使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

工作负载虚拟机备份解决方案

对于在 Google Cloud VMware Engine 上运行的业务关键型应用,保护虚拟机 (VM) 中的应用数据是关键要求。您可以继续使用与本地相同的备份工具来备份 VMware Engine 中的 VMware 虚拟机和数据。本页面介绍保护 VMware Engine 中的虚拟机和数据的备份基础架构的不同选项和注意事项。

支持的备份解决方案

Google 提供 Actifio GO,作为适用于 Google Cloud 的第一方市场备份解决方案。如果基于第三方代理的备份解决方案提供应用级备份并获得了应用供应商(例如,RMAN for Oracle)的认证,则可以与 VMware Engine 进行互操作。

可与 VMware Engine 互操作的备份解决方案必须符合 VMware vStorage API for Data Protection (VADP) 协议标准并经过 VMware for vSAN 认证。VMware Engine 已针对合规性验证了以下备份解决方案:

备份解决方案注意事项

在设计备份解决方案并在 VMware Engine 中实施部署模型之前,请考虑以下问题。

确定备份技术

您可以使用基于代理或基于 VADP 的备份方法。我们建议您在从本地环境迁移工作负载时使用基于 VADP 的方法,因为这种方法需要的更改较少。此外,它还为备份代码库的位置选择提供了灵活性。

如果将第 2 层网络从本地环境扩展到 VMware Engine,或者要在迁移过程中更改主备份代码库的位置,则需要对已迁移虚拟机的基于代理的备份方法进行额外配置。

确定要存储的数据副本数量

您必须评估总体备份要求,目标和您的企业政策。包括在特定位置存储备份的要求,如本地、非本地、恢复时间目标(RTO)和恢复点目标(RPO)。

确定备份数据的存储位置

您可以在多个位置存储备份数据(备份代码库)。每个位置都提供不同的存储费用、恢复时间目标 (RTO)、副本数和网络出站流量费用的组合。请根据备份软件的应用要求,费用和功能进行选择。

请考虑以下与存储虚拟机和数据备份相关的主要选择及其关键方面:

  • 使用永久性磁盘作为 Compute Engine 实例的后端存储系统。Compute Engine 实例将 NFS 装载导出到备份服务器。此方法的一个优势是永久性磁盘是区域性的,还可以跨区域进行复制。
  • 使用 Filestore 导出 NFS 卷以用作备份代码库。 此方法可提供较低的管理开销,因为 Filestore 实例是托管实例。此外,它还可以提供一致的性能。Filestore 实例是区域性的,并且数据不会跨区域或地区复制。
  • 使用 Cloud Storage 存储备份文件。 Cloud Storage 可跨区域和地区存储数据以实现更高冗余。数据可以根据用户定义的触发器在存储层级之间存储和移动。Cloud Storage 将常用数据保存在更快的存储层级和将较旧的数据保存在低费用存储层级中来优化费用。请参阅有关 Cloud Storage 集成的备份解决方案供应商文档。
  • 使用适用于 Google Cloud 的 NetApp Cloud Volumes 服务导出 NFS 和 SMB 卷以用作备份代码库。 这项全托管式服务消除了网络附加存储 (NAS)(例如 Filestore)的运营开销。Cloud Volumes Service 卷是地区性的,数据不会跨区域或地区复制。如需了解详情,请参阅目前提供 Cloud Volumes 服务的地区

您还可以将备份存储在相同私有云的不同集群、不同 VMware Engine 私有云或本地存储空间中。

在同一私有云上使用不同的集群或在 VMware Engine 使用不同私有云,从而提供最低的 RTO,但可能会产生高存储费用。与使用不同集群相比,Cloud Storage 以更低的价格提供更高的 RTO。具有永久性磁盘和 Filestore 的 Compute Engine 提供的 RTO 和成本介于两个选项之间。

Cloud Volumes Service 的性能层级是动态的,并且在恢复期间可以将卷升级到更高的层级以满足 RTO,然后更改为较低层级以优化费用。本地存储会产生网络出站流量,但保留现有备份存储。

IAM 和 vSphere 权限

备份管理员和用户必须具有执行以下操作所需的权限:

  • 在项目和 VPC 网络中部署 Compute Engine 实例
  • 将 VPC 网络连接到 VMware Engine
  • 在 VPC 网络中配置防火墙规则

如需详细了解 Google Cloud 角色和权限,请参阅 IAM

拥有默认 Cloud-Owner-Role 角色的 vSphere 用户拥有在 VMware Engine 中部署备份解决方案组件(虚拟机和设备)所需的权限。如果备份软件组件需要默认 Cloud-Owner-Role 角色无法提供的额外 vCenter 权限,请使用解决方案用户帐号

Backup private cloud workload virtual machines

Protecting application data in virtual machines (VMs) is a key requirement for business critical applications running on Google Cloud VMware Engine. You can continue to use the same backup tools that you use on premises to back up your VMware VM and data in VMware Engine. This page explains how to use backup infrastructure to protect VMs and data in VMware Engine.

Supported backup solutions

Third-party backup solutions that can interoperate with VMware Engine must comply with the VMware vStorage API for Data Protection (VADP) protocol standard and be certified by VMware for vSAN.

Third-party agent-based backup solutions can interoperate with VMware Engine if they provide application-level backups and are certified by application vendors (for example, RMAN for Oracle).

Backup solution considerations

Consider the following questions before you design your backup solution and implement a deployment model in VMware Engine.

Deciding on a backup technology

You can use either an agent-based or a VADP-based backup approach. We recommend using a VADP-based approach when migrating workloads from on-premises environments because it requires fewer changes. It also provides flexibility in the choice of location for backup repositories.

An agent-based backup approach for migrated VMs requires additional configuration if a Layer-2 network is stretched from an on-premises environment to VMware Engine or if you want to change the location of the primary backup repository during migration.

Determining the number of data copies to store

You must assess the overall backup requirements, objectives, and your enterprise policies. Include the requirements for storing backups in specific locations like on premises, off premises, your recovery time objective (RTO), and recovery point objective (RPO).

Determining where to store backup data

There are several places where you can store backup data (backup repository). Each location offers a different combination of storage cost, recovery time objective (RTO), number of copies, and network egress charges. Base your choice on the application requirements, costs, and capabilities of your backup software.

Consider the following main choices and their key aspects relevant for storing backups of VMs and data:

  • Use persistent disks as backend storage of a Compute Engine instance. The Compute Engine instance exports an NFS mount to the backup server. A benefit of this approach is that the persistent disks are regional and can also be replicated across regions.
  • Use Filestore to export NFS volumes for use as backup repositories. This approach provides lower management overhead because Filestore instances are managed instances. It also delivers a consistent performance. Filestore instances are zonal, and data is not replicated across zones or regions.
  • Use Cloud Storage to store backup files. Cloud Storage stores data across zones and regions for higher redundancy. Data is stored and moved between storage tiers based on user-defined triggers. Cloud Storage helps to optimize costs by keeping frequently used data in faster storage tiers and older data in lower-cost storage tiers. Refer to your backup solution vendor documentation for Cloud Storage integration.
  • Use NetApp Cloud Volumes Service for Google Cloud to export NFS and SMB volumes for use as backup repositories. This fully managed service eliminates operational overhead of network-attached storage (NAS), like Filestore. Cloud Volumes Service volumes are regional, and data is not replicated across zones or regions. For more information, see Regions where Cloud Volumes Service is currently available.

You can also store backups in a different cluster of the same private cloud, in a different VMware Engine private cloud, or in on-premises storage.

Using a different cluster on the same private cloud or a different private cloud in VMware Engine provides the lowest RTO, but it can potentially have high storage costs. Cloud Storage offers higher RTO at a lower price than using different clusters. Compute Engine with persistent disk and Filestore provides an RTO and costs that are between the two options.

The performance tiers of Cloud Volumes Service are dynamic and a volume can be upgraded to a higher tier during recovery to meet your RTO and then changed to a lower tier to optimize costs. On-premises storage incurs network egress charges, but it preserves existing backup storage.

IAM and vSphere permissions

Backup administrators and users must have the required permissions to do the following:

  • Deploy Compute Engine instances in a project and Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)
  • Connect the VPC to VMware Engine
  • Configure firewall rules on the VPC

For more information about Google Cloud roles and permissions, see IAM.

vSphere users with the default Cloud-Owner-Role role have the required privileges to deploy backup solution components (virtual machines and appliances) in VMware Engine. If a backup software component requires additional vCenter privileges that are not available to the default Cloud-Owner-Role role, you can elevate your privilege from the VMware Engine console and create service accounts in vCenter with the required permissions. Such service accounts can later be used by backup software components when communicating with vCenter.

What's next