提醒行为

提醒政策存在于动态且复杂的环境当中,因此,要有效地使用这些政策,就必须了解可能影响其行为的一些可变因素。由条件监控的指标和资源、条件的考量时长、通知渠道,这些都可能会产生影响。

本页面提供了一些额外的信息,帮助您理解提醒政策的行为。

校准时间段和时长

校准时间段和考量时长是在指定提醒政策的条件时设置的两个字段。本部分简要说明这些字段的含义。

校准时间段

校准时间段是从特定时间点算起的回溯间隔。例如,如果校准时间段为 5 分钟,则在下午 1:00,校准时间段包含在中午 12:55 到下午 1:00 之间收到的样本。在下午 1:01,校准时间段滑动一分钟,并包含在中午 12:56 到下午 1:01 之间收到的样本。

为了说明校准时间段对提醒政策中的条件的影响,请考虑使用以下条件:使用采样时间段一分钟监控指标。假设将校准时间段设置为 5 分钟,并且将校准器设置为 sum。最后,假设在时间序列的校准值在 3 分钟内大于 2 时满足条件,并且每分钟评估条件。

下图说明条件的多次顺序评估:

说明校准时间段的影响的图表。

图中的每一行都说明条件的单次评估。系统会显示时间序列数据。校准时间段中的点以蓝点显示,所有较旧的点都显示为灰色。每行显示校准值,以及此值是否高于 2 的阈值。对于标记为 start 的行,校准值计算结果为 1(低于阈值)。在下一次评估中,校准时间段内的样本总和为 2。在第三个评估中,总和为 3,大于阈值。条件评估器还会启动考量时长计时器。

考量时长

您可以使用时长或考量时长来防止单个测量结果满足条件的情况。如果您使用的是 Google Cloud Console,则配置窗格中的 For 字段对应于考量时长。

上图说明条件的三次评估。在时间 start + 2m,校准值超过阈值;但是,由于将考量时长设置为三分钟,因此不满足条件。下图说明条件的下一次评估的结果:

说明考量时长的影响的图表。

如图所示,即使校准值在时间 start + 2m 超过阈值,在校准值超过三分钟的阈值前也不满足条件。发生这种情况的时间为 start + 5m

该图说明了校准时间段决定了校准器合并的数据样本数量。如果您选择较长的时间段,则系统会合并许多样本。如果您选择较短的时间段,则可能间隔中只有一个数据点。相比之下,考量时长指定在满足条件之前,校准值必须超过阈值的时长。如果将考量时长设置为 0,则超过阈值的单个校准值意味着满足条件。

为清楚起见,前面的示例省略了将多个时间序列的校准数据点合并为单一测量结果的可能性。是将该测量结果与阈值进行比较,以便确定条件是否满足。

每当条件不满足条件时,条件都会重置其考量时长。 以下示例说明了此行为:

示例:此政策指定了五分钟的考量时长。

如果 HTTP 响应延迟时间超过两秒,
并且延迟时间超过该阈值五分钟,
则打开一个突发事件,并向支持团队发送电子邮件。

以下内容说明了考量时长如何影响条件的评估:

  1. HTTP 延迟时间低于两秒。
  2. 在接下来连续三分钟的时间段内,HTTP 延迟时间超过两秒。
  3. 在下一次测量中,延迟时间低于两秒,因此条件会重置考量时长。
  4. 在接下来连续五分钟的时间段内,HTTP 延迟时间超过两秒,因此满足条件并触发政策。

将考量时长设置为足够长的时间,以便最大限度地减少假正例,但也应足够短,以便确保及时打开突发事件。

具有多个条件的政策

提醒政策最多可包含 6 个条件。

如果您使用的是 Cloud Monitoring API,或者您的提醒政策有多个条件,那么您必须指定满足各个条件的时间。当满足某个条件时,会导致系统创建一个事件,且可能导致系统创建一个突发事件:

  • 如果您使用的是 Google Cloud Console,请使用 政策触发条件 (Policy triggers) 字段。
  • 如果您使用的是 Cloud Monitoring API,请使用 combiner 字段。

下表列出了 Cloud Console 中的设置、Cloud Monitoring API 中的等效值以及每个设置的说明:

Cloud Console
政策触发条件值
Cloud Monitoring API
combiner 值
含义
满足任意条件 OR 如果任何资源导致满足任何条件,则系统会创建一个突发事件。
满足所有条件
,即便每个条件对应不同的
资源

(默认)
AND 如果至少有一个资源满足每个条件,则系统会创建一个突发事件,即使有另一个资源导致满足这些条件也是如此。
满足所有条件 AND_WITH_MATCHING_RESOURCE 如果同一个资源导致满足每个条件,则系统会创建一个突发事件。此设置是最严格的组合选择。

在此上下文中,术语 met 表示条件的配置评估为 true。例如,如果配置为 Any time series is above 10 for 5 minutes,则当此语句评估为 true 时满足条件。

示例

以包含两个虚拟机实例 vm1 和 vm2 的 Google Cloud 项目为例。此外,假设您创建了一个提醒政策,其中包含两个条件:

  • 名为 CPU usage is too high 的条件用于监控实例的 CPU 使用率。当任何实例的 CPU 使用率超过 100ms/s 并持续 1 分钟时,则满足此条件。
  • 名为 Excessive utilization 的条件用于监控实例的 CPU 利用率。当任何实例的 CPU 使用率超过 1 分钟的 60% 时,则满足此条件。

最初,假设两个条件的计算结果均为 false

接下来,假设 vm1 的 CPU 使用率超过 100ms/s,持续 1 分钟。这会满足条件 CPU usage is too high。如果条件与满足任意条件合并,则会创建突发事件,因为满足条件。如果条件与满足所有条件满足所有条件,即便每个条件对应不同的资源相结合,则系统不会创建突发事件。这些组合器选择要求同时满足这两个条件。

接下来,假设 vm1 的 CPU 使用率持续高于 100ms/s,且 vm2 的 CPU 利用率持续超过 1 分钟的 60%。这样便可同时满足这两个条件。以下内容描述了条件组合的方式:

  • 满足任意条件:当资源导致条件得到满足时,系统就会创建突发事件。在此示例中,vm2 会导致条件 Excessive utilization 得到满足。

    提醒一下,如果 vm2 导致条件 CPU usage is too high 得到满足,也会导致系统创建突发事件。这是因为导致条件 CPU usage is too high 得到满足和导致条件 CPU usage is too high 得到满足的 vm1 和 vm2 是不同的事件。

  • 满足所有条件,即便每个条件对应不同的资源:由于两个条件都得到满足,因此系统会建立突发事件。

  • 满足所有条件:系统不会创建突发事件,因为此组合器要求同一资源必须导致所有条件都得到满足。在此示例中,系统不会创建任何突发事件,因为 vm1 会导致 CPU usage is too high 得到满足,而 vm2 会导致 Excessive utilization 得到满足。

停用的提醒政策

通过停用和启用政策,您可以暂时停止和重启提醒政策。例如,如果您有一项提醒政策,该政策会在某个进程中断超过 5 分钟时通知您,那么当您关闭该进程进行升级或其他维护时,可以将该提醒政策停用。

停用提醒政策可防止政策触发或解决突发事件,但不会阻止 Cloud Monitoring 评估政策条件并记录结果。如果要停用提醒政策且要解决处于待解决状态的问题,则必须手动解决这些突发事件。如需了解该流程的相关信息,请参阅已关闭的突发事件

假设将受监控的进程关闭 20 分钟以进行维护。如果您重启该进程并立即重新启用提醒政策,则政策会识别出该进程在刚刚过去的 5 分钟内未启动,并会创建一个事件。

当停用的政策重新启用时,Monitoring 会检查最近的 考量时长 中所有条件的值,其中可能包括在暂停时间间隔之前、期间和之后所取得的数据。政策可能会在取消暂停后立即触发,即使考量时长较长也是如此。

异常事件

提前或错误触发的提醒政策(特别是具有指标缺失或“小于”阈值条件的政策)可能会出现在 Alerting 窗口的 Incidents 窗格上。

当数据存在缺口时,会发生这种情况,但有时很难发现这种缺口。有时候缺口很模糊,而有时候它会被纠正。

例如,在图表中,数据中的缺口会被插值。如果丢失几分钟的数据,则图表会连接缺失的点,以获得视觉上的连续性。基础数据中的这种缺口可能足以触发提醒政策。

如果基于日志的指标中的点出现延迟,系统可能会对其进行回填(针对过去最长 10 分钟的数据点进行回填)。这可有效地纠正缺口;当数据最终到达时,会填补缺口。因此,基于日志的指标中一个再也看不见的缺口可能已经导致了提醒政策触发。

指标缺失和“小于”阈值条件会实时评估,查询延迟时间很短。在评估条件到相应突发事件在 Monitoring 中可见这段时间内,条件的状态可能会发生变化。

部分指标数据

如果缺少测量结果(例如,如果几分钟都没有 HTTP 请求),则政策会使用最后记录的值来评估条件。

示例

  1. 一个条件指定连续五分钟 HTTP 延迟时间为两秒或更长。
  2. 在连续三分钟的时段内,HTTP 延迟时间为三秒。
  3. 在接下来的连续两分钟内,没有 HTTP 请求。 在这种情况下,条件会将最后一次测量结果(三秒)转入这两分钟的记录。
  4. 在总共五分钟之后,即使最后两分钟没有数据,政策也会触发。

指标数据缺失或延迟可能会导致政策不发出提醒,且事件不会关闭。来自第三方云服务提供商的数据延迟可能长达 30 分钟,其中 5-15 分钟的延迟最为常见。延迟时间过长(比指定的考量时长还要长),可能会导致条件进入“未知”状态。当数据最终到达时,Cloud Monitoring 可能已经丢失了条件的一些最近的历史记录。由于一旦数据到达,就再也没有证据表明出现过延迟,因此事后对时间序列数据进行检查可能不会揭示这个问题。

采取以下任一做法,可以最大限度减少这些问题:

  • 联系您的第三方云服务提供商,了解是否有办法减轻指标收集延迟的问题。
  • 在条件中使用较长的考量时长。但这有一个缺点,即会使提醒政策响应不及时。
  • 选择收集延迟时间较短的指标:

    • Monitoring 代理指标 - 尤其是当代理在第三方云端的虚拟机实例上运行时。
    • 自定义指标 - 当您直接将其数据写入 Cloud Monitoring 时。
    • 基于日志的指标 - 如果日志收集不会延迟。

如需了解详情,请参阅 Monitoring 代理概览使用自定义指标以及基于日志的指标

每个政策的突发事件

一项提醒政策可应用于多个资源,而影响所有资源的问题可触发该政策并为每个资源创建突发事件。 系统会为每个时间序列创建一个突发事件,从而导致条件得到满足。

为防止系统过载,将单项政策可同时创建的突发事件数限制为 5000。

例如,如果某项政策适用于 2000(或 20000)个 Compute Engine 实例,并且每个实例都导致提醒条件得到满足,那么系统只会创建 5000 个突发事件。系统将忽略满足的其余任何条件,直到该政策的一些未结突发事件得到解决为止。

每次事件的通知数

系统会向导致条件得到满足的每个时间序列发送通知。当该时间序列不再导致条件得到满足时,系统会发送另一条通知。当相应条件不再满足时,突发事件会得到解决。

如果政策包含多个条件,则可能会发送多条通知,具体取决于您设置政策的方式:

  • 如果只有满足 全部 条件才会触发政策,则政策仅会在最初创建突发事件时发送通知。

  • 如果在满足任意条件时触发政策,则政策会在每次满足新的条件组合时发送通知。例如:

    1. 满足条件 A 时,创建一个事件并发送一条通知
    2. 当后续测量结果同时满足条件 A 和条件 B 时,事件仍然处于未解决状态。在这种情况下,事件会保持未解决状态,并会发送另一条通知。

通知延迟时间

通知延迟时间是指从问题首次开始出现一直到政策被触发时的延迟时间。

以下活动和设置会影响总体通知延迟时间:

  • 指标收集延迟:Cloud Monitoring 收集指标值所需的时间。对于 Google Cloud 值,这通常可以忽略不计。对于 AWS CloudWatch 指标,这可能需要几分钟。对于正常运行时间检查,这可能是平均两分钟(从考量时长结束时起)。

  • 考量时长:为条件配置的时间长度。请注意,只有在整个考量时长中条件均为 true 时,才会满足条件。例如,如果您指定了一个五分钟的时间段,则通知会比事件首次发生时至少延迟五分钟。

  • 通知到达时间:电子邮件和短信等通知渠道本身可能会遇到网络延迟或与传送内容无关的其他延迟,有时会将近几分钟。在某些渠道上(例如短信和 Slack),无法保证消息一定会成功传送。

后续步骤

Alerting behavior

Alerting policies exist in dynamic and complex environments, so using them effectively requires an understanding of some of the variables that can affect their behavior. The metrics and resources monitored by conditions, the duration windows for conditions, and the notification channels can each have an effect.

This document provides some additional information to help you understand the behavior of your metric-based alerting policies. This content does not apply to log-based alerting policies. For information about log-based alerting policies, see Monitoring your logs.

The alignment period and the duration

The alignment period and the duration window are two fields that you set when specifying a condition for an alerting policy. This section provides a brief illustration of the meaning of these fields.

Alignment period

The alignment period is a look-back interval from a particular point in time. For example, if the alignment period is five minutes, then at 1:00 PM, the alignment period contains the samples received between 12:55 PM and 1:00 PM. At 1:01 PM, the alignment period slides one minute and contains the samples received between 12:56 PM and 1:01 PM.

To illustrate the effect of the alignment period on a condition in an alerting policy, consider a condition that is monitoring a metric with a sampling period of one minute. Assume that the alignment period is set to five minutes and that the aligner is set to sum. Finally, assume that the condition is met when the aligned value of the time series is greater than two for a duration of 3 minutes, and that the condition is evaluated every minute.

The following figure illustrates several sequential evaluations of the condition:

Figure illustrating the effect of the alignment period.

Each row in the figure illustrates a single evaluation of the condition. The time series data is shown. The points in the alignment period are shown with blue dots, all older dots are gray. Each row displays the aligned value and whether this value is above the threshold of two. For the row labeled start, the aligned value computes to 1, which is below the threshold. At the next evaluation, the sum of the samples in the alignment period is 2. On the third evaluation, the sum is 3, and is greater than the threshold. The condition evaluator also starts the duration window timer.

Duration window

You use the duration, or the duration window, to prevent a condition from being met due to a single measurement. In the Google Cloud Console, use the following fields to configure the duration:

  • Legacy interface: The For field of the alerting policy Configuration pane.
  • Preview interface: The Time above threshold (or Time below threshold) field in the Configure trigger step.

The previous figure illustrated three evaluations of the condition. At the time start + 2m, the aligned value was above the threshold; however the condition isn't met because the duration window is set to three minutes. The following figure illustrates the results for the next evaluations of the condition:

Figure illustrating the effect of the duration window.

As illustrated, even though the aligned value is above the threshold at time start + 2m, the condition isn't met until the aligned value is above the threshold for three minutes. That occurs at time start + 5m.

For clarity, the previous example omitted the possibility of combining the aligned data points from multiple time series into a single measurement. It is that measurement that is compared to the threshold to determine if the condition is met.

A condition resets its duration window each time a measurement doesn't satisfy the condition. This behavior is illustrated in the following example:

Example: This policy specifies a five-minute duration window.

If HTTP response latency is higher than two seconds,
and if the latency is above that threshold for five minutes,
open an incident and send email to your support team.

The following sequence illustrates how the duration window affects the evaluation of the condition:

  1. The HTTP latency is below two seconds.
  2. For the next three consecutive minutes, HTTP latency is above two seconds.
  3. In the next measurement, the latency falls below two seconds, so the condition resets the duration window.
  4. For the next five consecutive minutes, HTTP latency is above two seconds, so the condition is met and the policy is triggered.

Set the duration window to be long enough to minimize false positives, but short enough to ensure that incidents are opened in a timely manner.

Selecting the alignment period and duration window

Alerting policy conditions are evaluated at a fixed frequency. The choices that you make for the alignment period and the duration window don't impact how often the condition is evaluated.

The previous figure illustrates that the alignment period determines how many data samples are combined with the aligner. If you choose a long period, many samples are combined. If you choose a short period, it's possible that only one data point is in the interval. In contrast, the duration window specifies how long the aligned values must be above the threshold before the condition is met. If the duration window is set to 0, then a single aligned value being above the threshold means the condition is met.

Policies with multiple conditions

An alerting policy can contain up to 6 conditions.

If you are using the Cloud Monitoring API or if your alerting policy has multiple conditions, then you must specify when the individual conditions are met. When a condition is met, that results in an event being created and potentially an incident being opened. To configure how multiple conditions are combined, do one of the following:

  • In the Google Cloud Console, use one of the following:

    • Legacy interface: Policy triggers field.
    • Preview interface: Multi-condition trigger step.
  • In the Cloud Monitoring API, use the combiner field.

This table lists the settings in the Cloud Console, the equivalent value in the Cloud Monitoring API, and a description of each setting:

Cloud Console
Policy triggers value
Cloud Monitoring API
combiner value
Meaning
Any condition is met OR An incident is opened if any resource causes any of the conditions to be met.
All conditions are met
even for different
resources for each condition

(default)
AND An incident is opened if each condition is met by at least one resource, even if a different resource causes those conditions to be met.
All conditions are met AND_WITH_MATCHING_RESOURCE An incident is opened if the same resource causes each condition to be met. This setting is the most stringent combining choice.

In this context, the term met means that the condition's configuration evaluates to true. For example, if the configuration is Any time series is above 10 for 5 minutes, then when this statement evaluates to true, the condition is met.

Example

Consider a Google Cloud project that contains two VM instances, vm1 and vm2. Also, assume that you create an alerting policy with 2 conditions:

  • The condition named CPU usage is too high monitors the CPU usage of the instances. This condition is met when the CPU usage of any instance is above 100ms/s for 1 minute.
  • The condition named Excessive utilization monitors the CPU utilization of the instances. This condition is met when the CPU utilization of any instance is above 60% for 1 minute.

Initially, assume that both conditions evaluate to false.

Next, assume that the CPU usage of vm1 exceeds 100ms/s for 1 minute. This causes the condition CPU usage is too high to be met. If the conditions are combined with Any condition is met, then an incident is created because a condition is met. If the conditions are combined with All conditions are met or All conditions are met even for different resources for each condition, then an incident isn't created. These combiner choices require that both conditions be met.

Next, assume that the CPU usage of vm1 continues to be above 100ms/s and that the CPU utilization of vm2 exceeds 60% for 1 minute. The result is that both conditions are met. The following describes what occurs based on how the conditions are combined:

  • Any condition is met: An incident is created when a resource causes a condition to be met. In this example, vm2 causes the condition Excessive utilization to be met.

    As a side note, if vm2 caused the condition CPU usage is too high to be met, that also results in an incident being created. This is because vm1 causing the condition CPU usage is too high to be met and vm2 causing the condition CPU usage is too high to be met are distinct events.

  • All conditions are met even for different resources for each condition: An incident is created because both conditions are met.

  • All conditions are met: An incident isn't created because this combiner requires that the same resource cause all conditions to be met. In this example, no incident is created because vm1 causes CPU usage is too high to be met while vm2 causes Excessive utilization to be met.

Disabled alerting policies

Alerting policies can be temporarily paused and restarted by disabling and enabling the policy. For example, if you have an alerting policy that notifies you when a process is down for more than 5 minutes, you can disable the alerting policy when you take the process down for upgrade or other maintenance.

Disabling an alerting policy prevents the policy from triggering or closing incidents, but it doesn't stop Cloud Monitoring from evaluating the policy conditions and recording the results. If you disable an alerting policy and want open issues put into the closed state, then silence the incident. For information on that process, see Silencing incidents.

Suppose the monitored process is down for 20 minutes for maintenance. If you restart the process and re-enable the alerting policy immediately, it recognizes that the process hasn't been up for the last 5 minutes and opens an incident.

When a disabled policy is re-enabled, Monitoring examines the values of all conditions over the most recent duration window, which might include data taken before, during, and after the paused interval. Policies can trigger immediately after resuming them, even with large duration windows.

Partial metric data

If measurements are missing (for example, if there are no HTTP requests for a couple of minutes), the policy uses the last recorded value to evaluate conditions.

Example

  1. A condition specifies HTTP latency of two seconds or higher for five consecutive minutes.
  2. For three consecutive minutes, HTTP latency is three seconds.
  3. For two consecutive minutes, there are no HTTP requests. In this case, a condition carries forward the last measurement (three seconds) for these two minutes.
  4. After a total of five minutes the policy triggers, even though there has been no data for the last two minutes.

Missing or delayed metric data can result in policies not alerting and incidents not closing. Delays in data arriving from third-party cloud providers can be as high as 30 minutes, with 5-15 minute delays being the most common. A lengthy delay—longer than the duration window—can cause conditions to enter an "unknown" state. When the data finally arrives, Cloud Monitoring might have lost some of the recent history of the conditions. Later inspection of the time-series data might not reveal this problem because there is no evidence of delays once the data arrives.

You can minimize these problems by doing any of the following:

  • Contact your third-party cloud provider to see if there is a way to reduce metric collection latency.
  • Use longer duration windows in your conditions. This has the disadvantage of making your alerting policies less responsive.
  • Choose metrics that have a lower collection delay:

    • Monitoring agent metrics, especially when the agent is running on VM instances in third-party clouds.
    • Custom metrics, when you write their data directly to Cloud Monitoring.
    • Logs-based metrics, if logs collection is not delayed.

For more information, see Monitoring Agent Overview, Using Custom Metrics, and Logs-based Metrics.

Incidents per policy

An alerting policy can apply to many resources, and a problem affecting all resources can trigger the policy and open incidents for each resource. An incident is opened for each time series that results in a condition being met.

To prevent overloading the system, the number of incidents that a single policy can open simultaneously is limited to 5000.

For example, if a policy applies to 2000 (or 20,000) Compute Engine instances, and each instance causes the alerting conditions to be met, then only 5000 incidents are opened. Any remaining conditions that are met are ignored until some of the open incidents for that policy close.

Notifications per incident

By default, a notification is sent out when a time series causes a condition to be met. You might receive multiple notifications if any of the following are true:

  • A condition is monitoring multiple time series.

  • A policy contains multiple conditions:

    • All conditions are met: When all conditions are met, then for each time series that results in a condition being met, the policy sends a notification and creates an incident. For example, if you have a policy with two conditions and each condition is monitoring one time series, then when the policy is triggered, you receive two notifications and you see two incidents.

    • Any condition is met: The policy sends a notification each time a new combination of conditions is met. For example, assume that ConditionA is met, that an incident opens, and that a notification is sent. If the incident is still open when a subsequent measurement meets both ConditionA and ConditionB, then another notification is sent.

If you create an alerting policy by using the Cloud Monitoring API, then you are notified when the condition is met and when the condition stops being met. If you create the policy by using the Google Cloud Console, then the default behavior is to send a notification only when the condition is met. If you want a notification when the condition stops being met, then select Notify on incident closure in the notifications section.

Notification latency

Notification latency is the delay from the time a problem first starts until the time a policy is triggered.

The following events and settings contribute to the overall notification latency:

  • Metric collection delay: The time Cloud Monitoring needs to collect metric values. For Google Cloud values, this is typically negligible. For AWS CloudWatch metrics, this can be several minutes. For uptime checks, this can be an average of two minutes (from the end of the duration window).

  • Duration window: The window configured for the condition. Note that conditions are only met if a condition is true throughout the duration window. For example, if you specify a five-minute window, the notification is delayed at least five minutes from when the event first occurs.

  • Time for notification to arrive: Notification channels such as email and SMS themselves may experience network or other latencies (unrelated to what's being delivered), sometimes approaching minutes. On some channels—such as SMS and Slack—there is no guarantee that the messages are delivered.

What's next