批量加载最佳做法

本页面提供了一些准则,旨在帮助您高效地将大量数据批量加载到 Cloud Spanner 中。

您可以通过多种方式将数据批量加载到 Cloud Spanner 中:

批量加载的性能准则

通过遵循以下准则,您可以实现最佳的批量加载性能:

  • 尽可能减少每个写入事务所涉及的分片数量。当事务所涉及的分片数量减少时,写入吞吐量会达到最大,从而实现性能最大化。

  • 最大限度地利用分区功能,以跨越多个工作器任务分配写入分区。

Cloud Spanner 使用基于负载的拆分来跨节点平均分配数据负载。在几分钟的高负载之后,Cloud Spanner 会在非交错表的行之间引入分片边界。一般而言,如果数据负载分布均衡,并且您遵循了架构设计和批量加载的最佳做法,那么在实例中可用的 CPU 资源达到饱和前,写入吞吐量应该每隔几分钟就会增加一倍。

通过主键对数据进行分区

要获得批量加载的最佳写入吞吐量,请使用以下模式通过主键对数据进行分区:

  • 每个分区包含一系列连续的行(由键列确定)。
  • 每个提交包含仅用于单个分区的数据。

我们建议分区数为 Cloud Spanner 实例中节点数的 10 倍。要将行分配给分区,请执行以下操作:

  • 通过主键对数据进行排序。
  • 将数据划分到 10 *(节点数)个独立且大小相等的分区。
  • 为每个分区创建并分配单独的工作器任务。您应该在您的应用中创建工作器任务。Cloud Spanner 不具备该功能。

若遵循这种模式,对于大型加载作业,每个节点的最大整体批量写入吞吐量应该会达到每秒 10-20 MB。

在加载数据时,Cloud Spanner 会创建并更新分片,以平衡实例中节点上的负载。在此过程中可能会出现吞吐量暂时下降的情况。

示例

您有一个包含 3 个节点的区域配置。非交错表的行数为 90000 行。表中的主键范围为 1 到 90000。

  • 行数:90000
  • 节点数:3
  • 分区数:10 * 3 = 30
  • 每个分区的行数:90000 / 30 = 3000。

第一个分区包括键范围 1 到 3000。第二个分区包括键范围 3001 到 6000。第 30 个分区包括键范围 87001 到 90000。(不应在大型表中使用顺序键。此示例仅出于演示目的。)

每个工作器任务都负责发送对单个分区的写入操作。在每个分区中,您应该按主键并按顺序写入行。在分区中随机写入行(就主键而言)也应提供合理的高吞吐量。 通过衡量测试结果,您可以深入了解哪种方法可为数据集提供最佳性能。

如果您决定不使用分区

在提交中写入随机的行(每个变更插入单独一行)可能比一次只写入一行更慢。这可能会涉及多个分片,因为每个随机行可能属于不同的分片。最糟糕的情况是,每次写入都会涉及 Cloud Spanner 实例中的所有分片。如上文所述,当写入涉及更多分片时,写入吞吐量会降低。

避免回退

发送的写请求有可能会多于 Cloud Spanner 能够处理的写请求。 Cloud Spanner 通过中止事务来处理过载,这种情况称作“回退”(pullback)。 对于只写事务,Cloud Spanner 会自动重试事务。在这种情况下,回退表现为高延迟。在高负载期间,回退可能会持续长达一分钟。在严重高负载期间,回退可能会持续几分钟。为了避免回退,您应该限制写入请求,以将 CPU 利用率保持在合理的限制范围内。

每次提交 1 MB 到 5 MB 的变更

无论写入量是大还是小,每次写入 Cloud Spanner 都会产生一些开销。要使吞吐量最大化,应最大限度提高每次写入所存储的数据量。 增加写入量有助于降低每次写入的开销比率。 一种较好的方法是,每个提交都修改数百行。写入相对较大的行时,大小为 1 MB 到 5 MB 的提交通常可提供最佳性能。在写入较小的值或编入索引的值时,最佳做法通常是,在单个提交中最多写入几百行。请注意,不管提交大小和行数是多少,每个提交包含的变更数不得超过 20000。 要确定最佳性能,您应该测试并测量吞吐量。

大于 5 MB 或超过几百行的提交不会带来额外的好处,并且有可能超出 Cloud Spanner 对提交大小以及每个提交包含的变更数的限制

二级索引准则

如果数据库具有二级索引,您必须选择在加载表数据之前还是之后将索引添加到数据库架构。

  • 在加载数据之前添加索引可让架构更改立即完成。但是,影响索引的每次写入将需要更长时间,因为它还需要更新索引。数据加载完成后,所有索引就绪,数据库将立即可用。要同时创建表及其索引,请在一个请求中将添加新表和添加新索引的 DDL 语句一并发送到 Cloud Spanner。

  • 在加载数据后添加索引意味着每次写入都是高效的。但是,每个索引回填的架构更改可能需要较长时间。在所有架构更改完成之前,数据库不是完全可用的。

一般而言,如果数据库的索引少于 40 个,请在加载数据后添加索引。对于索引数量远远超过 40 的数据库,请在加载数据之前添加索引。

测试并测量吞吐量

预测吞吐量可能较为困难。我们建议您在最终加载数据之前先测试批量加载策略。如需查看使用分区和监控性能的详细示例,请参阅最大化数据加载吞吐量

定期批量加载到现有数据库的最佳做法

如果要更新包含数据但没有任何二级索引的现有数据库,本主题中的建议仍然适用。

如果您有二级索引,这些说明可能会帮助您获得合理的性能。性能取决于事务涉及的平均分片数量。如果吞吐量下降至太低的水平,您可以尝试以下方法:

  • 减少每个提交中包含的变更数量,这可能会提高吞吐量。
  • 如果您的上传量大于正在更新的表的当前总大小,请删除二级索引,并在上传数据后重新添加。通常没有必要执行此步骤,但这样做可能会提高吞吐量。

导入 Avro 文件的最佳做法

以下页面提供了有关提升 Avro 文件导入性能的信息:

使用 Dataflow 连接器的最佳做法

如需了解 Dataflow 连接器使用方面的性能提示,请参阅写入 Cloud Spanner 并转换数据

Bulk loading best practices

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

This page provides guidelines for efficiently bulk loading large amounts of data into Cloud Spanner.

You have several options for bulk loading data into Spanner:

While you can also insert rows using the Google Cloud CLI, we don't recommend that you use the gcloud CLI for bulk loading.

Performance guidelines for bulk loading

To achieve optimal bulk loading performance, maximize your use of partitioning to distribute writing the data across worker tasks.

Spanner uses load-based splitting to evenly distribute your data load across the instance's compute resources. After a few minutes of high load, Spanner introduces split boundaries between rows. In general, if your data load is well-distributed and you follow best practices for schema design and bulk loading, your write throughput should double every few minutes until you saturate the available CPU resources in your instance.

Partition your data by primary key

Spanner dynamically partitions tables into smaller ranges. The primary key for a row determines where it is partitioned.

To get optimal write throughput for bulk loads, partition your data by primary key with this pattern:

  • Each partition contains a range of consecutive rows, as determined by the key columns.
  • Each commit contains data for only a single partition.

We recommend that the number of partitions be 10 times the number of nodes in your Spanner instance. To assign rows to partitions:

  • Sort your data by primary key.
  • Divide the data into 10 * (number of nodes) separate, equally sized partitions.
  • Create and assign a separate worker task to each partition. Creating the worker tasks happens in your application. It is not a Spanner feature.

Following this pattern, you should see a maximum overall bulk write throughput of 10-20 MB per second per node for large loads.

As you load data, Spanner creates and updates splits to balance the load on the nodes in your instance. During this process, you may experience temporary drops in throughput.

Example

You have a regional configuration with 3 nodes. You have 90,000 rows in a non-interleaved table. The primary keys in the table range from 1 to 90000.

  • Rows: 90,000 rows
  • Nodes: 3
  • Partitions: 10 * 3 = 30
  • Rows per partition: 90000 / 30 = 3000.

The first partition includes the key range 1 to 3000. The second partition includes the key range 3001 to 6000. The 30th partition includes the key range 87001 to 90000. (You should not use sequential keys in a large table. This example is only for demonstration.)

Each worker task sends the writes for a single partition. Within each partition, you should write the rows sequentially by primary key. Writing rows randomly, with respect to the primary key, should also provide reasonably high throughput. Measuring test runs will give you insight into which approach provides the best performance for your dataset.

If you decide not to use partitions

Writing random rows within a commit may be slower than writing a contiguous set of rows in a commit, and likely touch data in different partitions. The commit latency and overhead is higher when more splits are being written into a commit, due to increased coordination across servers. Multiple splits are likely involved, because each random row could belong to a different split. In the worst case scenario, each write involves every split in your Spanner instance. As mentioned above, write throughput is lowered when more splits are involved.

Bulk load without partitioning

Writing a contiguous set of rows in a commit can be faster than writing random rows. Random rows also likely include data from different partitions.

When more partitions are written into a commit, more coordination across servers is required, raising the commit latency and overhead.

Multiple partitions are likely involved because each random row could belong to a different partition. In the worst case scenario, each write involves every partition in your Spanner instance. As mentioned above, write throughput is lowered when more partitions are involved.

Avoid overload

It's possible to send more write requests than Spanner can handle. Spanner handles the overload by aborting transactions, which is called pushback. For write-only transactions, Spanner automatically retries the transaction. In those cases, the pushback shows up as high latency. During heavy loads, pushback can last for up to a minute. During severely heavy loads, pushback can last for several minutes. To avoid pushback, you should throttle write requests to keep CPU utilization within reasonable limits. Alternatively, users can increase the number of nodes so that CPU utilization stays within the limits.

Commit between 1 MB to 5 MB of mutations at a time

Each write to Spanner contains some overhead, whether the write is big or small. To maximize throughput, maximize the amount of data stored per write. Larger writes lower the ratio of overhead per write. A good technique is for each commit to mutate hundreds of rows. When writing relatively large rows, a commit size of 1 MB to 5 MB usually provides the best performance. When writing small values, or values that are indexed, it is generally best to write at most a few hundred rows in a single commit. Independently from the commit size and number of rows, be aware that there is a limitation of 40,000 mutations per commit. To determine optimal performance, you should test and measure the throughput.

Commits larger than 5 MB or more than a few hundred rows don't provide extra benefit, and they risk exceeding the Spanner limits on commit size and mutations per commit.

Guidelines for secondary indexes

If your database has secondary indexes, you must choose between adding the indexes to the database schema before or after loading the table data.

  • Adding the index before data is loaded allows the schema change to complete immediately. However, each write affecting the index takes longer since it also needs to update the index. When the data load is complete, the database is immediately usable with all indexes in place. To create a table and its indexes at the same time, send the DDL statements for the new table and the new indexes in a single request to Spanner.

  • Adding the index after loading the data means that each write is efficient. However, the schema change for each index backfill can take a long time. The database is not fully usable, and queries can't use the indexes until all of the schema changes are complete. The database can still serve writes and queries but at a slower rate.

We recommend adding indexes that are critical to your business application before you load the data. For all non-critical indexes, add them after the data is migrated.

Test and measure the throughput

Predicting throughput can be difficult. We recommend that you test your bulk loading strategy before running the final load. For a detailed example using partitioning and monitoring performance, see Maximizing data load throughput.

Best practices for periodic bulk loading to an existing database

If you are updating an existing database that contains data but does not have any secondary indexes, then the recommendations in this topic still apply.

If you do have secondary indexes, the instructions might yield reasonable performance. Performance depends on how many splits, on average, are involved in your transactions. If throughput drops too low, you can try the following:

  • Include a smaller number of mutations in each commit, which might increase throughput.
  • If your upload is larger than the total current size of the table being updated, delete your secondary indexes and then add them again after you upload the data. This step is usually not necessary, but it might improve the throughput.