Modify a Project's Billing Settings

Overview

If you are a billing administrator on only one billing account, new projects you create are automatically linked to your existing billing account. If you create and have access to multiple billing accounts, you can change the billing account a project is billed to. This article describes how to change the billing account for your project, as well as how to enable and disable billing for a project.

If you want to receive invoices or statements by email, or you want to change who receives them, see Change Payments Contacts and Notifications.

Required Permissions

The permissions required to accomplish the various tasks described in this article depend on the task. To learn which permissions are required for a task, in the task's section, click the down arrow button (expand_more) next to Permissions required for this task to view the detailed information.

For more information about billing permissions, see:

Change the billing account for a project

To change the billing account:

  1. Sign in to the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  2. Open the console navigation menu (menu) and select Billing.
  3. If you have more than one billing account, you'll be prompted to select Go to linked billing account to manage the current project's billing.
  4. From the Billing navigation menu, click Account management.
  5. Under Projects linked to this billing account, locate the name of the project that you want to change billing for, and then click the menu (more_vert) next to it.
  6. Select Change billing, then choose the desired destination billing account.

  7. Click SET ACCOUNT.

Charges already incurred that have not yet been reported in the transaction history will be billed to the former billing account. This can include charges from up to 2 days prior to when the project was moved.

Enable billing for a project

How you enable billing depends on whether you're creating a new project or you're re-enabling billing for an existing project.

Enable billing for a new project

When you create a new project, you're prompted to choose which of your billing accounts you want to link to the project. If you have only one billing account, that account is automatically linked to your project.

If you don't have a billing account, you must create one and enable billing for your project before you can use many Google Cloud Platform features. To create a new billing account and enable billing for your project, follow the instructions in Create a new billing account.

Enable billing for an existing project

If you have a project where billing has been temporarily disabled, you can re-enable billing.

To re-enable billing on a project:

  1. Go to the Google Cloud Platform Console Manage billing accounts page and sign in.
  2. Select the My projects tab to view a list of projects and the associated billing account for each project.
  3. From the list of projects, locate the project for which you want to reenable billing, and then click the menu (more_vert) next to it.
  4. Select Change billing, then choose the desired destination billing account.

  5. Click SET ACCOUNT.

Disable billing for a project

To stop automatic payments for a project, you need to disable billing for the project. Note that even if you disable billing, you are still responsible for all outstanding charges on the account. Your listed form of payment on your billing account will be used to pay for any outstanding charges.

To disable billing for a project:

  1. Sign in to the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  2. Open the console navigation menu (menu) and select Billing.
  3. If you have more than one billing account, select Go to linked billing account to manage the current project's billing. To locate a different billing account, select Manage billing accounts.
  4. From the Billing navigation menu, click Account management.
  5. Under Projects linked to this billing account, locate the name of the project that you want to disable billing for, and then click the menu (more_vert) next to it.
  6. Select Disable billing. You are prompted to confirm that you want to disable billing for this project.

  7. Click DISABLE BILLING.

Var denne side nyttig? Giv os en anmeldelse af den:

Send feedback om...

Har du brug for hjælp? Besøg vores supportside.