垃圾收集

本頁面說明垃圾收集在 Cloud Bigtable 中的運作方式,並涵蓋下列主題:

  • 垃圾收集類型
  • 預設垃圾收集設定
  • 移除資料時
  • 備用資料表垃圾收集政策的變更

垃圾收集總覽

垃圾收集是持續進行的自動流程,可從 Cloud BigTable 資料表移除過期與過時資料。垃圾收集政策是您建立的一組規則,指出何時不再需要特定資料欄系列中的資料。

垃圾收集是內建非同步背景程序。實際移除符合垃圾收集條件的資料可能需要一週的時間。 垃圾收集會以固定排程進行,不會因需要移除的資料量而有所不同。資料在移除之前會顯示在讀取結果中。您可以篩選讀取來排除此資料。

垃圾收集政策的優勢包括:

  • 將資料列大小降到最低 - 您總是希望防止資料列無限成長。大型資料列會對效能造成負面影響。在理想情況下,絕對不能讓資料列的大小超過 100 MB,且限制為 256 MB。如果您不需要保留舊資料,或目前資料的舊版本,使用垃圾收集可協助您將每個資料列的大小降到最低。
  • 降低成本 - 垃圾收集可確保您不需要為了儲存不再需要或不再使用的資料而付費。在進行壓縮並移除經過垃圾收集處理的資料之前,系統會向您收取儲存過期或過時資料的費用。一般來說,這項程序需要幾天的時間,但可能最多需要一週的時間才能完成。

您可以透過程式或使用 cbt 工具來設定垃圾收集政策。垃圾收集政策是在資料欄系列層級設定。

資料表中的每個資料欄系列都有自己的垃圾收集政策。垃圾收集程序會針對每個資料欄系列查詢目前垃圾收集政策,然後會根據政策中的規則移除資料。

時間戳記

在 Cloud Bigtable 中,資料列與資料欄的交集可以有多個儲存格,這些儲存格是該交集的不同值版本。每個儲存格都有時間戳記。儲存格的時間戳記屬性可以是「實際」時間戳記,反映寫入儲存格的實際時間值,也可以是「人工」時間戳記。人工時間戳記包含序號、零或時間戳記格式的值 (並非寫入儲存格的實際時間)。使用人工時間戳記之前,請查看人工時間戳記的使用案例,包括使用風險:

垃圾收集類型

本節說明 Cloud BigTable 中提供的垃圾收集類型。設定垃圾收集一文中提供每種垃圾收集類型的程式碼範例。

到期值 (以時間為基礎)

您可以根據每個儲存格的時間戳記設定垃圾收集規則。例如,您可能並不想保留時間戳記在目前日期與時間前 30 天以上的任何儲存格。若使用此類型的垃圾收集規則,您就可以設定資料的存留時間 (TTL)。Cloud Bigtable 會在垃圾收集期間查看每個資料欄系列,並會移除已過期的任何儲存格。

版本數量

您可以設定垃圾收集規則,明確指出針對資料欄系列中的所有資料欄要保留的儲存格數上限。

例如,如果您只想保留客戶的最新使用者名稱與電子郵件地址,可建立包含這兩個資料欄的資料欄系列,並針對該資料欄系列,將值數上限設定為 1。

在另一種情況下,您可能想要保留使用者密碼雜湊的最近 5 個版本,以確保使用者未重複使用密碼,因此,您應將包含密碼資料欄之資料欄系列的版本數上限設定為 5。當 Cloud Bigtable 在垃圾收集期間查看資料欄系列時,如果第 6 個儲存格已寫入資料欄,系統會對最舊的儲存格進行垃圾收集處理,以保持版本數量為 5。

有效期限規則與版本號碼規則的組合

兩種類型的垃圾收集政策可合併這些類型的垃圾收集規則:交集聯集

交集

交集垃圾收集政策將移除符合所有指定規則集的全部資料。例如,您可能想移除超過 30 天的設定檔,但始終為每位使用者保留至少一個設定檔。在這種情況下,針對包含設定檔資料欄的資料欄系列,交集政策應包含到期值的規則版本數量的規則。

聯集

聯集垃圾收集政策將移除符合任何指定規則集的全部資料。例如,您可能想確保針對每位使用者保留最多 2 個頁面檢視記錄,但前提是這些記錄的使用時間少於 30 天。在這種情況下,應針對到期值版本數量設定聯集政策。

垃圾收集的預設設定

資料欄系列沒有預設存留時間。資料欄的預設版本數量取決於您建立資料欄所在之資料欄系列的方式,如下列幾節所述。

HBase 政策

如果您使用 Java 適用的 HBase 用戶端、HBase shell 或使用 Java 適用之 HBase 用戶端的其他工具建立資料欄系列,除非您變更規則,否則 Cloud Bigtable 只會保留資料欄系列中每個值的最新版本。此預設設定與 HBase 一致。

其他所有用戶端程式庫或工具

如果您使用其他任何用戶端程式庫或工具建立資料欄系列,Cloud Bigtable 會保留每個值的無限量版本。這包括使用 gcloudcbt 工具建立的資料欄系列。如果您要限制版本數量,必須針對資料欄系列變更垃圾收集政策。

移除資料時

垃圾收集是一個持續的過程,Cloud Bigtable 會檢查每個資料欄系列的規則,並會相應地移除過期與過時資料。一般而言,從資料符合資料規則中的條件到實際移除資料可能需要最多一週的時間。您無法變更垃圾收集的時間。

由於對資料進行垃圾收集處理可能需要最多一週的時間,因此,您不應僅依賴垃圾收集政策來確保讀取要求傳回所需資料。請一律將篩選器套用至讀取要求,該篩選器會排除與垃圾收集規則相同的值。 您可以透過限制每個資料欄的儲存格數,或指定時間戳記範圍來進行篩選。

例如,假設資料欄系列的垃圾收集規則設定為僅保留設定檔的 5 個最新版本,且已經儲存了 5 個版本。寫入設定檔的新版本之後,可能需要最多一週的時間來對最舊的儲存格進行垃圾收集處理。因此,為了避免讀取第 6 個值,您應一律篩選除 5 個最新版本以外的所有版本。

在進行壓縮並移除經過垃圾收集處理的資料之前,系統會向您收取儲存過期資料的費用。

垃圾收集具有追溯性:當設定新垃圾收集政策時,在接下來的幾天內,該政策將套用至資料表中的所有資料。如果新政策的限制比之前的政策更加嚴格,舊資料將在背景工作發生時移除,進而影響政策變更之前寫入的資料。

如果您要確保資料正在進行垃圾收集處理,可查詢資料表,並將資料與預期結果進行比較。您也可以在 Google Cloud Platform 主控台中監控資料表大小。永遠沒有變小的資料表可能反映出垃圾收集政策沒有如預期運作,但請記住,垃圾收集會延遲執行。

備用資料表垃圾收集政策的變更

如果資料表位於單一叢集執行個體中,Cloud BigTable 可讓您隨時修改或刪除資料欄系列的政策。另一方面,一些限制會套用至複製的執行個體中的資料表,以保護您的資料。

您可以修改複製資料表中資料欄系列的版本數上限。但是,如果您降低資料欄系列的版本數,所有複製叢集可能需要最多一週的時間,才能反映新的較低數值。因此,讀取資料時應一律使用篩選器。

Cloud Bigtable 將不允許您增加複製資料表中資料欄系列的存留時間。如要瞭解原因,請考慮將資料欄系列的存留時間從 30 天變更為 60 天的情況。基於時間的垃圾收集可以在每個叢集中單獨執行。因此,當您變更政策時,垃圾收集可能會移除一個資料表複本中 31 天的值,但不會在另一個資料表複本中移除。在這種情況下變更垃圾收集政策可能會使複本在將近一個月內無法同步。

也因如此,Cloud Bigtable 將不允許您針對複製資料表中的資料欄系列刪除基於時間的垃圾收集政策。

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Bigtable 說明文件

Garbage collection

This page describes how garbage collection works in Cloud Bigtable and covers the following topics:

  • Types of garbage collection
  • Default garbage-collection settings
  • When data is removed
  • Changes to garbage-collection policies for replicated tables

Overview of garbage collection

Garbage collection is the automatic, ongoing process of removing expired and obsolete data from Cloud Bigtable tables. A garbage-collection policy is a set of rules you create that state when data in a specific column family is no longer needed.

Garbage collection is a built-in, asynchronous background process. It can take up to a week before data that is eligible for garbage collection is actually removed. Garbage collection occurs on a fixed schedule that does not vary based on how much data needs to be removed. Until the data is removed, it will appear in read results. You can filter your reads to exclude this data.

The benefits of garbage-collection policies include the following:

  • Minimize row size - You always want to prevent rows from growing indefinitely. Large rows negatively affect performance. Ideally, you should never let a row grow beyond 100 MB in size, and the limit is 256 MB. If you don't need to keep old data, or old versions of your current data, using garbage collection can help you minimize the size of each row.
  • Keep costs down - Garbage collection ensures that you don't pay to store data that is no longer required or used. You are charged for storage of expired or obsolete data until compaction occurs and garbage-collected data is removed. This process typically takes a few days but might take up to a week.

You can set garbage-collection policies either programmatically or with the cbt tool. Garbage-collection policies are set at the column-family level.

Each column family in a table has its own garbage-collection policy. The garbage collection process looks up the current garbage-collection policy for each column family, then removes data according to the rules in the policy.

Timestamps

In Cloud Bigtable, the intersection of a row and a column can have multiple cells, which are different versions of the value at that intersection. Each cell has a timestamp. The timestamp property of a cell can be a "real" timestamp, reflecting the actual time the value for the cell is written, or it can be an "artificial" timestamp. Artificial timestamps include sequential numbers, zeroes, or timestamp-formatted values that are not the actual time the cell was written. Before you use artificial timestamps, review the use cases for artificial timestamps, including the risks of using them:

Types of garbage collection

This section describes the types of garbage collection available in Cloud Bigtable. Code samples for each type of garbage collection are at configuring garbage collection.

Expiring values (age-based)

You can set a garbage-collection rule based on the timestamp for each cell. For example, you might not want to keep any cells with timestamps more than 30 days before the current date and time. With this type of garbage-collection rule, you set the time to live (TTL) for data. Cloud Bigtable looks at each column family during garbage collection and removes any cells that have expired.

Number of versions

You can set a garbage-collection rule that explicitly states the maximum number of cells to keep for all columns in a column family.

For instance, if you want to keep only the latest username and email address for a customer, you can create a column family containing those two columns and set the maximum number of values to 1 for that column family.

In another case, you might want to keep the last 5 versions of a user's password hash to make sure they don't reuse the password, so you would set the maximum number of versions for the column family containing the password column to 5. When Cloud Bigtable looks at the column family during garbage collection, if a 6th cell has been written to the password column, the oldest cell is garbage-collected to keep the number of versions to 5.

Combinations of expiration and version-number rules

Two types of garbage-collection policies are available to combine these types of garbage-collection rules: intersection and union.

Intersection

An intersection garbage-collection policy will remove all data matching all of a set of given rules. For example, you might want to remove profiles older than 30 days but always keep at least one for each user. In this case, your intersection policy for the column family containing the profile column would consist of a rule for an expiring value and a rule for the number of versions.

Union

A union garbage-collection policy will remove all data matching any of a set of given rules. For example, you might want to make sure you retain a maximum of 2 page-view records per user but only if they are less than 30 days old. In this case, your union policy would be set for an expiring value or a number of versions.

Default settings for garbage collection

There is no default TTL for a column family. The default number of versions for a column depends on how you create the column family that the column is in, as explained in the following sections.

HBase policy

If you create the column family with the HBase client for Java, the HBase shell, or another tool that uses the HBase client for Java, Cloud Bigtable retains only the most recent version of each value in the column family, unless you change the rule. This default setting is consistent with HBase.

All other client libraries or tools

If you create the column family with any other client library or tool, Cloud Bigtable retains an infinite number of versions of each value. This includes column families created with gcloud and the cbt tool. You must change the garbage-collection policy for the column family if you want to limit the number of versions.

When data is removed

Garbage collection is a continuous process in which Cloud Bigtable checks the rules for each column family and removes expired and obsolete data accordingly. In general, it can take up to a week from the time that data matches the criteria in the rules for the data to actually be removed. You are not able to change the timing of garbage collection.

Because it can take up to a week for data to be garbage-collected, you should never rely solely on garbage-collection policies to ensure that read requests return the desired data. Always apply a filter to your read requests that excludes the same values as your garbage-collection rules. You can filter by limiting the number of cells per column or by specifying a timestamp range.

For example, let's say that a column-family's garbage-collection rule is set to keep only the 5 most recent versions of a profile, and 5 versions are already stored. After a new version of the profile is written, it might take up to a week for the oldest cell to be garbage-collected. Therefore, to avoid reading the 6th value, you should always filter out everything except the 5 most recent versions.

You are charged for storage of expired data until compaction occurs and the garbage-collected data is removed.

Garbage collection is retroactive: when a new garbage-collection policy is set, over the next few days it will be applied to all data in the table. If the new policy is more restrictive than the previous policy, old data will be removed as the background work happens, affecting data that was written before the policy change.

If you want to make sure data is being garbage-collected, you can query your table and compare the data with expected results. You can also monitor table size in the Google Cloud Platform Console. A table that never gets smaller might reflect a garbage-collection policy that is not working as expected, but remember that garbage collection is executed on a delay.

Changes to garbage-collection policies for replicated tables

Cloud Bigtable allows you to modify or delete a policy for a column family at any time if the table is in a single-cluster instance. On the other hand, some restrictions apply to tables in replicated instances, in order to protect your data.

You can modify a column family's maximum number of versions in a replicated table. However, if you lower the number of versions for a column family, it could take up to a week for all replicated clusters to reflect the new, lower number. Therefore, you should always use filters when reading the data.

Cloud Bigtable will not allow you to increase the TTL for a column family in a replicated table. To see why, consider a case where you want to change a column family's TTL from 30 days to 60 days. Age-based garbage collection can run separately in each cluster. As a result, at the time you change the policy, garbage collection might have removed a 31-day-old value in one copy of a table but not in another. Changing the garbage-collection policy in this situation can leave the copies out of sync for almost a month.

For the same reason, Cloud Bigtable will not allow you to delete an age-based garbage-collection policy for a column family in a replicated table.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Bigtable Documentation