使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

私有云 VMware 组件

私有云是由管理网域中的 vCenter 服务器管理的独立 VMware 堆栈(ESXi 主机、vCenter Server、vSAN 和 NSX)环境。Google Cloud VMware Engine 使用以下 VMware 堆栈组件部署私有云:

  • VMware ESXi:专用节点上的 Hypervisor
  • VMware vCenter:用于集中管理私有云 vSphere 环境的设备。
  • VMware vSAN:超融合软件定义存储平台
  • VMware NSX 数据中心:网络虚拟化和安全软件
  • VMware HCX:跨数据中心和云端的应用迁移和工作负载再平衡

您可以从私有云详细信息页面检索为 VMware 栈组件生成的登录凭据

VMware 组件版本

私有云 VMware 堆栈具有以下软件版本:

组件 版本 许可版本
ESXi 7.0 Update 2c vSphere 企业 Plus 版
vCenter 7.0 Update 2d vCenter 标准版
vSAN 7.0 Update 2c 高级 + 部分 vSAN 企业版功能
NSX 数据中心 3.1.2 选择可用的功能。如需了解详情,请参阅 NSX 数据中心部分。
HCX 4.2.1 企业版
1VMware Engine 会部署 VMware 提供给 Google Cloud 的 HCX 版本。在创建私有云后更新 HCX,以检索适用于您的环境的最新版 HCX。

ESXi

在您创建私有云时,系统会将 VMware ESXi 预配置在 Google Cloud VMware Engine 节点上。ESXi 提供用于部署工作负载虚拟机(VM)的管理程序。节点提供超融合基础架构(计算和存储),并且是您的私有云上的 vSphere 集群的一部分。

每个节点都有四个物理网络接口连接到底层网络。VMware Engine 使用这些物理网络接口作为上行链路,在 vCenter 上创建一个 vSphere 分布式交换机 (VDS)。网络接口配置为活动模式,以实现高可用性。

vCenter Server Appliance

vCenter Server Appliance (VCSA) 提供 VMware Engine 的身份验证、管理和编排函数。创建和部署私有云时,VMware Engine 会在 vSphere 集群上部署一个带有嵌入式平台服务控制器 (PSC) 的 VCSA。每个私有云都有自己的 VCSA。向私有云添加节点会向 VCSA 添加节点。

vCenter 单点登录

VCSA 上的嵌入式平台服务控制器与 vCenter 单点登录相关联。域名是 gve.local。如需访问 vCenter,请使用为您创建以便访问 vCenter 的默认用户 CloudOwner@gve.local。您可以添加本地/Active Directory vCenter 身份源

vSAN 存储

私有云已全面配置集群本地的全闪存 vSAN 存储。全闪存存储由 Google Cloud 的 Persistent Disk 服务提供的本地 SSD 提供。如需创建具有 vSAN 数据存储区的 vSphere 集群,至少需要同一 SKU 的三个节点。vSphere 集群的每个节点都有两个磁盘组。每个磁盘组包含一个缓存磁盘和三个容量磁盘。

默认情况下,VMware Engine 会在 vSAN 数据存储区上启用重复信息删除和压缩。私有云上的每个集群都包含一个 vSAN 数据存储区。如果存储的虚拟机数据不适合用于重复信息删除和压缩,或者仅适用于压缩,则您可以将 vSAN 空间效率更改为单个 vSAN 数据存储区上所需的配置。

除了 vSAN 高级版功能之外,VMware Engine 还为静态数据和传输中的数据提供了 vSAN 企业版数据加密的访问权限。

vSAN 存储政策

vSAN 存储政策定义了故障容忍度 (FTT)故障容忍方法。您可以创建新的存储政策并将其应用于虚拟机。要维持 SLA,您必须在 vSAN 数据存储区上维护 25% 的备用容量。

每个 vSphere 集群都有一个应用于 vSAN 数据存储区的默认 vSAN 存储政策。该存储政策决定了如何在数据存储区中预配和分配虚拟机存储对象,以确保服务等级。

下表显示了默认的 vSAN 存储政策参数:

FTT 故障容错方法 vSphere 集群中的节点数
1 RAID 1(镜像)
创建 2 个副本
3 和 4 个节点
2 RAID 1(镜像)
创建 3 个副本
5-32 个节点

支持的 vSAN 存储政策

下表显示了支持的 vSAN 存储政策以及启用该政策所需的节点数下限:

FTT 故障容错方法 vSphere 集群中所需的节点数下限
1 RAID 1(镜像) 3
1 RAID 5(擦除编码) 4
2 RAID 1(镜像) 5
2 RAID 6(清除编码) 6
3 RAID 1(镜像) 7

NSX 数据中心

NSX 数据中心可在您的私有云上提供网络虚拟化、微细分和网络安全功能。您可以在私有云上使用 NSX 配置 NSX 数据中心支持的服务。

可用的功能

以下列表描述了 VMware Engine 支持的 NSX-T 功能,按类别整理:

  • 交换、DNS、DHCP 和 IPAM (DDI):
    • 优化的 ARP 学习和广播抑制
    • 单播复制
    • 头端复制
    • SpoofGuard
    • IP 地址管理
    • IP 块
    • IP 子网
    • IP 池
    • IPv4 DHCP 服务器
    • IPv4 DHCP 中继
    • IPv4 DHCP 静态绑定/固定地址
    • IPv4 DNS 中继/DNS 代理
  • 路由:
    • Null 路由
    • 静态路由
    • 设备路由
    • 使用路由映射和前缀列表的 BGP 路由控制
  • NAT:
    • 北/南和东/西逻辑路由器上的 NAT
    • 来源 NAT
    • 目标 NAT
    • N:N NAT
  • 防火墙:
    • 边缘防火墙
    • 分布式防火墙
    • 通用防火墙界面
    • 防火墙区域 (section)
    • 防火墙日志记录
    • 有状态的第 2 层和第 3 层防火墙规则
    • 基于标记的规则
    • 基于分布式防火墙的 IPFIX
  • 防火墙政策、标记和组:
    • 对象标记/安全标记
    • 以网络为中心的分组
    • 以工作负载为中心的分组
    • 基于 IP 的分组
    • 基于 MAC 的分组
  • VPN:
    • 第 2 层 VPN
    • 第 3 层 VPN (IPv4)
  • 集成:
    • 仅使用 Tazu Kubernetes Grid (TKG) 的容器网络和安全
    • VMware Cloud Director 服务
    • vRealize 自动化
    • vRealize 日志数据分析
  • 身份验证和授权:
    • 使用 LDAP 直接集成 Active Directory
    • 使用 OpenLDAP 进行身份验证
    • 基于角色的访问权限控制 (RBAC)
  • 自动化:
    • REST API
    • Java SDK
    • Python SDK
    • Terraform 提供程序
    • Ansible 模块
    • 适用于 REST API 的 OpenAPI/Swagger 规范和自动生成的 API 文档
  • 检查:
    • 端口镜像
    • Traceflow
    • 基于交换机的 IPFIX

功能限制

某些 NSX 数据中心功能具有非常具体的网络和安全用例。如果客户在 2022 年 8 月 30 日及之前创建 Google Cloud 帐号,请与 Cloud Customer Care 团队联系,以申请使用这些用例的功能。

下表介绍了这些功能、它们的相应用例以及可能的替代方案:

功能 用例 推荐的替代方案 2022 年 8 月 30 日或之前的 Google Cloud 客户 2022 年 8 月 30 日之后的 Google Cloud 客户
第 3 层多播 多跳第 3 层多播路由 NSX-T 子网中支持第 2 层多播。这允许将所有多播流量传送到同一 NSX-T 子网上的工作负载。 支持 不支持
服务质量 (QoS) VoIP 和延迟敏感型应用(会发生网络超额订阅) 不需要,因为 VMware Engine 提供非超额订阅的网络架构。此外,通过对等互连连接进入 VPC 时,离开私有云的任何 QoS 标记都会被删除。 支持 不支持
简单网络管理协议 (SNMP) 陷阱 用于向用户通知事件的旧版提醒协议 可以使用现代协议在 NSX-T 中配置事件和警报。 支持 不支持
NAT 功能,例如无状态 NAT、NAT 日志记录和 NAT64 用于大型电信部署中的运营商级 NAT NSX-T 支持北/南和东/西逻辑路由器上的源/目标 NAT 和 N:N NAT。 支持 不支持
基于意图的网络和安全政策 与 VMware vRealize 结合使用,在 NSX-T 中创建基于业务的防火墙政策 NSX-T 网关和分布式防火墙功能可用于创建和实施安全政策。 支持 不支持
使用 Active Directory 的基于身份的群组 VDI 部署,可检测登录特定 VDI 客机的客户并接收一组自定义 NSX-T 防火墙规则 您可以使用专用分配池为用户分配特定的工作站。然后,使用 NSX-T 标记按池应用特定防火墙规则。 支持 不支持
第 7 层属性(应用 ID)规则 在 NSX-T 防火墙规则中使用 使用 NSX-T 服务组定义一组端口和服务,以便在创建一个或多个防火墙规则时轻松参考。 支持 不支持
无状态的第 2 层和第 3 层防火墙规则 用于大型电信部署中的运营商级高速防火墙 NSX-T 支持有状态的高性能第 2 层和第 3 层规则。 支持 不支持
NSX-T 服务插入 用于通过使用 NSX-T 来自动执行第三方网络服务的北/南或东/西部署,以保护和检查流量 对于第三方安全供应商部署,VMware Engine 建议使用路由模型而不是服务插入,以确保例行服务升级不会影响网络可用性。 与 Cloud Customer Care 团队联系 不支持

HCX

VMware Engine 负责处理私有云中的 HCX 的初始安装、配置和监控。您则负责 HCX Cloud 及 HCX-IX Interconnect 等服务设备的生命周期管理。

VMware 通过 HCX 服务提供 HCX Cloud 更新。您可以通过 HCX Cloud 界面升级 HCX Manager 和已部署的 HCX 服务设备。如需了解产品版本的支持终止日期,请参阅 VMware 产品生命周期矩阵

vSphere 集群

为确保私有云的高可用性,将 ESXi 主机配置为集群。创建私有云时,VMware Engine 会在第一个集群上部署 vSphere 的管理组件。VMware Engine 为管理组件创建资源池,并在此资源池中部署所有管理虚拟机。

无法删除第一个集群以缩小私有云。vSphere 集群使用 vSphere HA 为虚拟机提供高可用性。故障容忍度 (FTT) 基于集群中的可用节点数量。公式 Number of nodes = 2N+1(其中 N 是 FTT)描述了集群与 FTT 中可用节点之间的关系。

对于生产工作负载,请使用至少包含 3 个节点的私有云。

单节点私有云

为了进行 VMware Engine 的测试和概念验证,您可以创建一个仅包含单个节点和集群的私有云。VMware Engine 会在 60 天后删除仅包含 1 个节点的私有云,以及所有关联的工作负载虚拟机和数据。

您可以调整单节点私有云的大小,以包含 3 个或更多节点。您这样做以后,VMware Engine 会发起 vSAN 数据复制,并且不再尝试删除私有云。私有云必须至少包含 3 个节点并完成 vSAN 数据复制,才符合基于服务等级协议 (SLA) 的覆盖范围。

需要多个节点的功能或操作不适用于单节点私有云。例如,您将无法使用 vSphere Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS) 或高可用性 (HA)。

vSphere 集群限制

下表介绍了满足服务等级协议 (SLA) 要求的私有云中的 vSphere 集群限制:

资源 限制
创建私有云所需的节点数下限(第一个集群) 3
创建集群的节点数下限 3
每个集群的节点数上限 32
每个私有云的节点数上限 64
每个私有云的集群数上限 21

客机操作系统支持

您可以使用私有云中 ESXi 版本的 VMware 支持的任何客机操作系统来安装虚拟机。如需查看支持的来宾操作系统列表,请参阅来宾操作系统的 VMware 兼容性指南

VMware 基础架构维护

偶尔需要更改 VMware 基础架构的配置。目前,这些间隔可能每 1-2 个月发生一次,但频率会随着时间的推移而下降。通常无需中断服务的正常使用即可执行此类维护。

在 VMware 维护间隔期间,以下服务将继续运行,没有任何影响:

  • VMware 管理层面和应用
  • vCenter 访问权限
  • 所有网络和存储空间
  • 所有云流量

更新和升级

Google 负责私有云中的 VMware 软件(ESXi、vCenter、PSC 和 NSX)的生命周期管理。

软件更新包括:

  • 补丁程序:VMware 发布的安全补丁程序或 Bug 修复
  • 更新:VMware 堆栈组件的次要版本变更
  • 升级:VMware 堆栈组件的主要版本变更

一旦 VMware 的关键安全补丁程序可用,谷歌就会对其进行测试。根据 SLA,Google 会在一周内向私有云环境发布安全补丁程序。

Google 会按季度向 VMware 软件组件提供维护更新。对于新的主要版本的 VMware 软件版本,Google 会与客户合作协调合适的维护期以进行升级。

后续步骤

Private cloud VMware components

A private cloud is an isolated VMware stack (ESXi hosts, vCenter, vSAN, and NSX) environment managed by a vCenter Server in a management domain. Google Cloud VMware Engine deploys private clouds with the following VMware stack components:

  • VMware ESXi: hypervisor on dedicated nodes
  • VMware vCenter: centralized management of private cloud vSphere environment
  • VMware vSAN: hyper-converged, software-defined storage platform
  • VMware NSX Data Center: network virtualization and security software
  • VMware HCX: application migration and workload rebalancing across data centers and clouds

You can retrieve generated sign-in credentials for VMware stack components from the private cloud details page.

VMware component versions

A private cloud VMware stack has the following software versions:

Component Version Licensed version
ESXi 7.0 Update 2c vSphere Enterprise Plus
vCenter 7.0 Update 2d vCenter Standard
vSAN 7.0 Update 2c Advanced + select vSAN Enterprise features
NSX Data Center 3.1.2 Select features available. See the NSX Data Center section for details.
HCX 4.2.1 Enterprise
1VMware Engine deploys a version of HCX made available to Google Cloud by VMware. Update HCX after private cloud creation to retrieve the latest version of HCX for your environment.

ESXi

When you create a private cloud, VMware ESXi is installed on provisioned Google Cloud VMware Engine nodes. ESXi provides the hypervisor for deploying workload virtual machines (VMs). Nodes provide hyper-converged infrastructure (compute and storage) and are a part of the vSphere cluster on your private cloud.

Each node has four physical network interfaces connected to the underlying network. VMware Engine creates a vSphere distributed switch (VDS) on the vCenter using these physical network interfaces as uplinks. Network interfaces are configured in active mode for high availability.

vCenter Server Appliance

vCenter Server Appliance (VCSA) provides the authentication, management, and orchestration functions for VMware Engine. When you create and deploy your private cloud, VMware Engine deploys a VCSA with an embedded Platform Services Controller (PSC) on the vSphere cluster. Each private cloud has its own VCSA. Adding nodes to a private cloud adds nodes to the VCSA.

vCenter Single Sign-On

The embedded platform services controller on VCSA is associated with a vCenter Single Sign-On. The domain name is gve.local. To access vCenter, use the default user, CloudOwner@gve.local, which is created for you to access vCenter. You can add your on-premises/Active Directory identity sources for vCenter.

vSAN storage

Private clouds have fully configured all-flash vSAN storage that's local to the cluster. The all-flash storage is provided by Local SSDs provided by Google Cloud's Persistent Disk Service. At least three nodes of the same SKU are required to create a vSphere cluster with a vSAN datastore. Each node of the vSphere cluster has two disk groups. Each disk group contains one cache disk and three capacity disks.

VMware Engine enables deduplication and compression on the vSAN datastore by default. Each cluster on your private cloud contains a vSAN datastore. If the stored virtual machine data isn't suitable for vSAN space efficiency by deduplication and compression or only by compression, you can change vSAN space efficiency to the desired configuration on the individual vSAN datastore.

In addition to vSAN Advanced features, VMware Engine also provides access to vSAN Enterprise data encryption for data at rest and data in transit.

vSAN storage policies

A vSAN storage policy defines the Failures to tolerate (FTT) and the Failure tolerance method. You can create new storage policies and apply them to VMs. To maintain SLA, you must maintain 25% spare capacity on the vSAN datastore.

On each vSphere cluster, there's a default vSAN storage policy that applies to the vSAN datastore. The storage policy determines how to provision and allocate VM storage objects within the datastore to guarantee a level of service.

The following table shows the default vSAN storage policy parameters:

FTT Failure tolerance method Number of nodes in vSphere cluster
1 RAID 1 (mirroring)
Creates 2 copies
3 and 4 nodes
2 RAID 1 (mirroring)
Creates 3 copies
5 to 32 nodes

Supported vSAN storage policies

The following table shows the supported vSAN storage policies and the minimum number of nodes required to enable the policy:

FTT Failure tolerance method Minimum number of nodes required in vSphere cluster
1 RAID 1 (mirroring) 3
1 RAID 5 (erasure coding) 4
2 RAID 1 (mirroring) 5
2 RAID 6 (erasure coding) 6
3 RAID 1 (mirroring) 7

NSX Data Center

NSX Data Center provides network virtualization, micro segmentation, and network security capabilities on your private cloud. You can configure services supported by NSX Data Center on your private cloud by using NSX.

Available features

The following list describes NSX-T features supported by VMware Engine, organized by category:

  • Switching, DNS, DHCP, and IPAM (DDI):
    • Optimized ARP learning and broadcast suppression
    • Unicast replication
    • Head-end replication
    • SpoofGuard
    • IP address management
    • IP blocks
    • IP subnets
    • IP pools
    • IPv4 DHCP server
    • IPv4 DHCP relay
    • IPv4 DHCP static bindings/fixed addresses
    • IPv4 DNS relay/DNS proxy
  • Routing:
    • Null routes
    • Static routing
    • Device routing
    • BGP route controls using route maps and Prefix-lists
  • NAT:
    • NAT on North/South and East/West logical routers
    • Source NAT
    • Destination NAT
    • N:N NAT
  • Firewall:
    • Edge Firewall
    • Distributed Firewall
    • Common firewall user interface
    • Firewall sections
    • Firewall logging
    • Stateful Layer 2 and Layer 3 firewall rules
    • Tag-based rules
    • Distributed firewall-based IPFIX
  • Firewall policies, tags, and groups:
    • Object tagging/security tags
    • Network-centric grouping
    • Workload-centric grouping
    • IP-based grouping
    • MAC-based grouping
  • VPN:
    • Layer 2 VPN
    • Layer 3 VPN (IPv4)
  • Integrations:
    • Container networking and security using Tanzu Kubernetes Grid (TKG) only
    • VMware Cloud Director service
    • vRealize Automation
    • vRealize Log Insight
  • Authentication and authorization:
    • Direct Active Directory integration using LDAP
    • Authentication using OpenLDAP
    • Role-based access control (RBAC)
  • Automation:
    • REST API
    • Java SDK
    • Python SDK
    • Terraform provider
    • Ansible modules
    • OpenAPI/Swagger specifications and auto-generated API documentation for REST API
  • Inspection:
    • Port mirroring
    • Traceflow
    • Switch-based IPFIX

Feature limitations

Some NSX Data Center features have very specific networking and security use cases. Customers who created their Google Cloud account on or before August 30, 2022 can request access to features for those use cases by reaching out to Cloud Customer Care.

The following table describes those features, their corresponding use cases, and potential alternatives:

Feature Use case Recommended alternative Google Cloud customers on or before August 30, 2022 Google Cloud customers after August 30, 2022
Layer 3 multicast Multi-hop Layer 3 multicast routing Layer 2 multicast is supported within a NSX-T subnet. This allows for all multicast traffic to be delivered to workloads on the same NSX-T subnet. Supported Unsupported
Quality of Service (QoS) VoIP and latency sensitive application where network oversubscription occurs None required, as VMware Engine delivers a non-oversubscribed network architecture. Further, any QoS tags exiting a private cloud are stripped when entering the VPC through a peering connection. Supported Unsupported
Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) traps Legacy alerting protocol for notifying users of events Events and alarms can be configured within NSX-T using modern protocols. Supported Unsupported
NAT features such as stateless NAT, NAT logging, and NAT64 Used for carrier-grade NAT in large telecommunication deployments NSX-T supports source/destination NAT and N:N NAT on North/South and East/West logical routers. Supported Unsupported
Intent-based networking and security policies Used in conjunction with VMware vRealize to create business-based firewall policies within NSX-T NSX-T Gateway and Distributed Firewall features can be used to create and enforce security policies. Supported Unsupported
Identity-based groups using Active Directory VDI deployments where the user logged into a specific VDI guest can be detected and receive a custom set of NSX-T firewall rules Users can be assigned specific workstations using the dedicated-assignment pool. Use NSX-T tags to then apply specific firewall rules by pool. Supported Unsupported
Layer 7 attribute (App ID) rules Used in NSX-T firewall rules Use NSX-T Service Groups to define a set of ports and services for easy reference when creating one or more firewall rules. Supported Unsupported
Stateless Layer 2 and Layer 3 firewall rules Used for carrier-grade high speed firewalls in large telecommunication deployments NSX-T supports stateful high-performance Layer 2 and Layer 3 rules. Supported Unsupported
NSX-T service insertion Used to automate the North/South or East/West deployment of third-party network services by using NSX-T to secure and inspect traffic For third-party security vendor deployments, VMware Engine recommends a routed model over service insertion to ensure that routine service upgrades do not impact network availability. Contact Cloud Customer Care Unsupported

HCX

VMware Engine handles initial installation, configuration, and monitoring of HCX in private clouds. You are responsible for lifecycle management of HCX Cloud and service appliances like HCX-IX Interconnect.

VMware provides updates for HCX Cloud through its HCX service. You can upgrade HCX Manager and deployed HCX service appliances from the HCX Cloud interface. To find the end of support date for a product release, refer to the VMware Product Lifecycle Matrix.

vSphere cluster

To ensure high availability of the private cloud, ESXi hosts are configured as a cluster. When you create a private cloud, VMware Engine deploys management components of vSphere on the first cluster. VMware Engine creates a resource pool for management components, and deploys all management VMs in this resource pool.

The first cluster cannot be deleted to shrink the private cloud. The vSphere cluster uses vSphere HA to provide high availability for VMs. Failures to tolerate (FTT) are based on the number of available nodes in the cluster. The formula Number of nodes = 2N+1, where N is the FTT, describes the relationship between available nodes in a cluster and FTT.

For production workloads, use a private cloud that contains at least 3 nodes.

Single node private clouds

For testing and proofs of concept with VMware Engine, you can create a private cloud that contains only a single node and cluster. VMware Engine deletes private clouds that contain only 1 node after 60 days, along with any associated workload VMs and data.

You can resize a single node private cloud to contain 3 or more nodes. When you do so, VMware Engine initiates vSAN data replication and no longer attempts to delete the private cloud. A private cloud must contain at least 3 nodes and complete vSAN data replication to be eligible for coverage based on the SLA.

Features or operations that require more than 1 node won't work with a single node private cloud. For example, you won't be able to use vSphere Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS) or High Availability (HA).

vSphere cluster limits

The following table describes vSphere cluster limits in private clouds that meet SLA requirements:

Resource Limit
Minimum number of nodes to create a private cloud (first cluster) 3
Minimum number of nodes to create a cluster 3
Maximum number of nodes per cluster 32
Maximum number of nodes per private cloud 64
Maximum number of clusters per private cloud 21

Guest operating system support

You can install a VM with any guest operating system supported by VMware for the ESXi version in your private cloud. For a list of supported guest operating systems, see the VMware Compatibility Guide for Guest OS.

VMware infrastructure maintenance

Occasionally it's necessary to make changes to the configuration of the VMware infrastructure. Currently, these intervals can occur every 1‑2 months, but the frequency is expected to decline over time. This type of maintenance can usually be done without interrupting normal usage of the services.

During a VMware maintenance interval, the following services continue to function without any effect:

  • VMware management plane and applications
  • vCenter access
  • All networking and storage
  • All cloud traffic

Updates and upgrades

Google is responsible for lifecycle management of VMware software (ESXi, vCenter, PSC, and NSX) in the private cloud.

Software updates include:

  • Patches: security patches or bug fixes released by VMware
  • Updates: minor version change of a VMware stack component
  • Upgrades: major version change of a VMware stack component

Google tests a critical security patch as soon as it becomes available from VMware. Per SLA, Google rolls out the security patch to private cloud environments within a week.

Google provides quarterly maintenance updates to VMware software components. For a new major version of VMware software version, Google works with customers to coordinate a suitable maintenance window for upgrade.

What's next