Spot 虚拟机


本页面介绍什么是 Spot 虚拟机及其在 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 中的运作方式。如需了解如何使用 Spot 虚拟机,请参阅使用 Spot 虚拟机

GKE 中的 Spot 虚拟机概览

Spot 虚拟机是价格低于标准 Compute Engine 虚拟机的 Compute Engine 虚拟机 (VM) 实例。Spot 虚拟机提供与标准虚拟机相同的机器类型和选项,但不提供可用性保证。

您可以在集群和节点池中使用 Spot 虚拟机来运行无状态、批量或容错工作负载,这些工作负载可以容忍 Spot 虚拟机的临时性造成的中断。

Spot 虚拟机在 Compute Engine 需要标准虚拟机资源之前仍然可用。为了最大限度地提高成本效益,请结合使用 Spot 虚拟机与在 GKE 上运行费用经过优化的 Kubernetes 应用的最佳做法

如需详细了解 Spot 虚拟机,请参阅 Compute Engine 文档中的 Spot 虚拟机

Spot 虚拟机的优势

Spot 虚拟机和抢占式虚拟机具有诸多优势,具体如下所示:

与抢占式虚拟机(在 24 小时后过期)相比,Spot 虚拟机没有到期时间。Spot 虚拟机仅在 Compute Engine 在其他位置需要资源时终止。

Spot 虚拟机在 GKE 中的工作原理

当您创建具有 Spot 虚拟机的集群或节点池时,GKE 会创建类似于代管式实例组 (MIG) 的底层 Compute Engine Spot 虚拟机。使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点的行为类似于标准 GKE 节点,但不保证可用性。当需要使用 Spot 虚拟机所用的资源来运行标准虚拟机时,Compute Engine 会终止这些 Spot 虚拟机以在其他位置使用资源。

终止并正常关闭 Spot 虚拟机

当 Compute Engine 需要收回 Spot 虚拟机使用的资源时,系统会向 GKE 发送终止通知。Spot 虚拟机在收到终止通知 30 秒后终止。

在运行 GKE 1.20 及更高版本的集群上,kubelet 安全节点关停功能默认启用。Kubelet 会注意到终止通知,并正常终止节点上运行的 Pod。 如果 Pod 是 Deployment 的一部分,则控制器会创建并安排新 Pod,以替换已终止的 Pod。

Kubelet 为非系统 Pod 授予 25 秒时间进行安全终止,之后系统 Pod(具有 system-cluster-criticalsystem-node-critical 优先级类)将有 5 秒时间进行安全终止。

在安全 Pod 终止期间,kubelet 会为终止的 Pod 分配 Failed 状态和 Shutdown 原因。当终止的 Pod 数量达到 1000 时,垃圾回收将会清理 Pod。

您还可以使用以下命令手动删除关停 Pod:

kubectl get pods --all-namespaces | grep -i shutdown | awk '{print $1, $2}' | xargs -n2 kubectl delete pod -n

安排 Spot 虚拟机上的工作负载

GKE 会自动将 cloud.google.com/gke-spot=true 标签添加到使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点。您可以使用 Pod 规范中的 nodeSelector 字段,在使用 Spot 虚拟机的特定节点上调度特定的 Pod,如以下示例所示:

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
spec:
  nodeSelector:
    cloud.google.com/gke-spot: "true"

或者,您可以使用节点亲和性指示 GKE 在 Spot 虚拟机上调度 Pod,类似于以下示例:

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
spec:
...
  affinity:
    nodeAffinity:
      requiredDuringSchedulingIgnoredDuringExecution:
        nodeSelectorTerms:
        - matchExpressions:
          - key: cloud.google.com/gke-spot
            operator: In
            values:
            - true
...

您还可以使用 nodeAffinity.preferredDuringSchedulingIgnoredDuringExecution 指示 GKE 将 Pod 放置在使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点上。不建议首选 Spot 虚拟机,因为 GKE 可能会将 Pod 调度到使用标准虚拟机的现有可行节点上。

使用污点和容忍进行安排

为避免系统中断,请使用节点污点来确保 GKE 不将关键工作负载调度到 Spot 虚拟机上。当您为使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点设置污点时,GKE 仅在这些节点上调度具有相应容忍的 Pod。

如果使用节点污点,请确保您的集群还至少有一个使用标准 Compute Engine 虚拟机的节点池。GKE 可以将使用标准虚拟机的节点池作为安全的位置来调度 DNS 等关键系统组件。

如需了解如何对 Spot 虚拟机使用节点污点,请参阅对 Spot 虚拟机使用污点和容忍

将 Spot 虚拟机与 GPU 节点池搭配使用

Spot 虚拟机支持使用 GPU。当您创建新的 GPU 节点池时,GKE 会自动向新节点添加 nvidia.com/gpu=present:NoSchedule 污点。只有具有相应容忍设置的 Pod 可以在这些节点上运行。GKE 会自动将此容忍设置添加到请求 GPU 的 Pod 上。

在创建使用 Spot 虚拟机的 GPU 节点池之前,您的集群必须至少具有一个使用标准虚拟机的非 GPU 节点池。如果您的集群只有一个使用 Spot 虚拟机的 GPU 节点池,则 GKE 不会向这些节点添加 nvidia.com/gpu=present:NoSchedule 污点。因此,GKE 可能会将系统工作负载调度到使用 Spot 虚拟机的 GPU 节点池上,这可能会导致 Spot 虚拟机中断,并且可能会增加资源消耗量,因为 GPU 节点比非 GPU 节点的成本更高。

集群自动扩缩器和节点自动预配

您可以使用集群自动扩缩程序节点自动预配功能来根据工作负载的需求自动扩缩集群和节点池。集群自动扩缩器和节点自动预配功能都支持使用 Spot 虚拟机。

Spot 虚拟机和节点自动预配

节点自动预配功能会自动在集群中创建和删除节点池,以满足工作负载的需求。当节点自动预配功能创建新的节点池以容纳需要 Spot 虚拟机的 Pod 时,GKE 会自动将 cloud.google.com/gke-spot=true:NoSchedule 污点添加到新节点池中的节点。只有具有相应容忍设置的 Pod 可以在这些节点池中的节点上运行。您必须为部署添加相应的容忍,以允许 GKE 将 Pod 放在 Spot 虚拟机上。

您可以确保 GKE 使用容忍设置以及用于过滤 Spot 虚拟机的 nodeSelector 或节点亲和性规则在 Spot 虚拟机上安排 Pod。

您还可以仅使用容忍设置,而不过滤使用 nodeSelector 或节点亲和性的 Spot 虚拟机。在这种情况下,GKE 会尝试在 Spot 虚拟机上调度 Pod。如果没有可用的 Spot 虚拟机,但已有具有容量的标准虚拟机,则 GKE 会将 Pod 调度到标准虚拟机上。

Spot 虚拟机和集群自动扩缩器

集群自动扩缩器会根据需求自动添加和移除节点池中的节点。如果您的集群具有无法放置在现有 Spot 虚拟机上的 Pod,则集群自动扩缩器会添加使用 Spot 虚拟机的新节点。

对 Kubernetes 行为的修改

在 GKE 上使用 Spot 虚拟机会修改 Kubernetes 提供的一些保证和限制条件,例如:

  • 在运行 1.20 版本之前的 GKE 的集群上,kubelet 的安全节点关停功能默认处于停用状态。GKE 会在收到 Compute Engine 的抢占通知 30 秒后为 Pod 关闭 Spot 虚拟机,不提供宽限期。

  • Spot 虚拟机的弃用是非自愿的,不在 PodDisruptionBudgets 的保证范围内。相对于已配置的 PodDisruptionBudget,遇到不可用情况的几率可能较大。

Spot 虚拟机的最佳做法

在设计使用 Spot 虚拟机的系统时,您可以使用以下准则以避免重大中断:

  • Spot 虚拟机无法保证可用性。在设计系统时,假设 GKE 可能会随时回收任何或所有 Spot 虚拟机,但无法保证新实例何时可用。
  • 无法保证在 Spot 虚拟机上运行的 Pod 可以正常关停。GKE 可能不会注意到,节点在执行回收操作之后需要几分钟时间才能完成回收,这会延迟将这些 Pod 重新调度到新节点上的操作。
  • 为了确保即使在没有 Spot 虚拟机可用的情况下系统也能处理您的工作负载和作业,请确保您的集群同时具有使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点池以及使用标准 Compute Engine 虚拟机的节点池。
  • 在添加使用 Spot 虚拟机的 GPU 节点池之前,请确保您的集群至少包含一个使用标准虚拟机的非 GPU 节点池。
  • 在运行 1.20 之前的 GKE 版本(其中 kubelet 安全节点关停功能已停用)的集群上使用 Kubernetes on GCP 节点终止事件处理脚本。当 Spot 虚拟机被抢占时,该处理脚本会正常终止您的 Pod。
  • 虽然节点名称在节点重新创建时通常不会发生变化,但 Spot 虚拟机使用的内部和外部 IP 地址可能会在重新创建后发生变化。
  • 使用节点污点和容忍机制来确保关键 Pod 不会被调度到使用 Spot 虚拟机的节点池上。
  • 不要将有状态 Pod 与 Spot 虚拟机搭配使用。StatefulSet 本身在每个索引中最多只能有一个 Pod 语义,这就导致抢占 Spot 虚拟机可能会违规,从而导致数据丢失。
  • 遵循 Kubernetes Pod 终止最佳实践

后续步骤

Spot VMs


This page provides an overview of support for Spot VMs in Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE).

Overview

Spot VMs are Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instances that are priced lower than on-demand Compute Engine VMs. Spot VMs offer the same machine types and options as on-demand VMs, but provide no availability guarantees.

You can use Spot VMs in your clusters and node pools to run stateless, batch, or fault-tolerant workloads that can tolerate disruptions caused by the ephemeral nature of Spot VMs.

Spot VMs remain available until Compute Engine requires the resources for on-demand VMs. To maximize your cost efficiency, combine using Spot VMs with Best practices for running cost-optimized Kubernetes applications on GKE.

To learn more about Spot VMs, see Spot VMs in the Compute Engine documentation.

Benefits

Spot VMs and preemptible VMs share many benefits, including the following:

  • Lower pricing than on-demand Compute Engine VMs.
  • Useful for stateless, fault-tolerant workloads that are resilient to the ephemeral nature of these VMs.
  • Works with the cluster autoscaler and node auto-provisioning.

In contrast to preemptible VMs, which expire after 24 hours, Spot VMs have no expiration time. Spot VMs are only terminated when Compute Engine needs the resources elsewhere.

How Spot VMs work in GKE

When you create a cluster or node pool with Spot VMs, GKE creates underlying Compute Engine Spot VMs that behave like a managed instance group (MIG). Nodes that use Spot VMs behave like on-demand GKE nodes, but with no guarantee of availability. When the resources used by Spot VMs are required to run on-demand VMs, Compute Engine terminates those Spot VMs to use the resources elsewhere.

Termination and graceful shutdown of Spot VMs

When Compute Engine needs to reclaim the resources used by Spot VMs, a termination notice is sent to GKE. Spot VMs terminate 30 seconds after receiving a termination notice.

On clusters running GKE version 1.20 and later, the kubelet graceful node shutdown feature is enabled by default. The kubelet notices the termination notice and gracefully terminates Pods that are running on the node.

The kubelet grants non-system Pods 25 seconds to gracefully terminate, after which system Pods (with the system-cluster-critical or system-node-critical priority classes) have five seconds to gracefully terminate.

During graceful Pod termination, the kubelet assigns a Failed status and a Shutdown reason to the terminated Pods. When the number of terminated Pods reaches a threshold, garbage collection cleans up the Pods.

You can also delete shutdown Pods manually using the following command:

kubectl get pods --all-namespaces | grep -i shutdown | awk '{print $1, $2}' | xargs -n2 kubectl delete pod -n

Scheduling workloads on Spot VMs

GKE automatically adds the cloud.google.com/gke-spot=true label to nodes that use Spot VMs. You can schedule specific Pods on nodes that use Spot VMs using the nodeSelector field in your Pod spec, like in the following example:

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
spec:
  nodeSelector:
    cloud.google.com/gke-spot: "true"

Alternatively, you can use node affinity to tell GKE to schedule Pods on Spot VMs, similar to the following example:

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
spec:
...
  affinity:
    nodeAffinity:
      requiredDuringSchedulingIgnoredDuringExecution:
        nodeSelectorTerms:
        - matchExpressions:
          - key: cloud.google.com/gke-spot
            operator: In
            values:
            - true
...

You can also use nodeAffinity.preferredDuringSchedulingIgnoredDuringExecution to prefer that GKE places Pods on nodes that use Spot VMs. Preferring Spot VMs is not recommended, because GKE might schedule the Pods onto existing viable nodes that use on-demand VMs instead.

Using taints and tolerations for scheduling

To avoid system disruptions, use a node taint to ensure that GKE doesn't schedule critical workloads onto Spot VMs. When you taint nodes that use Spot VMs, GKE only schedules Pods that have the corresponding toleration onto those nodes.

If you use node taints, ensure that your cluster also has at least one node pool that uses on-demand Compute Engine VMs. Node pools that use on-demand VMs provide a reliable place for GKE to schedule critical system components like DNS.

For information on using a node taint for Spot VMs, see Use taints and tolerations for Spot VMs.

Using Spot VMs with GPU node pools

Spot VMs support using GPUs. When you create a new GPU node pool, GKE automatically adds the nvidia.com/gpu=present:NoSchedule taint to the new nodes. Only Pods with the corresponding toleration can run on these nodes. GKE automatically adds this toleration to Pods that request GPUs.

Your cluster must have at least one existing non-GPU node pool that uses on-demand VMs before you create a GPU node pool that uses Spot VMs. If your cluster only has a GPU node pool with Spot VMs, GKE doesn't add the nvidia.com/gpu=present:NoSchedule taint to those nodes. As a result, GKE might schedule system workloads onto the GPU node pools with Spot VMs, which can lead to disruptions because of the Spot VMs and can increase your resource consumption because GPU nodes are more expensive than non-GPU nodes.

Cluster autoscaler and node auto-provisioning

You can use the cluster autoscaler and node auto-provisioning to automatically scale your clusters and node pools based on the demands of your workloads. Both the cluster autoscaler and node auto-provisioning support using Spot VMs.

Spot VMs and node auto-provisioning

Node auto-provisioning automatically creates and deletes node pools in your cluster to meet the demands of your workloads. When node auto-provisioning creates new node pools to accommodate Pods that require Spot VMs, GKE automatically adds the cloud.google.com/gke-spot=true:NoSchedule taint to nodes in the new node pools. Only Pods with the corresponding toleration can run on nodes in those node pools. You must add the corresponding toleration to your deployments to allow GKE to place the Pods on Spot VMs.

You can ensure that GKE only schedules your Pods on Spot VMs by using both a toleration and either a nodeSelector or node affinity rule to filter for Spot VMs.

You can also use only a toleration without filtering for Spot VMs using nodeSelector or a node affinity. In this case, GKE attempts to schedule the Pods on Spot VMs. If there are no available Spot VMs but there are existing on-demand VMs with capacity, GKE schedules the Pods onto the on-demand VMs instead.

Spot VMs and cluster autoscaler

The cluster autoscaler automatically adds and removes nodes in your node pools based on demand. If your cluster has Pods that can't be placed on existing Spot VMs, the cluster autoscaler adds new nodes that use Spot VMs.

Modifications to Kubernetes behavior

Using Spot VMs on GKE modifies some guarantees and constraints that Kubernetes provides, such as the following:

  • On clusters running GKE versions prior to 1.20, the kubelet graceful node shutdown feature is disabled by default. GKE shuts down Spot VMs without a grace period for Pods, 30 seconds after receiving a preemption notice from Compute Engine.

  • Reclamation of Spot VMs is involuntary and is not covered by the guarantees of PodDisruptionBudgets. You might experience greater unavailability than your configured PodDisruptionBudget.

Best practices

When designing a system that uses Spot VMs, you can avoid major disruptions by using the following guidelines:

  • Spot VMs have no availability guarantees. Design your systems under the assumption that GKE might reclaim any or all your Spot VMs at any time, with no guarantee of when new instances become available.
  • There is no guarantee that Pods running on Spot VMs will shut down gracefully. GKE might not notice that the node was reclaimed until a few minutes after reclamation occurs, which delays the rescheduling of those Pods onto a new node.
  • To ensure that your workloads and Jobs are processed even when no Spot VMs are available, ensure that your clusters have a mix of node pools that use Spot VMs and node pools that use on-demand Compute Engine VMs.
  • Ensure that your cluster has at least one non-GPU node pool that uses on-demand VMs before you add a GPU node pool that uses Spot VMs.
  • Use the Kubernetes on GCP Node Termination Event Handler on clusters running GKE versions prior to 1.20, where the kubelet graceful node shutdown feature is disabled. The handler gracefully terminates your Pods when Spot VMs are preempted.
  • While the node names do not usually change when nodes are recreated, the internal and external IP addresses used by Spot VMs might change after recreation.
  • Use node taints and tolerations to ensure that critical Pods aren't scheduled onto node pools that use Spot VMs.
  • Do not use stateful Pods with Spot VMs. StatefulSets inherently have at-most-one Pod per index semantics, which preemption of Spot VMs could violate, leading to data loss.
  • Follow the Kubernetes Pod termination best practices.

What's next