使用 Cloud Pub/Sub 执行长时间运行的任务

此解决方案介绍如何将 Google Cloud Pub/Sub 用作队列系统来处理可能长时间运行的任务。此解决方案使用音频文件自动转录作为示例。

虽然音频可作为各种媒体类型的重要补充,但有时将语音转录为文本也很有用。使用场景包括观看有字幕的视频以及分析呼叫中心通话内容等。在需要每隔几秒上传长达数小时的视频,或每天创建数小时的支持团队通话内容的情况下,与手动转录相比,自动批处理可以节省数小时的时间。

在此解决方案中,您将了解媒体处理基础架构如何实现,在这个过程中,音频文件会上传到云端以存储,例如在录制通话内容后。然后,这些文件会被转录,其结果将保存到数据库中以供进一步分析。此处介绍的架构也适用于较大的图片或视频,它们可能需要数小时来完成处理。

架构和工作流

下图展示了架构和工作流:

文件上传和处理概览。以下文字中描述了步骤。

在此图中,用户上传内容后,系统作出的反应如下:

  1. 监视器应用选取已上传的新媒体。
  2. 链接到监视器的 webhook 会将含有媒体详细信息的消息添加到队列中。
  3. 订阅队列的工作器之一拉取该消息。
  4. 同一个工作器从存储空间中获取合适的媒体并对其进行处理。
  5. 完成后,工作器将结果保存到输出存储空间位置。
  6. 然后,工作器确认该消息,以便将其从队列中删除。

要求和基础架构

该架构需要多个组成部分。

存储空间

媒体需要被妥善存储,以便用户轻松访问、处理和交付。存储空间应具备高可用性、低延迟、能够处理 TB 级(最好是 PB 级)的数据,并且支持全局访问。

Google Cloud Storage 提供三种对象存储解决方案,其具备相同的可用性和耐用性:

  • 标准。用于处理和存储数据。可以在几毫秒内访问数据。它还利用免费的内容分发网络 (CDN),使用 Google 的边缘网络实现公开内容分发。
  • NearlineNearline 存储空间提供低费用、高度耐用的备份方案。可以在几毫秒内访问数据的第一个字节,从而提供快速恢复选项。
  • ColdlineColdline 存储空间费用极低,最适合存储您计划每年最多访问一次的数据。Coldline 对于长期数据归档、在线备份和灾难恢复非常有用。Coldline 还提供快速数据检索。

此解决方案使用标准存储空间保存要处理的文件。

通知

文件可以随时到达对象存储空间。为了快速响应,系统需要一个监视存储空间位置的组件,并在添加新媒体文件时自动创建事件。您可以配置 Cloud Pub/Sub Notifications for Cloud Storage 功能以监视存储分区,并在存储分区内的内容发生更改时向 Cloud Pub/Sub 发送事件。

消息队列

如果要处理的传入媒体文件很多,系统将需要多个工作器快速处理媒体。等待处理的文件越多,需要的工作器就越多。为了降低费用并保持在预配限额之内,您可以使用处理队列以将并发运行所需的工作器数量减到最少。

Google Cloud Pub/Sub 是一个高可用性的消息传递和队列系统。它可以通过 HTTP API 访问并提供通信配置,如一对多(扇出)、多对一(扇入)和多对多。Cloud Pub/Sub 支持推送和拉取订阅模式。

此解决方案使用 Cloud Pub/Sub 创建一个容错且高效的队列,该队列具有以下特点:

  • 为每个新文件发布消息的单个发布者,消息中包含描述文件及其位置的元数据。

  • 包含所有发布消息的单个队列。

  • 从队列中拉取消息的一组工作器。使用推送订阅模式可确保工作器有足够的时间在处理完一个媒体文件后再处理下一个文件。

  • 如果工作器从队列中拉取消息但未确认其已完成处理该媒体文件,则队列系统会假定工作器已失败并将该消息返回到队列。

  • 工作器仅在完成处理媒体后才会确认消息。确认会使 Cloud Pub/Sub 从队列中删除该消息。

  • 对于需要很长时间完成的处理,您可以定期刷新确认截止时间,这样一来,如果原始工作器仍在处理消息,Cloud Pub/Sub 不会将该消息返回队列中。

  • 每条消息都有生命周期。如果消息在到期之前尚未处理,则其将从队列中删除。这可以防止队列变得太大。

下图说明了此解决方案如何使用 Cloud Pub/Sub 处理消息。

处理消息。以下文字中描述了步骤。

在上图中,您可以看到在工作器拉取消息后,消息仍保留在队列中。它被标记为已认领,且无法由其他工作器处理。只有在指定的确认截止时间到来之前,订阅未收到认领该消息的工作器的确认时,它才会再次可由其他工作器处理。

计算

处理与消息队列关联的文件有以下几个步骤:

  1. 读取队列。
  2. 读取音频文件。
  3. 转录音频。
  4. 保存结果。

扩缩

为了及时执行所有步骤,系统需要一组可扩缩以满足传入需求的工作器。扩缩可以手动或自动处理。如果传入文件的数量和大小比较稳定,并且您知道需要多少工作器来处理这些处理负载,则手动扩缩比较合适。自动扩缩适用于传入文件数量突然变化的情况。

基于前述要求,系统需要具备转换媒体文件的计算能力,以及自动横向扩缩以按需提供额外工作器的能力。

Compute Engine 实例基于模板创建。

借助 Google Compute Engine,您可以创建虚拟机实例以执行计算任务。

托管实例组支持手动扩缩和自动扩缩。实例组管理员可以使用机器映像或容器实例模板创建相同的机器组。

通过手动扩缩,实例组管理员可按需创建新实例,并终止无响应的实例,从而确保始终启动并运行指定数量的虚拟机实例。

使用自动扩缩时,实例组管理员会根据您选择的指标创建或终止实例,例如平均 CPU、HTTP 负载平衡器上的负载、实例自定义指标或 Cloud Pub/Sub 队列大小。

托管实例组可以基于 Cloud Pub/Sub 和 instance/cpu/utilization 的组合使用自动扩缩。这样,工作器的数量可以根据队列大小增加或减少,并且当虚拟机仍在处理媒体文件时不会终止实例。

音频处理

配置计算平台后,下一个考虑因素是如何解析媒体文件。在某些情况下,某些作业必须自定义,并且需要大量计算能力。此解决方案专注于队列架构而非媒体处理,其使用 Cloud Speech API 同步处理某些音频文件。

让工作器保持运行可能需要足够的时间,因此队列可以在变大的同时保持解决方案的简单性。

数据存储

处理完媒体后,可以保存音频文件的结果以供进一步分析。BigQuery 提供了一个简单的 SQL 界面,同时提供了其他 Google 工具可以利用的存储空间,因而非常有用。

Google Cloud Platform 基础架构

下图说明了如何使用 Google Cloud Platform 构建媒体处理解决方案。

媒体处理解决方案架构。

后续步骤

  • 根据您自己的情况试用其他 Google Cloud Platform 功能。查阅我们的教程
此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Solutions

Using Cloud Pub/Sub for Long-running Tasks

This solution explains how to use Google Cloud Pub/Sub as a queuing system for processing potentially long-running tasks. The solution uses automatic transcription of audio files as an example.

While audio is a great addition to various types of media, sometimes it's useful to transcribe spoken words to text. Use cases include video accessibility through subtitles or analysis of call-center calls. When hours of videos are uploaded every second, or hours of helpdesk calls are created every day, automatic batch processing can save many hours when compared to manual transcription.

In this solution, you learn about an implementation of a media processing infrastructure where audio files are uploaded to storage in the cloud, for example after a phone call has been recorded. There, they are transcribed and the results saved into a database for further analysis. The architecture described here also works well with larger images or videos, which can require hours of processing.

Architecture and workflow

The following diagram shows the architecture and workflow:

Overview of file upload and processing. Steps are described in following text.

In this diagram, after a user uploads content, the system reacts as follows:

  1. A watcher app picks up the new media that has been uploaded.
  2. A webhook linked to the watcher adds a message with the media details to the queue.
  3. One of the workers subscribed to the queue pulls the message.
  4. The same worker gets the appropriate media from storage and processes it.
  5. After it's finished, the worker saves the result to the output storage location.
  6. The worker then acknowledges the message so it gets removed from the queue.

Requirements and infrastructure

This architecture requires several components.

Storage

Media needs to be stored so it can be easily accessed, processed, and delivered. The storage should be highly available with low latency, able to handle terabytes—if not petabytes—of data, and globally accessible.

Google Cloud Storage offers three object-storage solutions with the same availability and durability:

  • Standard. Useful for processing and storing data. Data is accessible in milliseconds. It also leverages a no-cost content-delivery network (CDN) for public content delivery using Google's edge network.
  • Nearline. Nearline storage offers a low-cost, durable backup option. The first byte of data can be accessed in a few milliseconds, offering quick recovery options.
  • Coldline. Coldline storage is a good choice for very-low-cost storage of data that you plan to access once a year, at most. Coldline is useful for long-term data archiving, online backup, and disaster recovery. Coldline also offers fast data retrieval.

In this solution, standard storage is used to save the files to be processed.

Notifications

Files can arrive in the object store at any time. In order to respond quickly, the system needs a component that watches the storage location and automatically creates an event when a new media file is added. You can implement a watcher using Cloud Storage object change notification in combination with Google App Engine. This architecture optimizes the notification component by running it within a serverless system that requires minimal management, has low latency, and automatically scales to meet demand.

Object change notification can be configured to watch a bucket and fire an event when the content inside the bucket changes. You can attach a webhook to that event in order to perform a task.

Using Google App Engine to deploy the webhook requires minimum IT operations and provides a platform that automatically scales, both of which let the developer focus on their code. In this solution, the webhook calls the Publisher module, which then writes a new message to Cloud Pub/Sub.

Message queue

If there are many incoming media files to process, the system will require multiple workers to process the media quickly. The more files waiting for processing, the more workers are required. To reduce costs and stay under provisioning limits, you can use a processing queue to minimize the number of workers you need to run concurrently.

Google Cloud Pub/Sub is a highly available messaging and queuing system. It can be accessed through an HTTP API and offers communication configurations such as one-to-many (fan-out), many-to-one (fan-in), and many-to-many. Cloud Pub/Sub supports both push and pull subscription models.

This solution uses Cloud Pub/Sub to create a fault-tolerant and efficient queue that has the following features:

  • A single publisher that publishes a message for each new file, which contains metadata describing the file and its location.

  • A single queue that contains all of the publish messages.

  • A set of workers that pull messages from the queue. Using a pull subscription model ensures that workers have time to finish processing a media file before getting the next one to process.

  • If a worker pulls a message from the queue but does not acknowledge that it has finished that media file, the queuing system assumes the worker has failed and returns the message to the queue.

  • A worker acknowledges a message only after it finishes processing the media. The acknowledgement causes Cloud Pub/Sub to remove the message from the queue.

  • For processing that takes a long time, you can refresh the acknowledge deadline periodically so Cloud Pub/Sub does not put the message back into the queue while the original worker is still processing it.

  • Each message has a lifetime. If a message has not been processed before it expires, it is deleted from the queue. This prevents the queue from growing too large.

The following diagram illustrates how this solution uses Cloud Pub/Sub to process messages.

Processing messages. Steps are described in following text.

In the preceding diagram, you can see that after a message is pulled by a worker, the message remains in the queue. It is marked as claimed and is unavailable to other workers. It will only become available again if the subscription does not receive acknowledgement from the worker who claimed the message before the specified acknowledge deadline is over.

Computation

Processing the files associated with the message queue has several steps:

  1. Read the queue.
  2. Read the audio file.
  3. Transcribe the audio.
  4. Save the result.

Scaling

In order to perform all of these steps in a timely fashion, the system needs a set of workers that can scale to meet the incoming demand. Scaling can be handled either manually or automatically. Manual scaling is appropriate if the number and size of incoming files is fairly constant and you know how many workers are needed to handle the processing load. Automatic scaling can handle sudden changes in the number of incoming files.

Based on the preceding requirements, the system requires computing power to crop the images, as well as the ability to automatically scale horizontally to provide additional workers as needed.

Compute Engine instances are created based on a template.

Google Compute Engine allows you to create virtual machine instances to perform computational tasks.

Managed instance groups work with both manual scaling and autoscaling. The instance group manager can create groups of identical machines using either a machine image or container instance template.

With manual scaling, the instance group manager ensures there is always the specified number of virtual machine instances up and running, by creating new instances as needed, and terminating non-responsive instances.

When you use autoscaling, the instance group manager creates or terminates instances based on metrics you select, such as average CPU, load on the HTTP load balancer, instance custom metrics, or Cloud Pub/Sub queue size.

The accompanying tutorial uses Compute Engine instances in a managed instance group. The group uses autoscaling based on a combination of Cloud Pub/Sub and average CPU utilization. That way, the number of workers can scale up and down based on the queue size, and will not terminate an instance while the VM is still processing a media file. See Scaling Based on a Queue- based Workload page for more details.

Audio processing

With the computational platform configured, the next consideration is how to parse the media file. In some cases, some of the job will have to be customized and requires a lot of computing power. This solution, which focuses on the queueing architecture and not on the media processing, uses the Cloud Speech API to process some audio files synchronously.

This will take enough time to keep a worker busy so the queue can grow but keep our tutorial simple enough to implement.

Data storage

After the media has been processed, in this case an audio file, the results can be saved for further analysis. BigQuery can be quite useful because it offers a simple SQL interface, but also provides storage that can be leveraged by other Google tools.

Google Cloud Platform infrastructure

The following diagram illustrates how to build a media-processing solution using Google Cloud Platform.

Media processing solution architecture.

Tutorial

To walk through a sample media processing solution that uses this architecture, see Processing Media Using Cloud Pub/Sub and Google Compute Engine.

What's next

  • Try out other Google Cloud Platform features for yourself. Have a look at our tutorials.

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...