Bonnes pratiques relatives au langage de manipulation de données

Cette page décrit les bonnes pratiques d'utilisation du langage de manipulation de données (LMD) et du LMD partitionné.

Utiliser une clause WHERE pour réduire le nombre de lignes verrouillées

Les instructions LMD sont exécutées dans les transactions de lecture-écriture. Lorsque Cloud Spanner lit des données, il acquiert des verrous en lecture partagés sur les parties limitées des plages de lignes que vous consultez. Plus précisément, il n'acquiert ces verrous que sur les colonnes auxquelles vous accédez. Les verrous peuvent inclure des données qui ne correspondent pas à la condition de filtre de la clause WHERE.

Lorsque Cloud Spanner modifie des données à l'aide d'instructions LMD, il acquiert des verrous exclusifs sur les données spécifiques que vous modifiez. De plus, il acquiert des verrous partagés de la même manière que lorsque vous consultez des données. Si votre requête inclut de grandes plages de lignes ou une table entière, les verrous partagés peuvent empêcher les autres transactions de se terminer en parallèle.

Pour modifier les données aussi efficacement que possible, utilisez une clause WHERE permettant à Cloud Spanner de ne lire que les lignes nécessaires. Pour ce faire, appliquez un filtre sur la clé primaire ou sur la clé d'un index secondaire. La clause WHERE limite le champ d'application des verrous partagés et permet à Cloud Spanner de traiter la modification plus efficacement.

Par exemple, imaginons que l'un des musiciens de la table Singers change de prénom et que vous deviez mettre à jour ce prénom dans votre base de données. Vous pouvez exécuter l'instruction LMD suivante, mais elle oblige Cloud Spanner à analyser l'ensemble de la table et à acquérir des verrous partagés qui la couvrent dans sa totalité. Par conséquent, Cloud Spanner doit lire davantage de données que nécessaire, et les transactions simultanées ne peuvent pas modifier les données en parallèle :

-- ANTI-PATTERN: SENDING AN UPDATE WITHOUT THE PRIMARY KEY COLUMN
-- IN THE WHERE CLAUSE

UPDATE Singers SET FirstName = "Marcel"
WHERE FirstName = "Marc" AND LastName = "Richards";

Pour optimiser l'opération de mise à jour, incluez la colonne SingerId dans la clause WHERE. La colonne SingerId est la seule colonne de clé primaire pour la table Singers :

-- RECOMMENDED: INCLUDING THE PRIMARY KEY COLUMN IN THE WHERE CLAUSE

UPDATE Singers SET FirstName = "Marcel"
WHERE FirstName = "Marc" AND LastName = "Richards" AND SingerId = 1;

Ne pas combiner instructions LMD et mutations dans la même transaction

Cloud Spanner met en tampon les insertions, les modifications et les suppressions effectuées à l'aide d'instructions LMD côté serveur. Les résultats sont visibles pour les instructions SQL et LMD ultérieures dans la même transaction. Contrairement à ce qui se produit lors de l'utilisation de l'API Mutation, Cloud Spanner met en tampon les mutations côté client et envoie les mutations côté serveur dans le cadre de l'opération de commit. En conséquence, les mutations dans la requête de commit ne sont pas visibles pour les instructions SQL ou LMD dans la même transaction.

Vous souhaiterez peut-être combiner des instructions LMD et des mutations dans la même transaction, car certaines opérations ne sont disponibles que dans l'API Mutation. C'est, par exemple, le cas de insert_or_update. Si une transaction contient à la fois des instructions LMD et des mutations dans la requête de commit, Cloud Spanner exécute les instructions LMD avant les mutations. Pour éviter de devoir prendre en compte l'ordre d'exécution dans le code de votre bibliothèque cliente, vous devez utiliser soit les instructions LMD, soit les mutations d'une même transaction, mais pas les deux. Si vous utilisez les deux, il est recommandé de ne mettre en tampon les écritures qu'à la toute fin de la transaction.

Utiliser la fonction PENDING_COMMIT_TIMESTAMP pour écrire des horodatages de commit

Pour écrire l'horodatage de commit dans une instruction LMD, utilisez la fonction PENDING_COMMIT_TIMESTAMP. Cloud Spanner sélectionne l'horodatage de commit lorsque la transaction est enregistrée.

LMD partitionné, et fonctions de date et d'horodatage

Le LMD partitionné utilise une ou plusieurs transactions pouvant être exécutées et enregistrées à des moments différents. Si vous utilisez les fonctions de date ou d'horodatage, les lignes modifiées peuvent contenir des valeurs différentes.

Utiliser le traitement LMD par lots pour envoyer plusieurs LMD en une seule requête.

Utiliser le traitement LMD par lots pour envoyer plusieurs LMD en une seule requête. De cette manière, un seul aller-retour client-serveur est nécessaire, ce qui réduit la latence.

Data Manipulation Language best practices

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

This page describes best practices for using Data Manipulation Language (DML) and Partitioned DML.

Use a WHERE clause to reduce the scope of locks

You execute DML statements inside read-write transactions. When Spanner reads data, it acquires shared read locks on limited portions of the row ranges that you read. Specifically, it acquires these locks only on the columns you access. The locks can include data that does not match the filter condition of the WHERE clause.

When Spanner modifies data using DML statements, it acquires exclusive locks on the specific data that you are modifying. In addition, it acquires shared locks in the same way as when you read data. If your request includes large row ranges, or an entire table, the shared locks might prevent other transactions from completing in parallel.

To modify data as efficiently as possible, use a WHERE clause that enables Spanner to read only the necessary rows. You can achieve this goal with a filter on the primary key, or on the key of a secondary index. The WHERE clause limits the scope of the shared locks and enables Spanner to process the update more efficiently.

For example, suppose that one of the musicians in the Singers table changes their first name, and you need to update the name in your database. You could execute the following DML statement, but it forces Spanner to scan the entire table and acquires shared locks that cover the entire table. As a result, Spanner must read more data than necessary, and concurrent transactions cannot modify the data in parallel:

-- ANTI-PATTERN: SENDING AN UPDATE WITHOUT THE PRIMARY KEY COLUMN
-- IN THE WHERE CLAUSE

UPDATE Singers SET FirstName = "Marcel"
WHERE FirstName = "Marc" AND LastName = "Richards";

To make the update more efficient, include the SingerId column in the WHERE clause. The SingerId column is the only primary key column for the Singers table:

-- RECOMMENDED: INCLUDING THE PRIMARY KEY COLUMN IN THE WHERE CLAUSE

UPDATE Singers SET FirstName = "Marcel"
WHERE FirstName = "Marc" AND LastName = "Richards" AND SingerId = 1;

Don't use DML statements and mutations in the same transaction

Spanner buffers insertions, updates, and deletions performed using DML statements on the server-side, and the results are visible to subsequent SQL and DML statements within the same transaction. This behavior is different from the Mutation API, where Spanner buffers the mutations on the client-side and sends the mutations server-side as part of the commit operation. As a result, mutations in the commit request are not visible to SQL or DML statements within the same transaction.

You might want to combine DML statements and mutations in the same transaction, because some operations are only supported in the Mutation API. An example is insert_or_update. If a transaction contains both DML statements and mutations in the commit request, Spanner executes the DML statements before the mutations. To avoid having to account for the order of execution in your client library code, you should use either DML statements or the mutations in a single transaction, but not both. If you use both, you should buffer writes only at the very end of the transaction.

Use the PENDING_COMMIT_TIMESTAMP function to write commit timestamps

Google Standard SQL

You use the PENDING_COMMIT_TIMESTAMP function to write the commit timestamp in a DML statement. Spanner selects the commit timestamp when the transaction commits.

PostgreSQL

You use the SPANNER.PENDING_COMMIT_TIMESTAMP() function to write the commit timestamp in a DML statement. Spanner selects the commit timestamp when the transaction commits.

Partitioned DML and date and timestamp functions

Partitioned DML uses one or more transactions that might run and commit at different times. If you use the date or timestamp functions, the modified rows might contain different values.

Use batch DML to make multiple writes with a single request

To reduce latency, use batch DML to send multiple DML statements to Spanner within a single client-server round trip.

Additionally, grouping similar INSERT, UPDATE, or DELETE statements together within batches can result in faster and more efficient data updates. Spanner automatically optimizes the way it processes contiguous, batched DML statements that differ only in parameter values, and which do not contain complex data dependencies.

For example, consider a scenario where you wish to insert a large set of new rows into a table called Albums. To let Spanner optimize all the required INSERT statements into a single, efficient server-side action, begin by writing an appropriate DML statement that makes use of SQL query parameters:

INSERT INTO Albums (SingerId, AlbumId, AlbumTitle) VALUES (@Singer, @Album, @Title);

Then, send Spanner a DML batch that invokes this statement repeatedly and contiguously, with the repetitions differing only in the values you bind to the statement's three query parameters. Spanner optimizes these structurally identical DML statements into a single server-side operation before executing it.