網路總覽

本頁面提供 Google Kubernetes Engine 網路各主要部分的總覽。這些資訊適用於剛開始使用 Kubernetes 的人、經驗豐富的叢集操作者或應用程式開發人員,提供更多 Kubernetes 網路相關知識,讓他們能夠設計出更完善的應用程式或設定 Kubernetes 工作負載。

Kubernetes 可讓您以陳述式定義應用程式的部署方式、應用程式彼此之間的通訊方式、應用程式與 Kubernetes 控制層的通訊方式,以及用戶端連線到應用程式的方式。本頁面也提供 GKE 如何透過網路設定 Google Cloud Platform 服務的資訊。

如要使用 Kubernetes 自動化調度管理應用程式,您在思考應用程式及其主機的網路設計時,必須思考 Pod、服務和外部用戶端該如何進行通訊,而不是主機或 VM 要如何連線。

Kubernetes 和 GCP 會根據 Kubernetes 部署的陳述式模型以及 GCP 上的叢集設定,在每個節點上動態設定 IP 篩選規則、路由表和防火牆規則。請勿在節點上進行手動變更,因為 GKE 會覆寫這些變更,使叢集無法正常運作。只有在設定發生問題而需要除錯時,才可直接存取節點。

必備條件

本頁面使用的術語與網際網路通訊協定套件的傳輸網際網路應用程式層有關,包括 HTTPDNS,但您並不需要是這些主題的專家。

此外,如果您對 Linux 網路管理概念及 iptables 規則和轉送等公用程式有基本的瞭解,可能會比較容易理解本頁面的內容。

Kubernetes 網路模型極度仰賴 IP 位址。服務、Pod、容器和節點會透過 IP 位址和通訊埠進行通訊。Kubernetes 提供不同類型的負載平衡,以將要求導向到正確的 Pod。本主題稍後會提供這些機制的詳細說明。請牢記以下術語,在閱讀時將有所幫助:

  • ClusterIP:指派給服務的 IP 位址。在其他文件中,ClusterIP 可能稱為「叢集 IP」。這個位址在服務的生命週期內會維持不變,詳見本主題的服務一節。
  • Pod IP:指派給特定 Pod 的 IP 位址。這是一個臨時的位址,詳見本主題 Pod 一節。
  • 節點 IP:指派給特定節點的 IP 位址。

叢集內的網路

本節探討 Kubernetes 叢集內的網路,因為它與 IP 分配Pod服務有關。

IP 分配

Kubernetes 使用多種 IP 範圍,將 IP 位址指派給節點、Pod 和服務。

  • 每個節點都有一個 IP 位址,是從叢集的虛擬私人雲端 (VPC) 網路指派而來。這個節點 IP 能讓 kube-proxykubelet 等控制元件連線到 Kubernetes API 伺服器。
  • 每個 Pod 都有一個 IP 位址,是從 256 個 IP 位址範圍 (即 /24 CIDR 區塊) 中指派而來。建立叢集時,您可以選擇指定這個範圍。
  • 每個服務都有一個 IP 位址 (稱為 ClusterIP),由叢集的 VPC 網路指派。建立叢集時,您可以選擇自訂虛擬私人雲端網路。

詳情請造訪使用別名 IP 建立虛擬私人雲端原生叢集

Pod

在 Kubernetes 中,Pod 是 Kubernetes 叢集內最基本的可部署單位。一個 Pod 可執行一或多個容器。一個節點可執行零或多個 Pod。叢集中的每個節點都是節點集區的一部分。在 GKE 中,這些節點是虛擬機器,做為 Compute Engine 中的執行個體執行。

Pod 也能連結至外部儲存磁碟區及其他自訂資源。本圖表顯示執行兩個 Pod 的單一節點,這兩個 Pod 又各自連結至兩個磁碟區。

圖表顯示上方段落所述,執行兩個 Pod 的單一節點

當 Kubernetes 排程要在節點上執行某個 Pod 時,會在節點的 Linux 核心中為這個 Pod 建立網路命名空間。這個網路命名空間會連接節點的實體網路介面 (例如 eth0),而 Pod 則使用虛擬網路介面,讓封包傳入或傳出 Pod。在節點的根網路命名空間中,關聯的虛擬網路介面會連接到 Linux 橋接介面,允許在同一個節點上的 Pod 互相通訊。Pod 也能使用相同的虛擬介面,將封包傳送到節點外。

Kubernetes 會從節點上專為 Pod 預留的位址範圍,將 IP 位址 (Pod IP) 指派給 Pod 的網路命名空間中的虛擬網路介面。這個位址範圍是指派給 Pod 叢集的 IP 位址範圍中的一部分,您可以在建立叢集時進行相關設定。

在 Pod 中執行的容器會使用 Pod 的網路命名空間。從容器的角度來看,Pod 像是一個具有網路介面的實體機器。Pod 中的所有容器都會看到同一個網路介面。 每個容器的 localhost 都會透過 Pod 連線至節點的實體網路介面,例如 eth0

請注意:此連接性差別很大,具體取決於您使用 GKE 的原生 CNI 或選擇使用 Calico 的實作方式 (在建立叢集時啟用網路政策)。

  • 如果您使用 GKE 的 CNI,veth pair 的一端會連結到在其命名空間的 Pod,另一端則連接到 Linux 橋接裝置 cbr0。在這種情況下,下列指令會顯示連結到 cbr0 的各種 Pod 的 MAC 位址︰

    arp -n
    

    此外,叫用工具箱容器中的下列各項會顯示連結到 cbr0 的每一個 veth pair 的根命名空間端︰

    brctl show cbr0
    
  • 如果啟用了網路政策,veth pair 的一端會連結到 Pod,另一端則連結到 eth0。在這種情況下,下列指令會顯示連結到不同 veth 裝置的各種 Pod MAC 位址。

    arp -n
    

    此外,叫用工具箱容器中的下列項目會顯示並沒有稱為 cbr0 的 Linux 橋接裝置︰

    brctl show
    

促成叢集內部轉寄的 iptables 規則隨情況而異。進行連線問題的疑難排解時,必須牢記這些區別。

根據預設,每個 Pod 都可以存取同一個叢集中,在所有節點上執行的所有 Pod,但您可以限制 Pod 之間的互相存取。Kubernetes 會定期拆散 Pod 再重新建立。這會在變更 Pod 的陳述式設定或變更容器的映像檔,或是節點無法使用時,在升級節點集區時發生。因此,Pod 的 IP 位址算是一個實作細節,請勿仰賴這個設定。Kubernetes 會透過服務提供穩定的 IP 位址。

服務

在 Kubernetes 中,您可以將任意鍵/值組合 (稱為標籤) 指派給任何 Kubernetes 資源。Kubernetes 使用標籤將多個相關的 Pod 組合成一個邏輯單元,這個邏輯單元即稱為「服務」。服務有一個穩定的 IP 位址和數個通訊埠,並會在這組 Pod 之間提供負載平衡,前提是這些 Pod 的標籤符合您在建立服務時,在標籤選取器中定義的所有標籤。

以下圖表顯示兩個不同的服務,各自由多個 Pod 構成。圖表中的每個 Pod 都有 app=demo 標籤,但其他的標籤卻都不同。「前端」服務配對具有 app=democomponent=frontend 的所有 Pod,「使用者」服務則配對具有 app=democomponent=users 的所有 Pod。用戶端 Pod 不完全符合這兩個服務選取器,因此,它不屬於任何一個服務的一部分。不過,用戶端 Pod 可以與服務進行通訊,因為它們在同一個叢集中執行。

圖表顯示之前段落所述,兩個獨立的服務

Kubernetes 會為每個新建立的服務指派一個穩定可靠的 IP 位址 (ClusterIP),這個 IP 位址來自叢集的可用服務 IP 位址集區。Kubernetes 也會新增 DNS 項目,以將主機名稱指派給 ClusterIP。叢集內的 ClusterIP 與主機名稱不能重複,且在服務的整個生命週期中都不會變更,只有在從叢集的設定中刪除服務時,Kubernetes 才會釋出 ClusterIP 和主機名稱。您可以透過 ClusterIP 或服務的主機名稱,連至執行應用程式、健康狀態良好的 Pod。

乍看之下,服務似乎會造成應用程式單點故障。不過,Kubernetes 會盡可能地使流量均勻分散在整組 Pod 中,而這些 Pod 又是在眾多節點上執行,這樣叢集就能承受影響一或多個 (但非全部) 節點的服務中斷。

Kubernetes 使用 kube-proxy 元件管理 Pod 與服務之間的互相連線,該元件會在每個節點上執行。kube-proxy 不是 內置 Proxy,而是輸出型負載平衡控制器,其會在節點的 iptables 子系統新增及移除目的地 NAT (DNAT) 規則,以監控 Kubernetes API 伺服器,並持續將 ClusterIP 對應至健康狀態良好的 Pod。在 Pod 中執行的容器將流量傳送至服務的 ClusterIP 時,節點會隨機選取一個 Pod,並將流量轉送至該 Pod。

設定服務時,您可以選擇透過定義 porttargetPort 的值,重新對應其接聽埠。

  • port 是用戶端連至應用程式的位置。
  • targetPort 是應用程式實際聆聽 Pod 內流量的通訊埠。

kube-proxy 透過在節點上新增及移除 iptables 規則,來管理這個通訊埠的重新對應。

這個圖表說明在不同節點上從用戶端 Pod 到伺服器 Pod 的流量。用戶端可在 172.16.12.100:80 連線到服務。Kubernetes API 伺服器會維護執行應用程式的 Pod 清單。每個節點上的 kube-proxy 程序都會使用這個清單來建立 iptables 規則,將流量導向適當的 Pod (例如 10.255.255.202:8080)。用戶端 Pod 不需要知道叢集的拓撲,或其中個別 Pod 或容器的任何詳細資料。

圖表說明之前段落所述,連線至服務並轉送至 Pod 的用戶端

叢集外的網路

本節說明來自叢集外的流量如何到達在 Kubernetes 叢集內執行的應用程式。在設計叢集的應用程式和工作負載時,這資訊非常重要。

您已瞭解 Kubernetes 如何使用服務,為 Pod 內執行的應用程式提供穩定的 IP 位址。根據預設,Pod 不會公開發佈外部 IP 位址,因為 kube-proxy 會管理每個節點上的所有流量。Pod 及其容器可以自由地通訊,但叢集外的連線無法存取服務。舉例來說,在上一個插圖中,叢集外的用戶端無法透過其 ClusterIP 存取前端服務。

GKE 提供三種不同類型的負載平衡器來控制存取權,並使連入流量盡可能地在叢集中均勻分散。您可以將一個服務設定為同時使用多種負載平衡器。

  • 外部負載平衡器管理來自叢集外以及 GCP 虛擬私人雲端 (VPC) 網路外的流量。外部負載平衡器使用與 GCP 網路關聯的轉送規則,將流量轉送至 Kubernetes 節點。
  • 內部負載平衡器則管理來自同一個 VPC 網路內的流量。如同外部負載平衡器,內部負載平衡器使用與 GCP 網路關聯的轉送規則,將流量轉送至 Kubernetes 節點。
  • HTTP(S) 負載平衡器是 HTTP(S) 流量專用的特殊外部負載平衡器。HTTP(S) 負載平衡器不使用轉送規則,而是使用輸入資源將流量轉送至 Kubernetes 節點。

當流量抵達 Kubernetes 節點時,無論使用哪種負載平衡器,都會以同樣的方式處理流量。負載平衡器不知道叢集中的哪些節點正在執行 Pod 以提供服務。負載平衡器會將叢集中所有節點的流量進行平衡,包含未執行相關 Pod 的節點。在地區叢集上,負載會分散在叢集所在地區中,所有區域的所有節點間。流量轉送至節點時,節點會將流量轉送到在同一個或不同節點上執行的 Pod。節點使用 kube-proxy 在節點上管理的 iptables 規則,將流量轉寄到隨機選擇的 Pod。

在下圖中,網路負載平衡器將流量傳送到中間節點,該流量會被轉送到第一個節點上的某個 Pod。

顯示流量從節點轉送到另一節點上某個 Pod 的圖形,如前一段所述

負載平衡器將流量傳送到一個節點時,流量可能會被轉送到不同節點上的 Pod。這樣會需要額外的網路躍點。如果您希望避免使用額外的躍點,可以指定流量必須前往最初收到該流量的同一個節點上的 Pod。

如要指定流量必須前往相同節點上的 Pod,請在服務資訊清單中將 externalTrafficPolicy 設定為 Local

apiVersion: v1
kind: Service
metadata:
  name: my-lb-service
spec:
  type: LoadBalancer
  externalTrafficPolicy: Local
  selector:
    app: demo
    component: users
  ports:
  - protocol: TCP
    port: 80
    targetPort: 8080

externalTrafficPolicy 設定為 Local時,負載平衡器只會將流量傳送到具有屬於該服務、健康狀態良好的 Pod 的節點。負載平衡器使用健康狀態檢查決定哪一個節點擁有合適的 Pod。

外部負載平衡器

若要讓服務可從叢集外及虛擬私人雲端網路外進行存取,您可以在定義服務時,將服務的 type 欄位設定為 LoadBalancer,而將服務設定為 LoadBalancer。接著,GKE 會在服務的前面佈建網路負載平衡器。網路負載平衡器知道叢集中的所有節點,並會設定 VPC 網路的防火牆規則,允許使用服務的外部 IP 位址從 VPC 外連線至服務。您可以為服務指派一個靜態外部 IP 位址。詳情請造訪使用靜態 IP 位址設定網域名稱

技術詳細資料

使用外部負載平衡器時,抵達的流量一開始會透過與 GCP 網路關聯的轉送規則轉送至節點。流量抵達節點後,節點會使用其 iptables NAT 資料表來選擇 Pod。kube-proxy 會管理節點上的 iptables 規則。

內部負載平衡器

針對需要從相同 VPC 網路內連至叢集的流量,您可以設定服務以佈建內部負載平衡器。內部負載平衡器會從叢集的 VPC 子網路選擇 IP 位址,而不是從外部 IP 位址進行選擇。VPC 網路內的應用程式或服務可以使用這個 IP 位址,與叢集內的服務通訊。

技術詳細資料

內部負載平衡功能由 GCP 提供。當流量抵達特定節點時,該節點會使用其 iptables NAT 資料表為要求選擇 Pod,不論 Pod 是否位於不同的節點。 kube-proxy 會管理節點上的 iptables 規則。

如要進一步瞭解內部負載平衡器,請造訪內部負載平衡器說明文件

HTTP(S) 負載平衡器

許多應用程式 (例如符合 REST 樣式的網路服務 API) 都是透過 HTTP(S) 進行通訊。您可以透過 Kubernetes 輸入資源,讓 VPC 網路外的用戶端存取這類應用程式。輸入資源可讓您將主機名稱和 URL 路徑對應至叢集內的服務。使用 HTTP(S) 負載平衡器時,您必須將服務設定為使用 NodePort 以及 ClusterIP。當流量在位於 NodePort 的節點 IP 存取服務時,GKE 會為該服務將流量轉送至健康狀態良好的 Pod。您可以指定 NodePort,或讓 GKE 指派隨機的未使用通訊埠。

建立輸入資源時,GKE 會在 GCP 專案中佈建 HTTP(S) 負載平衡器。負載平衡器會將要求傳送至位於 NodePort 的節點 IP 位址。流量抵達節點後,節點會使用其 iptables NAT 資料表來選擇 Pod。kube-proxy 會管理節點上的 iptables 規則。

這個輸入定義會將 demo.example.com 的流量轉送至通訊埠 80 上名為 frontend 的服務,並將 demo-backend.example.com 轉送至通訊埠 8080 上名為 users 的服務。

apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1
kind: Ingress
metadata:
  name: demo
spec:
  rules:
  - host: demo.example.com
    http:
      paths:
      - backend:
          serviceName: frontend
          servicePort: 80
  - host: demo-backend.example.com
    http:
      paths:
      - backend:
          serviceName: users
          servicePort: 8080

詳情請造訪 Google Cloud Platform 上的輸入

技術詳細資料

建立輸入物件時,GKE 輸入控制器會根據輸入資訊清單和關聯服務資訊清單中的規則,設定 GCP HTTP(S) 負載平衡器。用戶端會將要求傳送至 HTTP(S) 負載平衡器。負載平衡器是實際的 Proxy,會選擇節點並將要求轉送至該節點的 NodeIP:NodePort 組合。節點會使用其 iptables NAT 資料表來選擇 Pod。 kube-proxy 會管理節點上的 iptables 規則。

限制連到 Pod 與服務的連線

根據預設,在相同叢集內執行的所有 Pod 皆可自由通訊。不過,您可以依照您的需求,以不同的方式限制叢集內的連線。

限制 Pod 之間的互相存取

您可以使用網路政策,限制 Pod 之間的互相存取。網路政策定義可讓您任意組合標籤、IP 範圍和通訊埠編號,以限制 Pod 的輸入輸出。預設並未設定網路政策,因此允許叢集中 Pod 彼此之間的所有流量。您在命名空間中建立第一個網路政策之後,就會拒絕所有其他流量。

如要進一步瞭解如何指定政策,請造訪網路政策

建立網路政策後,您必須明確地為叢集啟用政策。 詳情請造訪設定應用程式的網路政策

將存取限制在外部負載平衡器

如果服務使用外部負載平衡器,根據預設,來自任何外部 IP 位址的流量都可以存取服務。您可以在設定服務時設定 loadBalancerSourceRanges 選項,以限制哪些 IP 位址範圍可以存取叢集內的端點。您可以指定多個範圍,也可以隨時更新正在執行的服務的設定。在每個節點上執行的 kube-proxy 執行個體會設定該節點的 iptables 規則,拒絕不在指定的 loadBalancerSourceRanges 中的所有流量。服務不會建立任何 VPC 防火牆規則。

將存取限制在 HTTP(S) 負載平衡器

如果服務使用HTTP(S) 負載平衡器,您可以使用 Cloud Armor 安全性政策,限制哪些外部 IP 位址可以存取服務,以及因安全性政策使存取遭拒時要傳回哪些回覆。您可以設定 Stackdriver Logging 來記錄這些互動的資訊。

如果 Cloud Armor 安全性政策不夠精細,您可以在端點上啟用 Cloud Identity-Aware Proxy,為應用程式導入使用者驗證與授權。詳情請造訪設定 Cloud IAP 的詳細教學課程

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Kubernetes Engine 說明文件

Network Overview

This page provides an overview of the main aspects of Google Kubernetes Engine networking. This information is useful to those who are just getting started with Kubernetes, as well as experienced cluster operators or application developers who need more knowledge about Kubernetes networking in order to better design applications or configure Kubernetes workloads.

Kubernetes allows you to declaratively define how your applications are deployed, how applications communicate with each other and with the Kubernetes control plane, and how clients can reach your applications. This page also provides information about how GKE configures Google Cloud Platform services, where it is relevant to networking.

When you use Kubernetes to orchestrate your applications, it’s important to change how you think about the network design of your applications and their hosts. With Kubernetes, you think about how Pods, Services, and external clients communicate, rather than thinking about how your hosts or VMs are connected.

Kubernetes, along with GCP, dynamically configures IP filtering rules, routing tables, and firewall rules on each node, depending on the declarative model of your Kubernetes deployments and your cluster configuration on GCP. Do not make manual changes on the nodes, because those changes are overridden by GKE, and your cluster may not function correctly. The only reason to access a node directly is to debug problems with your configuration.

Prerequisites

This page uses terminology related to the Transport, Internet, and Application layers of the Internet protocol suite, including HTTP, and DNS, but you don’t need to be an expert on these topics.

In addition, you may find this content easier to understand if you have a basic understanding of Linux network management concepts and utilities such as iptables rules and routing.

The Kubernetes networking model relies heavily on IP addresses. Services, Pods, containers, and nodes communicate using IP addresses and ports. Kubernetes provides different types of load balancing to direct requests to the correct Pods. All of these mechanisms are described in more detail later in this topic. Keep the following terms in mind as you read:

  • ClusterIP: The IP address assigned to a Service. In other documents, it may be called the "Cluster IP". This address is stable for the lifetime of the Service, as discussed in the Services section in this topic.
  • Pod IP: The IP address assigned to a given Pod. This is ephemeral, as discussed in the Pods section in this topic.
  • Node IP: The IP address assigned to a given node.

Networking Inside the Cluster

This section discusses networking within a Kubernetes cluster, as it relates to IP allocation, Pods, and Services.

IP Allocation

Kubernetes uses various IP ranges to assign IP address to nodes, Pods, and Services.

  • Each node has an IP address assigned from the cluster’s Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network. This node IP provides connectivity from control components like kube-proxy and the kubelet to the Kubernetes API server.
  • Each Pod has an IP address assigned from a range of 256 IP addresses, a /24 CIDR block. You can optionally specify this range when you create the cluster.
  • Each Service has an IP address, called the ClusterIP, assigned from the cluster’s VPC network. You can optionally customize the VPC network when you create the cluster.

For more information, visit Creating VPC-native clusters using Alias IPs.

Pods

In Kubernetes, a Pod is the most basic deployable unit within a Kubernetes cluster. A Pod runs one or more containers. Zero or more Pods run on a node. Each node in the cluster is part of a node pool. In GKE, these nodes are virtual machines, each running as an instance in Compute Engine.

Pods can also attach to external storage volumes and other custom resources. This diagram shows a single node running two Pods, each attached to two volumes.

Diagram showing a single node running two Pods, as described in paragraph above

When Kubernetes schedules a Pod to run on a node, it creates a network namespace for the Pod in the node's Linux kernel. This network namespace connects the node's physical network interface, such as eth0, with the Pod using a virtual network interface, so that packets can flow to and from the Pod. The associated virtual network interface in the node's root network namespace connects to a Linux bridge that allows communication among Pods on the same node. A Pod can also send packets outside of the node using the same virtual interface.

Kubernetes assigns an IP address (the Pod IP) to the virtual network interface in the Pod's network namespace from a range of addresses reserved for Pods on the node. This address range is a subset of the IP address range assigned to the cluster for Pods, which you can configure when you create a cluster.

A container running in a Pod uses the Pod's network namespace. From the container's point of view, the Pod appears to be a physical machine with one network interface. All containers in the Pod see this same network interface. Each container's localhost is connected, through the Pod, to the node's physical network interface, such as eth0.

By default, each Pod has unfiltered access to all the other Pods running on all nodes of the cluster, but you can limit access among Pods. Kubernetes regularly tears down and recreates Pods. This happens when a node pool is upgraded, when changing the Pod's declarative configuration or changing a container's image, or when a node becomes unavailable. Therefore, a Pod's IP address is an implementation detail, and you should not rely on them. Kubernetes provides stable IP addresses using Services.

Services

In Kubernetes, you can assign arbitrary key-value pairs called labels to any Kubernetes resource. Kubernetes uses labels to group multiple related Pods into a logical unit called a Service. A Service has a stable IP address and ports, and provides load balancing among the set of Pods whose labels match all the labels you define in the label selector when you create the Service.

The following diagram shows two separate Services, each of which is comprised of multiple Pods. Each of the Pods in the diagram has the label app=demo, but their other labels differ. Service "frontend” matches all Pods with both app=demo and component=frontend, while Service “users” matches all Pods with app=demo and component=users. The Client Pod does not match either Service selector exactly, so it is not a part of either Service. However, the Client Pod can communicate with either of the Services because it runs in the same cluster.

Diagram of two separate Services, as described in the previous paragraph

Kubernetes assigns a stable, reliable IP address to each newly-created Service (the ClusterIP) from the cluster’s pool of available Service IP addresses. Kubernetes also assigns a hostname to the ClusterIP, by adding a DNS entry. The ClusterIP and hostname are unique within the cluster and do not change throughout the lifecycle of the Service. Kubernetes only releases the ClusterIP and hostname if the Service is deleted from the cluster’s configuration. You can reach a healthy Pod running your application using either the ClusterIP or the hostname of the Service.

At first glance, a Service may seem to be a single point of failure for your applications. However, Kubernetes spreads traffic as evenly as possible across the full set of Pods, running on many nodes, so a cluster can withstand an outage affecting one or more (but not all) nodes.

Kubernetes manages connectivity among Pods and Services using the kube-proxy component, which runs on each node. kube-proxy, which is not an in-line proxy, but an egress-based load-balancing controller, watches the Kubernetes API server and continually maps the ClusterIP to healthy Pods by adding and removing destination NAT (DNAT) rules to the node's iptables subsystem. When a container running in a Pod sends a packet to a Service’s ClusterIP, the node selects a Pod at random and routes traffic to that Pod.

When you configure a Service, you can optionally remap its listening port by defining values for port and targetPort.

  • The port is where clients reach the application.
  • The targetPort is the port where the application is actually listening for traffic within the Pod.

kube-proxy manages this port remapping by adding and removing iptables rules on the node.

This diagram illustrates the flow of packets from a client Pod to a server Pod on a different node. The client connects to the Service at 172.16.12.100:80. The Kubernetes API server maintains a list of Pods running the application. The kube-proxy process on each node uses this list to create an iptables rule to direct traffic to an appropriate Pod (such as 10.255.255.202:8080). The client Pod does not need to be aware of the topology of the cluster or any details about individual Pods or containers within them.

Diagram illustrating a client connecting to a Service and being routed to a Pod, described in the previous paragraph

Networking Outside the Cluster

This section explains how traffic from outside the cluster reaches applications running within a Kubernetes cluster. This information is important when designing your cluster’s applications and workloads.

You've already read about how Kubernetes uses Services to provide stable IP addresses for applications running within Pods. By default, Pods do not expose an external IP address, because kube-proxy manages all traffic on each node. Pods and their containers can communicate freely, but connections outside the cluster cannot access the Service. For instance, in the previous illustration, clients outside the cluster cannot access the frontend Service via its ClusterIP.

GKE provides three different types of Load Balancers to control access and to spread incoming traffic across your cluster as evenly as possible. You can configure one Service to use multiple types of Load Balancers simultaneously.

  • External Load Balancers manage traffic coming from outside the cluster and outside your GCP Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network. They use forwarding rules associated with the GCP network to route traffic to a Kubernetes node.
  • Internal Load Balancers manage traffic coming from within the same VPC network. Like external load balancers, they use forwarding rules associated with the GCP network to route traffic to a Kubernetes node.
  • HTTP(S) Load Balancers are specialized external load balancers used for HTTP(S) traffic. They use an Ingress resource rather than a forwarding rule to route traffic to a Kubernetes node.

When traffic reaches a Kubernetes node, it is handled the same way, regardless of the type of load balancer. The load balancer is not aware of which nodes in the cluster are running Pods for its Service. Instead, it balances traffic across all nodes in the cluster, even those not running a relevant Pod. On a regional cluster, the load is spread across all nodes in all zones for the cluster’s region. When traffic is routed to a node, the node routes the traffic to a Pod, which may be running on the same node or a different node. If the node is running a relevant Pod, it handles the request. Otherwise, the node forwards the request to a Pod running on a different node, using the iptables rules that kube-proxy manages on the node.

In the following diagram, the network load balancer directs traffic to the middle node, which is not running an appropriate Pod. That traffic is redirected to the first node instead.

Diagram showing traffic being routed from a node not running an appropriate Pod to one that is, as described in the previous paragraph

External Load Balancer

If your Service needs to be reachable from outside the cluster and outside your VPC network, you can configure your Service as a LoadBalancer, by setting the Service's type field to LoadBalancer when defining the Service. GKE then provisions a Network Load Balancer in front of the Service. The Network Load Balancer is aware of all nodes in your cluster and configures your VPC network’s firewall rules to allow connections to the Service from outside the VPC network, using the Service's external IP address. You can assign a static external IP address to the Service. Visit Configuring Domain Names with Static IP Addresses for more information.

Technical Details

When using the external load balancer, arriving packets are initially routed to a node using a forwarding rule associated with the GCP network. After a packet reaches the node, the node uses its iptables NAT table to choose a Pod. kube-proxy manages the iptables rules on the node.

Internal Load Balancer

For traffic that needs to reach your cluster from within the same VPC network, you can configure your Service to provision an Internal Load Balancer. The Internal Load Balancer chooses an IP address from your cluster’s VPC subnet instead of an external IP address. Applications or services within the VPC network can use this IP address to communicate with Services inside the cluster.

Technical Details

Internal load balancing functionality is provided by GCP. When the traffic reaches a given node, that node uses its iptables NAT table to choose a Pod for the request, even if the Pod is on a different node. kube-proxy manages the iptables rules on the node.

For more information about internal load balancers, visit the Internal Load Balancer documentation.

HTTP(S) Load Balancer

Many applications, such as RESTful web service APIs, communicate using HTTP(S). You can allow clients external to your VPC network to access this type of application using a Kubernetes Ingress resource. An Ingress resource allows you to map hostnames and URL paths to Services within the cluster. When using a HTTP(S) load balancer, you must configure the Service to use a NodePort, as well as a ClusterIP. When traffic accesses the Service on a node’s IP at the NodePort, GKE routes traffic to a healthy Pod for the Service. You can specify a NodePort or allow GKE to assign a random unused port.

When you create the Ingress resource, GKE provisions an HTTP(S) Load Balancer in the GCP project. The load balancer sends a request to a node's IP address at the NodePort. After the packet reaches the node, the node uses its iptables NAT table to choose a Pod. kube-proxy manages the iptables rules on the node.

This Ingress definition routes traffic for demo.example.com to a Service named frontend on port 80, and demo-backend.example.com to a Service named users on port 8080.

apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1
kind: Ingress
metadata:
  name: demo
spec:
  rules:
  - host: demo.example.com
    http:
      paths:
      - backend:
          serviceName: frontend
          servicePort: 80
  - host: demo-backend.example.com
    http:
      paths:
      - backend:
          serviceName: users
          servicePort: 8080

Visit Ingress on Google Cloud Platform for more information.

Technical Details

When you create an Ingress object, the GKE Ingress controller configures a GCP HTTP(S) load balancer according to the rules in the Ingress manifest and the associated Service manifests. The client sends a request to the HTTP(S) load balancer. The load balancer is an actual proxy; it chooses a node and forwards the request to that node’s NodeIP:NodePort combination. The node uses its iptables NAT table to choose a Pod. kube-proxy manages the iptables rules on the node.

Limiting Connectivity to Pods and Services

By default, all Pods running within the same cluster can communicate freely. However, you can limit connectivity within a cluster in different ways, depending on your needs.

Limiting access among Pods

You can limit access among Pods using a network policy. Network policy definitions allow you to restrict the ingress and egress of Pods based on an arbitrary combination of labels, IP ranges, and port numbers. By default, there is no network policy, so all traffic among Pods in the cluster is allowed. As soon as you create the first network policy in a namespace,all other traffic is denied.

Visit Network Policies for more details about how to specify the policy itself.

After creating a network policy, you must explicitly enable it for the cluster. Visit Configuring Network Policies for Applications for more information.

Limiting Access to an External Load Balancer

If your Service uses an External Load Balancer, traffic from any external IP address can access your Service by default. You can restrict which IP address ranges can access endpoints within your cluster, by configuring the loadBalancerSourceRanges option when configuring the Service. You can specify multiple ranges, and you can update the configuration of a running Service at any time. The kube-proxy instance running on each node configures that node’s iptables rules to deny all traffic that does not match the specified loadBalancerSourceRanges. No VPC firewall rule is created.

Limiting Access to an HTTP(S) Load Balancer

If your service uses the HTTP(S) Load Balancer, you can use a Cloud Armor security policy to limit which external IP addresses can access your Service and which responses to return when access is denied because of the security policy. You can configure Stackdriver Logging to log information about these interactions.

If a Cloud Armor security policy is not fine-grained enough, you can enable the Cloud Identity-Aware Proxy on your endpoints to implement user-based authentication and authorization for your application. Visit the detailed tutorial for configuring Cloud IAP for more information.

What's Next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Kubernetes Engine