提醒政策问题排查

本页面介绍为何某些提醒政策的行为方式与预期不同,并针对这些情况提供了可能的补救方法。

如需了解可通过选择时长等方式影响提醒政策的变量,请参阅提醒行为

磁盘利用率政策产生意外突发事件

您创建了一个提醒政策,用于监控系统中磁盘的“已用”容量。此政策会监控指标 agent.googleapis.com/disk/percent_used。您预期仅在任何物理磁盘的利用率超过您在条件中设置的阈值时收到通知。但是,此政策会在每个物理磁盘的磁盘利用率低于阈值时创建突发事件。

这些政策的意外突发事件的已知原因是此类条件不限于监控物理磁盘。这些政策会改为监控所有磁盘,包括环回设备等虚拟磁盘。如果构建了一个虚拟磁盘,使其利用率达到 100%,则会导致创建政策的突发事件。

例如,请考虑 Linux df 命令的下列输出,其中显示系统所装载的文件系统上的磁盘空间:

$ df
/dev/root     9983232  2337708  7629140   24%  /
devtmpfs      2524080        0  2524080    0%  /dev
tmpfs         2528080        0  2528080    0%  /dev/shm
...
/dev/sda15     106858     3934   102924    4%  /boot/efi
/dev/loop0      56704    56704        0  100%  /snap/core18/1885
/dev/loop1     129536   129536        0  100%  /snap/google-cloud-sdk/150
...

对于此系统,应将磁盘利用率提醒政策配置为过滤掉环回设备 /dev/loop0/dev/loop1 的时间序列。

正常运行时间政策不产生预期的提醒

您希望在虚拟机 (VM) 重新启动或关停时收到通知,因此您要创建监控指标 compute.googleapis.com/instance/uptime 的提醒政策。您可以创建并配置条件,以便在没有指标数据时生成突发事件。您不能使用 Monitoring Query Language (MQL)1 定义该条件。当虚拟机 (VM) 重新启动或关停时,系统不会通知您。

此提醒政策仅监控处于 RUNNING 状态的 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例的时间序列。对于任何其他状态(例如 STOPPEDDELETED)的虚拟机,系统会在评估条件之前过滤掉其时序。鉴于此行为,您不能使用带有指标缺失提醒条件的提醒政策来确定虚拟机实例是否正在运行。如需了解虚拟机实例状态,请参阅虚拟机实例生命周期

如需解决此问题,请创建提醒政策以监控拨测。如需创建拨测,您的虚拟机必须具有外部 IP 地址。

如果您的虚拟机没有外部 IP 地址,则可以使用 MQL 创建提醒政策,通知您该虚拟机已关停。MQL 定义的条件不会根据虚拟机实例的状态预先过滤时间序列数据。由于 MQL 不会按虚拟机状态过滤数据,因此您可以使用它来检测已关停的虚拟机的数据缺失。

请考虑监控 compute.googleapis.com/instance/cpu/utilization 指标的以下 MQL 条件:

fetch gce_instance::compute.googleapis.com/instance/cpu/utilization
|absent_for 3m

如果此条件监控的虚拟机关闭,三分钟后,将生成一个突发事件并发送通知。absent_for 值必须至少为三分钟。

如需详细了解 MQL,请参阅使用 MQL 的提醒政策

1:MQL 是一种富有表现力的文本型语言,它可以与 Cloud Monitoring API 调用搭配使用,也可以在 Google Cloud Console 中使用。如需在使用 Cloud Console 时通过 MQL 配置条件,则必须选择查询编辑器

异常突发事件的常见原因

您创建了一个提醒政策,该政策似乎过早创建或错误地创建了突发事件。

如果数据中存在缺口,尤其对于存在指标缺失或“小于”阈值条件的提醒政策,则可能创建看似异常的突发事件。确定数据中是否存在缺口可能不容易。有时候缺口很模糊,而有时候它会被自动纠正。

  • 例如,在图表中,数据缺口可能会被遮盖,因为缺失数据的值会被插值。即使缺少几分钟的数据,图表也会连接缺失的点,以获得视觉上的连续性。提醒政策中的此类缺口可能足以让提醒政策创建突发事件。

  • 如果基于日志的指标中的点出现延迟,系统可能会对其进行回填(针对过去最长 10 分钟的数据点进行回填)。回填行为可以有效地纠正缺口;当数据最终到达时,会填补缺口。因此,基于日志的指标中一个再也看不见的缺口可能已经导致了提醒政策创建突发事件。

指标缺失和“小于”阈值条件会实时评估,查询延迟时间很短。在评估条件到相应突发事件在 Monitoring 中可见这段时间内,条件的状态可能会发生变化。

要确保在创建突发事件之前需要进行多次测量,请确保条件的时长字段超过指标采样率的两倍。例如,如果指标每 60 秒采样一次,请将时长设置为至少 3 分钟。如果您将时长字段设置为最近的值(或相当于 0 秒),则单个测量结果可能会导致创建突发事件。

多条件政策创建多个通知

您创建了一个包含多个条件的提醒政策,并使用逻辑 AND 连接这些条件。您希望在满足所有条件时收到一条通知并创建一个突发事件。但您会收到多个通知,还会发现存在多个突发事件。

当提醒政策包含由逻辑 AND 连接的多个条件时,如果触发政策,那么对于触发了条件的每个时序,该政策都会发送通知然后创建事件。例如,若您的政策包含两个条件,每个条件都监控一个时间序列,则系统会打开两个突发事件并向您发送两个通知。

您无法将 Cloud Monitoring 配置为创建单个突发事件并发送单个通知。

如需了解详情,请参阅每次事件的通知数

由于权限错误,导致无法查看突发事件详情

导航到 Google Cloud Console 中的突发事件页面,然后选择要查看的突发事件。您应能打开详情页面。但是,详情页面无法打开,并显示“权限遭拒”的消息。

如需解决此问题,请确保您的 Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色为 roles/monitoring.viewer 或包含该角色所有权限的角色。例如,roles/monitoring.editorroles/monitoring.admin 角色包含 Viewer 角色的所有权限。

自定义角色无法授予查看突发事件详情所需的权限。

无法手动结束突发事件

您收到系统突发事件通知。转到突发事件详情页面,然后点击结束突发事件。突发事件应能结束;但是您收到以下错误消息:

Unable to close incident with active conditions.

只有在最近的提醒期内没有收到任何观察结果时,您才能结束突发事件。提醒期(通常默认为 5 分钟)作为提醒政策条件的一部分进行定义,并且可以对其进行配置。上一条错误消息表明在提醒期内收到数据。

如果突发事件因内部错误而无法关闭,则会发生以下错误:

Unable to close incident. Please try again in a few minutes.

当您看到上一条错误消息时,可以重试关闭操作,或者让 Monitoring 自动关闭突发事件。

如需了解详情,请参阅管理突发事件

网络钩子通知失败

您可以配置网络钩子通知渠道,并希望在发生突发事件时收到通知。但是,您不会收到任何通知。

专用端点

除非端点处于公开状态,否则您不能将网络钩子用于通知。

如需解决此问题,请参阅 Pub/Sub 通知以及针对该通知主题的拉取订阅

配置 Pub/Sub 通知渠道时,突发事件通知将发送到具有 Identity and Access Management 控制的 Pub/Sub 队列。任何可以查询或监听 Pub/Sub 主题的服务都可以使用这些通知。例如,在 App Engine、Cloud Run 或 Compute Engine 虚拟机上运行的应用可以使用这些通知。

如果您使用拉取订阅,系统会向 Google 发送请求,等待消息到达。这些订阅需要访问 Google,但不需要防火墙或入站访问规则。

公共端点

如需确定传送失败的原因,请检查您的 Cloud Logging 日志条目以获取失败信息。

例如,您可以使用日志浏览器搜索通知渠道资源的日志条目,过滤条件如下所示:

resource.type="stackdriver_notification_channel"

Troubleshooting alerting policies

This page explains why some alerting policies might behave differently than intended, and offers possible remedies for those situations.

For information about the variables that can affect an alerting policy, by the choice of duration window, for example, see Alerting behavior.

Disk-utilization policy creates unexpected incidents

You created an alerting policy to monitor the "used" capacity of the disks in your system. This policy monitors the metric agent.googleapis.com/disk/percent_used. You expect to be notified only when the utilization of any physical disk exceeds the threshold you set in the condition. However, this policy is creating incidents when the disk utilization of every physical disk is less than the threshold.

A known cause of unexpected incidents for these policies is that the conditions aren't restricted to monitoring physical disks. Instead, these policies monitor all disks, including virtual disks such as loopback devices. If a virtual disk is constructed such that its utilization is 100%, then that would cause an incident for the policy to be created.

For example, consider the following output of the Linux df command, which shows the disk space available on mounted file systems, for one system:

$ df
/dev/root     9983232  2337708  7629140   24%  /
devtmpfs      2524080        0  2524080    0%  /dev
tmpfs         2528080        0  2528080    0%  /dev/shm
...
/dev/sda15     106858     3934   102924    4%  /boot/efi
/dev/loop0      56704    56704        0  100%  /snap/core18/1885
/dev/loop1     129536   129536        0  100%  /snap/google-cloud-sdk/150
...

For this system, a disk-utilization alerting policy should be configured to filter out the time series for the loopback devices /dev/loop0 and /dev/loop1.

Uptime policy doesn't create expected alerts

You want to be notified if a virtual machine (VM) reboots or shuts down, so you create an alerting policy that monitors the metric compute.googleapis.com/instance/uptime. You create and configure the condition to generate an incident when there is no metric data. You don't define the condition by using Monitoring Query Language (MQL)1. You aren't notified when the virtual machine (VM) reboots or shuts down.

This alerting policy only monitors time series for Compute Engine VM instances that are in the RUNNING state. Time series for VMs that are in any other state, such as STOPPED or DELETED, are filtered out before the condition is evaluated. Because of this behavior, you can't use an alerting policy with a metric-absence alerting condition to determine if a VM instance is running. For information on VM instance states, see VM instance life cycle.

To resolve this problem, create an alerting policy to monitor an uptime check. To create an uptime check, your VM must have an external IP address.

If your VM doesn't have an external IP address, then you can create an alerting policy with MQL that notifies you the VM has been shut down. MQL-defined conditions don't pre-filter time-series data based on the state of the VM instance. Because MQL doesn't filter data by VM states, you can use it to detect the absence of data from VMs that have been shut down.

Consider the following MQL condition which monitors the compute.googleapis.com/instance/cpu/utilization metric:

fetch gce_instance::compute.googleapis.com/instance/cpu/utilization
|absent_for 3m

If a VM monitored by this condition is shut down, then three minutes later, an incident is generated and notifications are sent. The absent_for value must be at least three minutes.

For more information about MQL, see Alerting policies with MQL.

1: MQL is an expressive text-based language that can be used with Cloud Monitoring API calls and in the Google Cloud Console. To configure a condition with MQL when you use the Cloud Console, you must select Query Editor.

Common causes for anomalous incidents

You created an alerting policy and the policy appears to prematurely or incorrectly create incidents.

If there is a gap in data, particularly for those alerting policies with metric-absence or “less than” threshold conditions, then an incident can be created that appears to be anomalous. Determining if a gap exists in data might not be easy. Sometimes the gap is obscured, and sometimes it is automatically corrected:

  • In charts, for example, gaps might be obscured because the values for missing data are interpolated. Even when several minutes of data are missing, the chart connects missing points for visual continuity. Such a gap in the underlying data might be enough for an alerting policy to create an incident.

  • Points in logs-based metrics can arrive late and be backfilled, for up to 10 minutes in the past. The backfill behavior effectively corrects the gap; the gap is filled in when the data finally arrives. Thus, a gap in a logs-based metric that can no longer be seen might have caused an alerting policy to create an incident.

Metric-absence and “less than” threshold conditions are evaluated in real time, with a small query delay. The status of the condition can change between the time it is evaluated and the time the corresponding incident is visible in Monitoring.

To ensure multiple measurements are required before an incident is created, ensure that the duration field of a condition is more than double the metric's sampling rate. For example, if a metric is sampled every 60 seconds, then set the duration to at least 3 minutes. If you set the duration field to most recent value, or equivalently to 0 seconds, then a single measurement can cause an incident to be created.

Multi-condition policy creates multiple notifications

You created an alerting policy that contains multiple conditions, and you joined those conditions with a logical AND. You expect to get one notification and have one incident created when all conditions are met. However, you receive multiple notifications and see that multiple incidents are created.

When an alerting policy contains multiple conditions that are joined by a logical AND, if that policy triggers, then for each time series that results in a condition being met, the policy sends a notification and creates an incident. For example, if you have a policy with two conditions and each condition is monitoring one time series, then two incidents are opened and you receive two notifications.

You can't configure Cloud Monitoring to create a single incident and send a single notification.

For more information, see Notifications per incident.

Unable to view incident details due to a permission error

You navigate to the incidents page in the Google Cloud Console and select an incident to view. You expect to have the details page open. However, the details page fails to open and a "Permission denied" message is displayed.

To resolve this situation, ensure that your Identity and Access Management (IAM) role is roles/monitoring.viewer or one that includes all permissions of that role. For example, the roles roles/monitoring.editor and roles/monitoring.admin include all permissions of the viewer role.

Custom roles can't grant the permission required to view incident details.

Unable to manually close an incident

You received a notification of an incident on your system. You go to the incident details page and click Close incident. You expect the incident to be closed; however, you receive the error message:

Unable to close incident with active conditions.

You can only close an incident when no observations arrive in the most recent alerting period. The alerting period, which typically has a default value of 5 minutes, is defined as part of the alerting policy condition and is configurable. The previous error message indicates that data has been received within the alerting period.

The following error occurs when an incident can't be closed due to an internal error:

Unable to close incident. Please try again in a few minutes.

When you see the previous error message, you can retry the close operation or let Monitoring automatically close the incident.

For more information, see Managing incidents.

Webhook notifications fail when configured for a private endpoint

You configure a webhook notification to a private endpoint and expect to be notified when incidents occur. You don't receive any notifications.

You can't use webhooks for notifications unless the endpoint is public.

To resolve this situation, use Pub/Sub notifications combined with a pull subscription to that notification topic.

When you configure a Pub/Sub notification channel, incident notifications are sent to a Pub/Sub queue that has Identity and Access Management controls. Any service that can query for, or listen to, a Pub/Sub topic can consume these notifications. For example, applications running on App Engine, Cloud Run, or Compute Engine virtual machines can consume these notifications.

If you use a pull subscription, then a request is sent to Google that waits for a message to arrive. These subscriptions require access to Google but they don't require rules for firewalls or inbound access.