排查 BigQuery 配额错误

BigQuery 设有各种配额,用于限制传入请求的速率和数量。这些配额可搭配使用以保护后端系统,并在您提交非常大的作业时帮助防止意料之外的计费。本文档介绍了如何诊断和减少由配额导致的错误。

概览

如果 BigQuery 操作因配额限制而失败,API 会返回 HTTP 403 Forbidden 状态代码。响应正文会详细说明已达到的限制。响应正文类似于以下内容:

{
  "code" : 403,
  "errors" : [ {
    "domain" : "global",
    "message" : "Quota exceeded: ...",
    "reason" : "quotaExceeded"
  } ],
  "message" : "Quota exceeded: ..."
}

载荷中的 message 字段会说明超出了哪个限制。例如,message 字段可能会显示 Exceeded rate limits: too many table update operations for this table

一般来说,配额限制分为两类,由响应载荷中的 reason 字段指示。

  • rateLimitExceeded。该值表示短期限制。通常,您可以在几秒钟后重试操作以解决这些限制。在两次重试尝试之间使用指数退避算法。也就是说,以指数方式增加每次重试之间的延迟时间。

  • quotaExceeded。该值表示长期限制。如果您达到了长期配额上限,则应等待 10 分钟或更长时间,然后再重试操作。如果您持续达到其中一个长期配额限制,则应分析您的工作负载以寻求缓解问题的方法。缓解措施可能包括优化工作负载或申请增加配额。

对于 quotaExceeded 错误,请检查错误消息以了解超出了哪个配额限制。然后分析您的工作负载,查看是否可以避免达到配额(例如通过优化查询性能)。在某些情况下,您可以通过与 BigQuery 支持团队联系与 Google Cloud 销售人员联系来增加配额。

您可以使用 INFORMATION_SCHEMA 视图分析潜在的问题。这组视图包含有关 BigQuery 资源的元数据,包括作业、预留和流式插入。例如,以下查询使用 JOBS_BY_PROJECT 视图列出过去一天中与配额相关的所有错误。

SELECT
 job_id,
 creation_time,
 error_result
FROM `region-us`.INFORMATION_SCHEMA.JOBS_BY_PROJECT
WHERE creation_time > TIMESTAMP_SUB(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, INTERVAL 1 DAY) AND
      error_result.reason IN ('rateLimitExceeded', 'quotaExceeded')

您还可以在 Cloud Audit Logs 中查看错误。例如,使用日志查看器,以下查询会找出消息字符串中包含 Quota exceeded 的错误:

resource.type = ("bigquery_project" OR "bigquery_dataset")
protoPayload.status.code ="7"
protoPayload.status.message: "Quota exceeded"

(状态代码 7PERMISSION_DENIED,对应于 HTTP 403 状态代码。)

流式插入配额错误

本部分提供了一些有关排查与将数据流式插入 BigQuery 相关的配额错误的提示。

在某些区域中,如果您不为每一行填写 insertId 字段,则流式插入将具有更高的配额。如需详细了解流式插入的配额,请参阅流式插入。BigQuery 流式传输的配额相关错误取决于是否存在 insertId

如果 insertId 字段为空,则可能会出现以下配额错误:

配额限制 错误消息
每个项目每秒字节数 REGION 区域内项目 PROJECT_ID 中 gaia_id 为 GAIA_ID 的实体已超出每秒插入字节数的配额。

如果填写了 insertId 字段,则可能会出现以下配额错误:

配额限制 错误消息
每个项目每秒的行数 REGION 中的项目 PROJECT_ID 已超出每秒流式插入行数的配额。
每个表每秒的行数 TABLE_ID 已超出每秒流式插入行数的配额。
每个表每秒字节数 TABLE_ID 已超出每秒流式插入字节数的配额。

insertId 字段的用途是删除重复的插入行。如果具有相同 insertId 的多个插入内容均在几分钟之内发送至 BigQuery,则 BigQuery 将写入单个版本的记录。但是,我们无法保证系统会自动删除重复的数据。为了最大限度的提高流式数据处理效率,我们建议您不要添加 insertId,而是使用手动去重。如需了解详情,请参阅确保数据一致性

诊断

使用 STREAMING_TIMELINE_BY_* 视图分析流式流量。这些视图会每隔一分钟汇总流式统计信息(按错误代码分组)。配额错误显示在结果中,其 error_code 等于 RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDEDQUOTA_EXCEEDED

根据达到的特定配额限制,请查看 total_rowstotal_input_bytes。如果错误是表级配额,请按 table_id 进行过滤。例如,以下查询显示每分钟提取的总字节数,以及配额错误总数。

SELECT
 start_timestamp,
 error_code,
 SUM(total_input_bytes) as sum_input_bytes,
 SUM(IF(error_code IN ('QUOTA_EXCEEDED', 'RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED'),
     total_requests, 0)) AS quota_error
FROM
 `region-us`.INFORMATION_SCHEMA.STREAMING_TIMELINE_BY_PROJECT
WHERE
  start_timestamp > TIMESTAMP_SUB(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, INTERVAL 1 DAY)
GROUP BY
 start_timestamp,
 error_code
ORDER BY 1 DESC

解决方案

如果您要使用 insertId 字段删除重复数据,并且您的项目所属的区域支持较高的流式传输配额,我们建议您移除 insertId 字段。此解决方案可能需要执行一些额外的步骤来手动移除重复数据。如需了解详情,请参阅手动移除重复数据

如果您未使用 insertId,或者不能将其移除,请监控 24 小时时间段的流式流量并分析配额错误:

  • 如果您看到的大多数是 RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED 错误而不是 QUOTA_EXCEEDED 错误,而您的总体流量低于配额的 80%,则这些错误可能指示暂时达到峰值。您可以通过在两次重试之间使用指数退避算法来重试操作,以处理这些错误。

  • 如果您看到 QUOTA_EXCEEDED 错误或总体流量持续超过配额的 80%,请提交增加配额的申请。

Troubleshooting BigQuery quota errors

BigQuery has various quotas that limit the rate and volume of incoming requests. These quotas exist both to protect the backend systems, and to help guard against unexpected billing if you submit very large jobs. This document describes how to diagnose and mitigate errors resulting from quotas.

Overview

If a BigQuery operation fails because of a quota limit, the API returns the HTTP 403 Forbidden status code. The response body contains more information about the limit that was reached. The response body looks similar to the following:

{
  "code" : 403,
  "errors" : [ {
    "domain" : "global",
    "message" : "Quota exceeded: ...",
    "reason" : "quotaExceeded"
  } ],
  "message" : "Quota exceeded: ..."
}

The message field in the payload describes which limit was exceeded. For example, the message field might say Exceeded rate limits: too many table update operations for this table.

In general, quota limits fall into two categories, indicated by the reason field in the response payload.

  • rateLimitExceeded. This value indicates a short-term limit. Usually you can resolve these limits by retrying the operation after a few seconds. Use exponential backoff between retry attempts. That is, exponentially increase the delay between each retry.

  • quotaExceeded. This value indicates a longer-term limit. If you reach a longer-term quota limit, you should wait 10 minutes or longer before trying the operation again. If you consistently reach one of these longer-term quota limits, you should analyze your workload for ways to mitigate the issue. Mitigations can include optimizing your workload or requesting a quota increase.

For quotaExceeded errors, examine the error message to understand which quota limit was exceeded. Then analyze your workload to see if you can avoid reaching the quota, for example by optimizing query performance. In some cases, the quota can be raised by contacting BigQuery support or contacting Google Cloud sales.

You can use INFORMATION_SCHEMA views to analyze the underlying issue. These are a set of views that contain metadata about your BigQuery resources, including jobs, reservations, and streaming inserts. For example, the following query uses the JOBS_BY_PROJECT view to list all quota-related errors within the past day.

SELECT
 job_id,
 creation_time,
 error_result
FROM `region-us`.INFORMATION_SCHEMA.JOBS_BY_PROJECT
WHERE creation_time > TIMESTAMP_SUB(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, INTERVAL 1 DAY) AND
      error_result.reason IN ('rateLimitExceeded', 'quotaExceeded')

You can also view errors in Cloud Audit Logs. For example, using Logs Viewer, the following query finds errors with Quota exceeded in the message string:

resource.type = ("bigquery_project" OR "bigquery_dataset")
protoPayload.status.code ="7"
protoPayload.status.message: "Quota exceeded"

(Status code 7 is PERMISSION_DENIED, which corresponds to the HTTP 403 status code.)

Streaming insert quota errors

This section gives some tips for troubleshooting quota errors related to streaming data into BigQuery.

In certain regions, streaming inserts have a higher quota if you don't populate the insertId field for each row. For more information about quotas for streaming inserts, see Streaming inserts. The quota-related errors for BigQuery streaming depend on the presence or absence of insertId.

If the insertId field is empty, the following quota error is possible:

Quota limit Error message
Bytes per second per project Your entity with gaia_id: GAIA_ID, project: PROJECT_ID in region: REGION exceeded quota for insert bytes per second.

If the insertId field is populated, the following quota errors are possible:

Quota limit Error message
Rows per second per project Your project: PROJECT_ID in REGION exceeded quota for streaming insert rows per second.
Rows per second per table Your table: TABLE_ID exceeded quota for streaming insert rows per second.
Bytes per second per table Your table: TABLE_ID exceeded quota for streaming insert bytes per second.

The purpose of the insertId field is to deduplicate inserted rows. If multiple inserts with the same insertId arrive within a few minutes' window, BigQuery writes a single version of the record. However, this automatic deduplication is not guaranteed. For maximum streaming throughput, we recommend that you don't include insertId and instead use manual deduplication. For more information, see Ensuring data consistency.

Diagnosis

Use the STREAMING_TIMELINE_BY_* views to analyze the streaming traffic. These views aggregate streaming statistics over one-minute intervals, grouped by error code. Quota errors appear in the results with error_code equal to RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED or QUOTA_EXCEEDED.

Depending on the specific quota limit that was reached, look at total_rows or total_input_bytes. If the error is a table-level quota, filter by table_id. For example, the following query shows total bytes ingested per minute, and the total number of quota errors.

SELECT
 start_timestamp,
 error_code,
 SUM(total_input_bytes) as sum_input_bytes,
 SUM(IF(error_code IN ('QUOTA_EXCEEDED', 'RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED'),
     total_requests, 0)) AS quota_error
FROM
 `region-us`.INFORMATION_SCHEMA.STREAMING_TIMELINE_BY_PROJECT
WHERE
  start_timestamp > TIMESTAMP_SUB(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, INTERVAL 1 DAY)
GROUP BY
 start_timestamp,
 error_code
ORDER BY 1 DESC

Solution

If you are using the insertId field for depuplication, and your project is in a region that supports the higher streaming quota, we recommend removing the insertId field. This solution may require some additional steps to manually deduplicate the data. For more information, see Manually removing duplicates.

If you are not using insertId, or if it's not feasible to remove it, monitor your streaming traffic over a 24-hour period and analyze the quota errors:

  • If you see mostly RATE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED errors rather than QUOTA_EXCEEDED errors, and your overall traffic is below 80% of quota, the errors probably indicate temporary spikes. You can handle these errors by retrying the operation, using exponential backoff between retries.

  • If you see QUOTA_EXCEEDED errors or the overall traffic consistently exceeds 80% of quota, submit a request for a quota increase.