选择身份验证方法

Cloud Endpoints 支持多种身份验证方法,这些方法适用于不同的应用和使用场景。Extensible Service Proxy (ESP) 会先使用您在服务配置中指定的身份验证方法来验证传入请求,然后再将这些请求传递给 API 后端。本文档简要介绍了每种受支持的身份验证方法,并提供了相应的使用场景示例。

API 密钥

API 密钥是一个简单的加密字符串,用于标识 Google Cloud 项目,以实现配额、结算和监控的目的。开发者在 Cloud Console 的项目中生成 API 密钥,并将该密钥作为查询参数嵌入到对 API 的每个调用中。

如果在服务配置中指定 API 密钥要求,ESP 将使用 API 密钥来查找与该 API 密钥关联的 Google Cloud 项目。除非 API 密钥是在您的 Google Cloud 项目或已启用 API 的其他 Google Cloud 项目中生成,否则 ESP 将拒绝请求。如需了解详情,请参阅使用 API 密钥限制 API 访问权限

与使用短期令牌或签名请求的凭据不同,API 密钥属于请求的一部分,因而被认为容易遭受中间人攻击、安全性较低。除了 API 密钥外,您还可以使用下文所述的任一种身份验证方法。出于安全原因,如果 API 调用包含用户数据,请不要单独使用 API 密钥。

使用场景

如果您想要使用 Endpoints 的配额等功能,则每个请求都必须传入 API 密钥,以便 Endpoints 能够识别与客户端应用关联的 Google Cloud 项目。

如需详细了解 API 密钥,请参阅为何及何时使用 API 密钥

Firebase 身份验证

Firebase 身份验证提供了用于向移动应用或 Web 应用验证用户身份的后端服务、SDK 和库。此功能使用各种凭据(如 Google、Facebook、Twitter 或 GitHub)对用户进行身份验证。

用户成功登录后,Firebase 客户端库会使用私钥对 JSON Web 令牌 (JWT) 进行签名。ESP 会验证 JWT 是否已由 Firebase 签名,并且 JWT 中的 iss (issuer) 声明(用于标识您的 Firebase 应用)是否与服务配置中的 x-google-issuer 设置相匹配。

使用场景

如果 API 调用涉及任何用户数据,并且该 API 将要用在为用户提供界面的流程中(例如,移动应用和 Web 应用中的流程),则我们建议使用 Firebase。 如需了解详情,请参阅使用 Firebase 对用户进行身份验证

Auth0

无论身份提供商、平台、堆栈和设备如何,Auth0 都会对应用和 API 进行身份验证和授权。

Auth0 支持大量提供商服务,以及安全断言标记语言规范。该方法提供了用于在网页应用和移动应用中对用户进行身份验证的后端服务、SDK 和界面库。Auth0 可与多个第三方身份提供商集成,还可提供自定义用户帐号管理功能。

用户登录后,由 Auth0 提供的客户端库会生成 JWT 并进行签名。ESP 会验证 JWT 是否已由 Auth0 签名,并且 JWT 中的 iss 声明(用于标识您的 Auth0 应用)是否与服务配置中的 x-google-issuer 设置相匹配。

使用场景

Auth0 适合面向消费者和企业的 Web 应用及移动应用。如需了解详情,请参阅“Auth0”标签页 如需了解详情,请参阅使用 Auth0 对用户进行身份验证

Google ID 令牌身份验证

使用 Google ID 令牌进行身份验证时,用户可以通过使用 Google 帐号登录来执行身份验证。通过身份验证后,用户可以访问所有 Google 服务。您可以使用 Google ID 令牌调用 Google API 和 Endpoints 管理的 API。ESP 会使用公钥验证 Google ID 令牌,并确保 JWT 中的 iss 声明为 https://accounts.google.com

使用场景

如果所有用户都有 Google 帐号,建议使用 Google ID 令牌进行身份验证。例如,如果您的 API 随 Google 应用(如 Google 云端硬盘配套应用)一起提供,您可以选择使用 Google ID 令牌身份验证。 采用 Google ID 令牌身份验证时,用户可以使用 Google 帐号登录以执行身份验证。通过身份验证后,用户可以访问所有 Google 服务。 如需了解详情,请参阅使用 Google ID 令牌对用户进行身份验证

服务帐号

要识别向您的 API 发送请求的服务,请使用服务帐号。调用服务会使用服务帐号的私钥来签署安全的 JSON Web 令牌 (JWT),并将已签名的 JWT 随请求发送到您的 API。

使用场景

JWT 和服务帐号非常适合微服务。如需了解详情,请参阅服务之间的身份验证

自定义身份验证

您可以使用其他身份验证平台来对用户进行身份验证,只要该平台符合 JSON Web 令牌 RFC 7519 即可。

如需了解详情,请参阅使用自定义方法对用户进行身份验证

Choosing an Authentication Method

Cloud Endpoints supports multiple authentication methods that are suited to different applications and use cases. The Extensible Service Proxy (ESP) uses the authentication method that you specify in your service configuration to validate incoming requests before passing them to your API backend. This document provides an overview and sample use cases for each supported authentication method.

API keys

An API key is a simple encrypted string that identifies a Google Cloud Platform (GCP) project for quota, billing, and monitoring purposes. A developer generates an API key in a project in the GCP Console and embeds that key in every call to your API as a query parameter.

If you specify an API key requirement in your service configuration, ESP uses the API key to look up the GCP project that the API key is associated with. ESP rejects requests unless the API key was generated in your GCP project or within other GCP projects in which your API has been enabled. For more information, see Restricting API access with API keys

Unlike credentials that use short-live tokens or signed requests, API keys are a part of the request and are therefore considered to be vulnerable to man-in-the-middle attacks and therefore less secure. You can use API keys in addition to one of the authentication methods described below. For security reasons, don't use API keys by themselves when API calls contain user data.

Use case

If you want to use Endpoints features such as quotas, each request must pass in an API key so that Endpoints can identify the GCP project that the client application is associated with.

For more information about API keys, see Why and when to use API keys.

Firebase authentication

Firebase authentication provides backend services, SDKs, and libraries to authenticate users to a mobile or web app. It authenticates users by using a variety of credentials such as Google, Facebook, Twitter, or GitHub.

The Firebase client library signs a JSON Web Token (JWT) with a private key after the user successfully signs in. ESP validates that the JWT was signed by Firebase and that the iss (issuer) claim in the JWT, which identifies your Firebase application, matches the x-google-issuer setting in the service configuration.

Use case

We recommend using Firebase when the API calls involve any user data and the API is intended to be used in flows where the user has an user interface for example, from mobile and web apps. For more information, see Using Firebase to authenticate users.

Auth0

Auth0 authenticates and authorizes applications and APIs regardless of identity provider, platform, stack and device.

Auth0 supports a large number of providers and the Security Assertion Markup Language specification. It provides backend services, SDKs, and user interface libraries for authenticating users in web and mobile apps. Auth0 integrates with several third-party identity providers and also provides custom user account management.

The client library provided by Auth0 generates and signs a JWT once the user signs in. ESP validates the JWT was signed by Auth0 and that the iss claim in the JWT, which identifies your Auth0 application, matches the x-google-issuer setting in the service configuration.

Use case

Auth0 is suited for consumer and enterprise web and mobile apps. For more information, see the Auth0 tab in For more information, see Using Auth0 to authenticate users.

Google ID token authentication

Authentication with a Google ID token allows users to authenticate by signing in with a Google account. Once authenticated, the user has access to all Google services. You can use Google ID tokens to make calls to Google APIs and to APIs managed by Endpoints. ESP validates the Google ID token by using the public key and ensures that the iss claim in the JWT is https://accounts.google.com.

Use case

Authentication with a Google ID token is recommended when all users have Google accounts. You might choose to use Google ID token authentication, for example, if your API accompanies a Google application, such as Google Drive companion. Google ID token authentication allows users to authenticate by signing in with a Google account. Once authenticated, the user has access to all Google services. For more information see Using Google ID tokens to authenticate users.

Service accounts

To identify a service that sends requests to your API, you use a service account. The calling service uses the service account's private key to sign a secure JSON Web Token (JWT) and sends the signed JWT in the request to your API.

Use case

JWTs and service accounts are well suited for microservices. For more information, see Authentication between services.

Custom authentication

You can use other authentication platforms to authenticate users as long as it conforms to the JSON Web Token RFC 7519.

For more information, see Using a custom method to authenticate users.
Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Endpoints with OpenAPI
Need help? Visit our support page.