使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

VMware Engine 延伸私有云

Google Cloud VMware Engine 延伸私有云是跨两个数据可用区和一个见证可用区延伸的私有云,所有可用区均位于同一 Google Cloud 区域。延伸私有云使用 vSphere 和 vSAN 延伸集群来提供计算和存储高可用性,以应对可用区级故障。延伸私有云的所有集群都被视为 VMware Engine 延伸集群,包括主集群。

延伸私有云运行

延伸私有云的所有集群都跨相同的两个数据可用区延伸,并共享同一个见证可用区。每个延伸集群在每个数据可用区中都有自己的一组数据节点,并且每个延伸集群在见证可用区中都有一个见证节点。给定 Google Cloud 区域内的任意两个可用区之间的测地线距离均超过 10 公里,但两者之间的 RTT 延迟时间不超过 5 毫秒。

见证节点由 VMware Engine 管理,并在以嵌套模式运行 ESXi 的 Compute Engine 实例上运行。您无需指定见证可用区,也不必管理见证节点的生命周期。

延伸集群使用的三个可用区都是独立的故障域。此设置的主要优势在于,当任何单个可用区发生完全故障时,跨三个可用区延伸的集群仍然可以继续运行。

延伸私有云节点配置

延伸集群在数据可用区中具有相同数量的节点。例如,每个数据站点中有三个节点(表示为 3+3),或每个数据站点中有四个节点(表示为 4+4)。因此,Google Cloud VMware Engine 延伸私有云中不允许诸如 4+3 的配置。Google Cloud VMware Engine 中的延伸集群必须最少有 6 个数据节点 (3+3),最多有 28 (14+14) 个数据节点。

延伸私有云环境

您可以通过 VMware Engine 门户管理延伸私有云。延伸私有云中的所有延伸集群在每个可用区中有一半的容量。例如,延伸私有云中的一个 8 节点延伸集群必须在每个可用区中有四 (4) 个节点。您只能在延伸集群的每个可用区中添加和移除相同数量的节点。例如,您可以向延伸集群中的每个可用区添加两个节点,或从每个可用区移除三个节点。

延伸私有云可以有多个延伸集群,但每个集群都必须正好有两个 Google Cloud 可用区用于数据节点以及一个可用区用于见证节点。

延伸私有云中的 vSAN 数据加密

延伸私有云的所有延伸集群中的 vSAN 数据静态加密默认处于启用状态。默认情况下,使用 Google 密钥提供方进行 vSAN 加密。此密钥提供方使用 Google Cloud KMS 服务,并部署在跨两个可用区的高可用性配置中。您也可以使用任何外部第三方 KMS 服务器(部署为跨两个可用区的高可用性对)并自行管理。

延伸私有云中的存储政策

延伸私有云的管理虚拟机在第一个延伸集群上运行(例如,“集群 0”)。管理虚拟机固定在延伸集群的首选站点上,并使用以下存储政策进行配置:

  • PFTT=1
  • SFTT=1(对于六节点延伸集群“集群 0”)
  • SFTT=2(对于大于或等于 10 个节点的延伸集群“集群 0”)

工作负载虚拟机的延伸集群中的默认存储政策也遵循先前的政策。

您可以为工作负载虚拟机创建新的存储政策,并且延伸私有云中的每个延伸集群都可以使用不同的存储政策。

后续步骤

VMware Engine stretched private clouds

A Google Cloud VMware Engine stretched private cloud is a private cloud that is stretched across two data zones and a witness zone, all within the same Google Cloud region. Stretched private clouds use vSphere and vSAN stretched clusters to provide compute and storage high availability against zone-level failures. All clusters of a stretched private cloud are considered VMware Engine stretched clusters, including the primary cluster.

Stretched private cloud operation

All of the clusters of a stretched private cloud are stretched across the same two data zones and share the same witness zone. Each stretched cluster has its own set of data nodes in each data zone, and each stretched cluster has a witness node in the witness zone. Stretched qualifies as any two zones in a given Google Cloud region that are more than 10Km geodesic distance apart but have less than 5 msec RTT latency between them.

The witness node is managed by VMware Engine and runs on a Compute Engine instance running ESXi in nested mode. You don't need to specify a witness zone and don't have to manage the lifecycle of the witness node.

Each of the three zones used by a stretched cluster are independent failure domains. The main benefit of this setup is that a cluster stretched across the three zones can survive a complete failure of any single zone.

Stretched private cloud node configuration

Stretched clusters have an equal number of nodes in data zones. For example, three nodes in each data site - denoted as 3+3, or four nodes in each data site, denoted as 4+4. Configurations such as 4+3, therefore, are not allowed in Google Cloud VMware Engine stretched private clouds. A stretched cluster in Google Cloud VMware Engine must have a minimum of six data nodes (3+3) and a maximum of 28 (14+14) data nodes.

Stretched private cloud environment

You manage your stretched private clouds through the Google Cloud console. All stretched clusters in a stretched Private Cloud have half of their capacity in each zone - for example, an 8 node stretched cluster in a stretched private cloud must have four (4) nodes in each zone. Only an identical number of nodes from each zone can be added and removed from the stretched clusters. For example, you can add two nodes to each zone or remove three nodes from each zone in a stretched cluster.

A stretched private cloud can have multiple stretched clusters, but each must have exactly two Google Cloud zones for data nodes and one zone for the witness node.

vSAN data encryption in stretched private clouds

vSAN data encryption at rest is enabled by default in all stretched clusters of a stretched private cloud. By default, a Google key provider is used for vSAN encryption. This key provider uses Cloud Key Management Service and is deployed in a highly available configuration across two zones. You can also use any external 3P Cloud KMS server (deployed as an HA pair across the two zones) and manage it yourself.

Storage policies in stretched private clouds

The management VMs of a stretched private cloud run on the first stretched cluster (for example, 'cluster 0'). The management VMs are affixed to the primary site of the stretched cluster using affinity rules and are configured with the following storage policy:

  • Site Disaster tolerance=1 (protect against one site failure)
  • FTT=1 (for a six-node stretched ('cluster 0'))
  • FTT=2 (for a node stretched greater than or equal to 10 ('cluster 0'))

The default storage policy in a stretched cluster for workload VMs also follows the previous policy.

You can create new storage policies for workload VMs, and each stretched cluster in a stretched private cloud can use different storage policies.

What's next