配额简介

Cloud Endpoints 提供了配额功能,这有助于您控制应用调用 API 的速率。您可以通过设置配额指定用量限制,以免 API 收到调用应用的过多请求。请求过多可能是由于简单的拼写错误所致,也可能是由于低效系统对您的 API 进行不必要的调用所致。无论是何种原因,您都应在来自特定来源的流量达到某一级别时阻止该流量,这是保证 API 总体运行良好所必需的。通过设置配额,您可以确保一个应用不会对使用您的 API 的其他应用产生负面影响。

本页简要介绍配额提供的关键功能。

将请求与使用方项目相关联

在您配置配额后,Endpoints 会跟踪每个使用方 Google Cloud 项目的每分钟请求数。调用您的 API 的每个应用都必须满足以下条件:

  • 拥有 Google Cloud 项目。
  • 已在其 Google Cloud 项目中启用您的 API
  • API 密钥随每个请求一起发送给您的 API。如此,Endpoints 便可识别与调用应用关联的 Google Cloud 项目,并递增该 Google Cloud 项目的请求计数器。

您可以让 API 使用方在 Google Cloud Console 中创建自己的项目,也可以为他们创建项目。由于 Endpoints 会对每个项目强制执行配额限制,因此每个 API 使用方必须各有一个项目。

限制每分钟的请求数

通过设置配额,您可以限制每分钟对整个 API 或仅对特定方法的请求数。如果使用方项目中的客户端代码超出了您配置的限制,则请求将被拒绝且无法到达您的 API,同时系统会返回 HTTP 状态代码 429 too many requests。调用应用将需要处理 429 状态代码,并使用指数退避算法或其他一些重试逻辑降低对 API 的调用速率。

配置一个或多个配额

您可以配置一个或多个命名配额,并为每个配额指定不同的速率限制。例如,您的 API 中可能有一些资源密集型方法(例如,运行复杂查询并返回大量结果的方法),以及其他快速轻量级方法。您可能需要配置两个具有不同速率限制的配额,并将资源密集型方法与一个配额相关联,而将轻量级方法与另一个配额相关联。

配置费用

将方法与配额相关联时,您始终需要为请求指定费用,从而让不同的方法以不同的速率消耗同一个配额。您可以将费用作为配置不同配额的替代方案。 例如,假设您配置的配额是每分钟最多 1000 个请求。对于轻量级方法,请将费用配置为 1,表示客户端每分钟可以调用 1000 次轻量级方法。对于资源密集型方法,请将费用配置为 2,这表示每次客户端调用该方法时,请求计数器都会递增 2,直到达到 1000 的限制。实际上,这会将资源密集型方法限制为每分钟 500 个请求。

替换已配置的配额

Endpoints > 服务页面会显示针对 API 中的每种方法配置的配额。如果需要,您可以替换针对特定使用方项目配置的限制。如需设置替换项,您需要在 Endpoints > 服务页面上输入使用方项目的项目编号。如果您不是要替换限制的使用方项目的成员,则需要联系某位成员以获取项目编号。

后续步骤

About Quotas

Cloud Endpoints provides quotas, which let you control the rate at which applications can call your API. Setting a quota allows you to specify usage limits to protect your API from an excessive number of requests from calling applications. The excessive requests might have been caused by a simple typo or from an inefficiently designed system that makes needless calls to your API. Regardless of the cause, blocking traffic from a specific source once it reaches a certain level is necessary for the overall health of your API. By setting a quota, you ensure that one application cannot negatively impact other applications that use your API.

This page provides an overview of the key functionality provided by quotas.

Requests are tied to the consumer Cloud project

After you configure a quota, Cloud Endpoints tracks the number of requests per minute per consumer Cloud project. Each application that calls your API must:

  • Have a Cloud project.
  • Have enabled your API in their Cloud project.
  • Send an API key with each request to your API. This allows Cloud Endpoints to identify the Cloud project that the calling application is associated with and to increment the request counter for the Cloud project.

You can either have your API consumers create their own projects in Google Cloud Console, or you can create the projects for them. Because Cloud Endpoints enforces quotas per project, you must have one project for each API consumer.

Limit the number of requests per minute

By setting a quota, you can limit the number of requests per minute to your entire API or only to specific methods. If the client code from a consumer project exceeds the limit that you have configured, the request is rejected before it gets to your API, and an HTTP status code of 429 Too Many Requests is returned. Calling applications will need to handle the 429 status code and use exponential backoff or some other retry logic to decrease the rate of calls to your API.

Configure one or more quotas

You can configure one or more named quotas and specify a different rate limit for each quota. For example, you could have some methods in your API that are resource-intensive (such as a method that runs a complex query and returns a large list of results), and other methods that are fast and lightweight. You might want to configure two quotas with different rate limits, and associate the resource-intensive methods with one quota, and the lightweight methods with the other quota.

Configure a cost

When you associate a method with a quota, you always specify a cost for the request. This allows different methods to consume the same quota at different rates. You can use costs as an alternative to configuring different quotas. For example, suppose you configure a quota with a limit of 1000 requests per minute. For the lightweight methods, you configure a cost of 1, which means clients can call the lightweight methods 1000 times per minute. For the resource-intensive methods, you configure a cost of 2, which means that each time the client calls the method, the request counter is incremented by 2, until the limit of 1000 is reached. In effect, this limits the resource-intensive methods to 500 requests per minute.

Override the configured quota

The Endpoints dashboard displays the quota configured for each method in your API. If needed, you can override the configured limit for a specific consumer project. To set an override, you need to enter the project number of the consumer project on the Endpoints dashboard. If you are not a member of the consumer project that you want to override, you need to contact someone who is a member to obtain the project number.

What's next

Send feedback about...

Cloud Endpoints with OpenAPI