设计您的架构

本页面介绍了如何设计 Cloud Bigtable 表的架构。 在阅读本页内容之前,您应先熟悉 Cloud Bigtable 概览

一般概念

Cloud Bigtable 架构设计与关系数据库架构设计差异很大。在设计 Cloud Bigtable 架构时,请牢记以下概念:

  • 每个表只有一个索引(即行键)。没有二级索引。
  • 行按行键的字典顺序排列,即从最低字节字符串到最高字节字符串。行键以 big-endian 字节顺序(有时称为网络字节顺序)排序,这是字母顺序的二进制版本。这意味着整数不会自动按数字顺序排序。例如,3 大于 20。如果要存储整数并按数字顺序对其进行排序,请对它们进行填充,以便按数字顺序进行排序:20 大于 03。 在需要基于范围的查询时,时间戳尤其如此。
  • 列按列族分组,并在列族中按字典顺序排序
  • 所有行级操作都属于原子操作。例如,如果您对表中的两个行进行更新,那么有可能其中一行成功更新,而另一行的更新失败。因此,请遵循以下准则:
    • 在设计架构时,请避免跨行原子性要求。
    • 一般情况下,将一个实体的所有信息保存在一行中。 但是,如果您的用例不要求您对实体进行原子更新或读取,则可以将实体拆分为多行。对于数百 MB 的大实体数据,建议将数据拆分到多个行中。
  • 理想情况下,读取和写入操作都应均匀分布于表行空间中。
  • 相关实体应存储在相邻行中,这可以提高读取效率。
  • Cloud Bigtable 表属于稀疏表。空列不会占用任何空间。因此,创建大量列通常是一个合理选择,即使大多数行中的大多数列都是空的。
  • 最好使用少数几个大型表而不要使用许多小型表。 Cloud Bigtable 以其在处理大型表方面的出色性能而闻名。您可能有充分的理由使用单独的表来处理需要完全不同架构的不同用例,但不应对类似的数据使用不同的表。例如,您不应只是为了新的一年或新的客户而创建新表。

大小限制

Cloud Bigtable 会对您在表中存储的数据施加大小限制。在设计架构时,请务必考虑这些限制。

由于 Cloud Bigtable 以原子方式读取行,因此限制一行中存储的总数据量尤其重要。按照最佳做法,单个单元中最多可存储 10 MB,单行中最多可存储 100 MB。您还必须确保不超出单元格和行内数据大小的硬性限额

以上大小限制是以二进制兆字节 (MB) 为单位来计量,其中 1 MB 等于 220 个字节。此计量单位也称为兆比字节 (MiB)

选择行键

为了使 Cloud Bigtable 达到最佳性能,请仔细考虑如何编写您的行键,这一点至关重要。这是因为最有效的 Cloud Bigtable 查询会使用行键、行前缀或行范围来检索数据。其他类型的查询会触发全表扫描,使效率显著降低。现在就选择正确的行键,可以避免日后进行麻烦的数据迁移。

首先问问自己将如何使用计划存储的数据。例如:

  • 用户信息:您是否需要快速访问用户间关联情况的信息(例如,用户 A 是否关注用户 B)?
  • 用户生成的内容:如果您要向用户显示包含大量用户生成内容(如状态更新)的示例,您将如何决定向给定用户显示哪些状态更新?
  • 时间序列数据:您是否经常需要检索最近的 N 条记录或者某一特定时间范围的记录?如果您存储的是多种事件的数据,您是否需要根据事件类型进行过滤?

通过预先了解自己的需求,您可以确保所设计的行键和整体架构能够非常灵活而高效地完成数据查询。

行键类型

本部分介绍了一些最常用的行键类型,并说明了何时使用每种键类型。

一般来说,行键应该是比较简短的。冗长的行键不但会占用额外的内存和存储空间,而且还会增加 Cloud Bigtable 服务器的响应时间。

反向域名

如果您要存储的实体相关数据可以用域名来表示,请考虑使用反向域名(例如 com.company.product)作为行键。如果每行的数据很可能与相邻行重叠,使用反向域名就特别理想。在这种情况下,Cloud Bigtable 可以更有效地压缩您的数据。

当您的数据分布在许多不同的倒序域名中时,此方法效果最佳。如果您预期会在少量的倒序域名中存储大部分的数据,请考虑使用其他值作为行键。否则,大部分写入内容可能会被推送到集群中的单个节点,从而导致片过载。

字符串标识符

如果要存储的实体相关数据可用简单字符串来标识(例如,用户 ID),您可能最好使用该字符串标识符作为行键,或者将其用作行键的一部分。

过去,此页面推荐使用字符串标识符的哈希值,而不是实际的字符串标识符。我们已不再推荐使用哈希值。我们发现使用经过哈希处理的行键很难排查 Cloud Bigtable 问题,因为经过哈希处理的行键毫无实际意义。例如,如果您的行键是用户 ID 的哈希值,那么您很难或无法找出哪个用户 ID 与此行键相关联。

使用简明易懂的值,而不是对行键进行哈希处理。另外,如果您的行键包含多个值,请使用分隔符将这些值分开。根据这些做法,使用 Key Visualizer 工具可以更轻松地解决 Cloud Bigtable 问题。

时间戳

如果您经常需要根据数据的记录时间来检索数据,则最好将时间戳包含在行键中。建议您不要将时间戳独立用作行键,因为大多数写入内容都会被推送到单个节点上。出于同样的原因,请避免将时间戳置于行键的开头位置。

例如,您的应用可能需要每秒记录一次大量机器的性能相关数据(如 CPU 和内存使用率)。 对于这种数据,您可以组合使用机器的标识符与数据的时间戳作为行键(例如 machine_4223421#1425330757685)。

如果您通常会先检索最新记录,则可以在行键中使用反向时间戳,方法是从所用编程语言的最大长整数值(在 Java 中为 java.lang.Long.MAX_VALUE)中减去时间戳。使用反向时间戳后,记录将按照从最新到最旧的顺序进行排序。

在单一行键中使用多个值

高效查询 Cloud Bigtable 的唯一方法是使用行键,因此在行键中包含多个标识符通常会很有用。如果您的行键包含多个值,清楚自己将如何使用数据尤为重要。

例如,假设您的应用允许用户发布消息,并允许用户在帖子中相互提及。您需要通过一种有效的方式列出在帖子中标记了特定用户的所有用户。实现此目标的一种方法是使用如下形式的行键:即依次包含所标记的用户名和执行此标记操作的用户名,并用分隔符分隔这两个名称(例如 wmckinley#gwashington)。若要找出谁标记了特定用户名,或显示标记该用户名的所有帖子,您只需检索行键以此用户名开头的一系列行。

创建行键时,请确保该行键仍然可以检索一个明确定义的范围内的所有行。否则,您的查询将需要执行表扫描,而此操作要比检索特定行的速度慢得多。例如,假设您每秒存储一次与性能相关数据。如果您的行键包含时间戳并后跟机器标识符(例如 1425330757685#machine_4223421),您将无法有效地将查询限制到特定机器,而是只能根据时间戳来限制查询。

行键前缀

多值行键中的第一个值称为行键前缀。 有了精心设计的行键前缀,您将可以利用 Cloud Bigtable 的排序顺序将相关数据存储在一系列连续行中。 如此一来,您便可通过一定范围的行来访问相关数据,而无需运行低效的表扫描。

对多租户使用行键前缀

行键前缀为“多租户”使用场景提供了可扩缩的解决方案,让您可以代表多位客户使用相同的数据模型来存储类似的数据。对所有租户使用同一个表是存储和访问多租户数据的最有效方式

例如,假设您代表多个公司存储和跟踪购买记录。您可以使用每家公司的专属 ID 作为行键前缀。 一个租户的所有数据都会存储在同一个表的连续行中,方便您使用行键前缀进行查询或过滤。此后,如果某家公司不再是您的客户,并且您需要删除为该公司存储的购买记录数据,您可以删除使用该客户的行键前缀的一系列行

相比之下,如果将代表每家公司的数据存储在其各自的表中,那么您将有可能遇到性能和可扩缩性问题,也更有可能会无意中达到 Cloud Bigtable 的限制(每个实例 1000 个表)。当某个实例达到此限制后,Cloud Bigtable 会阻止您在该实例中创建更多表。

需避免使用的行键

某些类型的行键可能会使数据查询变得困难或导致性能不良。本部分介绍了在 Cloud Bigtable 中应避免使用的一些行键类型。

域名

避免使用标准的非反向域名作为行键。使用标准域名时,您将无法高效地检索部分域名中的所有行(例如,与 company.com 相关的所有行将属于多个不同的行范围,如 services.company.comproduct.company.com 等等)。另外,使用标准域名会使系统在排序行时无法将相关数据分组在一起,从而导致压缩效率低下。

顺序数字 ID

假设您的系统为应用的每个用户都分配了一个数字 ID。 您可能想要使用用户的数字 ID 作为表的行键。 但是,由于新用户更可能成为活跃用户,因此这种方法可能会将大部分流量推送到少数节点。

一种更安全的方法是使用用户数字 ID 的反向版本,这样可以将流量更均匀地分布到 Cloud Bigtable 表的所有节点中。

频繁更新的标识符

避免使用单个行键来标识更新极为频繁的值。例如,如果您每秒存储一次内存使用情况数据,请不要使用名为 memusage 的单一行键并重复更新该行。这类操作会使存储了常用行的片发生过载, 也可能导致行超过其大小限制,因为单元格的先前值会占用空间一段时间。

应在每行存储一个值,并使用包含指标类型、分隔符和时间戳的行键。例如,如需跟踪一段时间内的内存使用率,您可以使用类似于 memusage#1423523569918 这样的行键。这种策略非常有效,因为在 Cloud Bigtable 中,创建新行不会比创建新单元格花费更多的时间。此外,该策略可以计算适当的开始键和结束键,可让您快速读取特定日期范围内的数据。

对于变化非常频繁的值(例如每分钟更新数百次的计数器),最好只将数据保留在应用层的内存中,并定期向 Cloud Bigtable 写入新行。

哈希值

如前文所述,本页面的早期版本推荐在行键中使用哈希值。我们已不再推荐这种做法。这一方法生成的行键本质上没有任何意义,使得通过 Key Visualizer 工具来排查 Cloud Bigtable 问题变得非常困难。

使用简明易懂的值,而不是经过哈希处理的行键。如果您的行键包含多个值,请使用分隔符将这些值分开。

列族和列限定符

本部分介绍了如何考虑表中的列族和列限定符。

列族

与 HBase 不同,在 Cloud Bigtable 中,您可以使用多达约 100 个列族,并同时保持出色的性能。因此,如果一行中包含多个彼此相关的值,那么最好将这些值分组到同一列族中。通过按列族分组数据,您可以从单个族或多个族中检索数据,而不是检索每一行中的所有数据。尽可能将数据按您的确切需要进行分组,不要包含其它数据,通过您最常用的 API 调用读取。

此外,列族的名称应简短一些,因为名称包含在为每个请求传输的数据中。

列限定符

由于 Cloud Bigtable 表属于稀疏表,因此您可以在每行中创建所需数量的列限定符。行中的空单元格不会占用任何空间。因此,将列限定符视为数据通常是一个合理选择。例如,如果您的表存储的是用户帖子,则可以将每个帖子的唯一标识符用作列限定符。

尽管如此,您应该避免将数据拆分到过多不必要的列限定符,造成行中有大量的非空单元格。 Cloud Bigtable 需要一些时间来处理一行中的每个单元格。此外,每个单元格也会对存储在表中并通过网络发送的数据量增加一些开销。例如,如果您要存储 1 KB(1024 字节)的数据,那么将这些数据存储在一个单元格中,要比将数据分布在 1024 个均包含一个字节的单元格中更具空间效率。如果您经常一次读取或写入若干个相关值,请考虑将所有这些值存储在一个单元格中,而使用的格式要允许您日后提取个别值(例如协议缓冲区二进制格式)。

同样,最好使用简短的列限定符名称,这有助于减少每个请求传输的数据量。

表设计

大型表

在 Cloud Bigtable 中,每个实例的表数不能超过 1000 个。在大多数情况下,需要使用的表数应该远远低于这一限制。在其他数据库系统中,您可能会根据主题和列数选择将数据存储在多个表中。不过,在 Cloud Bigtable 中,您最好将所有数据存储在一个大型表中。您需要为每个数据集指定一个独一无二的行键前缀,让 Cloud Bigtable 能够将相关数据存储在一定连续范围的行中,从而方便您按行键前缀查询这些行。

在 Cloud Bigtable 中,创建许多小型表属于一项反模式操作,原因如下:

  • 向许多不同表发送请求会增加后端连接开销,导致尾延迟增加。

  • 拥有多个不同大小的表可能会破坏后台负载平衡,使得 Cloud Bigtable 无法提供出色的性能。

后续步骤

Designing Your Schema

This page explains how to design a schema for a Cloud Bigtable table. Before you read this page, you should be familiar with the overview of Cloud Bigtable.

General concepts

Designing a Cloud Bigtable schema is very different than designing a schema for a relational database. As you design your Cloud Bigtable schema, keep the following concepts in mind:

  • Each table has only one index, the row key. There are no secondary indices.
  • Rows are sorted lexicographically by row key, from the lowest to the highest byte string. Row keys are sorted in big-endian, or network, byte order, the binary equivalent of alphabetical order.
  • All operations are atomic at the row level. For example, if you update two rows in a table, it's possible that one row will be updated successfully and the other update will fail. Avoid schema designs that require atomicity across rows.
  • Ideally, both reads and writes should be distributed evenly across the row space of the table.
  • In general, keep all information for an entity in a single row. An entity that doesn't need atomic updates and reads can be split across multiple rows. Splitting across multiple rows is recommended if the entity data is large (hundreds of MB).
  • Related entities should be stored in adjacent rows, which makes reads more efficient.
  • Cloud Bigtable tables are sparse. Empty columns don't take up any space. As a result, it often makes sense to create a very large number of columns, even if most columns are empty in most rows.

Size limits

Cloud Bigtable places size limits on the data that you store within your tables. Make sure you consider these limits as you design your schema.

Because Cloud Bigtable reads rows atomically, it's especially important to limit the total amount of data that you store in a single row. As a best practice, store a maximum of 10 MB in a single cell and 100 MB in a single row. You must also stay below the hard limits on data size within cells and rows.

These size limits are measured in binary megabytes (MB), where 1 MB is 220 bytes. This unit of measurement is also known as a mebibyte (MiB).

Choosing a row key

To get the best performance out of Cloud Bigtable, it's essential to think carefully about how you compose your row key. That's because the most efficient Cloud Bigtable queries use the row key, a row key prefix, or a row range to retrieve the data. Other types of queries trigger a full table scan, which is much less efficient. By choosing the correct row key now, you can avoid a painful data-migration process later.

Start by asking how you'll use the data that you plan to store. For example:

  • User information: Do you need quick access to information about connections between users (for example, whether user A follows user B)?
  • User-generated content: If you show users a sample of a large amount of user-generated content, such as status updates, how will you decide which status updates to display to a given user?
  • Time series data: Will you often need to retrieve the most recent N records, or records that fall within a certain time range? If you're storing data for several kinds of events, will you need to filter based on the type of event?

By understanding your needs up front, you can ensure that your row key, and your overall schema design, provide enough flexibility to query your data efficiently.

Types of row keys

This section describes some of the most commonly used types of row keys and explains when to use each type of key.

As a general rule of thumb, keep your row keys reasonably short. Long row keys take up additional memory and storage and increase the time it takes to get responses from the Cloud Bigtable server.

Reverse domain names

If you're storing data about entities that can be represented as domain names, consider using a reverse domain name (for example, com.company.product) as the row key. Using a reverse domain name is an especially good idea if each row's data tends to overlap with adjacent rows. In this case, Cloud Bigtable can compress your data more efficiently.

This approach works best when your data is spread across many different reverse domain names. If you expect to store most of your data in a small number of reverse domain names, consider other values for your row key. Otherwise, you might overload a tablet by pushing most writes to a single node in your cluster.

String identifiers

If you're storing data about entities that can be identified with a simple string (for example, user IDs), you might want to use the string identifier as the row key, or as a portion of the row key.

In the past, this page recommended using a hash of the string identifier, rather than the actual string identifier. We no longer recommend using a hash. We've found that hashed row keys make it very difficult to troubleshoot issues with Cloud Bigtable, because hashed row keys are effectively meaningless. For example, if your row key is a hash of the user ID, it will be difficult or impossible to find out what user ID is tied to the row key.

Use human-readable values instead of hashing the row key. Also, if your row key includes multiple values, separate those values with a delimiter. These practices make it much easier to use the Key Visualizer tool to troubleshoot issues with Cloud Bigtable.

Timestamps

If you often need to retrieve data based on the time when it was recorded, it's a good idea to include a timestamp as part of your row key. Using the timestamp by itself as the row key is not recommended, as most writes would be pushed onto a single node. For the same reason, avoid placing a timestamp at the start of the row key.

For example, your application might need to record performance-related data, such as CPU and memory usage, once per second for a large number of machines. Your row key for this data could combine an identifier for the machine with a timestamp for the data (for example, machine_4223421#1425330757685).

If you usually retrieve the most recent records first, you can use a reversed timestamp in the row key by subtracting the timestamp from your programming language's maximum value for long integers (in Java, java.lang.Long.MAX_VALUE). With a reversed timestamp, the records will be ordered from most recent to least recent.

Multiple values in a single row key

Because the only way to query Cloud Bigtable efficiently is by row key, it's often useful to include multiple identifiers in your row key. When your row key includes multiple values, it's especially important to have a clear understanding of how you'll use your data.

For example, suppose your application enables users to post messages, and users can mention one another in posts. You want an efficient way to list all the users who have tagged a specific user in a post. One way to achieve this goal is to use a row key that contains the tagged username, followed by the username that did the tagging, with the two separated by a delimiter (for example, wmckinley#gwashington). To find out who has tagged a specific username, or to show all the posts that tag that username, you can simply retrieve the range of rows whose row keys start with the username.

It's important to create a row key that still makes it possible to retrieve a well-defined range of rows. Otherwise your query will require a table scan, which is much slower than retrieving specific rows. For example, suppose you're storing performance-related data once per second. If your row key consisted of a timestamp, followed by the machine identifier (for example, 1425330757685#machine_4223421), there would be no efficient way to limit your query to a specific machine, and you could only limit your query based on the timestamp.

Row key prefixes

The first value in a multi-value row key is called a row key prefix. Well-planned row key prefixes let you take advantage of Cloud Bigtable's sorting order to store related data in contiguous rows. Storing related data in contiguous rows enables you to access related data as a range of rows, rather than running inefficient table scans.

Using row key prefixes for multitenancy

Row key prefixes provide a scalable solution for a "multitenancy" use case, a scenario in which you store similar data, using the same data model, on behalf of multiple clients. Using one table for all tenants is usually the most performant way to store and access multitenant data.

For example, let's say you store and track purchase histories on behalf of many companies. You could use your unique ID for each company as a row key prefix. All data for a tenant would be stored in contiguous rows in the same table, and you could query or filter by using the row key prefix. Then, when a company is no longer your customer and you need to delete the purchase history data you were storing for the company, you could drop the range of rows that use that customer's row key prefix.

In contrast, if you stored data on behalf of each company in its own table, you would be much more likely to experience performance and scalability issues, and you could inadvertently exceed Cloud Bigtable's limit of 1,000 tables per instance.

Row keys to avoid

Some types of row keys can make it difficult to query your data or result in poor performance. This section describes some types of row keys that you should avoid using in Cloud Bigtable.

Domain names

Avoid using standard, non-reversed domain names as row keys. Using standard domain names makes it inefficient to retrieve all of the rows within a portion of the domain (for example, all rows that relate to company.com will be in separate row ranges like services.company.com, product.company.com and so on). In addition, using standard domain names causes rows to be sorted in such a way that related data is not grouped together in one place, which can result in less efficient compression.

Sequential numeric IDs

Suppose your system assigns a numeric ID to each of your application's users. You might be tempted to use the user's numeric ID as the row key for your table. However, because new users are more likely to be active users, this approach is likely to push most of your traffic to a small number of nodes.

A safer approach is to use a reversed version of the user's numeric ID, which spreads traffic more evenly across all of the nodes for your Cloud Bigtable table.

Frequently updated identifiers

Avoid using a single row key to identify a value that must be updated very frequently. For example, if you store memory-usage data once per second, do not use a single row key named memusage and update the row repeatedly. This type of operation overloads the tablet that stores the frequently used row. It can also cause a row to exceed its size limit, because a cell's previous values take up space for a while.

Instead, store one value per row, using a row key that contains the type of metric, a delimiter, and a timestamp. For example, to track memory usage over time, you could use row keys similar to memusage#1423523569918. This strategy is efficient because in Cloud Bigtable, creating a new row takes no more time than creating a new cell. In addition, this strategy enables you to quickly read data from a specific date range by calculating the appropriate start and end keys.

For values that change very frequently, such as a counter that is updated hundreds of times each minute, it's best to simply keep the data in memory, at the application layer, and write new rows to Cloud Bigtable periodically.

Hashed values

As discussed above, an earlier version of this page recommended using hashed values in row keys. We no longer recommend this practice. It results in row keys that are basically meaningless, which makes it challenging to use the Key Visualizer tool to troubleshoot issues with Cloud Bigtable.

Use human-readable values instead of hashed values. If your row key includes multiple values, separate those values with a delimiter.

Column families and column qualifiers

This section provides guidance on how to think about column families and column qualifiers within your table.

Column families

In Cloud Bigtable, unlike in HBase, you can use up to about 100 column families while maintaining excellent performance. As a result, whenever a row contains multiple values that are related to one another, it's a good practice to group those values into the same column family. Grouping data into column families enables you to retrieve data from a single family, or multiple families, rather than retrieving all of the data in each row. Group data as closely as you can to get just the information that you need, but no more, in your most frequent API calls.

Also, the names of your column families should be short, because they're included in the data that is transferred for each request.

Column qualifiers

Because Cloud Bigtable tables are sparse, you can create as many column qualifiers as you need in each row. There is no space penalty for empty cells in a row. As a result, it often makes sense to treat column qualifiers as data. For example, if your table is storing user posts, you could use the unique identifier for each post as the column qualifier.

That said, you should avoid splitting your data across more column qualifiers than necessary, which can result in rows that have a very large number of non-empty cells. It takes time for Cloud Bigtable to process each cell in a row. Also, each cell adds some overhead to the amount of data that's stored in your table and sent over the network. For example, if you're storing 1 KB (1,024 bytes) of data, it's much more space-efficient to store that data in a single cell, rather than spreading the data across 1,024 cells that each contain 1 byte. If you normally read or write a few related values all at once, consider storing all of those values together in one cell, using a format that makes it easy to extract the individual values later (such as the protocol buffer binary format).

Similarly, it's a good idea to keep the names of column qualifiers short, which helps to reduce the amount of data that is transferred for each request.

What's next

Learn how to design a schema for time-series data.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Bigtable Documentation