Access the VMware Engine portal

Before you begin

  1. Sign in to your Google Account.

    If you don't already have one, sign up for a new account.

  2. In the Cloud Console, on the project selector page, select or create a Cloud project.

    Go to the project selector page

  3. Make sure that billing is enabled for your Google Cloud project. Learn how to confirm billing is enabled for your project.

  4. Enable the VMware Engine API.

    Enable the API

  5. Review the VMware Engine prerequisites.

Access the VMware Engine portal

You can log in to the VMware Engine portal with single sign-on by using your Google Cloud credentials. To do so, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Google Cloud Console, click the navigation menu .

    Go to the Cloud Console

  2. Under Compute, click VMware Engine to open VMware Engine in a new browser tab.

Grant or revoke access to VMware Engine

Access to the VMware Engine portal is by role, which is applied at the project level. A role cannot be applied to an individual private cloud if a project contains multiple private clouds.

Granting access

To add a team member to a project and grant them a VMware Engine role:

  1. In the Google Cloud Console, go to the IAM page.

    Go to the IAM page

  2. Click Select a project, choose a project, and click Open.

  3. Click Add.

  4. Enter an email address. You can add individuals, service accounts, or Groups as members.

  5. Select a VMware Engine Service Viewer or VMware Engine Service Admin role based on the type of access that the user or group needs. Roles give members the appropriate level of permission.

    For best-available security, we strongly recommend giving each user or group the least amount of privilege needed. Members with the Owner role can manage all aspects of the VMware Engine resources.

  6. Click Save.

Revoking access

To revoke VMware Engine access from a user or group:

  1. In the Google Cloud Console, go to the IAM page.

    Go to the IAM page

  2. Click Select a project, choose a project, and click Open.

  3. Locate the user or group from which you want to revoke access and click Edit.

  4. For each role you want to revoke, click Delete, and then click Save.

What's next