选择要用于绘制图表的数据

本页面介绍如何指定图表应显示哪些数据。如需了解如何配置图表样式,请参阅设置视图选项

选择要显示的数据

要填充图表,您必须指定至少一对值:

  • 一种指标类型,用于识别可从受监控资源收集的测量结果。指标类型包括对要测量的内容以及如何解释测量结果的说明。指标类型有时称为指标。如需了解概念性信息,请参阅指标类型

  • 受监控资源指定从中捕获指标数据的资源。受监控资源有时称为受监控资源类型资源。如需了解概念性信息,请参阅受监控资源

Monitoring 提供了许多预定义指标类型和受监控资源,您也可以创建自定义指标:

指标规范字段

信息中心编辑器

当您将微件从微件库拖动到图表区域时,系统会显示一个图表,其中包含预先选定的资源类型和指标:

新创建折线图的示例。

您可以通过不同的方法来指定图表中的数据:

  • 要快速配置图表,请使用基本模式。此选项具有最小的配置选项。基本配置始终可在其他模式下显示。如需了解详情,请参阅使用基本高级模式
  • 要访问所有图表配置字段,请使用 高级模式。使用此模式可访问大多数聚合字段。如需了解详情,请参阅使用基本高级模式

  • 如需用查询语言配置图表,请用 MQL 模式。在此模式下,您可以访问查询编辑器。如果使用 MQL,则其他模式无法表示该配置。如需了解 MQL,请参阅 MQL 简介

使用基本高级模式

资源类型菜单列出了包含指标数据的每个受监控资源。指标菜单由对资源类型的选择确定。

  • 要在菜单中查找特定条目,请使用滚动条或在菜单的过滤条件 区域中输入文本。输入文本时,菜单项仅限于包括输入文本的内容。

    以下屏幕截图显示了指标字段的展开菜单。过滤条件栏包含文本 lat,因此此菜单只会列出包含该字符串的条目:

    显示指标过滤条件栏。

    请注意,上一屏幕截图中会突出显示指标 Late Boot Validation。将指针放置在条目上时,系统会打开一个窗格并显示该指标的详细信息。如图所示,此窗格列出了指标种类、值类型和说明字段等。

如果要访问尚无数据的资源类型或指标,则需要更改默认行为:

  • 如需选择任何资源类型,请展开资源类型菜单,然后取消选中仅显示活跃资源类型

  • 如需查看所选资源类型的所有指标,包括没有数据的指标,请展开指标菜单,然后取消选中 Only show active

  • 如需能够选择任何指标,请点击资源类型菜单上的关闭 ,然后查找所需条目。点击资源类型上的关闭后,指标菜单将包含所有指标。

  • 要查看或修改 Cloud Monitoring API 使用的资源类型、指标和过滤条件设置,请点击 资源类型菜单中的 Direct filter mode

旧版信息中心编辑器

要选择指标,请使用查找资源类型和指标字段来选择一种受监控资源和一种指标类型。您可以按任意顺序指定它们。首先,点击该字段中的提示文本以显示包含一个或两个部分的列表,这取决于上一选择。这些部分包括标题、资源类型指标,如以下屏幕截图所示:

用于选择指标和资源的搜索列表

要完成资源类型和指标的选择,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 输入值或选择列表中的值。

    系统会根据您输入的任何文本过滤列表。例如,如果您输入 CPU Usage,则列表的每个成员都包含 CPUusage

  • 按照以下步骤输入指标过滤条件:

    1. 点击查找资源类型和指标 (Find resource type and metric) 旁边的帮助
    2. 点击帮助窗格中的 Direct filter mode

      启用直接过滤模式 (Direct filter mode) 后,查找资源类型和指标 (Find resource type and metric) 选项将被替换为标有资源类型、指标和过滤器 (Resource type, metric, and filter) 的可编辑文本框:

      显示直接过滤模式。

      如果您在选择直接过滤模式之前选择了资源类型、指标或过滤器,则这些设置将用于预先填充资源类型、指标和过滤器文本框。

    3. 资源类型、指标和过滤器文本框中输入指标过滤器。过滤条件必须包含指标类型和资源类型。 您还可以添加标签过滤条件。如需了解过滤器语法,请参阅 Monitoring 过滤器

      例如,要显示 us-east1-b 地区中所有 Google Cloud 虚拟机实例的日志条目,请输入以下内容:

      metric.type="logging.googleapis.com/log_entry_count" resource.type="gce_instance" resource.label."zone"="us-east1-b"
      

      如果您使用直接过滤模式来配置图表或提醒政策,但没有可用的数据,则图表会显示错误消息。具体的错误消息取决于输入的过滤条件。例如,典型的消息是 Chart definition invalid。您可能还会看到消息 No data is available for the selected time frame.

如需查看菜单项的详细信息,请将指针放在该菜单项上方。如需了解指标类型或受监控的资源的描述符,请参阅指标列表受监控的资源列表

以下屏幕截图显示了仅根据选定的指标和资源(不含其他配置)生成的结果图表:

显示已选择指标的图表。

该图表包含的数据过多,无法全部显示;图表可显示的数据线限制是 300 条。 要减少数据量,您可以应用过滤条件、应用聚合或使用离群值模式

过滤数据

您可以通过指定过滤条件、应用聚合或使用离群值模式来减少用来绘制图表的数据量。过滤条件可确保仅使用符合部分条件的时间序列。如果应用过滤条件,图表上的行数会更少,从而改善图表的性能。

如果您提供多个过滤条件,则相应图表仅显示符合所有条件(即逻辑 AND)的时间序列。

信息中心编辑器

本部分介绍在选择基本高级模式时如何配置过滤条件。如果选择 MQL 模式,请使用查询编辑器

通常,您可以按资源组、名称、资源标签、可用区和指标标签进行过滤。

如需添加过滤条件,请点击添加过滤条件,然后指定过滤条件标签、比较以及值或值范围:

  1. 点击标签,然后从菜单中选择一个条目。

    如需查找特定标签,您可以使用滚动条,或在过滤条件 文本区域中输入文本。输入文本时,仅显示包含输入文本的菜单条目。

    以下屏幕截图显示了特定指标的已知过滤条件标签:

    过滤条件标签列表示例。

  2. 点击比较,然后从菜单中选择一个条目,或保留默认值。您可以选择四个运算符:等于、=、不等于、!=、正则表达式匹配、=~ 和正则表达式不匹配:!=~

    过滤条件比较运算符列表。

  3. 点击,然后执行以下任一操作:

    • 如果您选择了直接比较运算符 =!=,请从菜单中进行选择,或者点击修改 并输入值。输入的值可以是简单值(如 us-central1-a),或者您可以创建以 starts_withends_with 开头的过滤条件字符串。例如,如需显示任何 us-central1 可用区的数据,您可以输入过滤条件字符串 starts_with("us-central1")。如需详细了解过滤条件字符串,请参阅 Monitoring 过滤条件

      由于菜单条目来自收到的时间序列,因此,如果受监控的资源没有为所选指标生成数据,则您必须为标签输入一个值。

      以下屏幕截图显示了选择 zone 资源标签时显示的特定项目的值菜单:

      过滤条件标签列表示例。

    • 如果您选择了正则表达式比较运算符 =~!=~,请在值中输入 RE2 正则表达式。例如,正则表达式 us-central1-.* 可与所有 us-central1 区域匹配:

      要匹配以“a”结尾的任何美国地区,您可以使用正则表达式 ^us.*.a$

      注意:您不能使用正则表达式来过滤 project_id 资源标签。

      例如,如果您只想查看来自某个 us-central1 可用区的时间序列,则应用 zone="starts_with("us-central1")"zone=~"us-central1.*" 过滤条件:

      显示已过滤的时间序列。

您可以指定多个过滤条件,并且可以多次使用相同的标签。这允许您指定一个可获得一系列值的过滤条件。 所有过滤条件都必须满足,它们共同构成逻辑 AND。例如,以下配置可用于同时使用 starts_withends_with 过滤条件字符串以仅显示美国的“a”可用区:

使用多个过滤条件的示例。

旧版信息中心编辑器

在 Google Cloud Console 中,要添加过滤条件,请点击过滤条件字段。这将打开一个面板,其中包含可作为过滤条件的条件列表。例如,您可以按资源组、名称、资源标签、区域和指标标签过滤。

以下屏幕截图显示了特定指标的已知过滤条件标签:

预填充的过滤条件标签列表。

您可以从列表中选择,或在字段中手动输入文本来查找匹配项。另外,您可以为尚未出现的数据创建过滤条件;此类过滤条件不会出现在选项列表中,但您可以手动指定您认为将来会有效的过滤条件。

选择过滤条件标签后,您必须指定过滤的其余部分:值或值的范围,以及比较方式。

例如,以下屏幕截图显示了一个对 zone 资源标签应用的过滤器。过滤器字段支持一对相等性比较运算符(==~)和一对不等性比较运算符(!=!=~)。每对运算符中的第二项采用正则表达式作为值。默认值为简单的相等性运算符 =

过滤条件比较运算符列表。

比较运算符列表下方是可用值列表。以下屏幕截图显示了项目中地区的名称:

一些预先填充的过滤条件值的示例。

对于 Value 字段,您可以从下拉列表中选择一项内容,也可以输入与多项内容匹配的表达式:

  • 如果您使用直接比较运算符 =!=,则可以创建一个类似 starts_with 的过滤器字符串。例如,过滤器字符串 starts_with("us-central") 可与任何 us-central 地区匹配:

    使用过滤条件字符串的示例。

    如需详细了解过滤字符串,请参阅 Monitoring 过滤条件

  • 如果您选择 =~!=~,请输入 RE2 正则表达式作为值。例如,正则表达式 us-central1-.* 可与任何 us-central1 地区匹配:

    使用正则表达式进行过滤的示例。

    正则表达式 ^us.*.a$ 可与任何以“a”结尾的美国地区匹配:

    使用正则表达式针对可用区进行过滤的示例。

您可以指定多个过滤条件,并且可以多次使用相同的标签。这允许您指定一个可获得一系列值的过滤条件。要添加其他过滤条件,请点击过滤条件字段底部附近的 Add a filter。 目前,所有过滤器都必须满足,它们共同构成逻辑 AND。例如,您可以同时使用 starts_withends_with 过滤器字符串以仅显示在美国的“a”地区:

使用多个过滤条件的示例。

如果使用 zone="starts_with("asia-east1")"zone=~"asia-east1.*" 过滤条件,则系统会只显示来自 asia-east1 地区之一的数据的时间序列:

显示已过滤的时间序列。

选择如何显示数据

选择时间序列数据后,下一步是确定该数据的显示方式。例如,您想要显示每个时间序列,还是想将时间序列组合在一起?

您可以通过配置聚合选项来指定数据的显示方式。聚合包括校准时间序列数据,然后将不同的时间序列组合在一起。合并时间序列是可选操作。

如需详细了解聚合,请参阅过滤和聚合:处理时间序列

校准数据

校准是将 Monitoring 接收到的时间序列数据转换为在固定时间间隔内具有数据点的新时间序列的过程。校准过程包括收集在固定时间段内收到的所有数据点、应用函数以组合这些数据点,以及为结果分配时间戳。该函数可能会计算所有样本的平均值,或者提取所有样本的最大值。

校准时间段(信息中心编辑器)或时间段字段(旧版信息中心编辑器)指定校准时间序列数据时要使用的最短时间间隔。当选定显示时段内图表数量太多时,会自动增加校准时间段,以便显示每个数据点。此字段的默认设置为 1 分钟。

例如,假设某个指标的采样周期为一分钟。如果图表配置为显示 1 小时的数据,则图表可以显示全部 60 个数据点。如果校准时间段设置为 10 minutes,则图表会显示 6 个数据点。但是,如果您将图表配置为显示一周数据,则图表中显示的点过多,因此系统会自动修改时间段。在此示例中,修改后的校准时间段为一小时。

校准函数 (Alignment function) 字段(信息中心编辑器)或校准器字段(旧版信息中心编辑器)指定用于组合校准时间段内的所有数据点的函数。大多数校准器会执行常见的数学函数。例如,如果您选择最小值,则校准数据点是校准时间段中所有数据点的最小值。部分校准器会执行更复杂的操作:

  • next older:要仅保留校准时间段中的最新样本,请使用 next older 校准器。此校准器通常用于正常运行时间检查,当您仅关心最新值时,这是一个不错的选择。

    此校准器仅适用于采样平均值指标。

  • 百分位:要在折线图、堆叠面积图或堆叠条形图上显示分布指标,您必须选择要显示分布中的哪个百分位。指定此百分位的一种方法是选择一个百分位校准器。您可以选择第 5、第 50、第 95 和第 99 百分位。使用校准时间段内的所有数据点来计算指定的百分位,从而确定校准数据点。

    此校准器仅适用于具有分布数据类型的采样平均值指标和增量指标。

  • 增量:如需将累积指标或增量指标转换为每个校准时间段一个样本的增量指标,请使用此校准器。此校准器可能会导致数据插值。如需查看示例,请参阅种类、类型和转换

    此校准器仅适用于累积指标和增量指标。

  • 速率:如需将累积指标或增量指标转换为采样平均值指标,请使用此校准器。如果选择此校准器,您可以将时间序列想象为通过增量校准器进行转换,然后除以校准时间段。例如,如果原始时间序列的单位为 MiB 且校准时间段的单位为秒,则此校准器会生成一个单位为 MiB/秒的图表。如需了解详情,请参阅种类、类型和转换

    此校准器仅适用于累积指标和增量指标。

如需详细了解可用的校准器,请参阅 API 参考文档中的 Aligner

要访问校准字段,请执行以下操作:

信息中心编辑器

  • 基本模式:所有校准字段均已预先配置。

  • 高级模式:在您选择资源类型和指标后,可访问所有校准选项。这些字段有默认值;但可修改选择。

  • MQL 模式:可使用所有校准选项。

旧版信息中心编辑器

选择资源类型和指标后,校准面板中将显示校准时间段:

显示时间段字段。

如需查看对齐函数,请点击显示高级选项

显示高级选项。

以下屏幕截图说明了特定 Google Cloud 项目中 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例的 CPU 利用率。在此图片中,校准字段采用默认值:校准函数设置为 mean,校准时间段设置为 1 minute

使用默认校准设置的虚拟机实例的 CPU 利用率。

为便于比较,下面的屏幕截图说明了将时间段从 1 minute 更改为 5 minutes 的效果:

使用默认校准时间段为 5 分钟的虚拟机实例的 CPU 利用率

通过增加此时间段,生成的图表的点数会减少,每个时间序列的 60 点数将减少到每个时间序列 10 个点。图表上的每个点通过计算校准时间段的时间序列平均值来计算。扩大校准时间段后,点中的平均值也会增加,会让已绘制的数据更流畅。

合并时间序列

您可以通过组合不同的时间序列来减少为指标返回的数据量。要组合多个时间序列,您通常需要指定一个分组和一个函数。分组是通过标签值完成的。该函数定义了如何将群组中的所有时间序列合并成一个新的时间序列。

信息中心编辑器

如需对时间序列进行分组和组合,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 基本模式

    1. 确定如何对时间序列进行分组:

      • 要显示每个时间序列,请取消选中分组
      • 如需按标签值对时间序列进行分组,请选中分组,然后使用分组依据菜单选择用于分组的标签。选择后,点击确定
    2. 确定如何组合数据点:

      • 如果单选按钮仅列出百分位,则表示您选择的指标具有分布值。使用单选按钮从分布中选择要查看的分布的百分位。

      • 如果单选按钮列出了 meanminmax,则表示您选择了具有数值的指标。使用这些按钮可指定数据点作为图表过程的一部分。为了理解这些组合器的工作原理,我们假设图表可显示 60 个数据点,并假设数据速率为每分钟 1 点。如果显示一小时的数据,则图表可以显示所有点。但是,如果要显示 3 小时的数据,则必须将 180 个数据点减少为 60,这是图表可以显示的点数量。减少数据的一种方法是,取三个相邻样本的平均值,另一方法是采用最小值。

  • 高级模式:

    • 要将所有时间序列合并到一个时间序列中,请确保分组依据为空,并使用按函数分组菜单选择时间序列的组合方式。

    • 如需显示所有时间序列,请执行以下操作之一:

      • 确保分组依据为空,并为按函数分组选择 none
      • 点击分组依据菜单,选择添加全部,然后选择按函数分组。对于存储数值的指标,按函数分组可能不会生成明显不同的图表。
    • 要按特定标签值对时间序列进行分组,请点击分组依据,然后选择要分组的标签。要指定时间序列的组合方式,请使用按函数分组菜单选择一个函数。

  • MQL 模式:

    如需了解如何监控查询语言,请参阅使用查询编辑器

以下屏幕截图显示了按 user_labels.version 分组,其中按函数分组设置为默认值 sum 的分组。此选择会为 user_labels.version 的每个值生成一个时间序列。每个时间序列中的数据点都是根据特定版本的各个时间序列的所有值之和计算得出的:

显示按 user_labels.version 分组的时间序列

旧版信息中心编辑器

要添加分组,请点击分组依据文本框中的文本,然后从菜单中选择。菜单是根据您选择的资源和指标的时间序列数据动态构建的。分组和过滤使用相同的标签集。

添加第一个标签时,将出现以下情况:

  • 选择一个聚合器。所选函数取决于显示的数据类型;但您可更改此函数。
  • 聚合器确定如何将具有相同标签值的时间序列合并为单个时间序列。
  • 图表为分组依据文本框中列出的每个标签值显示一个时间序列。

如果按多个标签分组,则聚合器将合并指定标签具有相同值的时间序列。

如果您未指定分组选项且指定了聚合器,则聚合器将应用于所有选定的时间序列,并产生单个时间序列。

以下屏幕截图显示了 user_labels.version 的分组,其中聚合器设置为 sum 的默认值:

分组设置示例。

此选择会为 user_labels.version 的每个值生成一个时间序列。每个时间序列中的数据点都是根据特定版本的各个时间序列的所有值之和计算得出的:

显示按 user_labels.version 分组的时间序列

您可以按多个标签分组。如果您有多个分组选项,则时间序列会按每个标签值组合进行分组,按函数分组(信息中心编辑器)或聚合器(旧版信息中心编辑器)会应用于每个组。生成的图表显示每个标签组合的一个时间序列。为标签指定的顺序并不重要。

例如,以下屏幕截图展示了按 user_labels.versionsystem_labels.machine_image 分组:

按版本和机器映像显示时间序列。

如图所示,如果您按这两个标签进行分组,则会得到针对两对值的一个时间序列。实际上,每个标签组合都有一个时间序列,这意味着这种方法可以轻松创建更多数据,而不是您在单个图表中有用的数据。

如果您指定分组,或者选择按函数分组(信息中心编辑器)或聚合器(旧版信息中心编辑器),则绘成图表的时间序列仅包含必需的标签(例如项目标识符)以及按分组指定的标签。

移除分组条件

信息中心编辑器

要移除所有分组依据条件,请执行以下操作之一:

  • 基本模式:取消选中分组

  • 高级模式:执行以下操作:

    1. 分组依据菜单中,点击全部删除,然后点击确定
    2. 按函数分组菜单中,选择 none
  • MQL 模式:删除分组命令。

    如需了解如何监控查询语言,请参阅使用查询编辑器

旧版信息中心编辑器

要移除分组条件,您必须执行以下操作:

  1. 删除分组条件标签。
  2. 将聚合器设置为 none

二次聚合

信息中心编辑器

  • 基本高级模式:信息中心编辑器会确定如何将聚合选项映射到 Cloud Monitoring API 通过以下信息指定的主要和次要聚合字段:

    • 微件类型
    • 指标种类
    • 指标值类型
    • 使用哪个模式配置微件

    如需为自定义信息中心的图表确定此映射,您可以使用 gcloud 命令行工具检索信息中心配置。如需了解详情,请参阅列出信息中心

  • MQL 模式:这些字段可访问。

旧版信息中心编辑器

如果您有多个已经代表聚合的时间序列(例如说明 Group By 选项的示例),则可以通过选择一个 Secondary Aggregator 跨这些时间序列进行聚合:

二次聚合字段

二次聚合操作会将图表上的所有时间序列归纳为单个时间序列。

以下屏幕截图显示了对过滤的数据集进行分组所形成的几个时间序列。进行分组时需要执行聚合操作;同时,每组数据线都会聚合成一条数据线。以下屏幕截图显示了按地区分组的时间序列:

显示按地区分组的已过滤时间序列。

以下屏幕截图显示了使用二次聚合查找分组时间序列中的平均值的结果:

显示应用于上一个示例的二次聚合。

后续步骤

Selecting data to chart

This page describes how to specify what data a chart should display. For information on configuring the style of a chart, see Setting view options.

Select the data to display

To populate the chart, you must specify at least one pair of values:

  • The metric field identifies the measurements to be collected from a monitored resource. It includes a description of what is being measured and how the measurements are interpreted. Metric is a short form of metric type. For conceptual information, see Metric types.

  • The resource type field specifies from which resource the metric data is captured. The resource type is sometimes called the monitored resource type or the resource. For conceptual information, see Monitored resources.

Monitoring has many predefined metric types and monitored resources available, and you can create custom metrics as well:

  • For information on predefined metrics types, see the Metrics list. Each document lists metrics by the type of service. For example, the Google Cloud metrics page contains a series of tables, one for each Google Cloud service.

  • For information about monitored resource types available, see Monitored resource list.

  • For information on defining your own metrics, see Using custom metrics.

The metric-specification field

When you drag a widget from the Widget library to the graph area, a chart is displayed with a preselected resource type and metric:

Example of a newly created line chart.

There are different ways you can specify the data to chart:

  • To quickly configure a chart, use the Basic mode. This choice has minimal configuration options. A basic configuration can always be represented in the other modes. For details, see Using the Basic or Advanced mode.

  • To access all chart configuration fields, use the Advanced mode. This mode provides access to most aggregation fields. For details, see Using the Basic or Advanced mode.

  • To enter a Monitoring filter, see Direct filter mode.

  • To configure a chart using a query language, use the MQL mode. With this mode, you have access to the Query Editor. If you use MQL, that configuration cannot be represented by the other modes. For information about MQL, see Introduction to MQL.

Using the Basic or Advanced mode

The Resource type menu lists every monitored resource for which there is metric data. The Metric menu is determined by the selection for the Resource type.

  • To find a specific entry in a menu, use the scrollbar or enter text into the menu's Filter area. When you enter text, the menu entries are limited to those that include the entered text.

    The following screenshot illustrates the expanded menu for the Metric field. The filter bar contains the text lat, so this menu only lists entries that include that string:

    Display of the metrics filter bar.

    Note that in the previous screenshot, the metric Late Boot Validation is highlighted. When your pointer is placed over an entry a pane opens and displays detailed information about that metric. As illustrated, this pane lists, among other things, the metric kind, value type, and the description field.

If you want to access a resource type or metric that doesn't yet have data, then you need to change the default behavior:

  • To be able to select any resource type, expand the Resource type menu and then clear Only show active.

  • To view all metrics for the selected resource type, even those metrics without data, expand the Metric menu and then clear Only show active.

  • To be able to select any metric, click Close on the Resource type menu and then find the entry of interest. By clicking close on the resource type, the Metric menu includes all metrics.

  • To view or edit the resource type, metric, and filter settings as used by the Cloud Monitoring API, in the Resource type menu, click Direct filter mode.

Using direct filter mode

Use direct filter mode when you are interested in charting any of the following:

  • A service level objective (SLO).
  • The count of processes running on virtual machines (VMs).
  • A custom metric for which you don't yet have data.

When you use direct filter mode, you enter a Monitoring filter that specifies the time series to be charted. The following Monitoring filter results in the chart displaying the count of log entries for all Google Cloud virtual machine instances in the us-east1-b zone:

metric.type="logging.googleapis.com/log_entry_count"
resource.type="gce_instance" resource.label."zone"="us-east1-b"

To enter a Monitoring filter, do the following:

  1. Select Basic mode or Advanced mode.
  2. In the in the Resource type menu, click Direct filter mode.

Filter charted data

You can reduce the amount of data to be charted by specifying filter criteria, applying aggregation, or by using outlier mode. Filters ensure that only time series that meet some set of criteria are used. If you apply filters, then there are fewer lines on the chart, and that can improve the performance of the chart.

If you supply multiple filtering criteria, then the corresponding chart shows only the time series that meet all criteria, a logical AND. Typically, you can filter by resource group, by name, by resource label, by zone, and by metric label.

If you select MQL mode, then use the Query Editor to specify the filter.

To add a filter when you select the Basic or Advanced mode, click Add filter and then specify the filter label, the comparison, and the value or range of values:

  1. Click Label and then select an entry from the menu.

    To find a specific label, you can use the scrollbar or you can enter text into the Filter text area. When you enter text, the menu lists only those entries that contain the entered text.

    The following screenshot shows the known filter-by labels for a specific metric:

    Example of a list of filter labels.

  2. Click Comparison and then select an entry from the menu. You can choose between four operators: equals, =, not equals, !=, regular expression match, =~, and regular expression does not match, !=~:

    List of filter comparators.

  3. Click Value and then do one of the following:

    • If you selected a direct comparison, = or !=, then select from the menu or enter a value and click Done. Entered values can be simple values such as us-central1-a, or you can create a filter string that begins with starts_with or ends_with. For example, to display data for any us-central1 zone you could enter the filter string starts_with("us-central1"). See Monitoring filters for more information on filter strings.

      Because the menu entries are derived from the received time series, if a monitored resource isn't generating data for the selected metric, then you must enter a value for the label.

      The following screenshot shows the value menu that is displayed for a particular project when the zone resource label is selected:

      Example of a list of filter labels.

    • If you selected a regular expression comparison, =~ or !=~, then enter a RE2 regular expression into the Value field and click Done. For example, the regular expression us-central1-.* matches all us-central1 zones.

      To match any US zone that ends with “a”, you could use the regular expression ^us.*.a$.

      You can't use regular expressions to filter the project_id resource label.

      For example, if you want to view only the time series from one of the us-central1 zones, then apply a zone="starts_with("us-central1")" or zone=~"us-central1.*" filter:

      Displaying a filtered time series.

You can specify multiple filter criteria, and you can use the same label multiple times. These capabilities let you specify a filter for a range of values. All filter criteria must be met; they constitute a logical AND. For example, the following a configuration that you can use both starts_with and ends_with filter strings to show only “a” zones in the US:

Example using multiple filters.

Choose how to display charted data

After the time series data is selected, the next step is to determine how that data is displayed. For example, do you want to display each time series or do you want to combine time series together?

You specify how the data is displayed by configuring the aggregation options. Aggregation consists of aligning time series data and then combining different time series together. Combining time series is optional.

For a detailed explanation of aggregation, see Filtering and aggregation: manipulating time series.

Align data

Alignment is the process of converting the time series data received by Monitoring into a new time series which has data points at fixed intervals. The process of alignment consists of collecting all data points received in a fixed length of time, applying a function to combine those data points, and assigning a timestamp to the result. That function might compute the average of all samples or it might extract the maximum of all samples.

The Alignment period specifies the minimum time interval to be used when aligning time series data. When there are too many data points to chart in the selected display period, then the alignment period is automatically increased so that every data point is represented. The default setting for this field is one minute.

For example, consider a metric with a sampling period of one minute. If a chart is configured to display 1 hour of data, then the chart can display all 60 data points. If the alignment period is set to 10 minutes, then the chart displays 6 data points. However, if you configure the chart to display one week of data, then there are too many points to display in the chart so the period is automatically modified. In this example, the modified alignment period is one hour.

The Alignment function field specifies the function used to combine all the data points in an alignment period. Most of the aligners perform common mathematical functions. For example, if you select min, then the aligned data point is the minimum of all data points within the alignment period. A few of the aligners perform more complicated actions:

  • next older: To retain only the most recent sample within an alignment period, use the next older aligner. This aligner is commonly used with uptime checks and is a good choice when you only care about the most recent value.

    This aligner is valid only for gauge metrics.

  • percentile: To display a distribution metric on a plot type of line chart, stacked area chart, or stacked bar chart, you must select which percentile in the distribution to display. One way to specify this percentile is to select a percentile aligner. You can select the 5th, 50th, 95th, and the 99th percentiles. The aligned data point is determined by computing the specified percentile by using all data points in the alignment period.

    This aligner is valid only for gauge and delta metrics when they have a distribution data type.

  • delta: To convert a cumulative metric or a delta metric into a delta metric with one sample per alignment period, use this aligner. This aligner might result in data interpolation. For an example, see Kinds, types, and conversions.

    This aligner is valid only for cumulative and delta metrics.

  • rate: To convert a cumulative or delta metric into a gauge metric, use this aligner. If you choose this aligner, you can think of the time series being transformed as it was with a delta aligner and then divided by the alignment period. For example, if the unit of the original time series is MiB and the unit of the alignment period is second, then the chart has a unit of MiB/second. For more information, see Kinds, types, and conversions.

    This aligner is valid only for cumulative and delta metrics.

For more information on the available aligners, see Aligner in the API reference.

To access the alignment fields, do the following:

  • Basic mode: All alignment fields are preconfigured.

  • Advanced mode: All alignment options are accessible after you select the resource type and metric. Default values for these fields are provided; however, you can modify the selections.

  • MQL mode: All alignment options are available.

The following screenshot illustrates the CPU utilization of the Compute Engine VM instances in a particular Google Cloud project. In this image, the alignment fields are at the default values: the alignment function is set to mean and the alignment period is set to 1 minute:

CPU utilization of VM instances using default alignment settings.

For comparison, the following screenshot illustrates the effect of changing the period from 1 minute to 5 minutes:

CPU utilization of VM instances using default with a 5 minute alignment period

By increasing the period, the resulting chart has fewer points, decreasing from 60 points per time series to 10 points per time series. Each point on the chart is computed by averaging the time series points in an alignment period. By increasing the alignment period, more points are averaged together, which has a smoothing effect on the plotted data.

Combine time series

You can reduce the amount of data returned for a metric by combining different time series. To combine multiple time series, you typically specify a grouping and a function. Grouping is done by label values. The function defines how all time-series data within a group are combined into a new time series.

To group and combine time series, do one of the following:

  • Basic mode:

    1. Determine how to group time series:

      • To display every time series, leave Grouped clear.
      • To group time series by label values, select Grouped and then use the Group by menu to select the labels for grouping. After you make your selections, click OK.
    2. Determine how to combine data points:

      • If the radio buttons only list percentiles, then you've selected a metric that has a distribution value. Use the radio buttons to select which percentile from the distribution to view.

      • If the radio buttons list mean, min, and max, then you've selected a metric with a numerical value. Use these buttons to specify how data points are combined as part of the charting process. To understand how these combiners work, assume that a chart can display 60 data points and assume that the data rate is 1 point per minute. If you display one hour of data, then the chart can display every point. However, if you want to display 3 hours of data, you have to reduce 180 data points to 60, which is the number of points the chart can display. One way to reduce the data is to average three adjacent samples, another is to take the minimum.

  • Advanced mode:

    • To combine all time-series data into a single time series, ensure Group by is empty and select how the time series are combined by using the Group by function menu.

    • To display all time-series data, do one of the following:

      • Ensure Group by is empty and select none for the Group by function.
      • Click the Group by menu and select Add all, and then select a Group by function. For metrics which store a numerical value, the choice of group-by function might not produce a visibly different chart.
    • To group time series by specific label values, click Group by and select the labels for grouping. To specify how the time series are combined, select a function by using the Group by function menu.

  • MQL mode:

    For information about Monitoring Query Language, see Using the Query Editor.

The following screenshot shows a grouping by user_labels.version with the group-by function set to the default value of sum. This selection results in one time series for each value of the user_labels.version. The data points in each time series are computed from the sum of all the values for individual time series for a specific version:

Showing time series' grouped by user_labels.version

You can group by multiple labels. When you have multiple grouping options, the group-by function is applied to the set of time series that have the same values for the selected labels.

The resulting chart displays one time series for each combination of label values. The order in which you specify the labels doesn't matter.

For example, the following screenshot illustrates grouping by user_labels.version and system_labels.machine_image:

Showing time series' grouped by version and machine image.

As illustrated, if you group by both the labels, you get one time series for each pair of values. The fact that you get a time series for each combination of labels means that this technique can easily create more data than you can usefully put on a single chart.

When you specify grouping or if you select an group-by function, the charted time series only contains required labels, such as the project identifier, and the labels specified by the grouping.

Remove group-by conditions

To remove all group-by conditions, do one of the following:

  • Basic mode: Clear Grouped.

  • Advanced mode: Do the following:

    1. In the Group by menu, click Remove all and then click OK.
    2. In the Group by function menu, select none.
  • MQL mode: Delete grouping commands.

    For information about Monitoring Query Language, see Using the Query Editor.

Secondary aggregation

The tab you select determines the aggregation options:

  • Basic and Advanced modes: The Dashboard editor determines how to map your aggregation selections to the primary and secondary aggregation fields specified by the Cloud Monitoring API by using the following information:

    • Widget type
    • Kind of metric
    • Value type of the metric
    • Which mode is being used to configure the widget

    To determine this mapping for charts on custom dashboards, you can retrieve the dashboard configuration by using the gcloud command-line tool. For more information, see Listing dashboards.

  • MQL mode: These fields accessible.

What's next