时间点恢复

概览

Cloud Spanner 时间点恢复 (PITR) 可防范意外删除或写入。例如,如果运维人员意外写入数据或应用发布损坏数据库,您可以使用 PITR 从过去某个时间点无缝恢复数据(最多 7 天)。如果您需要长期保留数据,可以使用备份与和恢复导入和导出功能。

PITR 要求您配置数据库的 version_retention_period,以保留所有数据和架构的版本(最少 1 小时,最多 7 天)。Cloud Spanner 存储微秒粒度的旧版数据,数据库维护着 earliest_version_time,后者表示过去可以恢复旧版数据的最早时间。

恢复数据的方法

您可以通过以下两种方式恢复数据:

  • 如需恢复数据库的一部分,请执行过时读取操作,指定查询条件在过去的时间戳,然后将结果写回到实时数据库。这通常用于对实时数据库执行手术操作。例如,如果您不小心删除了某一行或者错误地更新了一部分数据,您可以使用此方法恢复该数据。有关说明,请参阅恢复数据库的一部分

  • 恢复整个数据库,请备份导出指定过去时间戳的数据库,然后将其恢复或导入到新数据库。当您必须将整个数据库恢复到损坏发生之前的时间点,这通常用于在发生数据损坏问题后进行恢复。请注意,备份或导出数据库可能需要几小时,您无法恢复或导入到现有数据库。有关说明,请参阅恢复整个数据库

性能考虑因素

保留期限较长的数据库(特别是那些频繁重写数据的数据库)使用更多的系统资源。这可能会影响数据库性能,特别是在实例没有预配足够多的节点的情况下。如果您的数据库具有非常高的改写率(例如,如果数据库每天都会被多次覆盖),则可考虑逐步提高保留期限并监控系统。请注意以下事项:

  • 增大的存储空间用量。建议您设置存储空间提醒,确保未超出每个节点 2 TB 存储空间的限制。当您延长保留期限时,请注意,随着数据库累积旧版数据,存储空间用量将逐渐增大。这是因为在之前的保留期限内已过期的旧数据将不再过期。因此,例如,如果您将保留期限从 3 天增加到 7 天,则需要等待 4 天,等到数据库存储空间用量稳定下来。我们还提供用于估算存储空间增加的说明。

  • 增加的 CPU 使用率和延迟时间。Cloud Spanner 使用其他计算资源来压缩和维护旧版数据。监控实例和数据库,以确保延迟时间和 CPU 利用率保持在可接受的水平。

  • 增加的执行架构更新的时间。保留期限延长意味着架构版本必须保留更长时间,这可能会导致在等待服务器资源时架构更新为 throttled。请确保您遵循架构更新最佳做法,并且符合架构更新限制

Point-in-time Recovery

Overview

Cloud Spanner point-in-time recovery (PITR) provides protection against accidental deletion or writes. For example, if an operator inadvertently writes data or an application rollout corrupts the database, with PITR you can recover the data from a point-in-time in the past (up to a maximum of 7 days) seamlessly. If you need longer-term retention of data, you can use either Backup and Restore or Export and Import.

PITR works by letting you configure a database's version_retention_period to retain all versions of data and schema, from a minimum of 1 hour up to a maximum of 7 days. Cloud Spanner stores old versions of data at microsecond granularity and the database maintains an earliest_version_time, which represents the earliest time in the past that you can recover old versions of the data.

Ways to recover data

There are two ways to recover data:

  • To recover a portion of the database, perform a stale read specifying a query-condition and timestamp in the past, and then write the results back into the live database. This is typically used for surgical operations on a live database. For example, if you accidentally delete a particular row or incorrectly update a subset of data, you can recover it with this method. For instructions, see recovering a portion of your database.

  • To recover the entire database, backup or export the database specifying a timestamp in the past and then restore or import it to a new database. This is typically used to recover from data corruption issues when you have to revert the entire database to a point-in-time before the corruption occurred. Note that backing up or exporting a database could take several hours and that you cannot restore or import to an existing database. For instructions, see recovering the entire database.

Performance considerations

Databases with longer retention periods and, in particular, those that frequently overwrite data, use more system resources. This can affect how your database performs, especially if your instance is not provisioned with enough nodes. If your database has a very high overwrite rate (e.g. if your database is overwritten multiple times per day), you might consider increasing the retention period gradually and monitoring the system. Here are some things to be aware of:

  • Increased storage utilization. We recommend setting up storage alerts to ensure that you do not exceed the 2 TB per node storage limit. When you increase the retention period, keep in mind that storage usage will increase gradually as the database accumulates older versions of data. This is because the old data that would have expired under the previous retention period, is no longer expired. So, for example, if you increase the retention period from 3 days to 7 days, you need to wait for 4 days for database storage usage to stabilize. We also provide instructions for estimating the storage increase.

  • Increased CPU usage and latency. Cloud Spanner uses additional computing resources to compact and maintain old versions of data. Monitor your instance and database to ensure that latency and CPU utilization remain at acceptable levels.

  • Increased time to perform schema updates. An increased retention period means that schema versions must be retained for longer durations potentially causing schema updates to be throttled while waiting for server resources. Make sure that you are following best practices for schema updates and staying within the limits for schema updates.