优化 IP 地址分配

本页面介绍了如何为标准集群上运行的节点配置 Pod 数量上限。此值确定分配给 Google Kubernetes Engine 上的节点的 IP 地址范围的大小。在节点上运行的 Pod 从节点的 Pod CIDR 范围分配 IP 地址。

本页面中的步骤不适用于 AutoPlot 集群,因为节点数上限已预先配置,并且不可变。

概览

默认情况下,GKE 将标准集群上的节点配置为运行不超过 110 个 Pod。Autopilot 集群的每个节点最多运行 32 个 Pod。Kubernetes 为每个节点分配一个 IP 地址范围,即 CIDR 地址块,以便每个 Pod 可以拥有唯一的 IP 地址。CIDR 地址块的大小对应于每个节点的最大 Pod 数量。

标准集群的 CIDR 范围

标准集群的每个节点默认最多 110 个 Pod,Kubernetes 为每个节点分配一个 /24 CIDR 地址块(256 个地址)。通过将可用 IP 地址数量设为大约一个节点上可创建的 Pod 数量的两倍,Kubernetes 可以在 Pod 添加到节点以及从节点中移除时减少 IP 地址的重复使用现象。

尽管每个节点的最大 Pod 数量硬性限制为 110 个,但您可以减少每个节点的 Pod 数量。如果您在默认值的基础上减少数量,Kubernetes 会为节点分配相应较小的 CIDR 地址块。该地址块包含的地址数量始终至少是每个节点的最大 Pod 数量的两倍。下表列出了 Kubernetes 根据每个节点的最大 Pod 数量分配给每个节点的 CIDR 地址块的大小:

每个节点的最大 Pod 数量 每个节点的 CIDR 范围
8 /28
9 - 16 /27
17 - 32 /26
33 - 64 /25
65 - 110 /24

配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量时,您会间接配置每个集群节点需要多少 IP 地址空间。例如,如果将每个节点的最大 Pod 数量设置为 30,则根据上表,应使用 /26 CIDR 范围,即每个节点可分配 64 个 IP 地址。如果未配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量,则使用 /24 CIDR 范围,即每个节点分配 256 个 IP 地址。

Autopilot 集群的 CIDR 设置

Autopilot 集群 CIDR 大小的默认设置是:

  • 子网范围:/23
  • 集群 IP4 CIDR(Pod 的范围):/17
  • 服务 IP4 CIDR(服务的范围):/22

减少 Pod 数量上限

减少每个节点的最大 Pod 数量可以使集群拥有更多节点,因为每个节点所需的总 IP 地址空间较小。或者,您可以通过在创建集群时为 Pod 指定较小的 IP 地址空间来支持集群中相同数量的节点。

减少每个节点的最大 Pod 数量也可以创建需要较少 IP 地址的较小集群。例如,每个节点有 8 个 Pod,每个节点分配一个 /28 CIDR。这些 Pod IP 地址范围加上用户定义的子网和次要范围确定了成功创建集群所需的 IP 地址数量。

您可以在创建集群和节点池时配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量。

限制

  • 您只能在 VPC 原生集群中配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量。
  • 节点创建受 Pod 地址范围中可用地址数量的限制。如需了解默认、最小和最大 Pod 地址范围大小,请参阅此表。 您还可以使用连续的多 Pod CIDR 添加其他 Pod IP 地址。

配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量

您可以在创建集群或创建节点池时配置每个节点的最大 Pod 数量。创建集群或节点池后,无法更改此设置。

但是,如果耗尽 Pod 的 IP 地址,您可以使用连续的多 Pod CIDR 创建其他 Pod IP 地址范围。

您可以在创建集群时使用 gcloud 工具或 Google Cloud Console 设置 Pod 地址范围的大小。

创建每个节点最多 110 个 Pod 的集群

gcloud

gcloud container clusters create cluster-name \
  --enable-ip-alias --cluster-ipv4-cidr=10.0.0.0/21 \
  --create-subnetwork=name='cluster-name-subnet',range=10.4.32.0/27 \
  --services-ipv4-cidr=10.4.0.0/19 --default-max-pods-per-node=110 \
  --zone=compute-zone

控制台

  1. 访问 Cloud Console 中的 Google Kubernetes Engine 菜单。

    访问 Google Kubernetes Engine 菜单

  2. 点击 创建

  3. 根据需要配置集群。

  4. 在导航窗格的集群下,点击网络

  5. 确保选中启用 VPC 原生流量路由(使用别名 IP)复选框。

  6. 在导航窗格的节点池下,点击节点

  7. 每个节点的最大 Pod 数量字段设置为 110。GKE 使用此值来调整分配给节点的 IP 地址范围的大小。

  8. 点击创建

这将创建一个最多可包含八个节点的集群。根据每个节点的最大 Pod 数量,Kubernetes 会为每个节点分配一个 /24 CIDR 范围以供节点的 Pod 使用。由于此集群从 /21 CIDR 范围 (cluster-ipv4-cidr) 分配 Pod IP 地址,因此最多可以有八个节点(24-21 = 3,23 = 8)。default-max-pods-per-node 选项可以省略,因为默认值为 110。

创建每个节点最多 8 个 Pod 的集群

gcloud

gcloud container clusters create cluster-name \
  --enable-ip-alias --cluster-ipv4-cidr=10.0.0.0/21 \
  --create-subnetwork=name='cluster-name-subnet',range=10.4.32.0/21 \
  --services-ipv4-cidr=10.4.0.0/19 --default-max-pods-per-node=8 \
  --zone=compute-zone

控制台

  1. 访问 Cloud Console 中的 Google Kubernetes Engine 菜单。

    访问 Google Kubernetes Engine 菜单

  2. 点击 创建

  3. 根据需要配置集群。

  4. 在导航窗格的集群下,点击网络

  5. 确保选中启用 VPC 原生流量路由(使用别名 IP)复选框。

  6. 在导航窗格的节点池下,点击节点

  7. 每个节点的最大 Pod 数量字段设置为 8。GKE 使用此值来调整分配给节点的 IP 地址范围的大小。

  8. 点击创建

这将创建一个最多可包含 128 个节点的集群。根据每个节点的最大 Pod 数量,Kubernetes 会为每个节点分配一个 /28 CIDR 范围以供节点的 Pod 使用。因为所有 Pod 的可用范围 (cluster-ipv4-cidr) 是 /21 范围,这意味着最多可以有 128 个节点(28-21 = 7,27 = 128)。

设置现有集群新节点池中的最大 Pod 数量

您也可以在现有集群中创建节点池时指定每个节点的最大 Pod 数量。通过创建新节点池,您可以优化 IP 地址分配,即使在未在集群级层配置 default-max-pods-per-node 的现有集群中也是如此。

gcloud

gcloud container node-pools create pool-name \
  --cluster=cluster-name \
  --max-pods-per-node=30

控制台

  1. 访问 Cloud Console 中的 GKE 菜单。

    访问 Google Kubernetes Engine 菜单

  2. 在集群列表中,点击您要修改的集群的名称。

  3. 点击 添加节点池

  4. 在导航窗格中,点击节点

  5. 网络下,输入每个节点的 Pod 数上限字段的值。GKE 使用此值来调整分配给节点的 IP 地址范围的大小。

此值将替换在集群级层应用的 default-max-pods-per-node 选项。如果在创建节点池时省略 max-pods-per-node 选项,则使用集群级层的默认配置。

后续步骤

Optimizing IP address allocation

This page explains how you can configure the maximum number of Pods that can run on a node for Standard clusters. This value determines the size of the IP address ranges that are assigned to nodes on Google Kubernetes Engine. The Pods that run on a node are allocated IP addresses from the node's Pod CIDR range.

The steps on this page do not apply to Autopilot clusters because the maximum number of nodes is pre-configured and immutable.

Overview

By default, GKE configures nodes on Standard clusters to run no more than 110 Pods. Autopilot clusters have a maximum of 32 Pods per node. Kubernetes assigns each node a range of IP addresses, a CIDR block, so that each Pod can have a unique IP address. The size of the CIDR block corresponds to the maximum number of Pods per node.

CIDR ranges for Standard clusters

With the default maximum of 110 Pods per node for Standard clusters, Kubernetes assigns a /24 CIDR block (256 addresses) to each of the nodes. By having approximately twice as many available IP addresses as the number of pods that can be created on a node, Kubernetes is able to mitigate IP address reuse as Pods are added to and removed from a node.

Although having 110 Pods per node is a hard limit, you can reduce the number of Pods per node. If you reduce the number from the default value, Kubernetes assigns the node a correspondingly smaller CIDR block. The block always contains at least twice as many addresses as the maximum number of Pods per node. The table below lists the size of the CIDR block that Kubernetes assigns to each node based on the maximum Pods per node:

Maximum Pods per Node CIDR Range per Node
8 /28
9 – 16 /27
17 – 32 /26
33 – 64 /25
65 – 110 /24

When configuring the maximum number of Pods per node, you are indirectly configuring how much IP address space is required by each cluster node. For example, if you set the maximum Pods per node to 30 then, per the table above, a /26 CIDR range is used, and each Node is assigned 64 IP addresses. If you do not configure the maximum number of Pods per node, a /24 CIDR range is used, and each node is assigned 256 IP addresses.

CIDR settings for Autopilot clusters

The default settings for Autopilot cluster CIDR sizes are:

  • Subnetwork range: /23
  • Cluster IP4 CIDR (range for Pods): /17
  • Services IP4 CIDR (range for Services): /22

Reducing the maximum number of Pods

Reducing the maximum number of Pods per node allows the cluster to have more nodes, since each node requires a smaller part of the total IP address space. Alternatively, you could support the same number of nodes in the cluster by specifying a smaller IP address space for Pods at cluster creation time.

Reducing the maximum number of Pods per node also lets you create smaller clusters that require fewer IP addresses. For example, with eight Pods per node, each node is granted a /28 CIDR. These Pod IP address ranges plus the user defined subnet and secondary ranges determine the number of IP addresses required to create a cluster successfully.

You can configure the maximum number of Pods per node at cluster creation time and at node pool creation time.

Restrictions

  • You can configure the maximum Pods per node in VPC-native clusters only.
  • Node creation is limited by the number of available addresses in the Pod address range. Refer to this table for the default, minimum, and maximum Pod address range sizes. You can also add additional Pod IP addresses using discontiguous multi-Pod CIDR.
  • Each cluster needs to create kube-system Pods, such as kube-proxy, in the kube-system namespace. Remember to account for both your Pods and System Pods when you reduce the maximum number of Pods per node. You can list System Pods in your cluster by using the following command:

    kubectl get pods --namespace kube-system
    

Configuring maximum Pods per node

You can configure the maximum number of Pods per node when creating a cluster or when creating a node pool. You cannot change this setting after the cluster or node pool is created.

However, if you run out of Pod IP addresses, you can create additional Pod IP address ranges using discontiguous multi-Pod CIDR.

You can set the size of the Pod address range when creating a cluster by using the gcloud tool or the Google Cloud Console.

Creating a cluster with a maximum of 110 Pods per node

gcloud

gcloud container clusters create cluster-name \
  --enable-ip-alias --cluster-ipv4-cidr=10.0.0.0/21 \
  --create-subnetwork=name='cluster-name-subnet',range=10.4.32.0/27 \
  --services-ipv4-cidr=10.4.0.0/19 --default-max-pods-per-node=110 \
  --zone=compute-zone

Console

  1. Visit the Google Kubernetes Engine menu in Cloud Console.

    Visit the Google Kubernetes Engine menu

  2. Click Create.

  3. Configure your cluster as desired.

  4. From the navigation pane, under Cluster, click Networking.

  5. Ensure the Enable VPC-native traffic routing (uses alias IP) checkbox is selected.

  6. From the navigation pane, under Node pools, click Nodes.

  7. Set the Maximum pods per node field to 110. GKE uses this value to tune the size of the IP address range assigned to nodes.

  8. Click Create.

This creates a cluster that can contain up to eight nodes. Based on the max Pods per node, Kubernetes grants each node a /24 CIDR range for use by the node's Pods. Because this cluster assigns Pod IP addresses from a /21 CIDR range (cluster-ipv4-cidr), there can be up to eight nodes (24-21 = 3, 23 = 8). The default-max-pods-per-node option could be omitted because 110 is the default value.

Creating a cluster with a maximum of 8 Pods per node

gcloud

gcloud container clusters create cluster-name \
  --enable-ip-alias --cluster-ipv4-cidr=10.0.0.0/21 \
  --create-subnetwork=name='cluster-name-subnet',range=10.4.32.0/21 \
  --services-ipv4-cidr=10.4.0.0/19 --default-max-pods-per-node=8 \
  --zone=compute-zone

Console

  1. Visit the Google Kubernetes Engine menu in Cloud Console.

    Visit the Google Kubernetes Engine menu

  2. Click Create.

  3. Configure your cluster as desired.

  4. From the navigation pane, under Cluster, click Networking.

  5. Ensure the Enable VPC-native traffic routing (uses alias IP) checkbox is selected.

  6. From the navigation pane, under Node pools, click Nodes.

  7. Set the Maximum pods per node field to 8. GKE uses this value to tune the size of the IP address range assigned to nodes.

  8. Click Create.

This creates a cluster that can contain up to 128 nodes. Based on the max Pods per node, Kubernetes grants each node a /28 CIDR range for use by the node's Pods. Because the range available for all Pods (cluster-ipv4-cidr) is a /21 range, this means that there can be up to 128 nodes (28-21 = 7, 27 = 128).

Setting the maximum number of Pods in a new node pool for an existing cluster

You can also specify the maximum number of Pods per node when creating a node pool in an existing cluster. Creating a new node pool lets you optimize IP address allocation, even in existing clusters where default-max-pods-per-node wasn't configured at the cluster level.

gcloud

gcloud container node-pools create pool-name \
  --cluster=cluster-name \
  --max-pods-per-node=30

Console

  1. Visit the GKE menu in Cloud Console.

    Visit the Google Kubernetes Engine menu

  2. In the cluster list, click the name of the cluster you want to modify.

  3. Click Add Node Pool.

  4. From the navigation pane, click Nodes.

  5. Under Networking, enter a value for the Maximum Pods per node field. GKE uses this value to tune the size of the IP address range assigned to nodes.

This value overrides the default-max-pods-per-node option which is applied at the cluster level. If you omit the max-pods-per-node option when creating a node pool, the cluster-level default configuration is used.

What's next