仅保留最新值

所有 Cloud Bigtable 客户端库都可让您使用过滤条件来读取指定行和列的最新值。在某些情况下,您可能不需要读取旧版数据。为了避免系统因存储您不再需要的旧版数据而向您收取费用,请按照本页面中提供的策略移除此类数据。

在阅读本页内容之前,请先查看垃圾回收概览

时间戳为零

如果您只想保留一个版本的值,并且不想等待垃圾回收来移除以前的版本,可以在每次写入数据时将时间戳设置为零 (1970-01-01 00:00:00 UTC)。在这种情况下,新的写入会立即隐藏旧数据,因此读取操作只会返回每列的单个值。但您可能仍需要等待压缩操作,才能停止旧的写入数据占用表空间和产生存储费用,具体取决于先前数据的写入时间。

优点

  • 读取数据时不需要使用过滤条件,因为您只能读取列的单个最新值。
  • 在这种情况下,您不需要设置垃圾回收政策,因为每次对现有单元执行写操作时,您都已经移除了旧数据。

缺点

  • 单元格的先前值会立即被覆盖,而且无法再检索。
  • 由于时间戳并非日期和时间,因此您无法将单元格的时间戳用于其他任何用例,例如确定值的存在时间。如需解决该问题,您可以将实际时间戳写入单独的列中,但这会增加您存储的数据量。

后续步骤

Keeping only the most recent value

All Cloud Bigtable client libraries let you use filters to read the most recent value, or cell, at a given row and column. In some cases, you might not ever need to read older versions of your data. To avoid paying to store older data that you don't need, you can delete the data using the strategy on this page.

Before you read this page, see the garbage collection overview.

Timestamp of zero

If you only ever want to read the most recent value in a column family's columns, and you don't want to wait for garbage collection to remove older cells, you can set the timestamp to zero (1970-01-01 00:00:00 UTC) every time you write data to the column family. In this scenario, new writes immediately hide old ones, so reads always return a single value for each column. You might still need to wait for a compaction before older cells stop taking up space in the table and incurring storage costs, depending on how recently the previous data was written.

Pros

  • You don't need to use filters when you read the data, because you can only read the single most recent value of a column.
  • You don't need to set a garbage collection policy in this case, because you're already removing old data every time you write over an existing cell.

Cons

  • Previous values for a cell are immediately overwritten and cannot be retrieved.
  • Because your timestamps aren't a date and time, you cannot use the cells' timestamps for any other use case, such as determining how old a value is. As a workaround, you can write a real timestamp to a separate column, but this will increase the amount of data you store.

What's next