Pods together on a single node for network efficiency. For example, you can use Pod affinity to deploy frontend Pods on nodes with backend Pods. Pod affinity is limited for use only with the following keys: topology.kubernetes.io/region, topology.kubernetes.io/zone, failure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/region, and failure-domain.beta.kubernetes.io/zone.

    Autopilot also supports anti-affinity, so that you can spread Pods across nodes to avoid single points of failure. For example, you can use Pod anti-affinity to prevent frontend Pods from co-locating with backend Pods.

    Tolerations supported only for workload separation

    Tolerations are supported only for workload separation. Taints are automatically added by node auto-provisioning as needed.

    Security limitations in Autopilot

    Container isolation

    Autopilot enforces a hardened configuration for your Pods that provides enhanced security isolation and helps limit the impact of container escape vulnerabilities on your cluster:

    • The container runtime default seccomp profile is applied, by default, to all Pods in your cluster.
    • The CAP_NET_RAW container permission is dropped for all containers. The CAP_NET_RAW permission is not typically used and was the subject of multiple container escape vulnerabilities. The lack of CAP_NET_RAW might cause the use of ping to fail inside your container.
    • Workload Identity is enforced and prevents Pod access to the underlying Compute Engine service account and other sensitive node metadata.
    • Services with spec.ExternalIPs set are blocked to protect against CVE-2020-8554. These services are rarely used.
    • The following StorageTypes are allowed. Other StorageTypes are blocked because they require privileges over the node:

      "configMap", "csi", "downwardAPI", "emptyDir", "gcePersistentDisk", "hostPath",
      "nfs", "persistentVolumeClaim", "projected", "secret"
      

    Pod security policies

    Autopilot enforces settings that provide enhanced isolation for your containers. Kubernetes PodSecurityPolicy is not supported on Autopilot clusters. In GKE versions older than 1.21, OPA Gatekeeper and Policy Controller are also not supported.

    Security boundaries in Autopilot

    At the Kubernetes layer, the GKE Autopilot mode provides the Kubernetes API but removes permissions to use some highly privileged Kubernetes primitives, like privileged Pods, with the goal to limit the ability to access, modify, or directly control the node virtual machine (VM).

    These restrictions are put in place for GKE Autopilot mode to limit workloads from having low-level access to the node VM, in order to allow Google Cloud to offer full management of nodes, and a Pod-level SLA.

    Our intent is to prevent unintended access to the node virtual machine. We accept submissions to that effect through the Google Vulnerability Reward Program (VRP) and will reward reports at the discretion of the Google VRP reward panel.

    By design, privileged users, like cluster administrators, have full control of any GKE cluster. As a security best practice, we recommend that you avoid granting powerful GKE/Kubernetes privileges widely and instead use namespace admin delegation wherever possible as described in our multi-tenancy guidance.

    Workloads on Autopilot continue to enjoy the same security as GKE Standard mode, where single-tenant VMs are provisioned in the user's project for their exclusive use. And, like Standard, on each individual VM, Autopilot workloads within a cluster might run together on a VM with a kernel that is security-hardened, but shared.

    Since the shared kernel represents a single security boundary, GKE recommends that if you require strong isolation, such as high-risk or untrusted workloads, run your workloads on GKE Standard clusters using GKE Sandbox to provide multi-layer security protection.

    Other limitations in Autopilot

    Certificate signing requests

    You cannot create certificate signing requests within Autopilot.

    External monitoring tools

    Most external monitoring tools require access that is restricted. Solutions from several Google Cloud partners are available for use on Autopilot, however not all are supported, and custom monitoring tools cannot be installed on Autopilot clusters.

    External services

    External IP Services are not permitted on Autopilot clusters. To give a Service an external IP, you can use a LoadBalancer type of Service or use an Ingress to add the Service to an external IP shared among several services.

    Managed namespaces

    The kube-system namespace is managed, meaning that all resources in this namespace cannot be altered and new resources cannot be created.

    No changes to nodes

    You can't make changes to Autopilot nodes, such as changes to the underlying machine type if your workloads have specific compute requirements.

    No conversion

    Converting Standard clusters to Autopilot mode and converting Autopilot clusters to Standard mode is not supported.

    No direct external inbound connections for private clusters

    Autopilot clusters with private nodes do not have external IPs and cannot accept inbound connections directly. If you deploy services on a NodePort, you cannot access those services from outside the VPC, such as from the internet. To expose applications externally in Autopilot clusters, use Services. For more information, see Exposing applications using services.

    No Pod bursting

    For Standard clusters, Pods can be configured to burst into unused capacity on the node. For Autopilot clusters, since all Pods have limits set on requests, resource bursting is not possible. It is important to ensure that your Pod specification defines adequate resources for the resource requests, and does not rely on bursting.

    No SSH

    Since you're no longer provisioning or managing the nodes in Autopilot, there's no SSH access. GKE handles all operational aspects of the nodes, including node health and all Kubernetes components running on the nodes.

    Resource limits

    In an Autopilot cluster, each Pod is treated as a Guaranteed QoS Class Pod, with limits that are equal to requests. Autopilot automatically sets resource limits equal to requests if you do not have resource limits specified. If you do specify resource limits, your limits will be overridden and set to be equal to the requests.

    Serial port logging

    Autopilot clusters require serial port logging to be enabled to debug and troubleshoot your nodes. If your Google Cloud organization has an organization policy that enforces the compute.disableSerialPortLogging constraint, new nodes might not provision.

    Ask your organization policy administrator to remove this constraint in projects with Autopilot clusters.

    Webhooks limitations

    In GKE version 1.21 and later, you can also create mutating dynamic admission webhooks. However, Autopilot modifies mutating webhooks objects to add a namespace selector which excludes the resources in managed namespaces (e.g. kube-system) from being intercepted. Additionally, webhooks which specify one or more of following resources (and any of their sub-resources) in the rules, will be rejected:

    - group: ""
      resource: nodes
    - group: ""
      resource: persistentvolumes
    - group: certificates.k8s.io
      resource: certificatesigningrequests
    - group: authentication.k8s.io
      resource: tokenreviews
    

    You cannot use the * token, which represents all values, in the resources or groups field to allow the preceding resources.

    User impersonation limitation

    GKE version 1.22.4-gke.1501 and later support user impersonation for all user-defined users and groups. System users and groups such as the kube-apiserver user and the system:masters group cannot be impersonated.

    Troubleshooting

    Cannot create a cluster: 0 nodes registered

    When you create an Autopilot cluster, it fails with the following error:

    All cluster resources were brought up, but: only 0 nodes out of 2 have registered.
    

    To resolve the issue, ensure that the default Compute Engine service account is not disabled. Run the following command to check:

    gcloud iam service-accounts describe SERVICE_ACCOUNT
    

    Replace SERVICE_ACCOUNT with the numeric service account ID or service account email address (like 123456789876543212345 or my-iam-account@somedomain.com).

    Nodes fail to scale up

    After creating an Autopilot cluster, the logs show the following message:

        "napFailureReasons": [
                {
                  "messageId": "no.scale.up.nap.pod.zonal.resources.exceeded",
                  ...
    

    This error refers to a noScaleUp event, where node auto-provisioning did not provision any node group for the Pod in the zone because doing so would violate resource limits.

    If you encounter this error, confirm the following:

    What's next