外键

本主题介绍了 Cloud Spanner 中的外键,以及如何使用这些键在数据库解决方案中实施参照完整性。

简介

外键允许您定义表之间的关系。Cloud Spanner 可确保保持这些关系的数据完整性。

假设您是电子商务企业的首席开发者。您正在设计一个数据库来处理客户订单。数据库需要存储每个订单、客户和产品的相关信息。图 1 展示了应用的基本数据库结构。

订单处理数据库的基本结构。

图 1:订单处理数据库示意图

您可以定义一个存储客户信息的 Customers 表、一个跟踪所下全部订单的 Orders 表以及一个存储客户可以订购的每件商品的相关信息的 Products 表。

图 1 还展示了映射到以下现实世界关系的表之间的关联:

  • 客户下了订单

  • 下了某商品的订单

您决定数据库应实施以下规则,以确保系统中的订单有效。

  • 您无法为不存在的客户创建订单。

  • 客户无法对您没有的商品下订单。

实施这些规则(即“限制条件”),即表示我们正在维护数据的参照完整性。当数据库保持参照完整性时,所有尝试添加无效数据的操作都将失败,这将导致数据之间出现无效链接或引用。参照完整性可防止用户出错。Cloud Spanner 通过外键实施参照完整性。

使用外键实施参照完整性

我们再次看一下订单处理示例,如图 2 所示,在设计中添加了更多细节。

采用外键的数据库架构

图 2:采用外键的数据库架构示意图

现在设计为每个表中都显示了列名称和类型。Orders 表还定义了两个外键关系。FK_CustomerOrder 可确保 Orders 中所有行都具有有效的 CustomerIDFK_ProductOrder 外键可确保 Orders 表中的所有 ProductID 值都有效。下表将这些限制条件与我们希望强制执行的实际规则一一对应。

外键名称 限制 实际说明
FK_CustomerOrder 确保 Orders 中所有行都具有有效 CustomerID 有效客户下了订单
FK_ProductOrder 确保 Orders 中所有行都具有有效 ProductID 对有效商品下了订单

Cloud Spanner 无法执行在 Orders 表中尝试插入或更新行的任何事务,该表具有的 CustomerIDProductIDCustomersProducts 表中找不到。此外,它也无法执行在 CustomersProducts 表中尝试更新或删除行的事务,从而导致 Orders 表中的数据失效。如需详细了解 Cloud Spanner 如何验证限制条件,请参阅下面的事务限制条件验证

定义外键

使用 DDL 在 Cloud Spanner 数据库中创建和移除外键。使用 CREATE TABLE 语句将外键添加到新表中。同样,也可以使用 ALTER TABLE 语句在现有表中添加或移除外键。以下是使用外键创建新表的示例。

CREATE TABLE Orders (
  OrderID INT64 NOT NULL,
  CustomerID INT64 NOT NULL,
  Quantity INT64 NOT NULL,
  ProductID INT64 NOT NULL,
  CONSTRAINT FK_CustomerOrder FOREIGN KEY (CustomerID) REFERENCES Customers (CustomerID)
) PRIMARY KEY (OrderID);

如需查看如何创建和管理外键的更多示例,请参阅创建和管理外键关系

下面列出了 Cloud Spanner 中的外键特性。

  • 定义外键的表是引用表,而外键列是引用列。

  • 外键引用“被引用”表的的“被引用”列

  • 在上面的示例中,您可以为每个外键限制条件指定名称。如果您没有指定名称、Cloud Spanner 会自动生成一个名称。生成的名称可通过 Cloud Spanner 的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA 查询。例如,限制条件名称的范围限定为架构以及表和索引的名称,并且在架构内必须具有唯一性。

  • 引用列数和被引用列数必须相同。顺序很重要。第一个引用列引用第一个被引用列,第二个引用列引用第二个被引用列,以此类推。

  • 引用列及其被引用的对应项目的类型必须相同。这些列还必须可编入索引。

  • 无法使用 allow_commit_timestamp=true 选项在列上创建外键。

  • 数组列不受支持。

  • 不支持 JSON 列。

  • 外键可以引用同一表的列(“自引用”外键)。例如,一个员工表具有一个引用该表的 EmployeeId 列的 ManagerId 列。

  • 外键还可以在表之间形成循环关系,其中两个表直接或间接地相互引用。由于必须先有被引用表,然后才能创建外键,因此必须使用 ALTER TABLE 语句添加至少其中一个外键。

  • 被引用键必须是唯一的。如果外键的被引用列与被引用表的主键列匹配,则 Cloud Spanner 使用被引用表的 PRIMARY KEY。如果 Cloud Spanner 无法使用被引用表的主键,则会在被引用列上创建 UNIQUE NULL_FILTERED INDEX

  • Cloud Spanner 可能还可以使用引用表的主键,但这种情况并不常见。如果不是,则 Cloud Spanner 会在引用列上创建 NULL_FILTERED INDEX

  • 外键不使用您创建的二级索引,而是创建自己的支持性索引。这些支持性索引可用于查询评估,包括明确的 force_index 指令。您可以通过 Cloud Spanner 的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA 查询支持性索引的名称。如需了解详情,请参阅支持性索引

长时间运行架构更改

将外键添加到现有表或使用外键创建新表可能导致产生长时间运行的操作。对于新表,只有在长时间运行的操作完成之后,才能写入该表。

使用外键创建新表时,Cloud Spanner 需要根据需要为每个外键回填被引用索引。

向现有表添加外键时,Cloud Spanner 需要根据需要回填引用索引和被引用索引。此外,Cloud Spanner 还会验证表中的现有数据,以确保其符合外键的参照完整性限制条件。如果有任何限制条件无效,架构更改将失败。

如果由于违反 UNIQUE 限制条件而无法创建被引用索引,则上述架构更改都可能会失败。

您可以查询 INFORMATION_SCHEMA.REFERENTIAL_CONSTRAINTS.SPANNER_STATE 以检查外键创建状态。

事务的限制条件验证

在提交事务时或在写入影响对事务中的后续操作可见时,Cloud Spanner 会验证外键限制条件。

插入到引用列中的值将与被引用表和被引用列的值进行匹配。系统不会检查具有 NULL 引用值的行,即可以将这些行添加到引用表中。

在尝试通过 DML 语句或 API 更新数据时,Cloud Spanner 会验证所有适用的外键引用限制条件。如果有任何限制条件无效,则所有待更改项都将回滚。

每个 DML 语句完成之后立即进行验证。例如,您必须在插入引用行之前先插入被引用的行。使用 Mutation API 时,Mutation 会进行缓冲,直到提交事务为止。 外键验证将推迟到提交事务之后进行。在这种情况下,可以先插入引用行。

将评估每个事务的修改是否会影响外键限制条件。此类评估可能需要向服务器发送额外请求。 支持性索引还需要额外的处理时间来评估事务修改并维护索引。此外,每个索引都需要额外的存储空间。

支持性索引

外键不使用用户创建的索引。它们会创建自己的支持性索引。

Cloud Spanner 可以为每个外键创建最多两个二级支持性索引,一个用于引用列,另一个用于被引用列。但是,外键通常会引用被引用表的主键,因此通常不需要被引用表上的第二个索引。

引用的表的支持性索引是 UNIQUE NULL_FILTERED 索引;如果任何现有数据违反了索引的唯一性限制条件,则无法创建外键。引用表的支持性索引为 NULL_FILTERED

如果两个或更多外键需要相同的支持性索引,则 Cloud Spanner 将为所有这些键只创建一个索引。丢弃使用该索引的外键,将同时丢弃支持性索引。用户无法更改或丢弃支持性索引。

外键支持性索引可用于查询评估。您可以通过 Cloud Spanner 的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA 查询其名称。

外键和表交错的比较

Cloud Spanner 的表交错是许多父子关系的理想选择,其中子表的主键包含父表的主键列。子行及其父行共用位置可以显著提高性能。

外键是一种较通用的父子解决方案,并解决了其他用例。外键不限于主键列,而表可以具有多个外键关系,二者在某些关系中可以作为父键,而在其他关系中可以作为子键。但是,外键关系不会隐含表在存储层中共处同一位置的关系。

我们来看一个示例,使用之前在本主题中讨论过的订单处理架构。回想一下,我们的 Orders 表的定义如下:

采用外键的数据库架构

图 3:采用外键的数据库架构示意图

图 3 中的设计存在一些限制。例如,每个订单目前只能包含一个订购商品。

假设我们的客户希望每笔订单能够订购多件商品。我们可以通过引入 OrderItems 表来增强设计,该表包含客户订购的每件商品。我们可以引入另一个外键来表示 OrdersOrderItems 之间新的一对多关系。但是,我们也知道,对各个订单及其各自的订购商品运行查询需要很长时间。此类数据共用空间可以提高性能,因此我们将使用 Cloud Spanner 的表交错功能创建父子关系。

下面是我们对 OrderItems 表的定义(与 Orders 交错)。

CREATE TABLE OrderItems (
  OrderID INT64 NOT NULL,
  ProductID INT64 NOT NULL,
  Quantity INT64 NOT NULL,
  FOREIGN KEY (ProductID) REFERENCES Products (ProductID)
) PRIMARY KEY (OrderID, ProductID),
  INTERLEAVE IN PARENT Orders ON DELETE CASCADE;

图 4 直观展示了更新后的数据库架构,因为引入了这个新表 OrderItemsOrders 交错。在这里,您还可以看到这两个表之间的一对多关系。

数据库架构显示 Orders 与新交错的 OrderItems 表之间的一对多关系

图 4:添加交错的 OrderItems 表

在此配置中,我们可以在每个订单中拥有多个 OrderItems 条目,每个订单的 OrderItems 条目是交错的,因此与这些订单位于同一位置。通过这种方式进行物理交错 OrdersOrderItems 可以提高性能,有效地预连接表并允许您一起访问相关的行,同时最小化磁盘访问。例如,Cloud Spanner 可以在本地通过主键执行联接,这样做可最大限度减少磁盘访问次数和网络流量。

总结

下表汇总了外键与表交错的比较方式。您可以根据这些信息来确定什么方式适合您的设计。

父子关系类型 表交错 外键
可以使用主键
可以使用非主键列
支持的父数据数量 0 .. 1 0 .. N
同时存储父数据和子数据
支持级联删除
Null 匹配模式 如果所有引用值与被引用值没有区别,则传递。
Null 值与 Null 值没有区别,但 Null 值与非 Null 值有区别。
如果有任何引用值为 Null,则传递。
如果所有引用值均为非 Null 值,且被引用表中有值等于引用值的行,则传递。
如果找不到匹配的行,则失败。
强制执行时间 使用 Mutation API 时的操作。
使用 DML 时的每个语句。
使用变更 API 时的每项事务。
使用 DML 时的每个语句。
可以轻松移除 不可以。除非删除整个子表,否则一旦创建表交错就无法移除。

后续步骤

Foreign keys

This topic describes foreign keys in Cloud Spanner and how they can be used to enforce referential integrity in your database solution.

Introduction

Foreign keys allow you to define relationships between tables. Cloud Spanner ensures the data integrity of these relationships is maintained.

Imagine you are the lead developer for an e-commerce business. You are designing a database to process customer orders. The database needs to store information about each order, customer and product. Figure 1 illustrates the basic database structure for the application.

Basic structure of the order processing database.

Figure 1. Diagram of an order processing database

You define a Customers table to store customer information, an Orders table to keep track of all orders made, and a Products table to store information about each product that customers can order.

Figure 1 also shows links between the tables that map to the following real- world relationships:

  • An order was placed by a customer

  • An order was placed for a product

You decide your database should enforce the following rules to make sure orders in our system are valid.

  • You can't create an order for a customer that doesn't exist.

  • A customer can't place an order for a product you don't carry.

When we enforce these rules, or constraints, we say that we are maintaining the referential integrity of our data. When a database maintains referential integrity, all attempts to add invalid data, which would result in invalid links or references between data, will fail. Referential integrity prevents user errors. Cloud Spanner enforces referential integrity through foreign keys.

Enforcing referential integrity with foreign keys

Let's look at our order processing example again, with more detail added to the design as shown in Figure 2.

Database schema with foreign keys

Figure 2. Diagram of our database schema with foreign keys

The design now shows column names and types in each table. The Orders table also defines two foreign key relationships. FK_CustomerOrder ensures that all rows in Orders have a valid CustomerID. The FK_ProductOrder foreign key ensures that all ProductID values in the Orders table are valid. The following table maps these constraints back to the real-world rules we want to enforce.

Foreign Key Name Constraint Real-world description
FK_CustomerOrder Ensures that all rows in Orders have a valid CustomerID An order was placed by a valid customer
FK_ProductOrder Ensures that all rows in Orders have a valid ProductID An order was placed for a valid product

Cloud Spanner fails any transaction that attempts to insert or update a row in the Orders table that has a CustomerID or ProductID not found in the Customers and Products tables. It also fails transactions that attempt to update or delete rows in the Customers and Products tables that would invalidate the ids in the Orders table. For more details about how Cloud Spanner validates constraints, refer to the Transaction constraint validation below.

Defining foreign keys

Foreign keys are created and removed from your Cloud Spanner database using DDL. Foreign keys are added to a new table with the CREATE TABLE statement. Similarly, a foreign key can be added to, or removed from, an existing table with the ALTER TABLE statement. The following is an example of creating a new table with a foreign key.

CREATE TABLE Orders (
  OrderID INT64 NOT NULL,
  CustomerID INT64 NOT NULL,
  Quantity INT64 NOT NULL,
  ProductID INT64 NOT NULL,
  CONSTRAINT FK_CustomerOrder FOREIGN KEY (CustomerID) REFERENCES Customers (CustomerID)
) PRIMARY KEY (OrderID);

For more examples of how to create and manage foreign keys, see Create and manage foreign key relationships.

The following is a list of characteristics of foreign keys in Cloud Spanner.

  • The table that defines the foreign key is the referencing table and foreign key columns are the referencing columns.

  • The foreign key references the referenced columns of the referenced table.

  • As in the example above, you can name each foreign key constraint. If not, Cloud Spanner generates a name automatically. The generated name is queryable from Cloud Spanner's INFORMATION_SCHEMA. Constraint names are scoped to the schema, along with the names for tables and indexes, for example, and must be unique within the schema.

  • The number of referencing and referenced columns must be the same. Order is significant. The first referencing column refers to the first referenced column, the second to the second, etc.

  • A referencing column and its referenced counterpart must be the same type. The columns must also be indexable.

  • Foreign keys cannot be created on columns with the allow_commit_timestamp=true option.

  • Array columns are not supported.

  • A foreign key may reference columns of the same table (a "self-referencing" foreign key). An example is an Employee table with a ManagerId column that references the table's EmployeeId column.

  • Foreign keys may also form circular relationships between tables where two tables reference each other, either directly or indirectly. The referenced table must exist before creating a foreign key, so at least one of the foreign keys must be added using the ALTER TABLE statement.

  • The referenced keys must be unique. Cloud Spanner uses the PRIMARY KEY of the referenced table if the foreign key's referenced columns match the referenced table's primary key columns. If Cloud Spanner cannot use the referenced table's primary key, it creates a UNIQUE NULL_FILTERED INDEX over the referenced columns.

  • Cloud Spanner may also be able to use the primary key of the referencing table, although this is less common. If not, Cloud Spanner creates a NULL_FILTERED INDEX over the referencing columns.

  • Foreign keys do not use secondary indexes you have created; they create their own backing indexes. These backing indexes are usable in query evaluations, including in explicit force_index directives. The name of the backing indexes are queryable from Cloud Spanner's INFORMATION_SCHEMA. For more information, see Backing indexes.

Long-running schema changes

Adding a foreign key to an existing table, or creating a new table with a foreign key, can lead to long-running operations. In the case of a new table, the table is not writable until the long-running operation is completed.

When creating a new table with a foreign key, Cloud Spanner needs to backfill the referenced indexes as needed for each foreign key.

When adding a foreign key to an existing table, Cloud Spanner needs to backfill the referencing and referenced indexes as needed. In addition, Cloud Spanner validates existing data in the table to ensure it complies with the foreign key's referential integrity constraint. The schema change will fail if any data is invalid.

Either of the above schema changes can fail if the referenced index can't be created due to a UNIQUE constraint violation.

You can query INFORMATION_SCHEMA.REFERENTIAL_CONSTRAINTS.SPANNER_STATE to check foreign key creation state.

Constraint validation for a transaction

Cloud Spanner validates foreign key constraints when a transaction is being committed, or when the effects of writes are being made visible to subsequent operations in the transaction.

A value inserted into the referencing column(s) is matched against the values of the referenced table and referenced columns. Rows with NULL referencing values are not checked, that is, they can be added to the referencing table.

Cloud Spanner validates all applicable foreign key referential constraints when attempting to update data via either DML statements or an API. All pending changes are rolled back if any constraints are invalid.

Validation occurs immediately after each DML statement. You must, for example, insert the referenced row before inserting its referencing rows. When using a mutation API, mutations are buffered until the transaction is committed. Foreign key validation is deferred until the transaction is committed. In this case it is permissible to insert the referencing rows first.

Each transaction is evaluated for modifications that affect foreign key constraints. These evaluations may require additional requests to the server. Backing indexes also require additional processing time to evaluate transaction modifications and to maintain the indexes. Additional storage is also required for each index.

Backing indexes

Foreign keys do not use user-created indexes. They create their own backing indexes.

Cloud Spanner can create up to two secondary backing indexes for each foreign key, one for the referencing columns, and a second for the referenced columns. However, a foreign key usually references the primary keys of the referenced table, so the second index on the referenced table is typically not needed.

The backing index for the referenced table is a UNIQUE NULL_FILTERED index; the creation of the foreign key fails if any existing data violates the index's uniqueness constraint. The backing index for the referencing table is NULL_FILTERED.

If two or more foreign keys require the same backing index, Cloud Spanner will create a single index for all of them. The backing indexes are dropped when the foreign keys using them are dropped. Users can't alter or drop the backing indexes.

The foreign key backing indexes are usable in query evaluations. Their names are queryable from Cloud Spanner's INFORMATION_SCHEMA.

Comparison of foreign keys and table interleaving

Cloud Spanner's table interleaving is a good choice for many parent-child relationships where the child table's primary key includes the parent table's primary key columns. The co-location of child rows with their parent rows can significantly improve performance.

Foreign keys are a more general parent-child solution and address additional use cases. They are not limited to primary key columns, and tables can have multiple foreign key relationships, both as a parent in some relationships and a child in others. However, a foreign key relation does not imply co-location of the tables in the storage layer.

Let's look at an example, using the order processing schema we discussed earlier in this topic. Recall our Orders table was defined as follows:

Database schema with foreign keys

Figure 3. Diagram of our database schema with foreign keys

The design in Figure 3 has some limitations. For example, each order can currently only contain one order item.

Let's imagine our customers tell us that they'd like to be able to order more than one product per order. We can enhance our design by introducing an OrderItems table that contains an entry for each product the customer ordered. We can introduce another foreign key to represent this new one-to-many relationship between Orders and OrderItems. But, we also know that a lot of the time we'll want to run queries across orders and their respective order items. Co-location of this data would boost performance, so we'll create the parent-child relationship using Cloud Spanner's table interleaving capability.

Here's how we define the OrderItems table, interleaved with Orders.

CREATE TABLE OrderItems (
  OrderID INT64 NOT NULL,
  ProductID INT64 NOT NULL,
  Quantity INT64 NOT NULL,
  FOREIGN KEY (ProductID) REFERENCES Products (ProductID)
) PRIMARY KEY (OrderID, ProductID),
  INTERLEAVE IN PARENT Orders ON DELETE CASCADE;

Figure 4 is a visual representation of the updated database schema as a result of introducing this new table, OrderItems, interleaved with Orders. Here you can also see the one-to-many relationship between those two tables.

Database schema showing a one-to-many relationship between Orders and the new, interleaved, OrderItems table

Figure 4. Addition of an interleaved OrderItems table

In this configuration, we can have multiple OrderItems entries in each order and the OrderItem entries for each order are interleaved, and therefore co-located with the orders. Physically interleaving Orders and OrderItems in this way can improve performance, effectively pre-joining the tables and allowing you to access related rows together while minimizing disk accesses. For example, Cloud Spanner can perform joins by primary key locally, minimizing disk access and network traffic.

Summary

The following table summarizes how foreign keys and table interleaving compare. You can use this information to decide what is right for your design.

Parent-child relationship type Table Interleaving Foreign Keys
Can use primary keys Yes Yes
Can use non-primary-key columns No Yes
Number of parents supported 0 .. 1 0 .. N
Stores parent and child data together Yes No
Supports cascade delete Yes No
Null matching mode Passes if all referencing values are not distinct from the referenced values.
Null values are not distinct from null values; null values are distinct from non-null values.
Passes if any referencing values are null.
Passes if all referencing values are non-null, and the referenced table has a row with values equal to the referencing values.
Fails if no matching row was found.
Enforcement Timing Per operation when using the mutation API.
Per statement when using DML.
Per transaction when using the mutation API.
Per statement when using DML.
Can be removed easily No. Table interleaving cannot be removed after it's created, unless you delete the whole child table. Yes

What's next