关于 Cloud Profiler

众所周知,想要准确衡量生产系统的性能是十分困难的。在测试环境中衡量性能所做的尝试,通常无法准确再现生产系统面临的压力。对应用的一些部分进行微基准测试有时可行,但它通常也无法准确再现生产系统的工作负载和行为。

当服务在其工作环境中运行时,要探索 CPU 周期和内存等资源用在了何处,持续剖析生产系统的性能不失为一种有效方式。不过,性能剖析过程会给生产系统带来额外负载:要让用户接受这种探索资源耗用模式的方式,性能剖析过程带来的额外负载必须很小。

Cloud Profiler 是一个低开销的统计性能剖析器,可从生产应用中持续收集有关 CPU 使用率和内存分配情况的信息。它会将获得的信息归因于生成这些信息的源代码,从而帮助您识别应用中资源耗用量最大的部分,还可以阐明应用的性能特征。

可用的性能剖析类型

Cloud Profiler 支持基于编写程序所采用的语言来执行不同类型的性能剖析。下表汇总了各语言支持的性能剖析类型:

性能剖析文件类型 Go Java Node.js Python
CPU 时间
分配的堆
争用
线程
实际用时

如需查看语言要求和任何限制的完整信息,请参阅语言的“方法”页面。 如需详细了解这些性能剖析文件类型,请参阅性能剖析相关概念

受支持的配置

在对应用进行插桩处理以捕获性能剖析文件数据时,您需要包含语言专属的性能剖析代理。 下表汇总了支持的环境:

环境 Go Java Node.js Python
Compute Engine
Google Kubernetes Engine
App Engine 柔性环境
App Engine 标准环境
Dataproc
Google Cloud 外部

下表汇总了支持的操作系统:

操作系统 Go Java Node.js Python
标准 C 库的 Linux
glibc 实现
标准 C 库的 Linux
musl 实现
是(Alpha 版) 是(Alpha 版)

性能影响

Cloud Profiler 每 1 分钟针对单个 Compute Engine 地区中已配置服务的单个实例收集一次性能剖析数据(一次通常持续 10 秒),以创建单个性能剖析文件。例如,如果您的 GKE 服务运行某 pod 的 10 个副本,那么在 10 分钟内,大约会创建 10 个性能剖析文件,差不多对每个 pod 都会执行一次性能剖析。性能剖析周期是随机的,因此存在各种变化。如需了解详情,请参阅性能剖析文件收集

CPU 和堆分配性能剖析在收集数据时的开销小于 5%。在执行期间分摊到一项服务的多个副本后,开销通常会低于 0.5%,因此,要在生产系统中实现始终执行的性能剖析,这是一个经济实惠的选择。

组件

Cloud Profiler 由性能剖析代理和 Google Cloud 上的控制台界面组成;前者用于收集数据,后者用于查看和分析性能剖析代理收集的数据。

性能剖析代理

您可以在运行您的应用的虚拟机上安装该代理。该代理通常作为您在运行应用时连接到应用的库。代理在应用运行期间收集性能剖析数据。

如需了解如何运行 Cloud Profiler 代理,请参阅:

Profiler 界面

在代理收集了一些性能剖析数据之后,您可以使用 Profiler 界面查看关于 CPU 和内存使用情况的统计信息与应用的各部分有何关联。

Cloud Profiler 界面

性能剖析数据将保留 30 天,因此您可以分析最长 30 天以内的性能数据。您可以下载性能剖析文件以长期存储。

如需了解如何使用 Profiler 界面,请参阅使用 Profiler 界面

配额和限制

如需了解如何查看和管理您的 Profiler 配额,请参阅配额和限制

数据安全

Cloud Profiler 是 VPC Service Controls 支持的一项服务。如需了解详情,请参阅 VPC Service Controls 文档

About Stackdriver Profiler

Understanding the performance of production systems is notoriously difficult. Attempting to measure performance in test environments usually fails to replicate the pressures on a production system. Microbenchmarking parts of the code is sometimes feasible, but it also typically fails to replicate the workload and behavior of a production system.

Continuous profiling of production systems is an effective way to discover where resources like CPU cycles and memory are consumed as a service operates in its working environment. But profiling adds an additional load on the production system: in order to be an acceptable way to discover patterns of resource consumption, the additional load of profiling must be small.

Stackdriver Profiler is a statistical, low-overhead profiler that continuously gathers CPU usage and memory-allocation information from your production applications. It attributes that information to the source code that generated it, helping you identify the parts of the code that are consuming the most resources, and otherwise illuminating the performance characteristics of the code.

Environment and languages

Stackdriver Profiler runs under Linux on the following Google Cloud Platform environments:

  • Compute Engine
  • Kubernetes Engine
  • App Engine flexible environment

Stackdriver Profiler can profile code written in the following languages:

  • Go
  • Java
  • Node.js

See Profiling agent for more information on running the profiling agent.

Profiler supports different types of profiling based on the language in which a program is written. The following table summarizes the supported profile types by language:

Profile type Go Java Node.js
CPU Y Y
Heap Y Y
Contention Y
Threads Y
Wall Y Y

For more information about these profile types, see Profiling Concepts.

Performance impact

Stackdriver Profiler creates a single profile by collecting profiling data, usually for 10 seconds, every 1 minute for a single instance of the configured service in a single Google Compute Engine zone. If, for example, your Kubernetes Engine service runs 10 replicas of a pod, then, in a 10-minute period, roughly 10 profiles will be created, and each pod will be profiled approximately once. The profiling period is randomized, so there will be variation. See Profile collection for more information.

The overhead of the CPU and heap allocation profiling at the time of the data collection is less than 5 percent. Amortized over the execution time and across multiple replicas of a service, the overhead is commonly less than 0.5 percent, making it an affordable option for always-on profiling in production systems.

Components

Stackdriver Profiler consists of the profiling agent, which collects the data, and a console interface on Google Cloud Platform, which lets you view and analyze the data collected by the agent.

Profiling agent

You install the agent on the virtual machines where your application runs. The agent typically comes as a library that you attach to your code when you run it. The agent collects profiling data as the app runs.

For information on running the Stackdriver Profiler agent, see:

You can also run the profiling agent on non-Google Cloud Platform systems. See Profiling Outside Google Cloud Platform for more information.

Profiler interface

After the agent has collected some profiling data, you can use the Profiler interface to see how the statistics for CPU and memory usage correlate with areas of the code.

Stackdriver Profiler interface

The profile data is retained for 30 days, so you can analyze performance data for periods up to the last 30 days. Profiles can be downloaded for long-term storage.

For information on using the Profiler interface, see Using the Profiler Interface.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Stackdriver Profiler