在 SSD 及 HDD 儲存空間之間做出選擇

當您建立了一個 Cloud Bigtable 的執行個體時,您須選擇其叢集要將資料儲存於固態硬碟 (SSD) 或是傳統硬碟 (HDD)。

  • 在大多數的情況下,SSD 的儲存空間是最有效且最具成本效益的選擇。
  • HDD 儲存空間通常適用於不易受延遲時間影響或不常存取的超大型資料集 (>10 TB)。

不管您選取了哪一種儲存型態,您的資料都會被儲存於橫跨多個實體硬碟的分散式複製檔案系統中。

此頁面的指南將幫助您選擇 SSD 或 HDD。

若不確定,選擇 SSD 儲存空間就對了

以下數個原因說明為何使用 SSD 儲存空間儲存您的 Cloud Bigtable 叢集是比較好的選擇:

  • 與 HDD 相比之下,SSD 快速許多且其效能可控制在預期範圍內。 在 Cloud Bigtable 中,SSD 儲存空間能為 99% 的請求提供 6ms 的讀寫延遲。而 HDD 儲存空間在同一個基準下,僅能夠提供 200ms 讀取延遲以及 50ms 的寫入延遲。
  • 與 SSD 的總處理量相比,HDD 的總處理量較有限。 在叢集中採用 HDD 儲存空間,很容易在 CPU 使用率達到 100% 之前即達到最大總處理量。若要增加總處理量,您必須增加更多節點,不過額外節點所花費的成本很容易就超過您使用 HDD 儲存空間所省下的成本。SSD 儲存空間就沒有以上限制,因為其在單一節點提供了較大的總處理量。在一般情況下,採用 SSD 儲存空間的叢集只會在所有可用的 CPU 及記憶體都被使用的狀況下,才會達到最大總處理量。
  • HDD 的個別資料列讀取速度非常緩慢。 這是因為在磁碟搜尋時間,HDD 儲存空間支援的每秒資料列讀取數目只有 SSD 儲存空間的 5%。然而,大型的多資料列掃描作業則不會受到不利影響。
  • 相對於 Cloud BigTable 叢集節點的成本,除非您要儲存非常大量的資料,否則 HDD 節省的成本微不足道。 正因為上述原因,在基本原則下,您不應考慮使用 HDD 儲存空間,除非您要儲存 10TB 以上的資料。

使用 SSD 儲存空間有一項潛在的缺點,那就是當您儲存大量的資料時,您的叢集需要更多的節點。但實際上,您可能需要這些額外的節點,讓您的叢集足以負荷傳入的流量,而不僅是承受您儲存的大量資料。

HDD 儲存空間的使用案例

HDD 儲存空間適用於以下幾種情境:

  • 您希望儲存 10 TB 以上的資料。
  • 您不會將這些資料用於與使用者互動或易受延遲時間影響的應用。
  • 您的工作負載符合以下其中一種類別:

    • 會進行掃描及寫入的批次工作負載,但只是偶爾隨機讀取少量的資料列。
    • 資料封存,也就是您寫入大量資料但鮮少讀取資料之處。

例如,若您打算為大量的遠端感測裝置儲存豐富的歷史資料,並且用這些資料生成每日報告,則使用 HDD 儲存空間,以效能換取節省成本是可行的。但若您想要用這些資料來顯示即時資訊主頁,那麼使用 HDD 儲存空間是不合理的,因為在這種情況下會很頻繁地讀取資訊,而 HDD 儲存空間讀取速度相當緩慢。

切換 SSD 及 HDD 儲存空間

當您在 Cloud Bigtable 中建立資源及叢集時,您為叢集選擇 SSD 或 HDD 儲存空間後就無法變更。您無法從 Google Cloud Platform 主控台變更您對叢集所使用的儲存空間方式。

如果您需要將現有的 HDD 叢集轉換為 SSD,或從 SSD 轉換為 HDD,您可以從現有的執行個體匯出資料,然後匯入資料至新的執行個體。或者,您可以使用 Cloud Dataflow 或是 Hadoop MapReduce 工作來將資料從一個執行個體複製到另一個執行個體。請記住,移轉執行個體中的資料需要花費時間,所以在這之前您可能需要先為 Cloud Bigtable 叢集新增節點。

相關資源

使用 SSD 或 HDD 儲存空間來建立執行個體

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Bigtable 說明文件

Choosing Between SSD and HDD Storage

When you create a Cloud Bigtable instance, you choose whether its clusters store data on solid-state drives (SSD) or hard disk drives (HDD):

  • SSD storage is the most efficient and cost-effective choice for most use cases.
  • HDD storage is sometimes appropriate for very large data sets (>10 TB) that are not latency-sensitive or are infrequently accessed.

Regardless of which type of storage you choose, your data is stored on a distributed, replicated file system that spans across many physical drives.

The guidelines on this page can help you choose between SSD and HDD.

When in doubt, choose SSD storage

There are several reasons why it's usually best to use SSD storage for your Cloud Bigtable cluster:

  • SSD is significantly faster and has more predictable performance than HDD. In a Cloud Bigtable cluster, SSD storage delivers 6 ms latencies for both reads and writes for 99% of all requests. By contrast, HDD storage delivers 200 ms read latencies and 50 ms write latencies on the same benchmark.
  • HDD throughput is much more limited than SSD throughput. In a cluster that uses HDD storage, it's easy to reach the maximum throughput before CPU usage reaches 100%. To increase throughput, you must add more nodes, but the cost of the additional nodes can easily exceed your savings from using HDD storage. SSD storage does not have this limitation, because it offers much more throughput per node—generally, a cluster that uses SSD storage reaches maximum throughput only when it is using all available CPU and memory.
  • Individual row reads on HDD are very slow. Because of disk seek time, HDD storage supports only 5% of the read QPS of SSD storage. Large multi-row scans, however, are not as adversely impacted.
  • The cost savings from HDD are minimal, relative to the cost of the nodes in your Cloud Bigtable cluster, unless you're storing very large amounts of data. For this reason, as a rule of thumb, you shouldn't consider using HDD storage unless you're storing at least 10 TB of data.

One potential drawback of SSD storage is that it requires more nodes in your clusters based on the amount of data that you store. In practice, though, you might need those extra nodes so that your clusters can keep up with incoming traffic, not only to support the amount of data that you're storing.

Use cases for HDD storage

HDD storage is suitable for use cases that meet the following criteria:

  • You expect to store at least 10 TB of data.
  • You will not use the data to back a user-facing or latency-sensitive application.
  • Your workload falls into one of the following categories:

    • Batch workloads with scans and writes, and no more than occasional random reads of a small number of rows.
    • Data archival, where you write very large amounts of data and rarely read that data.

For example, if you plan to store extensive historical data for a large number of remote-sensing devices and then use the data to generate daily reports, the cost savings for HDD storage might justify the performance tradeoff. On the other hand, if you plan to use the data to display a real-time dashboard, it probably would not make sense to use HDD storage—reads would be much more frequent in this case, and reads are much slower with HDD storage.

Switching between SSD and HDD storage

When you create a Cloud Bigtable instance and cluster, your choice of SSD or HDD storage for the cluster is permanent. You cannot use the Google Cloud Platform Console to change the type of storage that is used for the cluster.

If you need to convert an existing HDD cluster to SSD, or vice-versa, you can export the data from the existing instance and import the data into a new instance. Alternatively, you can use a Cloud Dataflow or Hadoop MapReduce job to copy the data from one instance to another. Keep in mind that migrating an entire instance takes time, and you might need to add nodes to your Cloud Bigtable clusters before you migrate your instance.

What's next

Create an instance with SSD or HDD storage.

Send feedback about...

Cloud Bigtable Documentation