應用程式設定檔

應用程式設定檔內儲存的設定能夠讓您瞭解 Cloud Bigtable 執行個體如何處理來自於應用程式的連入要求。當有一個應用程式要與您的 Cloud Bigtable 執行個體連線時,可以指定應用程式設定檔,這時 Cloud Bigtable 就會使用此設定檔來接收應用程式透過連線傳送的所有要求。

如執行個體使用複製功能,應用程式設定檔會影響應用程式與該執行個體的連線方式。因此,假如執行個體擁有兩個以上的叢集,這時應用程式設定檔就特別實用。就算執行個體中只有一個叢集,您也可以使用相對應的唯一應用程式設定檔來處理各個執行的應用程式,或是單一應用程式中的不同元件。接著您可以查看每一個應用程式設定檔中 Cloud Bigtable 指標的個別圖表

本頁面說明應用程式設定檔控制的設定,以及設定檔與應用程式運作的過程。關於常用的設定範例,請參考複製功能設定。關於建立及管理應用程式設定檔的詳細資訊,請參考應用程式設定檔之設定

如果您透過應用程式設定檔來設定複製功能,建議您在閱讀此頁面之前先熟悉 Cloud Bigtable 的複製功能總覽的內容。

應用程式設定檔的設定

應用程式設定檔定義了 Cloud Bigtable 所使用的路由策略,同時還能夠控制是否允許單一資料列交易

轉送政策

應用程式設定檔會指定 Cloud Bigtable 對每一次要求使用的轉送政策:

  • 單一叢集轉送會將所有要求轉送至執行個體中的單一叢集。如果該叢集無法使用,您必須手動容錯移轉到另一個叢集。

  • 多叢集轉送會自動將要求轉送至執行個體中最接近的叢集。如果叢集無法使用,系統會自動將流量容錯移轉到最近的可用叢集。Cloud Bigtable 將單一地區內的叢集均視為等距,即使這些叢集位於不同的區域亦然。

如需瞭解更多容錯移轉的相關資訊,請參閱容錯移轉。 如需瞭解如何進行容錯移轉,請參閱容錯移轉管理

單一資料列交易

對 Cloud Bigtable 而言,資料列層級的讀取與寫入具有單元性,是不可分割的作業。 不過,Cloud Bigtable 無法支援在資料列層級之上的單元性,例如 Cloud Bigtable 不支援大於單一資料列的單元性更新交易。

然而,Cloud Bigtable 可以支援某些需要其他資料庫交易的寫入作業:

  • 讀取-修改-寫入之操作,包含資料的新增及附加。讀取-修改-寫入之操作會讀取現有值,對現有值進行新增或附加,並在資料表中寫入更新後的值。
  • 檢查及修改之操作,亦可稱為條件異動或條件寫入。在檢查及修改之操作中,Cloud Bigtable 會檢查資料列是否符合指定條件,若符合,Cloud Bigtable 會寫入新的值於資料列中。

實際上,Cloud Bigtable 使用單一資料列交易進行操作。這些操作包含了讀取與寫入,且皆已具有單元性,不過僅受限於資料列層級。

單一資料列交易間的衝突

每一個 Cloud Bigtable 執行個體中的叢集皆為能夠接受讀取與寫入的主要叢集。因此當您啟用複製功能時,具有單一資料列交易需求的操作會造成一些問題,例如, 假設一個儲存格包含了 ABC 的值, 然後在兩個不同的叢集中進行了兩次附加資料的操作,其中一個操作是將值更改為 ABCDEF,另一個操作是將值更改為 ABCXYZ,此時 Cloud Bigtable 如何解決這種衝突的情境呢?

為了幫助您解決上述問題,Cloud Bigtable 要求每一個應用程式設定檔皆須指定是否允許執行單一資料列交易。如此一來,您也就不能在使用多叢集路由的應用程式設定檔中,啟用單一資料列交易,因為沒有安全的方法能讓您同時啟用這兩個功能。

當您在 2 個不同的應用程式設定檔 (皆採用單一叢集路由策略,但指向不同叢集) 啟用單一資料列交易,Cloud Bigtable 也會向您發出警告。若要建立此類設定,必須確認您沒有發送「讀取-修改-寫入之操作」以及「檢查及修改之操作」的請求至兩個不同叢集。

應用程式設定檔如何運作

應用程式設定檔的設定決定了 Cloud Bigtable 處理執行個體傳入請求的方式。

許多 Cloud Bigtable 使用者會擁有許多連結至相同執行個體的應用程式。例如,您可能已經有一個專門回應顧客資料請求的應用程式,又有另一個是負責執行不定期批次資料分析。為了處理這兩種不同的應用程式,您應建立多個應用程式設定檔 (每一個應用程式都至少要有一個專屬的設定檔),並確保各應用程式的設定檔都具備正確的相關設定。這樣的設定方式讓我們能輕鬆針對特定應用程式來更改設定,同時不會影響到其他設定。

除此之外,您可能還會使用單一應用程式來實現不同功能,像是檢視當前資料以及查詢歷史資料。為了能夠妥善處理這些不同的功能,您應針對每一個功能建立其專屬的應用程式設定檔,如此您便可讓每一個功能擁有不同的設定,針對特定功能進行設定上的異動時也不會影響到其他功能。

每一個執行個體都有 default 應用程式設定檔,您亦可針對各執行個體建立專屬的自訂應用程式設定檔。以下各節內容說明 default 和自訂應用程式設定檔。

當您需要連結到特定執行個體時,您可以透過程式碼內規劃的方式,來指定要使用的應用程式設定檔。如果您不指定應用程式設定檔,Cloud Bigtable 將會使用執行個體內的預設應用程式設定檔。

預設的應用程式設定檔

當您建立一個執行個體時,Cloud Bigtable 會自動為該執行個體建立一個預設的應用程式設定檔。若您的應用程式沒有指定任何應用程式設定檔,或者是您使用 HBase shell 來與您的執行個體連結,Cloud Bigtable 會採取預設應用程式設定檔之設定。您可以隨時查看及變更這些設定

執行個體預設應用程式設定檔中的設定,取決於您首次建立執行個體時所具備的叢集數量:

  • 如果您建立的執行個體有 1 個叢集,default 應用程式設定檔就會使用單一叢集轉送,並且啟用單一資料列交易。這樣可確保之後新增其他叢集也不會更改現有應用程式的行為。
  • 如果您建立的執行個體至少有 2 個叢集,default 應用程式設定檔就會使用多叢集轉送單一資料列交易不允許透過多叢集轉送進行。

自訂應用程式設定檔

您可以針對不同的執行個體建立許多不同的自訂應用程式設定檔。您可以透過自訂應用程式設定檔,針對不同應用程式或是應用程式中的不同功能來進行控管。例如,您可將單一應用程式設定檔用於批次處理應用程式,來將流量區隔至單一的叢集中,或使用不同的應用程式設定檔,為其他應用程式提供可用性。

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Bigtable 說明文件

Application Profiles

An application profile, or app profile, stores settings that tell your Cloud Bigtable instance how to handle incoming requests from an application. When one of your applications connects to a Cloud Bigtable instance, it can specify an app profile, and Cloud Bigtable uses that app profile for any requests that the application sends over that connection.

App profiles affect how your applications communicate with an instance that uses replication. As a result, app profiles are especially useful for instances that have 2 clusters. Even if your instance has only 1 cluster, you can use a unique app profile for each application that you run, or for different components within a single application. You can then view separate graphs of your Cloud Bigtable metrics for each app profile.

This page explains the settings that an app profile controls, as well as how app profiles work with your application. For examples of settings you can use to implement common use cases, see Examples of Replication Settings. For details about creating and managing app profiles, see Configuring App Profiles.

If you're using app profiles to configure replication, you should be familiar with the overview of Cloud Bigtable replication before you read this page.

Settings in app profiles

An app profile defines the routing policy that Cloud Bigtable uses. It also controls whether single-row transactions are allowed.

Routing policy

An app profile specifies the routing policy that Cloud Bigtable should use for each request:

  • Single-cluster routing routes all requests to 1 cluster in your instance.
  • Multi-cluster routing tells Cloud Bigtable that it can route each request to any available cluster.

If one cluster becomes unavailable, and an app profile uses multi-cluster routing, any traffic that uses that app profile automatically fails over to the other cluster. In contrast, if an app profile uses single-cluster routing, you must manually fail over.

For more information about failovers, see Failovers. To learn how to complete a failover, see Managing Failovers.

Single-row transactions

In Cloud Bigtable, reads and writes are always atomic at the row level. Cloud Bigtable does not provide atomicity above the row level; for example, Cloud Bigtable does not support transactions that atomically update more than one row.

However, Cloud Bigtable also supports some write operations that would require a transaction in other databases:

  • Read-modify-write operations, including increments and appends. A read-modify-write operation reads an existing value; increments or appends to the existing value; and writes the updated value to the table.
  • Check-and-mutate operations, also known as conditional mutations or conditional writes. In a check-and-mutate operation, Cloud Bigtable checks a row to see if it meets a specified condition. If the condition is met, Cloud Bigtable writes new values to the row.

In effect, Cloud Bigtable uses single-row transactions to complete these operations. These operations include both reads and writes, and all of the reads and writes are executed atomically, but the operations are still atomic only at the row level.

Conflicts between single-row transactions

Every cluster in a Cloud Bigtable instance is a primary cluster that accepts both reads and writes. As a result, operations that require single-row transactions can cause problems when you enable replication. For example, suppose that a cell contains the value ABC, and you send two append operations to different clusters; one append changes the value to ABCDEF, and the other append changes the value to ABCXYZ. How should Cloud Bigtable resolve this conflict?

To help you avoid these issues, Cloud Bigtable requires each app profile to specify whether it allows single-row transactions. It also prevents you from enabling single-row transactions in an app profile that uses multi-cluster routing, because there's no safe way to enable both of these features at once.

Cloud Bigtable also warns you if you enable single-row transactions in 2 different app profiles that both use single-cluster routing, and that point to different clusters. If you choose to create this type of configuration, you must ensure that you do not send conflicting read-modify-write or check-and-mutate requests to 2 different clusters.

How app profiles work

An app profile specifies the settings that Cloud Bigtable uses to handle an instance's incoming requests.

Many Cloud Bigtable users have multiple applications that connect to the same instance. For example, you might have one application that serves data to customers on request, and another application that runs occasional batch jobs to analyze your data. To handle these different applications, you should create multiple app profiles—at a minimum, one for each application—and configure each app profile with the right settings for that application. This setup makes it easy to change the settings for one application but not others.

You might also have a single application that performs multiple functions, such as viewing current data and querying historic data. To handle these different functions, you should create one app profile for each function, so you can configure each function differently and update the settings for one function but not others.

Every instance has a default app profile, and you can create custom app profiles for each instance as well. The sections below describe both types of app profile.

You use an app profile by specifying that profile in your code when you connect to your instance. If you do not specify an app profile, Cloud Bigtable uses the instance's default app profile.

Default app profile

When you create an instance, Cloud Bigtable automatically creates a default app profile for the instance. If your application does not specify an app profile, or if you use the HBase shell to connect to your instance, Cloud Bigtable uses the settings in the default app profile. You can view and change these settings at any time.

The settings in an instance's default app profile depend on how many clusters it had when you first created it:

  • If you created the instance with 1 cluster, the default app profile routes all traffic to that cluster, and it enables single-row transactions.
  • If you created the instance with 2 clusters, the default app profile routes traffic to any available cluster, and it disables single-row transactions.

Custom app profiles

You can create many different custom app profiles for each instance. Use custom app profiles to control how each application, or each distinct function within an application, interacts with an instance. For example, you might use one app profile for a batch application to isolate its traffic to a single cluster, and you might use a different app profile to provide high availability for another application.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Bigtable Documentation